(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

my bb is also 5 mths 2 weeks coming.
he is always boo boo especially when he is happy.
i think cos teething is abt to start hence the boo boo sounds and saliva stuff

Jeannie & Sunny,
The hat in the 1st pic is a pass-down from my niece, dunno when my bro got it. I think it's included in a clothes set one. Not really thick and won't feel hot as we only let her wear that hat in aircon place. The 2nd one is from Kiddy Palace.

Kitsune,
Yeah, really a long time no see... since xmas... another quarter will be exactly 1 year... really fast... somemore I miss out a few of the Feb08 gatherings, hope there will be 1 soon especially now the babies know how to play more liao... should be very fun.

bb Passport,
wow... everyone making passport for bb, where are you all going? busybody a bit... :p

Xiao Yun,
I've transferred to you. Thanks for organising!

To Account: POSB Savings 198-15117-3 Xiao Yun
Amount: S$13.34
Transaction Reference: 1836748325
Transferred Date & Time: 10 Aug 2008 09:28 PM

isobellies
can only change milk bottles leh. no harm changing old bottle with new one. it's 50% discount anyway. i got those cheap ones which ppl gv me, but the measurements are all wrong. so, cannot use to store my EBM.

snowbelle
my hometown is in m'sia. so, i did my boy's passport when he's abt 1 mth old. :D

Snowbelle, me bringing RaeAnne to HK in early Dec over the Hari Raya Haji weekend so need passport and warm clothes. Are you still a FTWM?

Thank you all mummies for sharing useful informations in this thread! Have been reading this thread everyday but did not do any posting.

As I'm going for my operation to remove my fibroids next Sat, will need mummies' advice on giving my boy frozen EBM. I've been giving my 5mth old son EBM since birth but due to my operation, I need to give him frozen express milk.

May I know :
- how many hours in advance do I need to thaw the frozen EBM?
- if I need to transport my frozen EBM to another place, can I put back all the frozen EBM back to the freezer or I can only put it in the fridge compartment must consume within a certain period of time? How long can it last in the cooler bag?
- eg, I took out the EBM from the freezer to thaw in the fridge at 1pm by when do I need to use it before I need to discard it?

Thank you all mummies for your advice!!

Thank you all mummies for sharing useful informations in this thread! Have been reading this thread everyday but did not do any posting.

As I'm going for my operation to remove my fibroids next Sat, will need mummies' advice on giving my boy frozen EBM. I've been giving my 5mth old son EBM since birth but due to my operation, I need to give him frozen express milk.

May I know :
- how many hours in advance do I need to thaw the frozen EBM?
- if I need to transport my frozen EBM to another place, can I put back all the frozen EBM back to the freezer or I can only put it in the fridge compartment must consume within a certain period of time? How long can it last in the cooler bag?
- eg, I took out the EBM from the freezer to thaw in the fridge at 1pm by when do I need to use it before I need to discard it?

Thank you all mummies for your advice!

Sunny,
Come to think of it... I think I also need to make one for her at end of year... hb said we are going back to Malaysia (his hometown) for CNY. Dunno how should we travel there... it's in Ipoh... airport closed liao... and don't think my girl can tahan such a long ride on coach or train... even if we fly to Penang, it's still a 3 hours journey... headache lah...

Kitsune,
I see... remember to update us after your trip... I'm planning for a Taiwan trip next Mar... hopefully can take leave then...

Yeah, still a FTWM... wish I can work part-time... before delivery, I want to be a SAHM and thought I can... after the maternity leave, I cannot tahan... need some space for myself... now everyday wanna take leave or mc :p

bx, we started with 1 teaspoon of rice cereal but never progressed beyond 2 teaspooon of rice cereal leh. I don't know if it's because my gal is less interested in the Heinz cereal then in the beginning or she's less hungry cos she's still drinking a fair bit of milk. Eg. after MIL feeds her rice cereal at 5+pm, she'll still cry for milk at 7+,8pm but when I ask MIL to feed more rice cereal, they said she don't want to eat more and will fight with them. :p

Snowbelle, I know what you mean, SAHM also no fun sometimes. I'm still FTWM too, wanted to convert to part time in Aug but due to manpower limitations, boss ask me to wait till end of the year. By then, my gal already 1 year old liao, don't know if I'll change my mind. Sigh.

