(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: shierking
garfield/artemis,
mine too. i feel that it's more catching for attention as she doesn't do that when we are talking to her.

mixing breastmilk and formula
anyone can help? what is the procedure of mixing thawed frozen ebm and FM in a bottle to feed my bb?

iso, garfield, not sure if shrieking means screaming. My boy scream when he is upset ( eg when he wants to be carried and we dun wan to keep carrying him), he does this as if he is crying but with no tears and to the point that his face will turn red and sometimes hands and legs will sweat cold sweat. This really frightens us sometimes and I dun like it. Dunno where he learn from but its a terrible thing that we dun like him to do. I will scold him when he does that but not sure if he understands or not.

hi iso, thanks! *phew*
btw, do you know roughly how much are the shipping charges huh? birkenstock shop at centrepoint was having 10-30% discount (depending on models). last day is this saturday. the madrid model is $78 but i'm not sure is it Madrid 2007.

Gar
the jumperoo is HUGE. need a car to transport and need screwdriver to fix together.

Eliaw
my heart broke reading your acc of carter's admission. hope he's better.

kitsune
i'll be so upset too if my hp is lost! esp now with all my little girl's photos in it. take the chance to get a new one?

how to upload our phone data to PC huh? i'm very blur abt these things..

Isobellies, lezy, Jass, Gar, Artemis, Babyhope, Berry, Thanks for your kind words.
I called Isetan today, confirmed it's gone cos no one reported it at Lost & Found. Hp still switched off when I tried today. I 'si xin' liao. Getting replacement sim card tonight. I don't know how to back up the data leh, maybe because I never made use of the CD given by Nokia. :p

Berry, ya told hubby after he woke up later in the night that he's very bad. He immediately know what I'm talking about it leh, tried to comfort me after that. Think he's just numb and sleepy bah... He did say can get a new phone for me but don't want lar, Oct, when my line is up, can get another cheap phone, no point wasting $ now.

Ya, actually he's quite a good daddy, at least the hands on type. Not like my cousin's hubby. At home got his mum, the maid and the wife so he machiam big boss, everytime also the 3 women run around while he sit around watching tv. When he came to my house, his 2.5 yr old daughter wanted to go toilet, my cousin was talking to one of the relatives then. He interrupted and told my cousin to bring the gal to toilet, don't know why he cannot bring her himself since he's not doing anything. My hubby is the one who told me this cos I'm not very observant type. If it's me, sure cannot take this type of hubby. :p

Poor thankful, feels very pek chek to be blacklisted for something you didn't do. Can clear the air with your boss or tell the truth to a few trusted colleague?

Iso, tomoro I cant leh, cause my bb is gg down to PD (suspected ear infection sigh). What time u normally go in the morning if u do go? Do u have MSN meesnger ah? If have can PM me your addy? I add u

shrieking- 15mths is very young to expect a child to be able to speak, let alone well enough to express their emotions- and since words/sentences are not an option, then the baby would have no way of expression if we only tell them not to shriek and not offer alternatives? One of the best parenting tips I learnt was to always offer alternatives when we see undesirable behaviour, instead of telling the baby what NOT to do, tell them what to do instead. Its alot more effective n positive. So for a 15mth old, maybe teach them a hand-sign for angry, sad, lonely, etc. And his parents prob gotta be patient while teaching, cant expect results overnight, just keep reinforcing and reinforcing at every avail opporunity. That should help some.

As for a 4mth old, er.. I think the best thing after being as prompt as possible to attend to baby's needs is to get ear plug if it gets really bad haha. :p

Hi kitsune,

:p You like that say I a bit sad leh. My HB is that kind of Daddy.

Hi Berry,

Hahaha... I think can redeem ear plugs using my HB's NS$.

Artemis, sorry to make you feel sad. I remember you said your hubby wasn't very hot on the idea of babies so maybe he is psychologically not ready. But my cousin in law different leh, he likes children but not the hands on type. They keep asking my cousin to have no. 3, ask my aunt, her mum, to 'cho cho' her. Lucky my aunt savvy, she said, see her daughter so 'xin ku', everything about the kids rely on her plus my cousin in law always travel and not in sg, also don't dare to ask her to have no. 3.

