(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

RE: rice cereal

i gave my boy heinz also. I scared wait he want not sweet don't eat if got used to eating sweet stuff, so i try to let him feed on stuff not too sweet.

RE: trip

luckily not as bad as i feared. But bb drank 3quarter of his usual feed the 2nd & 3rd day while we were there. Think is due to the water. We drink also can taste is different from home. 1st day still ok as using the water from our thermal flask brought from home. Then when the water ran out he start refusing to finish his milk. Another thing is bb start shrieking/shouting these days, so on the coach journey back abit embarassing but can only try our best to quiet him down. He does it when excited/happy/unhappy/bored/frustrated....hai. Oh, pacifier does help for pressure in the ears....we can feel the pressure very long during descend esp, but bb seems to take it well with pacifier. Very cold @genting while we were there, fog so heavy can't see outside, but luckily bb never catch cold.

blueginger...

LOL i laughed looking at your post. hahahaha.

we also anyhow feed baby...but mostly limited to more bland stuff.

Eg spaghetti..but those bits with less sauce on it.
Chee cheong fun - but thos ebits without the soy sauce.
chickrn rice - just normal rice la.
we did give a few drops of TEH too..hee.

everything she chomp chomp. very happy.
as long as we are eating...she also wanna eat.

bluegin,
oh dear!!! your MIL is power!!! i will also faint if i were you.
my PIL also let bb sniff durian last night - the 'mao shan wang' durian. haha...

luckyblu,
i am thinking the same. don't want her to get addicted to sweet stuffs so soon.
so, i need to go and buy Heinz liao.

Xiaoyun,
aiyo, order liao then i'll just take lah. Let me know the postage & whatever fee still required k. This time must email me hor. I really don't have time to check the thread everyday, then is like take forever to go thru each post 4-5days later....haha.

Blueginger,
your mil really very eager & loves your girl very much. :D

Ya, i also start my bb on drinking milk lying down when he 3mths. Just put a pillow behind his head. But if outside, abit no yi-tai as must cross left leg up the men's style to let bb have that elevated lying down position.

I always tell my hubby that we females really lose lots in marriage. Figure/beauty/time/sleep.....etc etc count till no end. Hai.

Hi kitsune,

Never read before but I find the rabbit very cute. :p From the excerpts, from the Petter Rabbit website, the stories use very short and simple sentences which should be perfect for young children. I tried reading a Walt Disney Sleeping Beauty book to Danica, halfway, she impatient liao. :p

Hi Lucky_Blu,

Your total if opt for post is S$5.82 (S$3.47 + S$1.35 [envelope] + S$1.00 [postage]). Please PM or email me your address if fine with this.

jasmine - i am ok to continue to order if u r still ordering..as long as can work, i tink its fine for me. My fren buy direct from amazon for USD100plus. so i tink now its much cheaper.

Hi blueginger,

Lol... Wah biang... Why durian? :p I super cannot tahan the smell, I hope Danica like me don't like also if not die already.

xiaoyun, i will take order 1 CB sunscreen SPF 30 thanks.

blueginger: wahhh. your bb took durian! hwo much? or your mil just let her niam..

lucky blu: oh, you must have enjoyed your genting trip! so genting is still cold la?
bb can take durian at such young age meh?

lezy: wah! salute u leh. think i am a strict mum ahha

lezy,
yap. that's what she did. whenever we hold foods near her, she thinks that is hers. stretch out her hands to grab it n put into her mouth. if u r too slow in giving her another, she will fuss.

artemis,
my mil went to her usual frequent salon. they treated her durians they also claimed that their babies took durians when they are 3 months old, so my MIL gave my baby durian liao.
I personally dun take durian too, but i like the smell. So dun mind baby taking durian.

Hi Feb Mummies,

Thanks for all the replies! You ladies are wonderful.
I have up the size teat but it don't seem to have help.
Are you mummies still breastfeeding?

