(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

luckyblu/thankful,
ok.

tongtong,
i can somehow understand what you feel because i have this kind of feeling at times.
i don't think it's related to bf. but i don't know what happen either. :p

lezy,
i check drugstore leh. nothing much things to buy.
all the usual things we buy, e.g., desitin, california baby increase in price.
the free shipping over $25 is always there.
probably need to wait for a while more to see if there's any promotion.

Iso, eh these things dont work well or for long. I tried a similar bowl when my DD was small, didnt do nuts for us. Cant recall wat brand, nuby or something equally reputable.

just to share - diaper rash:

ruth has never had much rash. we seldom use barrier cream (got 2 tubes given by relatives - J&J but we hardly use).

Night before last, she woke up 5am, i gave her her feed as usual. But after feed, she very unhappy. cry n cry. i latch her, also cannot. She keep squirming and squirming - so hard to carry her.

went on for almost half an hour. we tried everything.

then decided to check her diapers....alamak she poot-poot!

but no smell (normally is REALLY smelly) and she doesn't poo at night (at least not for the past 3 months).

After that, she develop VERY BAD rashes...so now have to buy cream. sigh. that's what got me started looking at drugstore.com

but my friend say if urgent need, just buy off the shelf for now.

Lesson learnt....don't forget to check and change if she poop. or else kana like that again. before tha never have problem...

Hi Artemis,

I've just transferred $7.76 to you. Txn ref: 1810583828 Opting for normal postage. Will PM u my address shortly.

Help! My baby's suffering from constipation/ very hard stools. Just now when my tried to poo poo, could see that she tried pushing very hard but the poo's too hard to push out. She pushed till she cried in pain. So heart pain to see her like that. Now whole day so cranky...

I think it may be due to her reduced intake of milk recently and also the night feedings of fm that resulted in her hard stools.

Anybody have any remedies?

Iso
I saw that at taka today next to the cashier at the baby dept. never really see the price..They having sale for sassy things.
where got birkies spree?

My baby has been babbling since 8pm, at first I thought it's because hubby was letting her listen to FM88.3 and she's trying to 'sing'. But the radio has been switched off since 9pm and she's still babbling. Wonder if she'll be thirsty and if I should feed her water though I have not fed water since BF. Anyone's having the same experience?

kitsune,
is raeanne constantly in aircon? if so she could be thirsty. i think no problem with feeding some water even though BF.

Gar, no she's not in air con cos we don't use air con at home. Hubby sensitive nose lar. She's still wide awake and babbling on and off. Think tonight will be a long night.... :p

oh dear...maybe she learning how to talk? just went to your blog to listen to her "dae dae". so cute!!! arielle can only make ooohhhhhhhh and ahhhhhhh sounds. raeanne's v fast!

long time nvr post...been v busy in office lately until i can only take 1 off day per week...initially want to clear off maternity leave by taking 2 days a week but then cannot cope with work so just decide to take every fri off...

re: solids,
my mom like cannot wait to give bb solids... told me last time fed me solids when i was 3 mth old and still turn out ok...but i told her i want to wait and she doesn't object....

re: ss,
been pumping for 3 weeks in office now...last weekend suddenly ss drop...so sad every pump can only get 160-180 and i'm pumping only 3x every 6hrly, confirm not enough since my son a lot of time cannot finish his milk... so start taking this pill that contains extract of a leaf which in indon ppl believes help to increase ss... not sure if we have it here in spore...but it's well known in indon... then i also took fish oil and pump at night before i go to sleep... after that i can feel my ss increase again but now confuse what factor contribute to my ss going up...or maybe it's a combination of the 3 :p

sunny,
thanks for your input on the olive oil thingy... i haven't try it yet but what i'm doing right now is to put on calendula cream and so far seems to be getting better...i think maybe it's due to the diaper rash cream being too strong...i switch to drapolene now and only use desitin for night time...

Gar, RaeAnne is older than most of the babies here cos she's born on 22 Jan, so it is not that she is fast lar. In terms of milestones, she still can't crawl or pull herself upright so I think she may be more 'ji zha' but slower in the physical development.

anyone using avent via cups?

i'm thinking of doing a spree. cos it's about US$4 for 10 vs SG$13.20. nowadays cannot get 20% discount for avent in SG anymore...

Gar, hubby managed to put RaeAnne to sleep after fed her 100ml by bottle.
Now that she's starting solids, I have enought EBM to do night feeds again. Last time, EBM not even enough for day time so got to latch and latch at night. Stressed.... :p

heehee...good news! so you can sleep better at night. so no need to wake up to pump also? milestone hor, 6 mths....do you feel that you want to continue?

i broached topic of stopping BF at 6mths. hubby told me to persevere. i was quite surprised, thought he would say ok to stop.