Anyway, you very good, can implement routine for Danica, help your hubby with biz etc, 'neng zhe duo lau'. I not so capable, a bit 'chu xin' and quite impatient also so I'm the sort who really need hubby support. :p

Got my new SIM card liao, now trying to sms a few close friends whose sms were still in the old phone to resend me the photos i MMS them if they still have it so that can cut my losses. :p

artemis,
sorry...i think i posted my reply looong time back... can i pick up my flashcards together with the gap/old navy spree ? orrrr.... if you prefer to clear the stuff earlier than this friday evening ? i'll be picking up some other stuff at compasspt around 7pm. lemme know ok ?

btw, for the handheld processor...i bought mine last time during taka sale...u might want to wait for the sale coz normally got additional 10% off if you have taka card
the price was better than the bp that was going on at that time...

dor,
went to guardian and saw got lotsa products for hair loss...was tempted to try using hair tonic but dunno if it helps plus a bit overwhelmed with the options available...

gar,
hehe...i'm never a clubbing type of person so have always stay at home at night...but what i do miss is having those leisure dinner with hubbie outside...nowadays always eat at home... coz i dun like the rush feeling when eating outside... good thing is that can save more when eating at home especially now all prices increased :p

re:uploading phone data to pc,
i usually store all images to the memory card in my phone so that can just take out the card and slot in to a card reader...voila, can move the files easily
else if u use nokia, can use nokia pc suite but for me it's such a hassle, i prefer transferring via memory card.

today tried giving my son frozen ebm...when it was still warm he drank...but not much only like 30ml then after 10 min i try again (it was cold by then) he almost puked it out...so i dun have the heart to give him again...will try giving him formula to see if he still want to take it...maybe last resort if he doesn't want to take frozen ebm, then will give him fm if my ss runs out...so far *touch wood* i can even yield more when pumping in office compare to pumping at home... funny right !

bkkgal
should be free, cos we have enough orders!

kitsune
i guess sometimes men are really q clueless and need to be told what we want them to do! i'm q lucky that after i "scold" my hubby he will usually make more effort, my BIL is really quite jiat lat, very hands off... i think it's because the MIL does everything for them, so they used to not doing anything.

berry
no problem, i may or may not go vivo anyway
PM you already

shrieking
babyhope, oh my bb also a bit the same! but i know it's not cos he's happy. maybe he's just excited or unhappy, haha..
berry that's pretty good advice about telling them positively. but i've also seen some bbs the same age who don't go around screaming all the time, i think it's probably also that in the past no one really taught him not to, or gave him any alternatives of expressing himself. anyway not my son, so i can't do anything, but hope to not end up in the same situation, hee.

artemis
but only can meet u lunchtime 1230-130 right? i got a lunch appt so will leave vivo around 12...

tute,
lucky u

my ss running low. yesterday only pump out 400+ml. relying on frozen stock to meet gal's demand.

~repost~
"mixing breastmilk and formula
anyone can help? what is the procedure of mixing thawed frozen ebm and FM in a bottle to feed my bb?"

after discussion wif mil and hubby, decided that we will not mix fm with frozen ebm.

re: pumping
the amt yield really drop drastically from reducing from pumping 3 times to 2 times. dun understand why some of u manage to maintain ur ss by just pumping twice a day. sigh...

bx,
agree with you. i wonder how to maintain ss with 2x pumping daily.
mine dropped quite a bit too. partly due to my fever for the past 1 week. and i don't have energy to pump because i need lots of sleep after taking panadol.
do you still pump at work? some of your earlier post saying that you brought your PIS to school. anyway, isn't it good that you can see your ss drops as you planned it this way?

btw, you mentioned that can buy the caps for glass bottles from pharmacy. which pharmacy is that? i went to the one located at level 1 of Raffles Hospital, they don't have.
i need only 2 for the big milk bottles for storing milk (standard neck).

bkkgal,
like wat tute mentioned, u can use the card reader to trsf data from your phone to PC..
if u hv only a few pics to trsf, u can oso use the bluetooth function if both ur phone & PC are equipped with bluetooth..

Hi kitsune,

Not sure by what you mean by liking children but my HB loves to play with Danica and vice versa. But anything else will be done by me/maid/MIL.

