(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

artemis
i understand what u mean. I also dont want to keep latching him just in case he becomes used to it. Nowaday, i tried to pat him but seems useless because he will ngek and started to cry. then i bo bian let him latch. Was thinking maybe he hungry for milk.

Jeannie: thanks for the info on insurance. Is it a gd time to buy for them now? I didnt swaddle my boy because he is a super kicker, if i swaddle him he will be more uncomfortable. I stopped swaddle him when he was ard 2mth. U mean yr baby will sleep after u pat him n give him pacificer. I gave my boy pacificer he will spit it out....anyway even i put pillow also no used he will try to flip too. now i want to change pamper for him also difficult keep turning man...

m mummy
What did u do to prevent your boy from flipping

Hi kirsten,

I know. Especially on weekends when I total latch on, sometimes I don't feel confident that Danica is full, especially since my pumping output is so pathetic. Then when she wakes up at night, I wonder if she is not full that's why wake up and tempted to latch her on. But the thing is, when I did this during the weekend, it encouraged her to wake up and then from Monday to Wednesday she kept doing the same thing. When I work, she drinks EBM from the bottle and my maid told me she finished it. So it gave me the confidence to resist latching her on on Tuesday morning. Of course she protested very violently and it took us a full hour to coax her back to sleep. Then Wednesday morning the same thing but took us only about 20 minutes. Finally, on Thursday morning, she ngek ngek, we pat/shush her for 5 minutes and she slept all the way till 7 a.m. The next few nights no more such repeat performances. Of course that is not to say that she does not occasionally wake up. But we do not feed her and pat/shush her and she drifts off to sleep again. To me, it is important to show them who is in charge and when I say sleep means sleep, eat means eat and play means play. :p Super tyrant mummy.

I had my night out yesterday.

Went pubbing at No. 5 Emerald Hill and then adjourned to St James. Left bb with hubby but my mom offered to stay until bb sleeps. Hubby had some friends over to my house to drink wine.

Ended up, he KO and slept thru all of today except a 2hr break at lunch. And i the one who "cheong" yesterday am up looking after baby by myself. I'm sooooo tired toooooo....

Poor Gar, me feeling so tired today too but baby don't want to sleep leh. She'll nap in my arms when I latch on. Put her down then wake up. :p Finally set up my Singtel mio network, can go online now while pumping in the bedroom as hubby sings to baby on the bed.

hi kristen

for me my boy also the same. what i do is that i hang a mobile at the changing table or give him a toy to distract him. only that way i have a 3min time to change his diaper.

hi mommies

started work and was so busy with the balancing act..told my boss i am coverting to PT already cos my heart;s at home with baby! would have quit except for the xtra income and the balance which is good to have

On flipping: yes yes I got the exact same prob and one mommy here was saying it would tide over in abt 2 weeks from the time it started. and it really did! they had been just learning hw to flip. when baby can flip well after this learning phase she will be ok and not cry (hmmm except when she is tired after pronging herself up on her arms for long and dunno how to flip back hahaha)so just hang in there !

now my concern is also her feeding. cos she actaully drink 1.2ltr of ebm for the past 2 days! how much does ur baby drink (for those mommy on exclusive pumping)

is it a delayed growth spurt? she is now a week shy of 5mths (btw should we count 6 mths mark by the mth or week?)

btw i also read that something in the gut is not closed before 6mth so risk of predisposing the child to allergy in future. so i am quite with the mommies who wish to delay supplementing solids till 6m. just that my baby seems to be having a bigger appetite now , my ebm may not be sufficient if this goes on! how? any advice?

baby crying...log on again later

ok daddy wants to feed baby
so i am back

on feeding baby fish , seems like there was an article that sugg a link bet eating too much fish before 2 years old and asthma allergy. my feel is to go for moderation, but fish will also be one of the last things to be introduced to my baby. to me , fish is a very healthy food and would definitely need to be on a regular menu for my family
cod, salmon are all v good fish yes. for ngoh ghee, actually there is oso different types - some bred. The best are of cos very expensive. To me, a variety is good. Too much of a good thing may not be , a good thing!

artemis
when u coax danica to sleep did u carry her or? if she cry very loud u still dont carry her or? at what situnation will u carry her lei? sprry ask so much question. at first i am also like u want to give him a routine and let him know who is in charge but when he cried loudly and loudly then i got to carry him. i dont want to let him crying too much or else disturb neighbours pai seh man!