Hi lezy,

I have an extra tube of desitin from drugstore.com at S$8.68 if you are interested. Then I can help to organise a spree for desitin. I also experiencing the same thing as tute, Danica's backside also got scaly thing. I think I want to get Avent barrier cream. I don't like too creamy ones for normal use but my HB that time say buy more and use that only no need to day time use Avent, night time or Danica's backside red red use Desitin, confuse the maid. But now with the scaly thing, I think better to have day and night use type better.

RE : maid issue

I am so pissed at my maid. Danica has had colic since birth and so I implemented a 300 burping routine (100 times pat, 100 times rub and 100 times pat again) it sounds crazy but it worked for Danica. After just a week of this, no more colic related symptoms. When my current maid arrived, I took 3 days leave plus the weekend to train her and emphasised this point to her. Recently, I notice that she stoped burping Danica after she has burped once. (Danica normally burps 2 - 3 times) So I reminded her again. Tonight, after Danica's 7 p.m. latch on she vomitted 5 times at home and was very cranky. I asked her whether Danica fell and/or hit her head but she denied this. But I decided to take Danica to see the doctor anyway just to be safe. At the clinic, Danica vomitted twice again. The GP said that there was a lot of air in Danica's stomach and that's why she is vomitting. I am to feed her only half the amount she normally drinks and then half again an hour later. When I asked my maid whether she had been burping Danica 300 times, she gave me a very sheepish look. I am so MAD! Then today, when I cleaned Danica thigh area (I always do the night ones to send time with her), I noticed that there were rashes in between the folds! I immediately called her into Danica's room, showed her the rashes and reminded her to clean the folds of Danica's thigh properly. She only said "Oh..." when she saw the rashes. ARGH!!!

Hi Garfield9,

I'm using Avent cups. I am interested
Maybe can do together with my next Gap.com / OldNavy.com spree and consolidate shipment? Or you want to consolidate with the Amazon one? I am not sure what to offer for the sleeping bag. Why don't you tell me how much you paid and I'll pay you that since you stated that it's brand new?

artemis, i was so desperate i went to os spree n found dramaqueen's drugstore spree n she got stock at 10 a tube. Yours is the blue or purple one? 10 seems expensive compared to ur price. Sigh. I told her i want already. Should hv waited for reply here. Sigh.

Gar, thinking of reducing pumping interval but haven't started yet. Don't think stopping yet. Frozen EBM was wiped out previously so still feel insecure at reducing pump interval. My hubby also like that, keep asking me to latch on to let her sleep. And I keep asking him what happens after I stop BF, then he said stop BF, no milk, still can let her suckle mah. Cheh. :p

Hi lezy,

Mine is Desitin Creamy the blue one. Lol... That time I asked whether got people interested in drugstore spree, no one responded so I ended up buying 6 tubes. 2 I sold to piglettail, 1 using, 1 at in laws place so still got 2. 1 tube for backup so I still have 1 tube to spare if you need.
You let me know lah. My price is cheaper cause is cost + shipping price no markup at all. :p

diaper rash

got 1 time, my son kana bad diaper rash... we used to use drapolene... but after he kana we tries calendula.. calendula is good, the rash get clear up 1 day... but den we havent change his diaper size so kana again... so we use desitin....

usually when his diaper area is red, just 1 apply of desitin will heal le.... so now i only use desitin

I swear by desitin cream too. Have been using it on my boy since birth and he din get any diaper rush at all. Usually jus put a thin layer after bath and after the night clean up. Good thing is one tube can last very long....

Isobellies, I saw it at OG Orchard last Friday.

Gals, I started a spree to get those cute handbag/handphone charms and crocs 'jibbtz' from China, thought it's rather cheap. U gals keen?

Crocs 'Jibbitz', Charms and Novelties Spree

Nowadays, I find myself using almost 6 to 7 pcs of diapers. My gal 'pooh-pooh' a lot. And always a bit, a bit. Dun wan to do her 'business' one shot.

And the era of making baby food is here again...

Innosense, if stools are hard or bb's constipating, try letting your bb drink some ricewater. They help my 3 kids so far. This 'water' is the one that is on top of porridge.

kitsune,
if u going to continue bf after 6 mths, i feel that u should not reduce ur pumping sessions. coz ss will drop drastically. this is from my experience.

bx,
i thought so too!!! but it shouldn't be right? :D

re: vitaglo spree
the 2nd packaged already reached borderlinx! that's really fast. *yippee!!*
I will be able to get them next week.
will sort out the shipping charge after i weigh the vitamins i bought.

morning...

xiaoyun, thats good news. Was thinking of bring my boy to the zoo in the first week of Aug. Do let me know if the goods are ready for collection.

Artemis,
The bb sunglasses is sooooo cute.... though it indicated it's for 0-2years, I dunno how to put it on for my girl... coz her head is so much bigger...
can your bb sunglassess fit your bb? wo bu si xin yet... will try to loosen the screws... see will help or not... really want to see my bb wearing it... My hb saw the sunglasses last night... he said I siao one but I know he will be the first one to grab the camera and take pictures when my girl wears it... kekee

kitsune, haha my baby also talks alot! He coos and babbles so animatedly in conversation with me sometimes that I swear he understands wat I am saying and thinks he is really replying!

