(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: durian
wow.. can't believe u gals let bb try durian! i was thinking whether i should let bb try.. but tot a bit too early cos the fruit is so rich n pungent!

re: allergy
i think it's ok to introduce 1-2 new foods for 3-4 days n move on for new foods.. 1 week is a bit too long.. spacing between new foods gives baby adequate time for getting used and accepting the new food..
if bb is allergic to a certain food, immediately within the next 2-3 hours it'll start to show.. so don't need to wait for 1 week to try new food..

give bb a chance to taste individual foods. do not fall into the habit of feeding ingredients in porridge.. this helps bb to accept foods better in toddler stage..

anyways, here's the list of foods tat u can use as a guide for a start..

drinks:
fresh orange/starfruit/tomato juice - need to strain before serving, dilute at least 1 part water
unsweetened bottled juice - dilute at least 1 part water
barley water

fruit
banana, pear, apple, papaya, honeydew, kiwi, chiku, mango, watermelon, etc - scrape, sieve or puree fruit. ripe fruits only!

vegetables
vegetable stock, puree veg broth, carrots, potatoes, tomatoes, leafy greens such as spinach, chye sim, cabbage

protein
ikan bilis, egg yolk, bean curd, peas

later cereal foods
oats, wheat, rusks, bread, muesli, soft rice, noodles & pasta

later protein foods
liver, chicken, fish, pork, yoghurt, cheese, whole egg

re: solids
my bb started on solids ytd. fed her rice cereal. guess what? my mil fed her durians too! omigod!!! she let my bb lick her fingers.

i complained to hb. then he said my own mum oso let my ger licked her the sour plum she was eating. then he said sour plum worse, got preservatives. at least durian is fresh fruit. some more got "bu".

i guess the older ppl are more anxious to see their grandchildren try all sorts of foods.

durians, LOL why all the mils like to feed durians huh?

eliaw, I followed the dont-mix-food-in-porridge rules strictly, but didnt work for us. :p

lezy, mothercare has some nice ones!

jeannie, for avocados, the ripe ones are usually slightly soft and dark brown. Green ones are all unripe and not ready to eat, must ripen yourself.

feeding time- I realised that distraction contrinuted greatly to my bb's earlier milk strikes. So now the only way he can drink is when there is no distracton, completely. TV cant be too loud, my DD has to be v quiet and not nearby, I myself must be perfectly quiet as well. So abit hard when we are outside, I usually feed him in the car or in individual feeding rooms.

garfield, for me, I think that steaming will only kill the precious and delicate nutrients in fruits, if I am gonna cook the fruits, then might as well feed jar fruits, which are already cooked. I prob wont be pureeing also, will give baby chunks to suck/gum on. If they are not able to do this, then I see it as a sign that baby is not ready for solids.

Long time nvr log in..Very busy at work recently.

Food
Basically we give bb taste all different kind of food that we eating. We will just put at her mouth and she will lick, if she like she will keep looking at us like asking for more.

Shit...I missed out so many spree...

berry,
no issue with my mum re feeding. she takes my PD's words v seriously. PD says strictly no salt and no seasoning, so i don't have to argue with her abt what to feed and what not to feed =P

RE : Distractions while drinking milk

Danica is also very kaypo. If there is any noise, she will turn her head to look if she is not to hungry otherwise she will wail like machiam "I eating don't bother me!" so much so that nowadays can't even sing to her when she is nursing. :p

BX.. *hi 5*.. hehe.. i very lazy now.. pump at 5.30 am in morn and also abt 6 pm in the evening. Total can yield abt 500-600. If i am feeling good on that day i will push my 6 pm pump to 2 plus pm then i will pump again at abt 10 plus before i sleep.. i think that will help to produce abt 100 ml more.

My ss dropping liao.. which i dun really mind.. cause really wanna stop soon.. now my fridge left w abt 10 packets more of frozen milk... been giving her 1 feed of fm/ frozen milk everyday. Actually i feel very accomplished that i can feed her for 5-6 months.. never expected that given that my milk was pathetic in the 1st few weeks and CL/ MIL/mother kept saying i no milk, why like that?? At least i have proved them wrong!! Yeh!!

Re: Solids
Berry.. thanks for the info on avocado...btw, is the fruit sweet?

Cheryl.. how much do u feed vernon?? so far he likes it??

Re: fruit juice
I bought 2 bottles of heinz fruit juice.. but i dunno when to give gwen. Should i just treat it as water and give her nomrally? Or how?? I dun think can replace 1 meal right??Do i need to dilute???

berry,
wanted to ask you...arielle doesn't really show interest when we eat although she moves her jaw machum eating imaginery food. does this mean she is not ready?

re fruits - glad to hear no need to puree! one less thing for lazy mom to do. do we need to mash them with fork? thanks!

ladies....

HOTEL VOUCHER FOR SALE

Details:

Accor Complimentary accommodation certificate entitle for one night free stay in participating hotel :
1. Clarke Quay Novotel Singapore (fully booked till end Jul 08)
2. Grand Mercure (marine parade)
Valid till 31 july 2008

ANyone interested for 100 bucks? No other conditions. Just need to quickly call and book a room if interested. Novotel Clarke Quay already fully booked.

Hi Feb Mummies,

Thanks for all the advice! You mummies are so wonderful and helpful!

RE: BF
My SS is also not a lot. So hope I can hang on till she is 6 months old. If not, will have to stop very soon. At times, I cannot wait for my girl to be 6 months old so I can stop BF. Ha ha!

re HOTEL VOUCHER

pls PM me...in case i miss it.

