(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

cheryl,

don't mind, send to me too?

I m in a delimma, don't knw whether to get the Grand Piano or the LP table...esp i have an exersaucer liao....*sigh*

Gar, you succumbed to the temptation of FPGP? Hehe, if your hubby complains, tell him you want Arielle to learn to play the piano. That's how I justified to hubby cos FPGP really has 7 keys for 7 notes and lots of colours and lights to attract babies. Even the FP kick piano and the other star playgym piano has only 5 keys. ;)

Cheryl, That's the same one that ABC posted picture of right? Die lar, I don't even know what I'm buying, just happily jumping on bandwagon to buy, haha.

playdate,
wow... you gals very fast leh... can't go qingling's place... gotta celebrate my mom's birthday... hopefully can join you all at bx's place...

bb sleeping late,
nowadays damn tiring... last time Elise will go to bed early... about 8pm... now she will go to bed at 11pm... totally no time to surf net or sleep early liao... anyway to make her sleep early? She looks sleepy but just refused to sleep leh...

Stephie,
Based on what I found out last time, traditional one will use lady fingers, Marsala wine, espresso and marcapone cheese... but some stores don't put liquor at all, or use other liquor to subsitute... My first taste of tiramisu and the best of all... is in a restuarant in London... that time I gong-gong ordered one... then now can never forget and dunno which resturant too...

qingling,
I tried lady finger before after learning that it's the traditional ingredient... but I think I didn't do it correctly, doesn't taste nice... so I continue to use butter pound cake :p I notice that my tiramisu tastes the best when I bought a new Marsala wine... the liquor taste is much stronger and more xiang... but a bottle of wine takes a long time to finish leh...

cheryl
thanks for emailing them d spreadsheet . I hv no access to pc nw. can only email tmr.

For those interested pls indicate yr interest. For those already hv spreadsheet can help me email to those who's interested?

Garfield
yes dun hv to update in forum. jus update in spreadsheet .

stock
would b gd to gv me second choice or drop in case item oss. i can only check availability when all orders r in.

Deadline : Thurs 5pm. No payment no order. No update in excel oso no order hor

kitsune,cheryl
yea it'salled google doc. very gd. we can actually use this platform to update everyone's particular right? I din post online cos dun wan public to see as gt address n hp Number.

hello mummies, can advise me if the old navy spree dun hit USD 220 but only around USD 150.is it wise to proceed, will then the shipping be much higher if i go by BDL? or it will not be any difference since go by minimum weight?

cheryl,

thx!!! i already put my name in the piano slot but still thinking of the others....so "tan xin"...sure kennah fm my hubs

Hi All Mummies,

I'm new to this thread (but not new to this forum). My boy is born in 02 Feb. I always want to join this thread but just often can't keep up with all the posts (i come to this thread weekly). Hopefully i'm not too late!

bx, I jus saw that u r going to hk. i go hk often as my hubby is hk-er. And we are going over (with bb and my mum) in Dec for 2 wks. If u nd advice on where to go, i can help

i've left my bb behind for a few short trip tis yr. Jus enjoy and get recharged!

i had emailed to those indicate interest liao. For those who din received pls msn or email me...

Pls make payment. If oss i will refund or contact u to make alternative choice. Deadline thurs 5pm.

Thank you very much.

snowbelle
can i ask what's the brand of your oven? my oven spoilt liao, now looking around for suitable one... any recommendation?
to encourage bb sleep early, i will turn off the lights in the house and gv my kids an impression that it's time to sleep. and i will ask my gal to speak softer and no more playing on toys which gives music or sound so that #2 won't hear the sound/noise and wanted to play together.

bx
enjoy your trip!

purelyz
*wave*

Hi abc

I am interested.. please email me the details.

