(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

pumping on plane
iso, i think depends on your own comfort level with pumping at your seat vs toilet. if you use toilet, have to choose the time when passengers having their meal so you can hog the toilet for at least 20-30 minutes. but if you ok with pumping at your seat with a nursing shawl, by all means, although you may get some curious stares.

eliaw
i'm glad your little boy's ok and home. every mommy's nightmare to have their little ones fall sick.

re: puree
must we steam the fruit before putting in the blender? i have not start my ger on solids yet. very nervous and apprehensive about letting her try.

eliaw, those heinz puree if we can't finish got to refrigerate right? then must heat up because it will be cold right? wah, u serve milk to carter from the fridge ah?

eliaw
glad to hear that everything's fine with carter. it must hv been tiring for you during the past week. do take care and rest well.

artemis
re the gap/ON spree post, u were talking to me right? hee..cos i vaguely recall i ordered a pique polo. it's okie, now already used to OOS when joining spree. no worries.

yup, since the items are here, would like to collect from you on sat at orchard. wat time shall i meet you? have pm u my nbr. also, can let me know in total how much shall i pay you (both the children's place spree + 30 jun gap/ON spree). tks.

iso
enjoy ur trip!

re: pumping on plane.
personally me too shy to do so at seat. and toilet definitely not suitable cos of hygiene and can't hog too long.

bx
why were u still awake at 4am?

for puree, i would take out from fridge to let it cool (or rather turn room temp) before feeding. but i guess no harm warming up in a bowl of hot water if you wanna it to turn warm fast.

Hi bx,

I believe if using vegetables then maybe need to steam or blanch them first before blending? After all, we also don't eat raw vegetables. Fruits I guess is okay. I intend to prepare during weekends and thaw when needed. I believe no need to be really warm, just room temperature should be okay. Otherwise, all the vitamins ans minerals gone due to heating.

Hi Stephie,

Yeah I was talking to you. :p Forgot to type "Hi Stephie" first. My brain nowadays a bit switch off after 10 p.m.

Oh yeah, I will be in Taka from 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. is the timing okay for you?

gd morning ladies.

zombie again, boy wakes up from 3am to fuss again... so shack out...

eliaw, hope all is well now. Take good care of yourself.

cheryl..dun be silly, no worries. Thanks for the concern
!! i only let her taste.. for me i think its ok for her to try some different tastes.. but dun dare to feed her huge amts too... Only a few drops.. hehe..

She luvs coffee.. let her tried a 2-3 times already.

So u still renting the jumperoo??? Did u let vernon try dor's one??

Dor and bkkgal... how did u all transport the jumperoo har??

Jass and artemis.. thansk for your consolation. I dun think i will talk to my sis for a very long time. Actually its a small issue.. blown out of proportion.. SIgh.

TGIF!!!! Yeh.. what are all ur plans??

I wanna colour my hair.. any cheap and good recommendations??? SIL getting married next fri..

BX: i tried feeding gwen heinz apple and pear... she din like it... i have to refigerate it.. and when i need to use it i actuaaly sccoop a few teaspoons and put into milk bottle and warm up. Hmmmm.. cause i dunno how else to warm up leh.. milk bottle small enuff to put in drinking cup or bowl.

babyhope.. super tired too..

gwen slept at 10 plus, woke up at 2 plus fuss and 5 plus fuss again.. Flipped so many times at 2 plus and 5 plus.. i have to flip her back..then she cry..give pacifier and milk also cry.. then have to hold pacifer and pat her to sleep..