I'll hold it till end of today cuz i need to give my friend reply by 9am tomorrow.

jeannie, avocado is one of the plainest things you can give, its v plain and buttery tasting, in fact so plain that I personally dont like it at all. :p Buts its a v nutrient-dense food.

garfield, actually hor, I dont view mimicking chewing behaviour as readiness. I read and also feel that its more about mimicking behaviour rather than actual eating. Cause babies dont have the experience with food that we do, they dont know tha variety of tastes and have favourite foods and so on, so how can one crave for something they have not tasted? For me, I will only deem my baby as ready when he can sit up well unsupported (or at least not slump at all when sitting in a high chair), can reach for food accurately, knows how to bring to mouth and gum it.

mashing- er, subjective I guess, some ppl eso asian mums might be worried that baby will choke if given in chunks. For me, I feel that if baby is truly ready, they will have the motor sklls required to hold and gum soft pieces of food w/o choking. Later on when baby is much older (9-10mths onwards?) and able to self-feed with a spoon instead of bare hands, then I might mash up stuff for bb to eat with a spoon.

jar food- most bb jar food uses ascrorbic acid (a form of vit C) as a natural preservative.

re: menses
still no sign yet...

jeannie,
i still have about 50 packs of frozen milk i think. hee... but pity ashlynn doesn't drink it on its own. must mix with fresh ebm. once my BM run out, that's it. i think i will donate or throw away. i oso pump at 5am and 6pm. won't pump at 2pm coz no time at work. so everyday gotta pack up and leave office by 5+pm so that i can rush home to pump.

btw, ur school in the east, how u go home?

lezy:
read fr babt centre tat banana is a constipating food wor. 'constipating foods: rice, bananas, or cereal.'

re: avocado
jeannie, i usually choose those green & bumpy ones. can keep longer. if u wanna it to be ripe faster, leave it in the open. if u wanna keep for longer, keep it in the fridge.
when its ripe, it will be brown outside and feels a bit soft when u lightly press on it. p
ersonally i dun like the taste of plain avocado. so whatever bb cant finish, i'll blend w honey, ice and milk into avocado shake for myself.. hahah v nice wor.

thankful:
i just got my menses this mth

re: ikan bilis
well... my hubby is not v pro ikan bilis coz he says it is preserved food. no gd.. plus quite salty. probably they use a lot of salt to preseve the ikan bilis. any comments?
for me, i tot ikan bilis is the usual source of calcium for bb?

wow.. so much posts in just a few days...

re: food
Jass, can u advise how u prepare the avocados for bb consumption ( wash, peel skin, etc)? me really know nothing abt cooking for bb, so diaster. Maybe shd get a book that teaches all this ow my son will have to live on bottled food in future.

re:menses
mine came abt 1 mths after I stopped BF. Stopped in Apr, now already two cycles so far. normal rite?
cheryl, i remember u also c-sec like me. Did your gynae says cannot get preggy too soon? My gynae told me to try only after 1 year so that my body can recuperate and be ready for second c-sec.

drugstore.com has discount now and offers free shipping for orders above $25

anyone keen???? $25 easy to hit right? we can do our own internal spree?

artemis, not sure if I missed your reply, just want to know if I should pay you for shipping first, then postage later on? Or pay together? If pay together, can you email me the charges? I am not always able to keep track of posts here, so you email me to reply as well as to inform me of charges, okay? Thanks in advance!

berry,
baby creams..stuff like that.

i think artemis will organize another one soon. she has 10% coupon to use.

me also looking. :p

jass,
may consider mixing with FM lor... but very mah fan.

i froze more during my ML and june hols. also when i go out on weekends i give bb FM. so i can store my BM.

my menses start today even when I still pumping twice a day. Quite surprise. So asking who menses started already. For my no. 1, my menses come back 6mths even when I have regular pumping BM.

XiaoYun,
Let me know when to trf the funds. PM me better as I don't check this thread often.

jasmine - my order for bb einstein is in right? i paid via atm, i left a msg on this thread for u since u don't receive PM. Ref 7521

i am keen on the Drugstore spree...Btw anyone noes where to get cheap mustella Barrier cream.
I actually think this is better than Desitin.

re: Avocado

berry: ok lah.. i only use 1 avocado, 2 tray of ice cubes, 1 cup of milk & some honey.. can make abt 2.5 cups. hahah so avocado very diluated, not that oily liao
btw alexandra market there hor, got a store selling fruit juice. their avocado shake is REALLY GOOD! i think they use black sugar leh

babyhope: i cut open the fruit, take out the seed, then scrap out the 'meat'. the texture is very creamy, so i add some warm water to thin the mixture & warm it (coz i keep my avocado in the fridge).

btw, this www has some info on preparation of avocado & how to choose the fruit. hope it helps

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/avocadobabyfoodrecipes.html

kellie,
how much is mustella in Singapore?

you tried both desitin and mustella?

i'm looking for something for ruth...cuz only recently got rash. before this i never use anything for her. only have a tube of j&j barrier cream given by relatives.

I also started feeding ceral. My MIL fed him for 2 days and he took. But these few days when me or my mom feed, he starts screaming.

My baby also keep throwing up milk these 2 weeks. Dunno why leh. I think about 1/3 his feed. Yesterday he throw up twice. Is it normal? We keep thinking its becuase he moves too much. But I'm afraid it may be due to other factors. Not that he drinks a lot..he drinks only 120ml about 5-6 times a day now.

mummies who are still bf, i have one question.

i have last discovered that my stomach ( i dunno whther is the womb or my stomach muscle), is moving a lot of times. well, i do not know how to describe but it seems moving, like got something inside. Issit normal? issit contraction?

sweetpea: matthew also vomited quite a bit over a period of 1week+ a few weeks back. now seems ok liao. i wonder y too. sometimes looks like vomit out all his feed. we let him rest abt 15 min after the vomit then feed again, he is ok leh.