Bx, more details:
8+-9am - rice cereal (2 teaspoon)
12-1pm - 125ml EBM
3+pm - 125 ml EBM
5+-6pm - rice cereal
7+8pm - latch on
9+10pm - latch on (& coax her to sleep)
12am-6+am -latch on 2-3 times.

My baby has been drinking a lot these few days... anybody's babt behaved like this.

This is what she drank today

9.30 am 125 ml
1130 am Fed apple puree (less than half apple)
1 pm 110 ml
3pm 125 ml
530 pm 125 ml
830 pm 125 ml
10 pm 150 ml plus 30 ml water

In between she drank quite a bit of water also. Total she drank..prob 800 ml plus water.

Not that i mind her drinking milk.. but the problem is she luvs water now and she kept wanting to drink water even just now after drinking 150 ml of milk she wasnt satisfied kept crying.. cant sleep.. kept scratching her head and when i gave her pacifer.. she doesnt want.. but she want to drink water and went on to drink 30 ml. OMG.. i am worried that she doesnt now whether she is full .. or else why is she drinkig so much at one time.

During ther night she will wake up a few times and cry and when we gave her water.. she will drink and she will resist pacifier.. How.. is there any problem w my ger?? Is she taking too much water?

Pls... help me.. at a loss

snowbelle.. thanks.. will go check out the hat.. just went mothercare to look at their hats.. Wah.. super duper ex.. $25 for 1 hat.. i a bit cheapo lah.. dun think i will spend so much on hat..Mothercare seems quite expensive.. even hubby also commented that i should be able to get cheaper hats from online spree.

Re:passports

Thanks for the information.. think i will apply probably a few months before we leave next yr.

Re: Calendula cream
Xiaoyun.. its ok lah. i not in urgent need.. i buy next time lah..
thanks for offering.

jeannie,
i think gwen's appetite is picking up. there was a phase when she din drink much right? i guess ashlynn was oso like that.

maybe u should try intro rice cereal liao.

wow, she drinks lots of water! mine doesn't like to drink water leh. even when i give her diluted fruit juice, she oso doen't fancy. headache... she already third day never poo poo liao.

re: solids
to date,
i have given pear (jar), banana (jar), apple (homemade) and avocado (homemade) purees. just bought a book First Foods yesterday. hope to make more variety of foods for my bb.

snowbelle
can lah. just bring your gal's favourite toys along. at this age, she should be sleeping a lot? lots of kids will doze off easier when they are on the road. :D

Sunny,
but then hor... I feel very "risky" leh... especially if we travel at night, she always cry before she sleeps... then we noticed that if she's on a bus ride for more than half an hour, even she has rested for half an hour before having her feed, she will throw out everything...

Next thing is... dunno where to change her diaper... if just urine, can secretly change on the bus seat bah... but if poo-poo, dunno how leh...

I gave my baby a taste of Durian yesterday..he gave a us a strange look.. but did not proceed to lick up the spoon. At least he didn't reject it.
Hubby says must initiate him into the Durian lovers club.

hi sweetpea,

haven "chatted" with u for a long time. is the book useful? have u replaced ur boy's milk feed with one rice cereal/porridge meal?

Snowbelle...what about travelling in the night? I guess baby's built in rhythem will make her sleep. I think baby's also dun usually poo-poo in the middle of the night right?

snowbelle
wah, throw out! does she have reflux problem? you check with doc before? mayb you can observe what's her routine e.g. poo, feed, etc and when comes to nearer date, you try to book the ticket for the timing which is most suitable for her.
if poo poo, no choice got to change inside the bus loh. else, ask the driver to stop at the nearest rest station. else, can take train.

yah..finally got some time to come into the forum again. I spent the last month training a new hire and he just quit. Hmmp!!

The book at this point is not very useful as the recipes now are all simple purees. I think when baby gets older and needs more variety then it will be useful. Do you know of any useful website for baby recipes?

Now baby is taking the following:
7am - latch
11am - 120ml b/m
1 pm - Rice cereal (lunch)
2pm - 120ml b/m
5pm -120ml formula
7.30pm - 120ml formula
10pm - latch

Some times he can't even finish his 120ml bottle. I think drink milk more impt than solids, so I try to make sure he drinks his milk and dive second priority to his solid. So dun relly wanna replace his milk feed yet. He takes about 1 tablespoon of cereal (makes about 1/4 cup)

This week am gonna try carrot puree. So far given him Friso Rice Cereal, bananan, and ground brown rice with barley.

