(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

artemis,
it can start as early as 3M i hear. i suspect arielle is also teething. we chilled a teether in the fridge and she happily chomped away at it. also has been scratching/tugging her ear a lot and grinding her teeth.

Garfield, haha good for you! Its always good to be young at heart, and even better to have abit of our own life apart from caring for bb. Happy mummy = Happy baby.

You remind me of those days- clubbing till wee hours and supper at Newton, blow drying my hair at 5 am, and sometimes sleeping only at 6.30-7am! Now 7am is the time I WAKE UP lol.

Hi Isobellies,

Okay. If wait for the Children's Place stuff maybe next Monday. :p

Hi Garfield9,

In that case, I will go get a teething ring for her and see what is her reaction. She has been snatching her wash cloth from me during her bath to chomp on.

eliaw - my heart goes out to little carter..i hope he recovers fast!!

insurance plan - me need to hurry up too..has been dilly dallying a bit on this...argg!!!

RE : Night activities

I don't really miss pubbing but I do miss my all night gaming sessions with HB (we sometimes play till morning and have breakfast at MacDonald's at 7 a.m. then go home sleep all the way til 3/4 p.m.). But nowadays, I can hardly keep my eyes open past 11 p.m. and my HB has taken to playing those strategy games that he knows I am not very interested in.

:p Geek mummy.

re: insurance plan
me too got the Hospital and surgical plan after bb is borned. same as eliaw, the plans will cover from the first dollar. if irrc, other than medishield, got another H&S plan that can be paid via CPF and another plan (the one Jeannie mentioned to cover co-payment and deductible) that can only be paid via cash. i also felt that H&S is v impt esp for bbies hence got it first. the remaining like life protection plan, me still taking my time to decide since it's a long time commitment.

even if ur coy is paying for your children's H&S expenses, would still advise that you get another H&S plan for your bb cos you will not be working for your coy forever.

artemis
me too don't miss pubbing cos i've never gone pubbing even when i was young. lol. me must be a mountain tortise compared with mummies here. keke

artemis
me anxious to know what's the shipping charges are like. sometimes really depends on luck. hope not too ex else make the savings look so miserable. :p

hope carter is better. must be so heart pain to see baby like that.

anyone interested in the baby Einstein 26 dvd box set. saw a mummy selling at 80 but i managed to find a supplier that can give me at 70. so just passing on to all here. not sure about the authenticity though. have already bought a set for my son and its quite good.

pm me if interested.

hi ladies.. its a monday again... arghhh.
wow.. so many post over the weekends.

updates for my weekend: brought matt for yew tee bb show. arghh... was told to report @ 8.45 for registration then 9.00am competition starts i was there on time & we are #2. after the PD (judge) check on the bb, we are done @ 9.10am. we have to wait till 12pm for the results... quite boring!! nv win anything also. sigh.. matthew is still sleepy & grouchy when he sees the judge. i found out fr my fren that... actually contestants can reach no later than 10.30am.. alamak.. matt havent 'warm up' yet. haha heng won lucky draw... if not its a total waste of time. dun have 'parents lookalike' / 'daddy changing diaper' competition as promised. quite boring... hee~ hubby keep giving me murderous looks.

starbliss: erm... well, i kaypoh lor. tot i wanna give him something nice coz personally i like avocado milk shake. hahah so i bought the fruits to make my shake and hehe tried to gave him some. anyway read from http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/ that avocado is a good 1st food to intro.

kirsten: i used bean sprout pillow as it is heavier than normal pillow so can sort of keep him in place. hee~ plus bb will feel more secure if there is something pressing agst the chest.

eliaw: o dear.. how is carter now? hope he is on the road to recovery. poor bb! *hugz*

jeannie & stephie: can share w me your insurance plan a not? i'm not sure wat is wat leh... wanna to see see look look. sometimes ask agents v mafan, v pushy.. sian. i'll rather gather info 1st then ask agents. O.. btw, I have added u on multiply

garfield: hahah i used to club a lot when in my 1st few yra of working life. like to dance and relax w my gfs... now, like u, i'm also turn into pumpkin before the clock strike 12. haa~

re: insurance plan:
erm.. i'm v confuse also.. i tot bb are covered fr medisave or something? compulsory wan rite? do we have to buy additional?

