(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi jass1408,

Danica is taking 3 meals of cereal a day but only 1 tbsp for breakfast and 2 tbsps each for lunch and dinner. Thinking of increasing liao cause I training her to skip the dream feed.

Hi Esther,

I only give porridge on weekends or when I am at home (on leave or working from home). So far, Danica is okay with both.

RE : diapers.com.sg

In order to prevent Danica from having potential naked butt problem, I will be ordering the items tomorrow. Please update if you want to get anything.

1. GOO.N Premium Diapers M44 - 1 pack (bkkgal)
2. Cooling Gel Sheet Box 12 - 1 pack (Xiao Yun)
3. cooling gel sheet box 12 - 1 pack (crystal)

actually wat u all meant by 2 tbsps?? is it 2 tbsps of rice powder/cereal or 2 tbsps of mixed cereal/rice

i think my son ate more den 2 tbsps leh...

Hello Mummies

Long time never log in...
Very busy at work cause my hotel closing for reno next year and new hotel coming up..Selling 2 hotel at a time.

Munchkin food feeder
I bought one at taka and now she is using it to eat fruits.very easy to use.

I have started my bb on cereal and porridge already. My maid cooks for her lunch and dinner, she will add different things everyday like carrot, fish, vegetable.....

jass,
applied to everyone.

Spinach: it's not inadvisable to be eaten with beancurd. These two eaten together will make people lack of calcium.
Spinach contains oxalic acid and it can combine with magnesium, potassium, iron, calcium or such to form oxalate. The oxalates can produce kidney stones.

The oxalic acid in vegetables is broken down in cooking and doesn't interfere with the absorption of calcium present in other foods, cheese for instance, that you might eat at the same time.

so, just avoid cooking tofu and spinach at the same time. once the oxalic acid is broken down, no problem to eat it together with food with calcium.

esther,
quite a number of bb started on porridge already.
just because i've no skill/time to cook a nice porridge for her. so, stick to cereal for the time being.

cheryl,
it's the 2tbsp before adding in water/milk.

Artemis,

Ic.. Am tinking of letting my gal tk cereal 4 breakfast, tat means, frm her usual 4 milk feeds, will be reduced to 3 feeds. Her total milk intake per day is oni 400plus.. Ave is 140ml. Sometimes cant finish...

Scare nt enuff nutrients.

Xiao Yun,

Ok, u let me knw again. I'm aso on leave 2molo!! 2 be 1 day SAHM! Haha...

Hi Esther,

Danica is currently taking 5 milk feeds, 2 of them latch on less than 10 minutes and 2 EBM of 140-150ml. In addition to this, she is taking cereal for breakfast, lunch and dinner on days I am not at home and cereal for breakfast, porridge for lunch and dinner on days that I am. On average, she finishes her breakfast and left over above 1 to 2 tsps for lunch and dinner. She has been putting on weight even though she is so active now. So I think should be okay bahz.

Xiao Yun,

Thanks 4 the tofu/spinach info.

Porridge/cereal,

Wkdays, my bb sitter will prepare 2 porridge meals 4 her. BUT wkends, i find it quite hard 2 maintain 2 porridge meals. Cos will bring her out.

So wkend is same as bx's way. 1 porridge(lunch) & 1 cereal (dinner)

Hi Esther,

Normally for weekends, I cook just 1 time with enough portion for lunch and dinner and put in the Tiger food jar. Want to eat then pour out. If going out just take the food jar and her puree only.

Artemis,

but then roughly wat time u cook the porridge? wont the porridge for the dinner time become abit watery? cos porridge will become water as time pass rite?

Hi Esther,

I cook the porridge at 10 a.m. and finish around 11 a.m. No leh... So far I find that the Tiger food jar keeps it in almost original state. Not watery at all.

Artemis,

Jz 1 hr u can finish cooking the porridge? Hw did u do tat? Teach me!

I used 2 put everyting into slow cooker and put 2 cook. ave abt 4 hrs.

Then after checking wif u all, steaming is the best. So i change my method. I use slow cooker 2 cook rice, steam the veggies, then mashed and put into the slow cooker. Ave time about 2 - 2 1/2 hrs...

Nw my porridge i cook not as smooth as the very lst time when my gal started on porridge. Abit "lumpy lumpy". Shd be ok rite? Nw she's 7 1/2 mths old.

Btw, mummies, hv u let ur bb try on meat? My gal doesnt seems 2 like pork..

jac
what kind of fruits u put in the munchkin food feeder? i tried watermelon and apple but doesn't seem to "work" so well...

tofu
i have some information from a locally written book which says that mashed bean curd can be given from 4 months onwards! 6-8 months can also start giving unsweetened soybean milk. i haven't tried yet though

cheese start from 8-10 months " soft, low-fat cottage cheese", 10-12 months "soft cheese or grated hard cheese or cut up as finger food". just as long as it's pasturised cheese, so avoid the cheeses you avoided when you were preggers, like mascapone, brie, etc.

have any mummies started on eggs??

