(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

stephie
your #2's birthday same as my boy.

esther
like stephie, i will boil the rice with the water 1st, then pour into the jar. abt 2 hrs, everything cooked liao.
don't put cold food e.g. cold tofu into the jar 1st 'cos like that the food and rice would not be cooked. last time, i put cold tofu inside and just pour boiling water, end up, all ingredients not fully cooked.
yes, it can keep warm for abt 10 - 12 hrs.

bkk,
wow. really impressed with ur preparations! thks for the thoughtfulness

bkk
wow.... the gathering would be very fun. remember to take pix and share with us. :D

sharing my boy's pix. he's riding his jie-jie's tricycle.
1777799.jpg

ABC,

Tis desitin cream can be used every time on baby's butt whenever diaper change? Is it considered barrier cream (protect butt frm urine, poo) OR nappy rash cream (treat redness/rash). I'm super confused on these 2 terms. BARRIER CREAM & NAPPY RASH CREAM.

If redness/rash, does it help 2 cure? My gal very prone 2 redness even though i change her diaper every 3 hrs...

Sunny,

Thanks. Will tk note!

I super excited abt my new TOY. Hb say i "siao cha bor".. Haha...

bx & jeannie:
you guys are up real early!

esther:
the food jug i got previous is similar to the 1st link. u are tempting me to get the other leh...
ask you hor, if u pour water to cook liao then the ingredient like fish how huh. oso put in w the rice grains to 'cook' w the hot water?

Stephie & Esther,
Now you gals made my heart itchy... thinking of getting one liao... I'll check whether my mom wanna adopt the free water flask... now searching for friends with Taka card, want to get the additional 15% discount... any idea how frequent they will have promotion on Tiger food jar as I scare this weekend may not have time to go down...

ABC & Mrs Loh,

Thanks 4 the advise on Desitin cream. Tink will get 1.

ABC, u say u got spare ah? Can sell me 1? I'll PM u. Hee...

Jass,

Haha... I aso VERY SUPER tempted 2 get the other one. (I nt referring 2 the 2nd link.)

Tis one!

1777854.jpg

Pretty and cute! Haha...

Tis is the one the TIGER lady show me but nt enuff 4 my gal's porridge lor.

No no, cannot put fish 2gether 2 cook. According to the TIGER lady) She told me cook veggies/meat/fish separately then add into when wan 2 eat.

Snowbelle,

I "sua gu" abt all these sales one.. Always reply on friends' info.. Then will rush down like mad 2 grab it! Haha... Where u work, if nearby, jz pop by & grab! Hee...

Jass,

U & I same working area rite. C? I cheong all the way 2 orchard during lunch! Haha.. Considered my furthest shopping area liao.. Keke...

Sunny,

Haha.. Ya my gal's hair super alot since born. and stubborn hair 2. Always got difficulty in clippin her hair leh.

jass/esther
the tiger food jug can cook meat also leh. i put in pork (sliced thinly/diced). it's cooked 100%. so for fish, should be no problem too. for porridge i put in wolfberries, red dates and pumpkin too. find it so convenient. esp if need to go out early in morning. can just put everything into the jug and by noon time can eat liao. only thing is that it's quite bulky loh.

Stephie,

Really ah.. Tink the TIGER lady dare nt mk promises when i ask her on the veggies/meat/fish. Haha.. Okie, will try man!

So 4 veggies, we will jz dice small small and put everyting inside?

Jass,

Thanks.. Same like daddy lor.. Mummy oni tiny bits of hair.. Haha...

esther
ya, to ensure it's properly cooked, better to dice into small pieces. that time i sliced into 0.5 cms strips. also can cook. but the pumpkin is not really soft after 2hours. think gotta 'cook' longer. tmr i try with sweet potato and c how. oh, i didn't boil the pumpkin tog with the rice (throw into the jug after i pour the boiled rice w/water). maybe should do that then will become soft soft.

Stepie,

Oh yes, XY's gal Carrie. I met her baby once. Yes alot 2. Finally find a hair kaki 4 my gal liao. Keke...

Sunny,

No, nt enuff. I was about 2 ask u ladies abt the porridge.

I use 4 formula scoops of rice which is equivalent to 2 chinese tablespoon (both level off) (jz measure tis morning. Ha..)

My gal can finish. I jz started 2 increase frm 3 scoops to 4 scoops last sun.

Hw many scoops of rice or chinese tablspoons ur babies eat nw?

if oni 1 chinese tablespoon, is it 2 little? i got a gf who bb is 8mths and 1 wk, she feed her bb oni 1 tablespoon! she say dun wan her bb's stomach 2 "open" up, scare her bb fat.

Tiger food jar
I was looking and looking at it too during the Isetan sale. In the end, got the Endo thermal cooker which now my helper says it doesn't really cook well! aiyah. should I get the tiger?

JL sale
anyone went? any good?

Crystal
I read your blog abt bb rejecting porridge. Mine too. I want to know if you succeeded in your attempts...wanna learn from you.

bkk..
is the endo one like a cooking pot shape? cuz i think the narrow jar-like shape of the tiger may contain the heat better than a wide-mouth cooking pot shape.

i have an endo flask...good n cheap leh. also have an endo mug, keeps the water very hot for hours.