I think since last week.. she hasn slept thru the night which is weird.. cause she normally sleep from 9 plus till 6 plus in between.. ngek a bit then i feed milk.. but these few nights.. tough man..Any reason why it is like that??? Growth spurt?? teething??

artemis
the timing is fine for me. which spot to meet u? also, let me know the amount to trf for shipping charges after you've netted off the amt for the oos pique polo. tks very much.

jeannie
my girl also likes to drink coffee. always wanna drink when she sees us drink, esp cold ones. but we refrain from letting her try. sometimes my mum/hubby will let her sip sip a bit. scared she become coffee addict next time :p

re ur sis, afterall you all are siblings. let yourself cool down for a period of time. sure can make up right.

jeannie
gwen behaves similar to my boy. Only thing is that I refrain from giving milk cos I dun think its hunger and I dun want him to start having habit of nite feeds. My guess for my boy is likely teething cos I see that he keep putting his swaddle cloth and hands into mouth.

GOOD MORNING LADIES! hahahah TGIF! i wanna go partor w hubby for movie this weekend. so happy

re: puree
for me i will add a bit of hot water into the puree to make it more watery & warm it up a bit hee~

re: warm up puree:
can put it in a bowl of warm water to heat up like how we keep bb's milk warm when he can't finish @ 1 shot.

re: diy puree
i just steam the fruit with some water(for me so far only tried apple coz its a naturel fruit) for 20 min. then i pour into blender to blend. then feed directly
prefer to steam the fruit as i'm not sure if bb's tummy can take raw wan leh. hahahaha~ so to be on the safer side lah.

FYI: although pear is gd to relieve constipation, i hear it can cause phlegm... last week i fed matthew some bottled pear puree (coz he has constipation) then next dayi can hear his phlegm. so i stopped.

wow seems like plenty of mums have started feeding! me lazy mum, still trying to delay till arielle hits her 6th month! another 3 more weeks to go

isobellies jie:
er.. the farley rusk is meant for 6mths and above. but behind i saw this note: do not give infants under 4 mths... so i gather... aiyah.. can try to feed matt lah (of coz under supervision). its not really trying to get him to eat, rather let him experience the joy of holding his own food and have fun. anyway let him tried last nite, he looks v happy but make a mess!!!! hahahah the rusk is yummy coz i finished it up hee~

cheryl:
i dun think i wanna rent liao. find it too x the other day i checked out. they are charging like 20-25% of the retail price for 1 mth rental. hahah can breakeven pretty soon ya. wah.. i saw this FP activity table i bought @ warehouse sale @ 60 bucks.. they rent abt 25 for 1 mth.. fainted. heheh sorry lah, i'm niao ku.

re: californiababy spree (vitaglo)
dear mummies,
the 1st vitaglo parcel already reached borderlinx.
the order through goodnaturenutrition cannot get through due to the credit card problem - concierge service cannot get them too.
hence, i am going to order through vitaglo instead. however, vitaglo does not carry the bug blend sunscreen.

do you all want to change to the sunscreen everyday?

babyhope, jeannie, luckyblu, thankful
I need your confirmation of the order.

here's my updated order list:
<table border=1><tr><td>Name</TD><TD>Item</TD><TD>USD</TD><TD>Quantity</TD><TD>status </TD></TR><TR><TD> Artemis</TD><TD> CB Natural Everyday Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.82</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>ok </TD></TR><TR><TD> Babyhope</TD><TD> CB Natural Everyday Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.82</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>pending confirmation </TD></TR><TR><TD> Jass</TD><TD> CB Natural Everyday Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.82</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>ok </TD></TR><TR><TD> Jeannie</TD><TD> CB Natural Everyday Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.82</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>pending confirmation </TD></TR><TR><TD> LuckyBlu</TD><TD> CB Natural Everyday Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.82</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>pending confirmation </TD></TR><TR><TD> Thankful</TD><TD> CB Natural Everyday Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz</TD><TD>11.82</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>pending confirmation </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaoyun</TD><TD>Now Vitamins - Liq Glucosamine &amp; Chondroitin with MSM 32 oz</TD><TD>16.75</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>ok </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaoyun</TD><TD>NOW VITAMINS - CALCIUM CITRATE PLUS 240/Vcaps</TD><TD>8.87</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>ok </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaoyun</TD><TD>NOW VITAMINS - Glucosamine &amp; Chondroitin with MSM 180/Caps </TD><TD>21.11</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>ok </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaoyun</TD><TD>CALIFORNIA BABY SUNSCREEN SPF18 MOISTRZG 4.5 OZ</TD><TD>11.82</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>ok </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

qingling,
you've got extra order right?

