(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

RE. Eczema
Any babies suffering from eczema? What are you using for your baby? Do share please. Hillary got eczema when winter started in May, still yet to clear up even u till now, so upset to see her with red patches all over.

Re:breastfeeding when bb has teeth

How to prevent bb from biting when u latch bb?

this morning at 6am my boy bit me and i yelled out of pain, then he cried. maybe i oouch too loud and frightened him. aiks.. i tried latching a few timees and he din suck but bite. so i think his gum is uncomfortable. so ended up i pumped and give him the bottle at 7am. *faint*

now i'm very scared to latch him already.. does that mean it's the end of my bf journey?? he still woke up for milk at night and i dont wanna make milk in the middle of the night and just wanna latch him, easier.. but how.. sigh..

jeannie,
they can only get back on wed morning on the availability.

re: feb mummies gathering
can i join after my BJG trial class? should end at about 3.30pm.

feb08 mummies gathering
date: 6th Sept or 13th Sept

1) dor
2) cheryl
3) tongtong ( if it's not on 30th/31st)
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
6) garfield (except 30th)
7) stephie (if i can make)
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b

bx:
hows ur pumping session recently? i'm drying up.. gotta stop v soon.. yeah!!! haha kinda od glad as i dun have to worry abt how long i can stay out and yeah.. more freedom to come. quite happy

snowbelle:
dun worry abt ur bb being bigsize coz their weight gain will slow down once they started solids. furthermore she will be more active (increase metabolism) when she starts to crawl & walk.

jeannie:
not sure if matthew hates sweet potato. he didnt finish his cereal (mix w sweet potato) these 2 days. dunno if he is sleepy /wanna play / just not hungry / dislike sweet potato. but its v sweet leh.. v nice.. i tried it. which type is japanese sweet potato huh? how to identify?

isobellies jie:
arigato for the FM
no worries, i'll go & find ur hubby's clinic. yeah coz my bb is still on a trial & error stage.. looking for suitable FM.
yeah... for the pear juice i used blended... chinese pear can mash till v 'lan' leh.. hahah so not puree like.. more like juice

Tongtong, I had the same problem previously.

She just bit on it. Sometimes you can pre-empt this move when you realise your baby suddenly stops sucking and stares out as if she's thinking hard.

When I had this issue, I would tell her, Gal...gal...No...dun do it, think she understood. At times, when she bit without notice, it was very painful, I yelled out too. Then I would say sternly to her not to do it or her cheeks would be 'flicked'.

I actually 'flicked' her cheeks occasionally to tell her I meant it. She cried at first but now she doesn't bite anymore. Took me abt a week plus to be successful.

tongtong
last time when my gal bit, i would tell her sternly, 'no'. if she still did that, i would unlatch her and smacked her hand lightly.
then hor, sad to say that i didn't overcome the fear completely and she sensed my fear, she self-weaned from my breast at 13mth+. so sad... thereafter, i fed her EBM.

wow.. snowbelle/lezy,
your bb so tall already.
think my gal has my genes.

re: eczema
andrea,
my gal has it too. just found out recently.
PD recommended to put baby oil.
just started to apply today. not sure if it's effective.

kitsune, jass
thanks for your weaning schedule
just to share this is what i'm feeding my baby now. I give her 150ml but she seldom finish, usually around 90-120ml she will stop. Only very rare will she drink full 150ml.

8-9am Latch or formula 90ml
11am Lunch - Pureed vege/fruit/porridge
11-12pm Formula 150ml
3pm Formula 150ml
6pm Dinner - Porridge
7.30-8pm Formula 150ml
11pm Latch or Formula 150ml
At night, she may wake up 1 or 2 times and I will just latch her on - too lazy to prepare formula hehe.