re: intro solids
o yeah, i fed matt some pear puree (heinz) due to constipation... he loved it. he will smile and wave his hands, looking so excited when he sees me approaching him w the bottle cap (where i put the puree so we can see what he is eating) and spoon. after the treat he will por me. smiling and 'talking' to me more than usual. quite excited to start him w some cereal.. but guess i'll wait till 6 mths

artemis:
sometimes i'll still play wii w hubby with bb sitting on his lap. haha but then matt loves to grab his control then i can finally win... haha. wii has short game so ok... afterwise quite tough hor.

Hi Stephie,

I did manage to get the 12% discount off shipping charges for UOB cards.
Total shipping charges for both sprees is about S$53 after the discount. Not sure is that expensive or cheap?

Hi jasmine chen,

Would like to check with you if your bonus DVD: Baby's First Sounds is really that content? Cause mine is Little Einstein instead. If yours is, can copy and we swop episodes? :p Cause I really quite interested in that.

Hi jass1408,

The games my HB and I played were mainly RPG titles like Dungeon Siege 2, Neverwinter Nights 2 etc. :p Nowadays sleep is a luxury, if still play games, I think I really will become a zombie.

pubbing:
i used to for awhile..then kinda stopped cuz well, i'm fussy about who i pub with and i didn't like some of the ppl joining in 'the group'.
(issues la...some dun dance at all, some dun pay their share, some keep cheating behind hub/wife/partner's back..etc)

teething:
RUTH HAS HER FIRST TOOTH OUT! Front, bottom. Already like...i dunno more than half out. Was already on the way out for the past week. She has been grinding and looks so funny like she's eating something. But she doesn't really take to the teether - chilled or not. She does like pulling hankies, toys to her mouth and chew - but after chewing for awhile and nothing happens, she abit pek chek and will ngek. Dilemma la.

She is 5 months tomorrow.

hi ladies..

Eliaw,
hope carter is feeling better today!

Ear Infection
Im wondering if my bb has ear infection (even if it's mild case) too. cos he'll grab at his ears in frustration a couple of times a day. and his right ear sometimes has a slight 'bad' smell when i carry him and smell him. but i dun dare to stick a cotton bud into his ear to clean the 'insides' like what we adults may sometimes do....how?

he's behaving ok, getting short tempered and needs to have 'change in enetertainment/activity' more often starting from last weekend, however i have attributed this to his growth and thus more demanding...am i correct could this possibily be related to the 'ear infection'?

artemis.. how to use the maths cards her.. i dunno how to start leh.. thot got instructions inside.. hehe.. any idea??

i flashed baby some english words yester.. and she liked it.. haha.. esp when i flash fast.. i think she finds it quite funny..

jass.. i have added u.. will pm u the insurance stuff

berry,
yes i know what you mean! those were the days...feels soooooooo long ago!

stephie,
care to share how much your H&S plan costs? no deductibles right? is it by cash or CPF? can PM me also?

jass mei
did the pear puree help? my bb a bit constipated these days but the apple/prune juice doesn't really seem to have any effect.

insurance
u gals all go direct to insurance agents? i refuse to talk to any, i have an independent financial planner, so if i tell him i want e.g. Life insurance, then he go and source which one is the most suitable for me. Like that better, otherwise each agent will keep promoting what only their company can offer or which they get highest commission from...

re: the insurance rite i think is worth it coz it helps to off set the medical costs after deduction from medisave.
use to work in hospital so see alot of patients that don have hospital cover right, they pay like crazy
then those that have hospital plan to cover they enjoy A class ward.

wii:
my hubby wanted to buy - but i forbid him to. FIrstly he not gamer, neither am i. buy also good to have but won't use for long.

secondly, cable tv already no time to watch, much less gaming! I even feel like cancelling my subscription - or bring to my parents' place and change one of the groups to cartoons.