Jeannie,
yeps, i can make it
btw, how long is the class?

Re:BJG trial ( 4th oct, sat, 230 pm)

1. Jeannie(confirmed)
2. Qingling (confirmed)
3. Leila (confirmed)
4. inNoSence (confirmed)
5 Bkkgal (confirmed

artemis,
collection of cream at Bkkgal's bash ok? u gg? if order HT, u thk wld be in time for collection at the bash too (ie if u r gg)?

I notice that HT doesn't have organic pasta for bb. anyone knws what brand has???

esther,
i notice my son doesn't like pork all that much too. so, i just use bigger chunks of pork to cook wid porridge for taste only and not for his consumption. Previously when i puree the pork together wid his porridge, he doesn't like it that much and when i tried tasting it, i didn't like it too...hahaha!!! Like mother like son i guess... :p

HI Leila
I saw Earth's Best has pasta. It's organic. I was looking at it but can't figure how to cook and make it yummy for baby. Just curious, what do you intend to cook the pasta with?

Soyabean curd
I gave my bb unsweetened soyabean curd. She seemed to like the soft and smooth texture.

Am gonna try tofu tomorrow. Any tofu recipes to share?

She had porridge cooked with carrots, corn and chicken today. It tasted nice and sweet to me but she didn't like it. Only food that she's really enthusiastic abt is papaya and banana. HT barley cereal seems to work with her but I'm running out of ideas for porridge liao...

Jass/Artemis
Did one of you buy the Endo Thermal Cooker at Isetan? Any comments? I got it but I don't know if my helper is using it the right way or not. She said it only keeps warm for 5 hrs and after that, no more but she can't tell me exactly if the porridge did cook better with it or not.

DRUGSTORE SPREE CLOSED

I'm using an exchange rate of 1.5. Will adjust after receiving actual bill.

Can the following mummies transfer the amounts below to my POSB Savings Account 032-73860-5 please? Do PM me after you transfer as I'm kind of busy this week, may miss out posts. Thanks

<table border=1><tr><td>Xiaoyun</TD><TD>12.56 </TD></TR><TR><TD>BkkGal</TD><TD>28.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Crystal</TD><TD>4.04 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Artemis</TD><TD>4.04 </TD></TR><TR><TD>QingLing</TD><TD>4.26 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tute</TD><TD>28.49</td></tr></table>

Avent BPA bottle (260ml pack of 2) US$18.99
http://www.drugstore.com/templates/browse/default.asp?catid=135953&amp;cmbProdBrandFilter=8560&amp;trx=BSMMP-8560&amp;trxp1=HP%2D50215&amp;trxp2=0&amp;trxp3=135953&amp;brand=8560

1. Garfield9
2. Garfield9
3. Bkkgal
4. tute

Munchkin Fresh Food Feeder US$2.84
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=95236&amp;catid=26964

1. Xiaoyun
2. Xiaoyun
3. Garfield9
4. Qingling

Munchkin the medicator USD$2.69
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=150022&amp;catid=26942

1. xiaoyun
2. crystal
3. Artemis
4. Garfield9

bkkgal,
where can i get Earth's best? haven't thot of how to make it yummy yet since i've not got my hands on the pasta yet. but mayb pasta, dipped in carrot n celery puree? not sure whether it's yummy...let u knw aftr i try it out k?

btw, have u tried cooking potato, celery, pumpkin and threadfin porridge? tastes yummy...yah...to the mummy too

isobellies, artemis, jass, thanks. Still haven't collected my prize cos the organiser said must collect during office hours and I very difficult to take leave nowadays. Got to authorize my hubby to collect on my behalf when his lessons finish early.

Gar, I calculated, add everything up will come up to at least S$55 for the book. Very steep leh, remember when I saw it at Borders, it was similar price but before any discount. Never mind, don't trouble you, if I order from Amazon, still need to send my hubby to be despatch. Not cheaper somemore, better now, otherwise he 'nag' me. :p

Gar, your company so good, mine ah sit and sit on it for so long still no decision. Sigh.

kitsune,
ya, not cheap cos the book is v heavy. almost 2kg!

my coy has some woman's network initiatives...they're focusiing on coy practices to make the workplace friendly to female employees to achieve diversity. so this govt measure v timely for us!

Leila
Earth's Best is at Cold Storage.

you mean just throw the potato, celery, pumpking and threadfin together and boil? ok, i try that on wed. must buy fresh threadfin, i'm afraid the fishy taste might turn her off.

i'm thinking of mashed potatoes with BM. strange or not huh? try some "ang moh" food. hehe.