May I ask how do mommies prepare milk powder in the middle of the night? Usually baby wake up already crying.. where got time to rush and make milk?

garfield.. isabel also started with only 1-2 teaspoon of rice cereal - she refuse to take anymore. but when i started feeding her porridge she suddenly can take 5-7 metal tablespoon worth. guess she's a 'chinese' baby after all! haha.

jeannie.. my baby had a very bad reaction to sweet potato. she had stomach pain the whole night and ended up poo-ing a LOT through the night. i had to change her diaper 4 times at night cos it was full of poo. so now i'm staying away from it..

hee...my mom managed to make some progress. finished close to 3 tsps today. that's almost one tablespoon hor?

mummies, when do we start replacing one milk feed with solids ah? my gal's intake of milk has actually increased even though she's taking close to 3 tsp of cereal. so now, not sure if i should increase solids or just let her drink more milk.

xiaoyun,
ya agree yr gal has v nice features =) if you don't mind ma fan then bring her along for the gathering to "make friends".

dor
*wave* long time no "chat" =) how's your new job? are you bring gervaise? handsome boy leh, bring him out to make friends with our babies!

venue,
dunno leh...can't think of any suitable ones

hi jeannie,

where u buy the jap sweet potato?

hi isobellies,

can i have the enfagrow?i have pm u my hp no,thanks so much!

garfield, yes yes.... will bring him along if there is a gathering....
hmmm.... he ok lah.. not handsome at all....
just earned himself a nickname "chu zhai"
cos of hs weight.
at 6mths old, he weighs 9.8kg...

how yr pretty???? arielle?
hmm... saw her pic at yr facebook.... anymore pic to share?

garfield,
got to discuss with hb first see if he mind to be a bb sitter during the aunties gathering :p

dor,
haha.... she's normally stay at home. as a result, she cried big time when i brought her to places with lots of ppl. especially she has got stranger anxiety now.

Xiaoyun, we usually stay there for 2-3 hours, 5+ - 8pm, can't go early cos my PT cleaner comes from 1-4+/5pm on Sunday but this Sunday going for BJG so hopefully can reach my mum's place earlier. Are you going back to your own house this Sunday?

Gar, cheh, I clarified how much Heinz wholegrain cereal she took today and MIL said quite a lot, when I asked for details, she said 3 teaspoon. Sigh, bai kai xin yi chang. :p

Feb MTB gathering
feb08 mummies gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b
11) kitsune (I'm keen, 6 sept better)

aiyo...who gave him that nickname? his birth weight was close to 4kg right? so i think ok leh, cos they say by 4 months should double (8kg) now already 6 months, close to 10kg should be about right.

arielle ah, driving me up the wall. dunno where she learn this protesting whine. so when she doesn't get what she wants she'll eh eh eh non stop. i cannot tahan. pass to the daddy. daddy so funny - keeps telling her "arielle be kuai kuai or else you won't get a di di or mei mei"

xiaoyun,
if we choose a place like shopping centre then hb can wheel her jalan jalan. less boring?

kitsune,
did your MIL refer to 3tsp cereal before or after mixing milk in? if it's before, then i think that's quite a lot already.

btw, did RaeAnne have any problem with the brown rice cereal ah? i recall some discussion on brown rice causing constipation. don't dare to give arielle cos she now poos once every 5-6 days so i don't wanna aggravete it.

aiya... his father loh....
hahaha. yr hb is still on the sunject of no2??? then go for it!!!

i know that jan thread got 4 mummies preggie with the next one...maybe u r next

so cute. seems like father's like to give their kids nicknames. mine called arielle "ah pwee" also.

ya la my hb like broken recorder. almost every day talk abt no.2 i told him you bug me some more then case closed. i won't consider till next year!

wow the jan mummies so happening ah! i'm impressed! must go kay poh a bit...maybe get some inspiration.

you accompany me with your no.3???

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+2">Part time bag promoter wanted urgently! Work at Isetan Scotts and robinsons, 5 days week: 2 days of 6 hrs shifts and 3 days of 8 hrs shift.
Interested or know of someone who's interested? Please call 97947064 fast!!!
</font></font>

haha... this kind of things can jio also?
heehee. but mens not here how to plan?
so which months u going?

i still thinking whether to have no3 or not. cos one child per hand already. no more free hand to hold another one

of course can jio...then it'll make me feel more inspired lor. now all i keep thinking is how to cope how to cope??? so if another mummy can cope, then i will kick myself into trying to cope.

your ah lao can hold another two *hee hee*

my mens also hasn't started, which means i need to stop BF, but i'm mentally not prepared to stop yet.

so, i'm gazing into crystal ball now to see which month it will be

Gar, introduce your hubby to my hubby and you will have peace cos my hubby not kan cheong about no 2 at all. Sometimes, when I ask him when we should start trying for no. 2, he'll look at me and say "this one like that, you want no. 2 ah?" haha, so I got no pressure at all, except my own biological clock ticking lar... Me too, menses not here yet, also wondering if I should reduce BF. :p

Think anything more than a small bowl to them is a lot because they see my baby's round tummy after feeding and say cannot feed anymore cos her tummy very big liao. Faint! Trying to brainwash them cos RaeAnne has not gained any weight since 2 Aug, her 3rd 6-in-1 jab.