Grand piano (SGD$50)
1. abcdisney ([email protected])
2. Esther ([email protected])
3 apple79
4 leila
5 Artemis ([email protected])
6 Cheryl ([email protected]
7 diana spoiltbratdazz ([email protected])
8 lyn [email protected]
9 babyhope ([email protected])

FP laugh and learn activity table (SGD$50)
1. apple79
2. Esther
3. tute
4. abcdisney
5. happymum2b ([email protected])
6. emoments

leapfrog activity table (SGD$80)
1. abcdisney
2 garfield9 ([email protected])
3 jeannie ( [email protected])
4 Tute
5 kitsune_sg ([email protected]
6. emoments

kitsune,
good one! cos hb always regretted not learning music and said must let arielle learn. ya i am keen on FPGP (in addition to LF table) cos of the full piano keyboard. i can actually play proper pieces of music unlike those keyboards with only five keys =)
and......i decided to be upfront with hb. asked him this mng whether can buy. maybe he just woke up blur blur, actually said ok

bx,
ya need to preserve the romance in the marriage. don't worry, bx is in good hands.

abc,
you not only lobang queen...you are tech queen too!! hehe

sunny,
My oven brand is mayer. I got the basic one. This is my first new oven... last time I used the old style one... have to put on table-top, so can't really recommend any...

sleep,
if switch off all lights, won't bb feel scared? I don't have dim light at home... dunno if I just on a table lamp helps or not...

good morning mummies,
walau.. you all buying things again!!!

stephie, bx,
i'm joining you. not tempted at all.

when everyone is complaining increment is so much lower than the inflation, i am the one the suffering pay cut. so, i'll be $250 poorer each month.

now cutting down on all expenses. lucky now is raining season and no need to turn on aircon.

re: baby cereal
do you all notice that nestle stage 1 rice cereal has trans fat?
cannot remember the complete name of it. but i saw a word 'trans fat' in the nutritional facts.

re: hair clip
lezy,
thanks for the pic. i think i'm not getting anymore hair clips liao.
got to cut cost. at most diy when i need.

garfield,
i have no choice to be thrifty.
cut pay leh.. heart pain..
income less, and loss some money in the stock market too.. hai...

the grand piano only 5 sets available and FP activity table only 2 sets. Thus i will gv it to first come first pay basis.

They r
cheryl
artemis
apple79

thus left 2 more slots.

FP table only 2 slots. given to apple79 and emoments.

xiaoyun,
*pat pat* don't feel sad. these things are cyclical so let's hope this downturn will be a short one. when i was with SQ - kena 2 pay freeze and 1 pay cut within a period of 7 years (due to 98 asian crisis, Sep11, SARS).

i oso lost $$ in stock market. a lot some more and i don't think about it anymore
hb and i decided that instead of investing (and risk losing) might as well spend on bb. that's how we justify it lor.

Pls stop transferring. Btw for LF she has only 5 sets now.

Need to preorder. Can wait? Let me confirm the 5 sets ltr ok? Pls let me knw if wan to wait or drop. Take abt 3 weeks.

To be fair the leapfrog table will be given to those who tt to me first ok?
1. abcdisney
2. kate
3. tute
4. isobellies
5. emoments

Thus the following let me know if u can wait:
6. kitsune
7. esther
8. garfield

Garfield
Yr grand piano order is confirmed.

abc - i was still pondering..now no stock..haha..so help me make decision..will think of other toys to get as gifts.

abc,

oh no choice but 2 wait then.

To be fair the leapfrog table will be given to those who tt to me first ok?
1. abcdisney
2. kate
3. tute
4. isobellies
5. emoments

Thus the following let me know if u can wait:
6. kitsune
7. esther (i'll wait for the next batch)
8. garfield

Garfield
Yr grand piano order is confirmed.

xiaoyun
ur coy not doing well? how come suddenly cut by so much?

garfield/xiaoyun
re: stock market
i'm not investment savvy so never interested in stocks other than when my bro prompt me to buy IPOs which he feels is good. so i only have suntec reit and mapletree. if it's just paperless, maybe just hold on to the stocks and wait for market to rebound?

emoments
receive pressie today? ur bday is today?