Kelly, I may try giving solids next weekend since according to lunar calendar, she would have be past 6 months liao. What brand of rice cereal did you give? Does Stella like it?

Today, baby cranky whole day, keep fussing and crying. Only wants to play, latch on also don't want to sleep. Sigh. ILs not free the whole weekend so can't even get them to take over. I'm wondering if she has separation anxiety from ILs to. :p

my baby turn 5 mths on 22 july...

anyone already use size L diapers?
cos mamy poko M and huggies dry M seems small for her now...

her weight in june 4th was 5.4kg..how much shd she add on in one month ?

kristen, I think all babies are different, there isnt a routine that will suit all babies epsecially at this stage whereby the need to drink/be carried/sleep is not something we can control. Yes, we can always do our best and persist, but ultimately, the baby's needs cannot be changed if it is strongly there. I am not saying that routines are bad, in fact I think they are great and very convenient, IF the child is able to take to one.

Some babies take very well to routines, esp if its one that already coincides with this baby's sleeping/drinking pattern. Its really all about their natural pattern and personality- some babies are alot more strong-willed than others who may give up alot easier and faster. for stronger-willed babies, of course, the alternative is that you let your baby CIO(cry it out). Any baby who learns that crying wont get their needs met will stop one day, be it after 2 days or 3 weeks or longer. This baby probably would have learnt that no one will respond to his needs, and hence he gets used to it after a while. But is it worth it? Its up to each individual mum to decide. To me its not, because this is the stage when trust and bonding develops in our r/s with the baby, and this is the last message I want to send to him.

(PS: I am def not saying that all routinised babies are getting their needs go unmet. I know for a fact that some babies just naturally take well to routines, and others can adapt to one with some coaxing like what artemis does, just gentle shushing/patting and the baby knows what to expect after a while.)

My 0.02's.

hi hi..

just wanted to tell u all that i'm in KK now.. carter's admitted to hospital since friday morning.. now i have time to post n tell u all about it..

ok ok.. here's wat happened..

at 1am friday morning.. i was carrying him n he was about to wake for his feed.. he was really hot.. so i went to feed him his fever medicine.. after tat took his temperature.. it was 39.3! got a freaking shock.. immediately went to take ice water to sponge.. after tat we measured again.. went down slightly to 38+.. my hubby took our own temperature.. was only 35.+.. really got a shock.. means tat his temp could be 40+! pack n leave for hospital..

at hospital registration, nurse took his temperature.. hovering ard 38+.. took heartbeat too.. the heartrate was 200+, normal is only 150+.. another shock! we were asked to wait by for our turn..

shortly, we were asked to go to another room, where 2 doctors and 3 nurses attended to us.. tension already.. they put him on the ECG.. still 200+.. so we had to stay for 2 hrs for observation.. to ensure that the heart rate slows down.. after they also attached a bag to collect urine for tests.. when bb pee-ed, the urine was cloudy.. i was quite surprised.. when we removed his diapers, there was blood! i searched around for any wounds, but there isn't..

doctor came again.. she suspects it's urinary tract infection.. so we were told that bb needs to be admitted for minimum 3 days and will be given antibiotics while waiting for the urine test results..

we then went to do the admission procedures and was shown to the ward.. nurses took bb to insert an intravenous cannulation.. it's a plastic tubing inserted into his vein on the hand.. bb was screaming really loudly.. both of us just sat outside feeling really sad n helpless..