Thirdly, sleep also no time - where got time to play game?

Lastly, between us got 1 mac, 1 pc, 1 tablet notebook. Can always buy pc games and play. spending couple hundreds on wii quite pointless...unless i wanna use as 'weight loss' by playing the sports. damn no-lifer ah...cannot go out to gym or what...so have to use Wii?? sounds damn sad leh.

conclusion - no point buying...unless always ahve friends over or we have time to play.

purees:
i bought a lot of different purees for my baby too...that time giant offer - not DAMn cheap lah..but slightly cheaper.

i realize that purees can be quite 'flavoured' - meaning sweet/sour etc. It's not really a good starter in my opinion as compared to something more bland like cereal.

Ruth is on cereal perhaps once a day now. she still takes milk. FUnny thing about cereal (spoon-fed) is that she wants it continuously - possibly becuz she's used to a continuous flow of milk so that's her opinion on eating perhaps. And when the family is eating, she will eye all of us.

i'm not sure if she WANTS OUR FOOD or she's just OBSERVING our behaviour. But she really stares at each of us in turn and follows the spoon/fork/chopstick from the bowl/plate to the mouth.

insurance..ya those who pay like those life insurance for the first xx years and then no need to pay anymore, can share how much and how many years u pay for? those type is life policy...only cover for death/critical illness/TPD right? Doesn't cover H&S spectrum right?

artemis
heehee..i also dunno $53 considered cheap or not. me looking at about $1 - $2 per item so should still be within my 'expectation' bah.

jass/gar
tonite i go home and look at what my hubby has bought and pm you thereafter, okie? for insurance, it's alwys that case that after i've signed up, i can't remember the details liao.

iso
me and hubby have a couple of agents who are also our frens. so usually they will come approach us then i'll compare. luckily they are not the pushy type else in the first place i won't patronise them liao.

lezy:
wow... congrats! hehe little ruth has her 1st toth! its so exciting.

re: teething
i think matt's gums are super ithcy. biting his teether, fingers, towel and whatever he can get his hands on. hahah but then he prefers my fingers.. i think probably its nicer to chew than his own coz bite liao not pain haha~

isobellies jie: yoz.. i think puree has a better effect than juice leh. so far only tried prune & pear puree. matthew did pass motion after prune.. dunno if its just coindecental coz he nv shit for at least 7 days before i feed him. but then i'll feed 1 bottle of puree over 3 days. hehe~ so tat it will not be too much of sweet stuff. wah.. indept financial planner sounds better leh. more objective leh.

wii:
er.. i bought for hubby for his bday. quite good lah. coz games are v short. abt 5 min each game. good after get togther with friends as everyone can play. hee~

yeah... 1 more week to 5 mths old. time flies~~~

lezy:
hahaha i noe wat u mean by ruth expecting continuous flow of food. coz spoon fed is diff fr milk bot hor.. hahah my matthew oso. expressions must be v funny rite.

stephie:

Hi jasmine chen,

Yes, please
I copy the Little Einstein one and send to you. You email me your address okay then I email mine to you. (You don't accept PMs)

Hi lezy,

Wow! Then do you still latch on? :p With her tooth won't it hurt?

Hi jeannie,

There are instructions but in Mandarin. I think the gist of it is similar to the English cards from 1 to 20. Thereafter when you flash, you say a formula, like 1+2 = 3 and flash the 3 dots card.

btw. bought ruth a new simple stroller that is smaller, lighter and mainly for sitting. intention is to use for short walking trips around the neighbourhood. hoping to do more with it.
i like strollers with the front bar...ruth likes it to put her legs too.

i wanted to catch her with her one leg up on the bar and another leg in her mouth (she sucks her toes nowadays) but too late.