Sunny
*wave back*

snowbelle
My bb noe it's time to sleep when i bring him to a dim rm and change him into his pj. Try to keep the rm quiet, i'll on radio FM 92.4. Stay in the rm with him. I'll talk to him softly and let him calm down. My bb can sleep on his own from 10pm till 10am next day. No night feed. Train bb to sleep on his own, helps a lot.

U can go ikea to buy bedside lamp, abt $4, but the bulbs cost more, 2 for $16.

garfield,
in fact, pay freeze is quite common here. last time my company has a record of 3-4 years pay freeze.
first time cut pay. lucky i've got increment earlier this year to cover the pay cut.
but still, got to really think twice when spending especially market is very bad now.
don't know will have retrenchment or not. better save $ first.

money loss in stock market. although they are paper loss, but still heart pain.
now close eye on the statement liao. :p

for me, i am not going to save $ on bb's food.
for toy, i think the fundamental ones e.g., blocks, shapes, bowls are sufficient.
those fanciful one are nice to get but not essential. since i've already got the brightlings station, it should go a long way.
for clothes, i've enough hand-me-downs and the supplies still flowing in. i think can stop buying clothes too. but i need a nice tights as hand-me-downs don't have this item. :p
btw, i am still looking for books for bb. not sure what kind of book to get for her.

re: huang lian po
haha.. me too feel like one.
already long long time didn't go shop for clothes for myself liao.
weekend program are just giant/ntuc/carrefour.

but i did occasionally go for facial/massage - already signed a package last year. it makes me happy.

re: playdates @ bx's place
i want to join too!!
but can't find the list of ppl joining?
can add me + hb + bb?

bx,
what do you want me to bring? food?

o dear... at the rate u girls order the grand piano and activity table, i feel so guilty of tempting you. opps~ but i guess, bb will love me as they have new toys to play with wahaha~

re: grand piano:
actually got 8 keys. do re mi fa so la ti do.

kitsune:
my boy love 'eating' the worm. last night my friend brought her son over to play & collect the puree i made for him. her son was fascinated w the piano... & matt seems jealous... quickly crawl to the piano & start to bite on the worm. so funny... like v scare the worm got 'eaten' by the other baby.

XY - come come also..

Westie playdate at Qingling's hse at Jurong West St 25 (very near NTU!!)

(pls vote which date better)

15th Nov
1. Jass
2. Stephie

29th Nov
1. cheryl

xiaoyun
for bb tights, can get from the brand goldbugs(something like that, can't remember. think BX mentioned before). Available in dept stores like taka, OG. had wanted to buy for my gal previously but now think she's too big for tights liao.

sunny
your girl so good. will soften her voice. mine har, will purposely sing/talk loud loud when i try to make didi sleep. very notty ah.

purelyz
welcome to the thread

stephie,
yup. not doing good.
the whole industry not doing good. it was mentioned in the news recently.
i am already cutting the least percentage. CEO cutting 20%, even worse.

re: investment
i think 50% of my $ is in the investment. stock market, unit trust...
so, wait for the market to rebound loh. don't think the companies i invested will go bankrupt. so, just keep it and earn some dividend if there's any.

btw, i am learning to cook - 1 gesture to save $
can anyone teach me how to use soya bean to cook a nice nice stock for noodle, etc?
not going to use ikan bilis as my hb doesn't take fish. not going to use ba tao/ba gut as i seldom go pasar.
i tried once last weekend, it doesn't taste nice.

xiaoyun
wow, 20% cut a lot leh. some more CEO's pay is so high. me very risk averse/ks, that's why only bother to put $ in bank. i tag along my HL interest rate, so my savings get to enjoy the same interest rate. not bad i feel considering it's safe.

my mum boils soup with soya bean too. think it tastes ok. but can't remember what else she adds. i go check with her and let you know.