No problem with brown rice cereal cos I told MIL to give water and fruit plus she's still taking about 5-6 feeds of BM a day so that helps with the poo poo bah.

i know how you feel. me resigned to be an "over-aged" 2nd time mom already. so no diff when i TTC.

my dilemma over num 2 is as follows:

1. hb doesn't want a live-in maid. so i cannot imagine how i can cope with 2 PLUS work full time. as it is, already so tired.
2. even if i can cope, i don't think i want to over-tire my mom by hvg her look after 2 grandchildren
3. which means that i may need to send arielle to play school or something. i don't mind having her attend play school, but the motivation must be right.
4. unfortunately, i do want my cake and eat it. i want children, sustain my current lifestyle, maintain my career.

do the govt's recent measures help? yes and no. they help to relieve the financial burden. but they do not solve the problem of women like me.

i want my children, i want to play an active part in their care (need not be full time, part time is good too), i want to maintain my career. i want to continue to work YET NOT OUTSOURCE my kid to a maid or infant care.

measures like more options for part time / free lance work for professional women would have been very helpful. unfortunately, didn't see anything like that.

Gar, for me, told hubby I want to work part time plus have a maid with no. 2. I got so little time with no. 1 since working full time, missed nearly all her milestones, very sian. Promised my boss to wait until end of the year cos we are shorthanded. So tired all the time, no time to play and enjoy her so not fair to her. MIL who is main caregiver doesn't seem to be thrilled to me having one next year, joked with her that I may want a Baby cow and she said that's only next year. :p

garfield, hee
me too! will be a overaged 3rd time mum
both me n hb were also discussing abt having a maid if really got no3 as mum will not be able to cope. we too dun like the idea of havinga stranger in the house...

also i felt that a bit short change vaise if i have no3 too soon....

re: BJG
jeannie/kitsune/goodbb,
the trial class has been cfm.
this coming sunday 31 Aug (time 2pm or 2.30pm TBC).

it is $37 to be paid after the class. (if no good we dun pay. keke...)

jeannie &amp; kitsune, can u pm me ur hp no?
goodbb, i already have urs (u pmed me the other time).

we still can take in 1 or 2 more babies if other mummies are keen. do let me know k?

good morning gals,
let me join in the fun of talking about next one.
i've no plan for next one too. that's why i think it will be better to jio jio Gervaise, RaeAnne, ShaunShaun as playmate.

Garfield,
Arielle also very near right? hehe..

btw, i think i'm ovulating although i've been tbf.
i had some clear mucus discharge recently. it's the same when i ovulates last time. so, i'd better be careful and not to do anything naughty. :p

kitsune,
yup. i'll be back home this Sun. but a bit difficult this week as i've got some stuffs to do.

Amy
I tried using California baby calendula cream but not much use to her eczema! Need to bring Hillary to the PD today, sigh. Will try the calming cream when I get hold of it. Thanks =)

Xiaoyun
Hillary's eczema was really scary. It started off on her shoulder, then the body, next come the face, hairline and her head! Imagine whole face and head all like swollen, I feel so xim-tia for her. Moreover I think its itchy, she will scratch her head, face and her thigh when I change diaper for her.

<font color="6633ff">re: live-in maid

i share all your dilemmas and woes too wrt No.2.

we also don't like the idea of a live-in maid but we have the option of hiring one, and putting at mum's place (which is nearby).

Sometimes will feel that one is enough for us. Parents keep asking us to have 2 cuz at least got 'company' and in future look out for each other (i have a brother n we r pretty close despite 5-year gap. that explains right?)

still thinking about it. Sometimes really desire to be pregnant again and go through the whole process again. It was quite uncomfortable and etc, but the joys of it kinda outweight all the fears i have on delivery n recovery.
<font size="+1">
Question:
Those of you above 30, do you feel that your body really changes after delivery? Food preferences, 'reaction' to stimulants (eg food, exercise, etc).