please help to confirm by end of today so that I can place order ASAP since the 1st parcel is now waiting at borderlinx.

bkkgal, twtw,
i need to refund you $$$.
please email me your account number at littlecloud9 at yahoo.com.sg

re: solid food to baby
i will start when my boy is 6 mth old.

share with you gals the website that i used as a guide when i started solid for my gal last time.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

re: waking up at night
yesterday my boy cried for help middle of the night 'cos his legs got stuck in between the cot rail. and he can't manage to flip. haha...

re: bb sleep
sunny,
i found that they are now becoming more and more mobile.
they can turn 90 or even 180 degree during sleep. she can even pull down the bumper during sleep when turning (i didn't tie the bumper very tight). that's quite dangerous as i am afraid of suffocation. hence, i tighten all them up this morning.
do you put bumper around the cot, i think it can help to prevent their leg stuck in between the cot.

<font size="+1">Amazon Spree #2 - Open for Orders</font>

I'm going to do another Amazon spree cos some previously OOS books that I wanted are now available.

Anyone interested please PM me. I will be taking orders for the next few days.

jeannie/stephie/artemis/jass,
thanks for sharing on warming and preparation of the the puree

stephie,
it's not that i am still awake. i woke up from my sleep liao. to do work and pump.

re: solids
i think i will start in another 2 weeks bah. will start wif rice cereal first then slowly intro puree. coz i scared if they take sweet stuff first, they will reject non-sweet foods.

babyhope,
i am ordering this:
SPF30+ Sunscreen Lotion – Everyday/Year-Round™

the citronella one not available at vitaglo.
my previous spree, the CGW shipping is $1.02 per sunscreen. i count international shipping by weight.
i plan to order by tonight so that it's in time to reach borderlinx. my another parcel is already waiting at borderlinx.

anyone of you ever encounter this problem...my son's diaper area (the lining between thigh and crotch) has something like hardening skin (or that's what my pd told me) dark brownish color and quite rough ...i really can't get rid of it...and now seems like it's spreading a bit more...wondering if it's because the diaper rash cream is too strong ? gonna bring him for another check next tue...doesn't seem to bother him though...and i'm quite sure plus pd also say that it's not diaper rash...

garfield: can recommend some gd books to buy fr amazon?

bx: u wake up so early? *fainted*

cheryl: the rent is v x hor i feel.

xiaoyun, my order reduce to one. My friend cannot wait already. I will go ahead and get it.
Remaining funds used to offset shipping before u tt to me. Thanks.
Side note, the BP price is so high. The org really earn till siao.

gar, i may want to get some books..heee..but i got no time to surf today..i check out tonight and try to let u know over the weekend to see if i got any order..tks

jass,
sure no problem! what type of books you keen to get? parenting books or books for baby?

qingling,
can wait for you. i'm in no hurry to order. you can give me within the next week.

Gar, I'm also holding till RaeAnne is 6 mths (next Tues) but may need to start this weekend instead cos I want to capture on video and heard that evening time not good time to try new foods on baby. :p

Turning during sleep:

RUth hasn't flip at all yet. (and i'm strangely not very keen for her to flip. hah) But since she's 2 months, she already turns herself from parallel to me, to perpendicular. She does it by kicking n kicking n kicking.

Leg STuck in Rail
I don't have that type of cot now...but i used to sleep in one when i was a baby.

n i was SO FAT that when my legs got stuck, my parents have to squeeze the meat layer by layer to get my leg out.