(Accidentally used flash - thought the preset no flash la. felt so bad)

1556552.jpg

jass....my mum fed abit of mashed banana after 2 days of 'no show' and she poot awhile after that.

then again ruth always have irregular bowels - every 1-2 days.

gar, thanks. ya very fun but she gets irritated from time to time cuz i think it's kinda confusing to her - eating vs itchy gums vs chewing without swallowing etc.

artemis...

PAINFUL! not when she's sucking properly but when she kinda gets distracted/sleep and BITES down.

i'll usually yell and kinda flick her cheek or pat her arm. my GP said she used to flick her kid's cheek to let them know it's painful.

oh ya....BANANA BIB TIP!

mum says if you feed baby with mashed banana, DON"T WIPE WITH BIB. will be black black and cannot be washed off.

Use tissue or whatever's disposable.

re: anyone interested in the baby Einstein 26 dvd box set. saw a mummy selling at 80 but i managed to find a supplier that can give me at 70. so just passing on to all here. not sure about the authenticity though. have already bought a set for my son and its quite good.

pm me if interested. (please email me instead- email addy is [email protected])

RE : pooping pattern

Danica is down to about 1 poop a day and usually in after her 7 a.m. feed. But I notice that she poops more when I latch on exclusively during the weekend (about 2 or 3 times). :p HB said my breast milk got laxative effect.

Hi Gar

wow envy you can still go pubbing. Now really hard for me to go coz the thought of next morning having a hang over and still need to take care of the kids kinda put me off the thoughts of going.

BTW muz it be solitaire or juz lady's card will do?

Lezy

wow your gal really fast to have her teeth. Thought teeth only comes when they are 6 months.

medical plan: yah, i regretted not getting shaun a full covereage H&S plan fast in time. the basic medishield doesnt cover his hospitalisation in May that time. So ended up i paid some from medisave and teh rest cash. So after shaun's admission to hospital, i quickly go get the medical plan from one insurer. you know what, kena rejected!!! i was so disappointed. and now i went to look for another insurer. now pending. hopefully wont kenan rejected. So sianz. So get your medical plan for your bb as early as you can! the H&S plan which can pay using medisave can take 1 month plus to 2 months before incepted! now i getting another plan for Shaun also must wait at least 1 month, for the underwriting. i topped up cash for the deductible and co-insurance. 100%. finger crossed. hopefully they accept and insure my bb!

I will ordering some stuff from drugstore, I have slots for Firstteeth toothpaste (saw it selling at NTUC Unity at $21.60, nearly fainted!) and Calendula Cream. If u want other stuff, u may PM me, will see if I have met my US200. I am placing orders tomorrow morningas i need some stuff urgently. ;)

Exchange rate: 1.4
International Shipping method: Vpost

10 slots of First Teeth - A Natural Enzyme Baby Toothpaste.
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=76317&catid=12030&trxp1=0&trx=26367&aid=332800
- 1st payment prior order: USD4.49 x 1.4 = SGD6.30
- 2nd payment when shipment arrives: Shipping + postage charges
- I do not know what color toothbrush will drugstore ship. As such, I can only allocate based on first payment first request

8 slots of California Baby Calendula Cream
2 oz (60 g)
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=54802&catid=26109
- 1st payment prior order: USD9.26 x 1.4 = SGD13
- 2nd payment when shipment arrives: Shipping + postage charges

Shipping cost
- Free Domestic Shipping
- International shipping charges will be divided based on the actual weight of the items (40g for First Teeth and 60 grams for Calendula Cream)

Pls make payment immediately after you ordered to To
indicating your nick. Thereafter, pls pm or post transaction details in the forum:
- Date of transfer
- Mode (internet banking or via ATM)
- Amount transferred
- nick

Important Note
- I do not know what color toothbrush with drugstore shipped. As such, I can only allocate based on first payment first request
- I will not be responsible for any missing, defects, spillage, breakages or wrong shipment caused by Drugstore or Vpost.
- Pls join the spree only if you are comfortable.

Collection
Postage $1. ;) or self collect from Kovan

First teeth

Calendula Cream