I'm born 76. I feel like body is really somewhat different and i feel really slow (mentally) sometimes (or most of the time!). I guess age really matters?</font></font>

<font color="red">
PSST!!

WHO WANTS BABYCENTRE SPREE AGAIN???
(In case some of you wondering, Artemis on course yesterday and today. So I helping her ask in advance.

<font color="blue">
Andrea,
So sorry to hear about Hillary's rashes. Must be horrible to see her scratching.

BX,
Can you post details for the BJG again? Sorry missed out the details previously.

Date/Time
Xiaoyun,
My parents bring ruth for morning and evening walks everyday - partly cuz she clamours for 'gai gai'. She's very observant i think. When she see my dad wearing something different, she kinda senses that it's 'gai-gai time' and she will wave her arms and get really restless. If you push her pram to the gate, she will wait for u patiently to bring her out.

When she goes downstairs, she will be very kaypoh and keep looking at other kids (there is a playground right below).

Similarly for my cousin's girl who is 2 now, she is more excited by other children than adults. Somehow 'their own kind' really appeals to them.

Perhaps you can ask your parents to try bringing her down? My parents specifically bought a small pram to bring her around. Those simple type with no fancy stuff, just a canvas seat, an overhead "shelter cover" and a mesh pouch to put things. Sometimes in the morning, they even wheel her to market/coffeeshop. But not to the wet market la..just around the shops etc.

I guess also cuz...my ruth is very 'hong sim'. always want gai-gai. </font>

Feb MTB gathering
feb08 mummies gathering

1) dor
2) cheryl
4) bluegin
5) snowbelle
8) xiaoyun
9) sunny
10) happymum2b
11) kitsune (I'm keen, 6 sept better)
12) lezy (depending on schedule. agree if shopping centre hb can go. :p)

Suggestion on place: VIVOCITY
- many accessible changing rooms
- certain portions (the stretch of shops nearest to the sea) are pretty isolated.
- those with older kids got playground
- many many shops/cafes
- Parking is not exorbitant (before 6pm is about $1.12 per hour; after 6pm 2.04 per entry)

<u>Imperial Sin-Chi....blah blah blah (cannot remember)</u>
there's this dim-sum place just outside Daiso. It looks really weird cuz it's 2tier deco - upstairs is young/kiddy looking while the below section is pretty 'chinesy'. Serves dimsum, chinese food...and also some western choices.

i've tried the dimsum - not a wide selection but it's quite yummy and fresh.

Good thing is that i think it's a lot of space and may be 'bookable'.

<u>White-Dog Cafe</u>
had a colleague's farewell there. Cafe food and pretty tasty. Up till Saturday afternoons, there is set meals at less than $15 (for soup+main course+beverage). There is a private area which MAY be bookable - seats up to about 20 max though. If not it will be the main restaurant place.

I can check them out if you all are agreeable.

garfield:
yeah 3 tsp = 1 tbsp. jia you arielle

haha ur arielle has a protest whine, my matthew does the shriek... even worse.

garfield / dor:
ya.. my matthew has lots of nicknames too. arranging from 'fei fei' to 'huai tan' to 'guai guai'

oscar:
not able to help on the prepare FM part. coz little matthew will sleep thru the night fr 11pm - 7am just like us. haha

re: #2
i oso wan.. but hubby dun wanna yet say i wont be able to cope. coz my little one can be quite demanding.. he has mood wan.

<font color="blue">BJG:
eh, what if baby wants to nap ah????

how u all ensuring that your babies will be happy, awake and active enough to participate/learn during such a session? I scared bring ruth there she yawn and wanna sleep and end up crying the whole world down!</font>

Oscar:

every night before i sleep, i will bring into room:

one flask of warm water
one dry milk bottle - with FM already inside (that's why must be dry)

so when she cries, i just pour in water and give her. Anyway, i know when she wakes up. she wil 'ngek ngek' and give us about 1 minute to make the milk before she wakes up the neighbours.

The warm water you may have to experiment on optimal quantity to put into thermal flask so that it doesn't cool down that much or remains too hot. Usually for my 500ml flask. i put about half and the temperature is just nice for milk after about 6hours.