Now, we need to 'catch' 2 more urine samples.. before they adminster the antibiotics.. it was quite an experience to 'catch' urine.. because we need to anticipate the urine..

in the morning he went to do an ultrasound for his kidneys.. results came back in 1 hour.. doctor said it's ok.. phew..

so urine test results will be out on monday.. so now just hanging around and wait for results.. good thing carter is still happy n smiling.. just that his feeding dropped a lot.. but just now sort of resumed back to normal already..

just a word of advice.. someone asked about insurance.. for those who have yet to purchase, pls go n buy NOW.. anyway, carter is insured from the 1st dollar.. so all the costs will be claimable from insurance.. i can't imagine how much the costs will come up to for 3 days.. i'll update u gals again!

eliaw, poor carter. Glad to has that the kidney test is ok so far. I'm one of those who have not bought insurance for bb, a bit complacent cos hubby n i both working for govt but we should definitely check what is covered n what is not.

eliaw
that is most drama! hope everything will be alright. don't worry too much ok?

btw what kind of insurance did u get? i q blur abt it. i ask my hubby if we should get he said bbs are covered under medisave. shrug!

i don't know wat insurance it's called.. but basically i pay premium for 15 yrs and covers till death.. then coverage is for disability, critical illnesses & death..

medisave is very basic.. that's why need to buy policy.. but the insurance i bought covers from 1st dollar.. kitsune, u should go check what's the coverage.. n maybe just do a top up from there or something..

ok, i'm not selling insurance, but i know some of u will ask which insurance company.. i believe all insurance companies will have more or less the same policies..

yes, and the difference between being insured and not is tat i know that i'm staying in A ward and don't need to worry about all expenses vs cannot afford to stay in A ward and pressing the calculator all the time..

Eliaw, hubby bought some limited pay policy from prudential for baby but don't think it covers hospitalisation. Agree with you, all insurance comes with a cost and some r really not cheap, but peace of mind when our babies' health is concerned, priceless.

re: insurance

i tink a must is to get coverage on top of medishield. most insurance companies now offers. i compared aia's healthshield with ntuc incomeshield n decided on incomeshield coz better coverage.

oh.. sorry made a mistake.. the premium for 15 yrs is life insurance.. not medical insurance

the medical insurance we bought us together with CPF shield plan tie with our medisheild.. yearly premium of $200+ fixed premium till 18 yrs old..

hi eliaw
my heart goes out 2 u when i read abt carter's condition. very heartwrenching. hope carter gets well soon n u take care. rest well.

any idea how he got UTI? cos i heard it's more common for girls than boys.

kitsune
i bought heinz rice cereal. e white n blue box. she ate well for e 1st 3days then dun fancy liao. will b trying pureed apples/carrots 4 her next wk.

thks 4 ur concern. been very busy so cant keep up wif tis thread.

i was feeling very down cos overwhelmed by too many negative emotions, after coming back fr e trip. i m feeling much much betta now but now bogged down by other stuff in my life...repainting e hse, organising my 2nd son's bday, participating in a prog, etc.

e trip was very enjoyable. we had lotsa fun, e kids ate n slept well. now we r missing e plc.

kelly, I bought that too, will try one day, hee. Glad you are feeling better, I usually have post holiday blues too but that's because I would be going back to work. :p

Mummies, thanks. Past few days pc down.
My boy ok, still so active as ever, hai.

Think he fall another 10 times also not scared. 2days ago flip & turn so much in his mua at my mum's place that he fell out!! Not just once but happened twice on the same day!! His mua still lots of spare length but is due he kept rotating..... The 1st time nobody was in the room, he never ngek till fell out with a thud & cry.

The 2nd time my dad came home & actually sleeping in the same room with him & got such a shock when my boy fell with a thud & cried. But the most funny thing was he stopped crying very soon & actually smiled cos he loves his gonggong & had not seen my dad who went sailing for 1week. So he was like tears rolling down then smiled very happily when my mum say: "oh, gonggong carrying u leh..."

Eliaw,
hope is not a very major thing. Do take care k. Luckily u bought insurance, else really, must worry about bb & money then drop hair worse.

RE: routine

agree some babies don't take well to routine. So depend on individual & carer. For me, routine easier & i can guess my baby's needs & wants better, not always cueless & wondering if it's milk/sleep/carry/teething pain when bb cry/make noise.