I not neng zhe duo lau just duo lau only. :p Sometimes also feel very pek chek and need HB to sayang but he is cow hide lantern, I must throw super tantrum then he will do something. If I keep quiet give him silent treatment, he only gets angry. <sigh>

Hi tute,

Your Gap.com/Old Navy.com stuff is 30 June or 4 July one? I don't have details with me cause in the server room pumping now. If the 4 July one may take another week or more cause I intend to sort out everything before proceeding with collection.

IF taka is having sale when I go down to get my vitamins I don't mind getting from there but I think I always a week earlier or later. :p

Hi Isobellies,

No problem if it is not convenient for you to collect today. Cause your cards I put in the office and my drawer not big enough to lock the stuff up so a bit worried whether continue putting outside will get lost. But so far so good so will keep my fingers crossed till you can collect.

Hi bx,

My total yield per day is also only 400+ even though I pump 4 times a day (I think the last time is most pathetic 40-60 ml max after latching Danica on) plus I got only 2 cups of 220ml of frozen EBM left. :p But I still want to continue on. I noticed that if I pump about 30 minutes after meals my yield is sligtly more. So not sure if my ss drop cause I have been taking loads of junk and not eating well.

morning everyone!!

been down wid stomach cramps...wonder why gynaes say that aftr delivery, one will not have stomach cramps during mensus!!! well, mine was big time man!!!!! AAAARGHHHH!!!

Eliaw,
how's ur kiddo now?? it must have felt really awful! All ok now??

gar,
I've received the vouchers wid many many thks!!! Will go end of this mth to pamper my self....
Btw, where do u 'cheong' nowadays? I went to the Pump room once, saw the long long Q and head back home...no patience to Q nowadays leh and i can't seem to find out where do they still play retro music...or do they still???

Artemis,
If ur sis don't mind, can i collect my sprees' stuffs together wid the flashcards?? of course if she prefers otherwise, i go pick up on fri then...let me knw k??? BIG THANKS!!!!

exchange of toys
one of the mummies mention that we can swap our personal toys...anyone keen to swap wid me ? or share rental of jumperoo wid me???

many days didn't come in. past few days went to m'sia for co's teambuilding. really an eye-opening experience as we learnt to sail the yacht to the destination. :D
then last week my hb's hard disk clashed! hopefully he can recover all the photos saved inside hard disk.

artemis
not sure if carrefour sells the blender u are looking for. they are having 5% + 5% disc if you hold the POSB card. slightly less than 10% but still better than nothing if you need the blender urgently. else can wait for the taka sale which comes once in a while. but since GSS is ending this weekend, probably they won't have the 10% disc till later the year.

berry
agree with you re "instead of telling the baby what NOT to do, tell them what to do instead." i think it's human instinct to tell pple wat not to do. we need to learn to do otherwise. my girl sometimes will disturb her bb brother when he's sleeping. and it means using her legs to kick him. So that day shawn was sleeping when i brgt my girl to my mum's plc before gg to work. My girl wasn't disturbing his brother at all. she's merely talking with us while on the floor. then my mum said "don't kick didi huh, let him sleep". upon hearing that, my girl immediately get onto the bed and went to disturb her brother. so i presume if my mum didn't make that comment earlier, my girl wouldn't have disturbed her bro.

sunny
oh dear, hope all the pics can be retrieved. me also very scared of hard disk crash. so went to get an external harddisk to back up my pics. also back up via CDs. *kiasu*

Hi leila,

I won't be meeting my sister till next month. If you don't mind would it be possible to post the items to you together with the flashcard DVD?

Hi sunny,

Oh dear. Hopefully you can get back everything.

Hi Stephie,

Carrefour is even further away for me. :p

RE : Children's Place Spree

The items have been delivered!
I will sort them out tonight and update with the shipping charges.

Those who opted to collect from Choa Chu Kang, is it okay to send to you via post instead cause I will only be meeting my sister on 16 or 17 August. :p

my mom told me that arielle was sitting quietly yesterday in her high chair...then suddenly tears rolled down her face. my mom got a shock! dunno why baby suddenly feel sad.

are babies capable of experiencing such complex emotions as feeling sad and crying? (ie, not crying bcos of basic needs)

artemis
there's a carrefour at plaza sing, can drop by on your way back home since the NEL passed by there? else maybe can ask someone buy for you then pass to you when collecting spree items, etc..

btw, when and wat time will u be at taka this weekend? see if i can meet you to collect my sprees items.

stephie
ya, my hb also backed up the same way as you did. just that i think he haven't backed up the recent batch. later need to check if the SD card still stored the photos...

artemis
no prob. i am fine with the arrangement as long as it's convenient for you.