RE : Shipping Charges for The Children's Place 2 July 2008 Spree

<table border=1><tr><td><center>Nick</center></TD><TD><center>Shipping Charges</center></TD><TD><center>Status</center></TD><TD><center>Collection</center> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Artemis</TD><TD><center>SGD4.76</center></TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Collected </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorothy</TD><TD><center>SGD0.79</center></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Isobellies</TD><TD><center>SGD4.43</center></TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Collected </TD></TR><TR><TD>jeannie</TD><TD><center>SGD1.04</center></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>leila</TD><TD><center>SGD3.76</center></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lezy</TD><TD><center>SGD1.30</center></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lucky_Blu</TD><TD><center>SGD2.77</center></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>snowbelle</TD><TD><center>SGD3.51</center></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>stephie</TD><TD><center>SGD1.02</center></TD><TD></TD><TD>Taka 19 Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunny</TD><TD><center>SGD1.95</center></TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Post</td></tr></table>

RE : Shipping Charges for Gap.com / OldNavy.com 30 June 2008 Spree

<table border=1><tr><td><center>Nick</center></TD><TD><center>Shipping Charges</center></TD><TD><center>Status</center></TD><TD><center>Collection</center> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Artemis</TD><TD><center>SGD4.92</center></TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>Collected </TD></TR><TR><TD>jass1408</TD><TD><center>SGD3.92</center></TD><TD></TD><TD>Choa Chu Kang after 16 or 17 Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD>stephie</TD><TD><center>SGD9.13</center></TD><TD></TD><TD>Taka 19 Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>M Mummy</TD><TD><center>SGD3.77</center></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Berry</TD><TD><center>SGD5.09</center></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

The shipping charges for the Gap.com/OldNavy.com stuff is a bit higher this time cause they used this giantic box to ship the items. The stuff only 1/4 of the box!?!?

Those who have not paid and/or advised on collection, please do so. If you are opting for post, please email me your address. Kindly transfer to my POSB Savings account 109-37121-1.

Hi Stephie,

Your total shipping charge for both sprees is SGD3.86 (SGD1.02+SGD9.13-SGD6.29).

lezy: ur description is so funny hahaha

garfield: i'm looking @ books for bb. do not hsvr time for parenting books sadly... i havent even finish my another 2 GD book. hey.. but i must he he seems to be repeating himself in the books ya... i have read the abt teaching bb to read and i'm now reading the mulitply intelligent book.

babyhope,
some comment on the BP for california baby.
in fact, some items are more convenient to get from BP and it's only less than $1 more than spree.
those items are: calendula cream, aloe vera cream, diaper area wash
furthermore, it seems like california baby is currently checking and forbidding online retailers to sell their products at very low price. that's why you see that vitaglo does not have any more stocks for the above 3 items + some others.
i foresee that there will be more and more CB products OOS at vitaglo website. i can't find any other sites offering good price on CB stuffs anymore.
that's why i was so tempted to stock up on the sunscreen but i know that i can't store them for so long in our humid and hot weather.

Hi lezy,

Ouch, that sounds painful. I put cot bumper all around Danica's cot cause she likes to scoot around and sometimes bumps her head.

Hi Garfield9,

I still have to wait till September 2 to start Danica on solids. :p

Hi kitsune,

I thinking of taking leave for the event (starting Danica on solids)! :D

xiao yun
i dare not put the bumper leh. 'cos he likes to turn here and there, and pull things around him. his bb cot is totally empty. i didn't even put a cloth or pillow on his cot. scare middle of the night, he pulls things and cover his face accidentally and not in time to call for help...

tute
can try to use the olive oil or baby oil to soften the thing and clean it.

LOSE HAIR:
i've got so much hair and such coarse hair i don't have much of this problem. my phenomenon is during pregnancy, i hardly drop hair. Now i am back to normal dropping.

LAST NIGHT i happen to watch this channel 8 show and the beauty consultant said something about POST-PREGNANCY HAIR LOSS.

Apparently during the few months AFTER delivery, if your nutrition not good, will lead to greater hair loss.

(guess i ate more than my fair share of nutrients then.)

artemis,
me no gap/ON items? or it's in the next spree? i was thinking of transferring shipping all at once for both children's place and gap/ON.