Gar, yup, I'm a Peter Rabbit fan so the book is more for me than RaeAnne so never mind slowly wait lar. Mine is supposed to be Family Friendy Firm but come to these kind of benefits, they'll take a wait and see approach. Govt service is like that I guess. :p

bkk,
arielle loves the following combi - pumpkin, potato, carrot, spinach, chicken/pork

now and then my mom will intro new food by removing either potato or carrot and replacing with the new food (like peas, cauliflower etc)

kitsune,
actually why not ask borders to bring in? they can order for you i think. the next time there is a 30+10, i pick it up for you

leila
u intend to cook pasta for bb soon? how will they eat it leh? puree? btw, NTUC Finest has a few brands for organic pasta, but i haven't really noticed whether it's for bbs or not..

oh, also for celery in the porridge, do you puree the celery? cos pumpkin i know easy to mash, but celery not so right?
everytime i talk about porridge for bbs i always feel so greedy and want some for myself :p

re: solids vs cereal
my girl is much more enthusiastic in eating her cereal than her porridge.

we usually prepare soup stock cooked with carrots, sweetcorn, sometimes dates (not always coz heaty), sometimes wolfberries. then use the stock to cook the porridge in slow cooker for 3 hrs. will add a small pc of pork rib and threadfin for taste. and will also add pumpkin, carrot, spinach or brocolli. she doesn't really fancy.

gar,
can share how u prepare ur porridge?

garfield,

i've made payment for the drugstore

To Account POSB Savings
032-73860-5 garfield
Amount S$28.49
Transaction Reference 1907972484

bx,
my son likes his porridge though he'll get bored of it if we don't change the vegetables. i use chick stock to cook the porridge and then add pumpkin/sweetcorn or carrot/pumpkin or sweet potato/pumpkin and sometimes will add spinach/brocolli... we always try to put in 2-3 vegie inside with sweetcorn or pumpkin coz it taste sweet :p we boil (or sometimes steam) the vegie first then when porridge is ready we combine the two and cook a bit more.

good morning mummies,
seems like you all are cooking yummy porridge for your baby.
my MIL is going to cook porridge with fish for my gal too. *praying hard that she doesn't add any soya sauce. already reminded her that soya sauce also contains salt.

bx,
i actually hope that my gal will prefer cereal than porridge.
1st, it saves the time for cooking porridge.
2nd, i can make sure that there won't be any flavoring added e.g., soya sauce, salt.

let's see how it goes today...

isobellies jie:
egg yolk to start @ 8 mths &amp; egg white @ 10 mths

re: stock:
got my maid to cook rice powder w our adult soup base (to tat no need to make a seperate one for him hee~)

stock: pork / chicken w carrot &amp; totmato w veg like corn / cabbage / water cress / lotus roots / celery.

i used 120ml stock to cook w 2 tbsp of rice powder &amp; 50-70ml of puree.

ok... i have concluded tat my boy hates broccoli. he will buu buu out everything. broccoli bubbles. messy messy!

can i find out what is lentils? any local names? tried google but the pic dun look familiar.. hee~ prob i have not seen it before or perhaps didnt noe that it lentils.

jass
lentils are like beans, good source of protein. you know daal that is served with curry? it's a southern indian staple. that's made with lentils. you can find organic lentils at ntuc organic section.

my fren did tell me that she gave her dd lentils (but she's indian so i guess it's like chinese giving porridge). i shall find out from her how to cook lentils.

bbkgal:
orh ok, so tat is like rice grains like tat lah... i was @ the organic section of ntuc and looking @ all the beans and such.. wondering what to buy. end up only buy brown rice grains hahahah~

wanna start porridge soon. quite excited.

By reading hw u all cook the stock, seems tasty and yummy. My stock super SIMPLE - "ba tou" &amp; ikan bilis only.

But last wkend i simple din prepare any stock, jz boil the rice and steam/mash the veggies then add 2 porridge, cook another half hr or so, then feed my gal.

She eats so happily.

good morning mummies.. been quite busy.. no time to post.

Re: cereal/porridge
My ger is on cereal for bf and porridge for lunch and dinner since last thurs.. but on weekend.. i only feed her cereal.. cause always out.

According to my in laws.. my ger luvs porridge!! she can finish 1 bowl in the 2 meals.. normal size porridge bowl.

ester.. my ger also dun like milk now.. sigh.. she only drink.. let me see.. abt 300 ml to 400 ml a day.. i wish she can drink more.. but she refused to drink.. just play w the teat..

Re: porridge

Must cook stock?? i thot just put everything in.. and let it simmer.. so far.. my mil used carrot/potato and fish.. dunno what fish..

Jeannie,

Sama sama! (milk intake). Sometimes (Rarely) if she finish up the 140ml, i would praise her in her ears softly "GOOD GAL".

Re : Milk

Hw much ur bb drink now? My gal used 2 drink 160ml but of late (1mth ago) dropped till 130ml!

Re : Fish

So alot of mummies started giving their bbs fish as in feed them the fish? So i suppose most bbs alreadi past 8mths here?

I'm hoping 2 "tong" till my bb 9mths then start feeding her fish.