Hi Stephie,

Typically, I get out at Orchard and go back from Orchard MRT too. Not nice to trouble other people. Hahaha... Plus, I don't fancy carrying it home on my own. :p Super lazy. It's no wonder I still have 4 kg to lose.

I will probably reach around 12:30 p.m. and leave once I collected my vitamins and mailed out whatever I need to mail out. I not sure if the Gap.com/OldNavy.com 30 June spree items will be here yet though. Typically I am in Orchard for a maximum of 1 hour. :p I have crowd phobia.

Hi sunny,

RE : backuping of photos

Hahaha... I think in terms of backup I am the most KS. There is 1 copy in my laptop, 1 in my HB laptop, 1 in our home PC, 1 in my mobile phone (my micro SD is 2GB). Plus, I am going to upload them onto Danica's personal blog. So 5 copies. :p

bkkgal:
can transfer the photos &amp; data from HP to PC using either cable (which somes w the HP - check out the HP box) or using bluetooth when u connect a bluetooth devide to PC.

re: shrieking
o dear, my boy is doing it too. he does it when he is upset eg when we didnt play w him. it is not a scream / crying. he gek til face red red and make a long angry noise. o dear.. he did it quite a no. of times when i brought him to my fren's mil's place for a short while. so rude.

bx: how abt dun mix FM &amp; EBM? make it 1 feed FM, 1 feed EBM?

re: pumping
my ss is down to a grand total of 300ml yesterday w 3 pumps... sigh.

artemis:
wahhh.. hahha so power 5 copies. i will develop the photos selectively. something my hubby cannot understand --> how come i wanna dev photos. haa~

crystal:
for starting solids, i think it really depends on how ready ur bb is. haha on and off i will him eat have puree as he is consitpated.
heheh i bought both nestle and heinz bb cereal. KS hor. v excited to start him on solids.

jass1408
i oso very excited. but at the same time, mommy very 'unstable' cuz it's the 1st time.
mayb i will try the heinz baby rice cereal first? cuz it is suitable from 4mths onwards liao. nestle ones all only 6mths and above. nestle ones will kiv first. keke.

artemies
u are not alone ok. i keep photo in my thumb drive, my hp drive, my office pc, my house pc, my blog, and sometime my hb laptop

re: shipping from usa
for those who had bought stuff from usa, can advise what is the more economical way to ship items over? Anyone used vPost before?

try using comgateway its cheaper then vpost also its faster. my stuff bought on 25th june still not reflected on vpost till today. also no reply when email them to query. comgateway good for bulky items. as they calculate by weight. so overall cost is cheaper. also items that i bought on 27th june has been delivered 2 days ago.

xiaoyun,
i stop pumping at work. but i got avent manual pump here for emergencies. i use PIS at home, once in morning and once in the evening now. ya, it's a good thing that ss is dropping cos i already planning to stop some time back. somehow still feel sad that i am not committed to bfg. i am a lazy mummy. (no offence to those who din bf) can't perservere to pump faithfully for 6 mths. but hopefully my ss can drag till 6 mths before it dies off...

artemis,
ur ss 400+ because u still latch on mah. i never latch on at all.

jass,
coz i still got a lot of frozen ebm. my bb dun really like to drink it on its own. now i mix the frozen ones with fresh ones. but because my fresh ss dropping, i scared in a few days time no more fresh BM to mix with the frozen ebm. so wanted to explore into mixing FM with frozen EBM.

u pump 3 times per day? got latch on?

thankful,
what is the procedure of mixing? isit make 60ml of FM, then add BM and then heat up? or heat BM and prepare FM separately, then mix together?

re: rice cereal

i started Heidi on her first rice cereal. 1 teaspoon to a little of the BM, my mum says she finished it so fast. haha. Am going to increase the rice cereal to 2 teaspoon tmr.hee