Jeannie
Hillary has been crying alot during the night too. She will wake up at cry every 2hours =( When we give her the pacifier, she will either resist it or keep biting it.

Re. Solid
We fed Hillary with mashed avocado last evening and seems like she is loving it! Haha, so cute to see her reaction when feeding her =)

Re. Passport
Hillary has gotten her passport in June but we are not travelling anywhere! Instead we will be going back to SG for a week in Sept for my brother's wedding ;) Cant wait to show her to my parents!

re: calendula cream batch #2
good morning mummies,

bad news, the product has been discontinued.

"Thank you for your recent order!

Unfortunately, California Baby Cream, Calendula (2 has been discontinued. We have cancelled this item from your order. You have not been charged and no refund is due for this item.

We apologize for any inconvenience and would like to offer you this coupon code - IO2 - for 5% off your next order.

Also, we may have other versions available. If you are interested, please call customer service who may be able to recommend an appropriate alternative.

----------------------------------------------------------------------
Qty Product Code - Product Name Status
13 792692334555 - California Baby Cream, Calendula (2 cancelled

If you have questions, please contact us at 1 800 369 1039. Thank you for ordering with NationalSupplementCenter.com!!"

i got to refund you all money...
any of you interested to get anything from <font color="0000ff">NationalSupplementCenter.com</font> with 5% discount?

jenny.L
hi there, i gave my son ebm when i was away for a business trip. well, once u expressed, keep inside the freezer (lifespan is abt 6mths in freezer). and the night before, i will prepare for the next day feed by bringing down the frozen milk into the normal fridge to thaw.
after thawing, just put inside the normal feeding bottles to ease the caregivers convenience of just warming it.
i will warm the ebm by puttin into a cup of warm water to warm up the milk. no problem on this method.
just make sure you thaw long enough to defrost the ebm.

Tks bx. I think one mummy sent us this link but I lost it.

Last time u mentioned you're gonna stop pumping. So how..will you still continue pumping?

sweetpea,
i am still pumping twice a day. supply is abt 400+ ml per day. giving abt 1 feed of FM per day. the rest of the feeds rely on fresh plus frozen stock. hope to reduce to 1 pumping session by friday (she is 6 mth on friday!) and totally stop by next week.

how abt u? supply should be still ok right?

re: solids
can i check with all of u? when u prepare puree, do u wash ur apples/sweet potato, pumpkin etc with the bottle &amp; fruits &amp; veg cleanser first? or just wash with tap water?

jeannie:
wah... gwen loves water ya. that is gd, my son dun really like water.. he will suck for a few times then push out the teat.

iso:
sweet potato is ok for bb

sweetpea:
ur hubby is so cute... so u and hubby both love durian huh?
ya.. like u, i think milk intake is more impt for bb... introducing solids is to prepare him for future. esp so when matt is only 5M3W.

bx: this is my feeding schedule for matthew:

7.30am: 180ml FM (sometimes cannot finish)
11am: 1.5 tsp cereal w 80ml FM w puree(feed the remainder 40ml) - i intend to increase cereal to abt 2tsp and mix w 90ml FM for this meal
2.30pm: 180ml BM
6.00pm: 180ml BM / FM
8.30pm: Snack Time (either biscuit / fruit puree)
10.30pm: 180ml FM

Jenny.L:
like family_mon, i'll transfer my frozen EBM from freezer to fridge @ nite when i need it the next day. those that i placed in the fridge, i'll let matthew finish it in 2-3 days. for me, i wont tpt frozen EBM and upon reaching destination freeze it agaon. coz i dun think we can refreeze coz i scare when u tpt it, there are temp change. if i tpt it in cooler bag i'll consider it 'thawing' and after that placed in fridge. if talking abt normal ebm in cooler bag (as long as you cooling element is properly freezed) can tahan for up to 10 hours. btw, u can also email the distributor of ur breast pumps for more info coz maybe material of cooler bag might differ.

bx: i just use tap water. anyway, bb dun eat the skin ma. i'll skin them before steaming / blending. ger... i feel like reducing my pumps to 2x per day leh... now w 3 pumps i'm at max 300ml per day only.

Sweet potatoe
Is sweet potatoe the first recomended food to give baby? or is pumkin ok too?