Hi Lucky_Blu,

No problem. Wah... So many durian lovers here. :p

RE : http://thedreambag.co.uk/

Okay, my ang mo boss is coming over next week. Not sure if anyone is interested to get? I thinking of getting a 0.5 tog one as Danica keeps perspiring in the 1.0 tog one even in air con. Exchange rate set at SGD2.76 to 1 pound.

tongtong,
I supposed she only taste it then eating cos I'm not present. If i'm there, I would hv stopped them. $#$@@&^&*%

I believe that durian is to heaty for baby as it is for adult.
BUT my baby super tang Jia. Everything wanna try, esp adults foods. perhaps, during her 1st month, I always told her that only baby likes milk, we adults dun like. =P

tongtong
bb don't really know how to eat lah, just lick & taste & want to eat but i never let him have more than just taste abit. :p

I didn't expect genting to be so cold at this time. Fog so heavy that we didn't go outdoors much, merely walk around the linked paths. Hmmm.....enjoy ah....think i'm the one who enjoyed it least, my hubby, mum, bro, all quite enjoyed....haha. Cos majority of time i taking care of bb, eat also must feed bb 1st, then bb want to sleep i must carry him as he can't sleep properly if carried by others & will cry. Then end up eat i also must carry with 1arm let him sleep. But nite time bb sleep i can still pop by casino....:p

SOLIDS:
my mum say when i was small, also everything also eat. bring out easier, no need to prepare food beforehand and stuff like that. just gimme some rice, mix with whatever soup they are drinking. i can eat happily liao.

my cousin's daughter now only eat very very bland porridge, french fries, organic rice cereal and mcdonald's ice cream. basically her food cannot have many colours - only 1 colour.

if got meat inside porridge also won't eat.

my friend's son also...everything don't wanna eat. one day can eat less than one meal.

all of them tell me if ruth eat anything, let her eat. more worrying if she reject EVERYTHING.

so how...very hard to please all the different theories right?

so just do wahtever u deem is right lor.

For both the above case, one was TBF for 6 months, one TBF only 1-2 mths and put on FM. Also cannot say that TBF means baby will be exposed to different tastes (due to different flavour of mummy's milk) and be more open to solids.

DILEMMA!

So i choose to ignore everything la. :p

artemis,
would you consider taking over my dream bag? brand new, but i have washed it once....

it's 0.5tog, pink flowers i think, 6-18 months

re: durian
opps.. i let matthew lick some creamy bits off my finger over the weekend. he is so excited. hahah think he loves it. dun dare to let him have more as he is constipated liao. but then creamy & easy to feed hor *grin*

blueginger:
haha your mil v hiong leh. i think i would have fainted too

lezy:
wah... ur ruth not bad leh.. get to try so many diff kinds of food. i feel like starting solids this weekend leh... matt is 5mth yesaterdae! yeah!

re: bm ss
i'm down to abt 200-250 per day... sigh
not even enough for 2 feed now. starting to take goat's rue for a few days, so far no effect.

Hi Garfield9,

So qiao, I also thinking of buying that. Hmmm... If crystal not buying (she has not replied my SMS yet) then maybe I take yours. :p Then don't have to ma fun my boss. How much you letting go at? Arielle doesn't like it? Maybe we can meetup to exchange? That is if you still want to try the GOO.N wet wipes.

cheryl: hahah now he will look @ us when he can smell us eating durian. he gives us a greedy look & smiles so happily like trying to tempt us to feed him.

Solids- Wow you guys are very very gung-ho and adventurous lol!

lezy, personally, I feel that one can plan and plot and try as hard as they can to do/not do this and that so that baby is an easy-eater, but I really feel that it all boils down to their own eating personality at the end of the day. I was one of those moms who *thought* that if I give only bland food and withheld ALL sweet stuff and introduce greens very early on, it would mean that my baby will be an easy-going eater and will be receptive to green, right? Haha, wrong! The first time my DD tried an actual candy was when she was way past 1 yo (cant remember how old, but ard 18mths or more?) and she had a look like she found gold lol! she had a look that said "AHA!! I knew there was something like this out there! THIS is what I've been waiting for!" anyway, so now I am very convinced that its really their natural personality that counts. So if Ruth is receptive to alot of diff tastes and is not allergic to the wide range of food she is trying, then its really super for you!

i dare nt let him eat anything other den carrot spinach potato n his cereal or porridge.

i oso scare like wat lezy say, wait he very picky abt food

tong,
that time u ask me y i wake up at 4am? to do school work...

re: solids
my mil starting my bb on solids today!! she is 5 mths 1 week.

stretch,
think most mummies here still bf. me oso. but aiming to stop when my bb turns 6 mths.