Iso, the food warmer will keep your food slightly warm max for an hour in an aircon mall, if u want to keep food warm, then can get those proper vacuum food containers from tiger and thermos? As for warming up food (eg, jar food), it does work, but its just as convenient to ask for a bowl of hot water in the restaurant and plunking your jar food in it. One use I can tihnk of is, for you to fill up the hot water part only when starting to feed, say in an aircon environment, to prevent food from becoming cold too fast? But then if u are feeding from a thermos flask then no such problem hehe.

artemis, I am still waitig for your email about my spree hehe.

artemis
have trf the $ for domestic shipping:

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis
Amount S$3.63
Transaction Reference 1811259959

may i know how does Gap/ON charge for domestic shipping? i thought it's a flat USD7? am thinking of buying stuff directly. but if the domestic charges is more then USD7, then must reconsider liao.

with all the shipping charges added up, my ON/Gap items cost more than $3 per item just for shipping. more than doubled the amt i paid for via happymum2b's spree. guess really need lots of order to enjoy lower shipping charges.

Hi Garfield9,

Okay, I'll go take a look at the site.

Hi snowbelle,

I haven't really tried putting it on yet but holding it up against her face, the size seems pretty okay. I agree that it is so sweet. Even my HB also smiled when he saw it. Now I'm thinking of buying a matching pink dress. :p

Hi Berry,

Sorry, have been swamped with work recently so never really got time to post and yesterday night had to bring Danica to see doctor.

Actually, I replied you but I think go into the achives liao. :p After my pumping I email you okay?

Hi Stephie,

Yes, Gap.com / OldNavy.com does charge a flat USD7 for domestic shipping. But unfortunately, for the 30 June spree thee were only a few items in total, thus, ended up each item is about S$0.84 for domestic shipping. For the 4 July one will not have this problem cause free domestic shipping. The next one that I organise, I wil also take in US$200 before ordering if not very bo hua.

artemis,
i wanna order the sunglasses too!

if you're busy, do you want me to do the avent via spree instead? no prob one. just let me know.

sunny,
my son doesn't have nappy rash...quite the opposite actually, he has something like hardening skin coz i think it's because his diaper area too dry? so i put drapolene/calendula which is not as dry as desitin creamy and now slowly it's peeling off...i stop using desitin creamy now and only use it night time once...so far *touch wood* my son dun have nappy rash...

kitsune,
i also have that concern re night sleep...what happen when i stop bf and he wants to drink at night...so far my son has been pretty good and nvr cry at night coz i can quickly latch on...but if i gotta make milk, feed then scared he will wake up and get cranky...so that's my motivation to continue bf, i want to continue to have good night sleep ! hahaha...

I used Mustela since day 1..so far baby's bottom is still smooth and clear. During Robinson's sales can get at 23 bucks for 2. I think 2 tubes can last a year.

berry
ah ok, guess it could be quite redundant.. thanks!

jass
i also saw these snack catchers by munchkin/sassy. not sure if they're good. but i did see the suction bowl and suction fork/spoon on amazon yesterday! i thought it's so cute, that would prevent them from throwing it on the floor. but not sure if it's practical, we'll have to see what other mummies say!
i did buy some suction bowls from munchkin already though

gar
did i hear avent spree?? is it cheaper than buying locally?

Hi Stephie,

Oops... Just now give wrong info. Should be S$0.82 I was pumping so cannot refer to my Excel file. Calculation is US7 x 1.4 / 12 items Versus The Children's Place one US5 x 1.4 / 20 = S$0.35 So little items really bo hua... Next round must get more items. :p

Hi Garfield,

Oh... Let me see if Children's Place got sale a not :p

No problem with the spree as weekend coming. I make it a point not to bring work home nowadays. So I can do while Danica is napping

Hi jass1408,

I saw this item at Mothercare leh. When I tried, my hands stuck inside the flaps and a bit hard to take out but of course my hand much bigger than an infant's one. But if the same thing happens to an infant, won't s/he be scared/frustrated?

Hi qingling,

lezy just emailed me say she want to get from me tomorrow :p Tell you what... If you urgently need then I sell you first? Then I start a drugstore spree

who wants desitin creamy?? I got from thankful for 10 bucks leh so will let go at 10 also if anyone interested. I got 2 tubes left..

BX.. wow.. u still have 50 packs??? can last very long.. why not try feeding her ebm on weekends?? In fact my weekends actualy tbf, caus ei pump before going out.. and that can last 2 feeds.. and in between i will either go mum's place, mil place to pump.

Hey gers, thanks for the info on the avocado.. will go shopping on weekends and try to prepare the first meal for baby.