I went to the supermarket during the weekend and got 'confused' by the different types of fruits/veg (haha too longe never cook liao). i saw 1)'purple sweet potatoe'-small odd shaped sweet potatoe which i can distinctly tell it's purple skin under the mud covering and 2)a bigger sweet potatoe which was labeled as 'white sweet potatoe' (i can't tell what's the colour under the mud...prob brown skin too?)

erm.. i tot sweet potatoe is supposed to be orangey in colour?

for those travelling, if on formula or solids, do prepare A LOT MORE milk/food in case of delays.

i was with ds on flight to macau when he was 3.5 months old. i prepared 4 servings of powder, 1 for take-off, 1 for landing and 2 extra. the flight is only 3.5 hours. who noes he was hungry at airport before takeoff and then the flight was delayed for 5.5 hours and i did not have enough milk powder. on my return trip bac to SG, i put a whole tin in my handcarry.

hi piglettail, i will be tryin pumpkin n sweet potato too after another 2 days of avocado. tried avocado over the wkend. ds made a mess of himself. he was batting at the spoon n bowl n mummy being a 1st time mummy is so clumsy also contributed to the mess.

SweetPea,
The problem with travelling at night is she will cry very loud and diffcult to pacify before she sleeps... I think other passengers will throw us out...

Sunny,
Never check... coz think maybe she got car sick, then after drink her milk, throw out lor... she still looks ok, like nothing happened... How's the train nowadays? I didn't take the train for about 20 years liao... got any improvement?

bb solid food,
I gave my girl potato last Sat. She made a sour face on her first try, but after that, she wants more... I think the Heinz bb cereal is really yucky... maybe I'll mix in apple puree with the bb cereal... Anyone tries pea or spinach puree yet?

<font color="119911">mummies re:baby einstein collection

hehe just got the loot. :) finally vpost has sent it to my place. thanks for all your patience with all the delays

here are the timing and dates. :)
12/8/08 @ 9.30am Tanjong Pagar mrt
12/8/08 @ 3pm Orchard mrt
12/8/08 @ 4pm Farrer Park mrt
13/8/08 @ 4pm Toa Payoh mrt
16/8/08 @ 2pm Tiong Baruh mrt
16/8/08 @ 4pm Tampines mrt

hope to see you mummies there :)</font>

snowbelle
i didn't take train for many many years, too. not too sure how is it. should be ok bah. at least when bb is crying, you can carry her and walk around. no need to be confined to one area.

re: exchanging pigeon bottle at taka bb fair
went to change bottle again just now. the standard size big bottle no more stock liao.

Sunny,
I think I'll see whether my hb will change his mind or not... don't feel good in bring bb for train or coach ride...

re: exchanging pigeon bottle at taka bb fair
Ai yah... still thinking of gg down to exchange this wed... so now only can exchange for the small bottle one?

bx, my supply drop slightly ( I think). Now i only pump twice a day (depends whether baby latch on in the morning, and latch on 2 or 3 times. Pump at 7am, 12pm ,6pm. I think baby still drinking about the same as when he was 4 mths old.

Pigelttail, there are 2 types of sweet potatoes I see in cold storage/ntuc. The purple ones are Japanese..and they are yellow inside. My mom likes the purple ones as they are very sweet. I also saw the expensive American ones, orange skin, and long. Look like our local ones. But more expensive. I think all 3 types are ok for babies bah (The book didn't tell us which ones!)

jass...haha I used to love durians when I was a little girl. But I think my dad overfed me with durian..now I dun really like it, though I dun detest it.

Re: Cereal
My neighbour with a 1 yr old baby told me she used to feed Heinz cereal to her baby...but in recent months she changed to Friso coz the Friso ones taste better. For myself I give Friso since my baby drink Friso formula. Hmm...those whose babies detest Heinz may wanna try Friso? So far my baby likes it..and I find it quite tasty myself

piglettail
i'm a sweet potato lover. there're many types around. orange flesh, white flesh, purple flesh, yellow flesh. all should be fine for bb. personally i like the yellow flesh (japanese type) best.

Re: cereal
am feeding shawn heinz rice cereal. he quite enjoys it. usually will 'complain' by making lots of noise when i'm too slow in replenishing the spoon.

re: taka bb fair
saw philips blender being sold there. but not sure if the price is attractive. only check out the handheld blender's price. it costs $99.

jass,
it depends on how long u target to bf. if u wanna continue, then u better keep to 3 pumps a day. if u planning to stop soon, then u can drop to 2 pumps a day.

u add alot of FM to ur cereal hor? i only add 30ml BM to 2 teaspoon.