jass,
jia you! hope the goat's rue works soon

artemis,
hee hee...you offer lor. i chin chai. we don't turn on aircon v cold (about 25, 26 degrees) so actually arielle only needs to wear a sleep suit. that time i kiasu, bought when i was still preggie hahaha

trying solids- eh I got try leh. I gave bb a thick wedge of apple to suck on yesterday, suspect he is not keen on apples. He held it then lick twice, and suck for 3 seconds, then lost interest cause he doesnt know how to grip it v well it. So I ate it myself. :p Plus he still cant sit very long unsupported (8-10 seconds max?) and still cant really reach out accurarely enuf to bring objects to mouth w/o dropping. He turns 5mths today! :D Maybe I'll try again in few weeks time.

Bluegin and jass.. so qiao..i also gave my ger durian yester!! :p

i think i like lezy.. everything will just let her try.. yester we had D101.. shiok shiok.. then i et my ger lick a bit.. hehe.. think she likes it.. yeh.. got kaki to eat durian!!

Cheryl.. i think i never think abt the allergic part.. forgot abt that.. Erm.. i think my ger not that senitive like me.. so should be fine lah.. taste only.. i hope.

Garfield
You dun need to steam avocado, banana. just mashed it and mix with milk will do. Apples and pears can be steam to soften.

I tried avocado last week, baby loves it and wants more.

But one thing, he is constipated now. i am not sure if its the introduction of formula or rice cereal or avocado.. so i guess u better try only a teaspoon for a start.

slowly... even if they eager for more.

berry..hee..try banana?

my girl also loves banana. mum gave her abit cuz that time she abit constipated.

she doesn't like the banana-apple cereal though. i think apple got SLIGHT tinge of sourness.

but it's hilarious to watch them grimace at sourness...and smile and suck hard at sweetness.

sigh. so cute.

btw...ANYONE KNOWS WHERE TO GET NICE HATS????

today let ruth wear one old hand-me-down...SO CUTE!!!

i need to get more hats...

(i sound very out-dated ah..)

blueginger
i think it's normal for bbs to eat their toes, it's all part of exploring and learning. once they start walking they won't be eating them anymore. there will be other things to do!

jas
hee, thanks so much for your offer, you so nice. if next time you do little einstein bp, dun forget to let me know ok? haha..

solids
it's v common for more traditional folks to say "you don't know how to eat this" or "you won't like this", but try NOT to say that to them as that will lead them to think that they really won't like it, and then they will be less open to new foods and more fussy.

stretch
you came to the "right" thread, a number of mummies here have bbs who have a mind of their own and decide that they don't want so much milk! although it's quite worrying, they will change after a while, so don't be too frustrated

artemis
paid!

Yanyen,
Yes I received your email =) Order accepted. So cute your email....the part abt no time yet must buy. Sounds like me hee hee

Amazon Spree #3 (Closed)

Orders accepted for:
1. Artemis
2. Kelly
3. Qing Ling
4. Sunny
5. Yan Yen

Orders will be placed 1st week of August as I need to take a break
. I will send email to all spreeists closer to the date.

stretch,
re bb reducing milk intake. i think another reason is that our babies are becoming more aware of themselves and their surroundings. so they get distracted easily.

eg. for my baby - pple walking around, she will stop drinking and her eyes will follow their movement. pple talking, she will stop drinking and listen. so when it's feeding time, i will tell everyone in the house to stop what they're doing, stay still and keep quiet. it helps a bit.

Amazon Spree #2 (Closed) - Orders Placed

Thanks to all mummies for making prompt payment. I have placed the order with Amazon and will update on shipping status periodically.

hi.. garfield, blugin, bx, hana, cheryl and mothers who have introduced solids... do u all actually replace 1 meal?? what is the best time to feed?? and after how long interval then u all offer milk??

RE: avocado
how to choose avocado?? A bit suan gu here but i never tried avocado before.. is it really nice?? somehow the look of it doesnt attract me leh

stretch.. i think what garfield says is true.. my ger also super distracted.. she only drinks like 5 -6 times a day and abt 120 ml.. so ave 600-700 ml.. not a lot for a 5 mnth old baby. So dun worry k.. its quite common. \yar still breastfeeding.. ss dropping though.. will gradually stop soon.. now pump abt 2 x a day only.. very lazy..

lezy.. i saw some hats at mothercare but i thot a bit ex,..