Stepie & Sunny,

I 4get 2 ask u abt the boiling water/rice 2gether b4 u all transfer to the food jar. Hw long 2 boil ah?

bkkgal
yeah i just managed to succeed yest with the help of adding 2teaspoon of cereal into it. however there are still leftovers but better than only taking in less 10 spoonful and fuss.

stephie
you getting the tiger food jar? can help me get it ? is it the one artemis posted ? comes with the free 0.35l water flask one ?

esther
wah, your gal eats a lot! my boy 7.5 mth now, i cook abt 1/2 tablespoon of rice and add other ingredients. but i haven't replaced 1 milk feed with solid. so, after porridge, he will rest a while then have milk.
i am eyeing on the zojirushi lunch box. hope the add'l discount applies to that.

i boil the rice abt 5 min, then pour into the jar. some ingredients which are not so easily cooked, e.g. pumpkin, potato, i will boil together 1st, too.

jass
u noe ah, i think the helper dunno how to use lah. cos my mom kept insisting can wan...so today i ask my mom to use it instead. i'm not home so i cannot teach her properly.

crystal
what kind of cereal do u add for her? mine is ok with barley but i thot it's a bit strange to add barley flakes to rice porridge no?

oh and u noe what, she simply loves to eat the steam fish that we adults eat! the one that we cook inside the porridge, she doesn't like. is it the soya sauce taste that she likes i wonder...

sigh... the last sale i bought this
1778092.jpg

coz thot it comes in individual compartments, then no need for me to bring bowls... nv thought that i can a food jug to cook. sigh... now v tempted. and i still have the endo cooker thingy like bkkgal. super waste of money if i buy hor... must think.

bkkgal
i added in the happybellies oatmeal cereal for her. her lunchtime is take cereal with puree. i guess she really love the oatmeal cereal, she finishes it very quickly. or probably she is very used to the cereal. but i almost intro porridge to her for coming 1mth liao ley. it's not really strange, because the cereal dissolve into the porridge and becomes 'porridge' only. cant see the cereal liao but the smell is there.

bkk, crystal
my bb doesn't seem to like my mum's porridge, but he will eat my MIL's porridge, but even then he doesn't seem to like porridge as much as cereal, and doesn't eat it as well with me as with my MIL (maybe she forces him, haha).
so when i leave him in my MIL's care then i let her cook porridge, otherwise i just give cereal. anyway i think a mix is good

guess maybe babies just have their preferences?

stephie
errr.... only got your 1st msg, then replied you. did you revert? can send again? me afternoon no access to the email liao. anything, you sms me, k?

bkkgal,
think i'll try cooking porridge in the magic pot this weekend ba. anyway buy liao havent use before. haaa~ stupif me... buy coz i wanna the big pot to cook soup, nv tot that i can use the smaller one to cook porridge. if can.. can use it to cook porrdige then transfer to the lunch box. then no need to spend money again! i'm running out of space in my kitchen. storeroom also v v full liao.

crystal
not the one posted by artemis. go check yday's straits times. it's featured in taka ad. the combo set of food jug and water flask is priced at $65. can help you buy if you want. the food jug is the 2nd link posted by snowbelle. 0.7l.

sunny,

huh, really alot ah. i replace one milk feed. but then her next feed after her porridge is abt 2hrs or 2 1/2 hrs interval.

u tink the rice is alot.. u shd see the veggies i prepare 4 her. haha.. my bb sitter say i put 2much.. but strange leh, my gal finishes up everyting. sometimes left maybe 1/4.

bbkgal & crystal,

is it becos u ladies been feeding cereal 4 too long period? tat y ur babies dun like the taste of porridge?

cereal got the sweet taste when add wif milk. so most babies like rite? my gal eat the cereal super fast as compared 2 porridge.

sunny
i reply you here loh. keke. my email siow siow. sometimes goes around the world before being delivered. u wan me to sms you before buying or sms you after i've bought? pm u my hp. oh, the pink set is super sweet too!

stephie
haha.... ok ok.
just sms me after you bought. 'cos if no add'l discount, i can go and get tmr after my gal's class.
i think you sms me your number when you got time bah. your reply hasn't reached my inbox. keke...

crystal,

tis one

1778177.jpg
1778178.jpg

0.7L food jar & freebie is the 0.35L flask

the food jar come wif a bag and a metal spoon

esther
wah... your gal is a big eater. after taking so much 2 hrs later can ask for another feed. how heavy she is now?

sunny,

she is a food lover! (nice term). Not so nice term = greedy lor.. hahaha...

her feed is usually oni 120 to 130ml oni. got pro getting her 2 drink more leh.

she is oni 8.5 or 8.7kg but she is super tall. 74cm nw! i find her 2 thin cos when i carry her. can touch her bones behind!

i like chubby babies. more cute!

sunny
i pm u liao. u check check see got receive or not. i did not charge my hp last nite. like gg to be flat liao. so i try not to use it unless necessary else evening time can't contact you all liao. hee.

esther
my cereal got no milk one, i add warm water only.

stephie
are you getting that as well ? it's no difference with the one artemis and the rest is using right ? just bigger or smaller in capacity ?