Still looking for a job....hai. No job = no income.

hi all..

thanks for all the concern..

some updates:
urine test results are back.. 2 types of bateria present.. so the antibiotics they prescribed to him is fine.. so tomorrow should be able to discharge n put on oral medication.. tomorrow doctor will explain in detail..

kelly, hope u r feeling better.. i'm also bring carter to Bali in september.. hope that the trip will be smooth too.. anyway, i don't know wat is the cause yet.. he still need to do 1 test 10 days later, called a voiding cystourethrogram (VCUG), which shows whether urine is backing up from your baby's bladder into kidneys. During a VCUG, X-rays are taken before a catheter is inserted into the bladder through the urethra. A liquid dye is put into the bladder through the tube, and more X-rays are taken to watch the dye as the bladder fills and as your baby urinates. The process takes about 20 minutes.

more info on causes:
http://www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,5354,00.html

just need to be careful when wiping.. always front to back..

re: insurance
haha.. luckily i bought.. if not really lose more hair!!

Hey Gar

Juz wana check the Banyan Tree Bintan that you mentioned. Muz use UOB lady solitaire? what's the offer like?

Hi kirsten,

Actually I agree with Berry that some babies take to a routine easier than others. :p I guess I am just lucky/started earlier with Danica/more stubborn? :D

I normally turn Danica on her side facing away from me and let her hug her security blanket (which I introduced when she was 4 months old. She's still not very accustomed to it yet :p). Then I pat and shush her. Nowadays, she expects it and quietens down once I do that. But if she is overtired or over stimualated, she will cry out louder to let me know and I will carry her for 2-3 minutes then put her down and repeat the process. Nowadays, she understands the routine and quietens down very easily and sleeps within 20 minutes maximum. However, initially when I stopped swaddling her, she was quite confused and refused to be soothed. I had to pick her up for 2-3 minutes and pat/shush her several times before she calmed down enough to understand that I am asking her to sleep.

Danica sleeps in air con room so the sound is muted. But when she cries, she wails so loud that it is difficult to miss her crying. But still cannot because pai seh then don't do things properly. :p I quite focused on what I want and how I want to do it.

Hi eliaw,

So sorry to hear about Carter. Hope he will be discharged tomorrow. Take care okay?

re : routine

I do agree that different babies react differently to routines....haha even my twins! one is an easy baby, the other is very difficult! so even with the same routine....we can't get the other one (boy) to sleep easily...always need to cry at least 20min b4 falling asleep, while the gal, usu just put on the bed, she sleeps on her own. so every baby is different. but it is good to have routine lah....

eliaw, glad to hear your boy is getting better, not easy being a mum. thanks for sharing, have just told my hubby we must go and get a more complete hospitalization insurance coverage for the kids.

isobellies,
the organiser of the Crocs BP i joined cancelled the BP as her supplier gave her fake crocs.. thus she need help for doing refunds to all mummies (she has 4 batches of orders in her 2nd BP !).. so i helped her to do refund for one of the batch lor (i happened to be in the same batch :=P)..

<font size="+1"><font color="0000ff">Hands-on baking class @ Phoon Huat for "Tiramisu and Blueberries &amp; mix berries almond cake"</font></font>

Venue:
Geylang Lor 23, One Sims Lane, #01-10 Singapore 387355

Available date for this class:
29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)
Fee: S$36.55 per entry (Including the Certificate of Participation and Recipes)

Timing:
1.30 pm to 4.30 pm (Tue to Sat)
7.00 pm to 10.00 pm (Tue to Fri)

Interested mummies :-
1. happymum2b - wed evening (7-10pm)
2. dor - wed evening (7-10pm)
3. vernon'smummy - wed evening (7-10pm)
4. vine - wed evening (7-10pm)
5. jass - wed evening (7-10pm)
6. leila - fri or sat
7. piglettail - wed evening (7-10pm)
8. blueginer -
9. artemis - sat (Cause I want to latch on Danica weekday nights :p)
10. jasmine - wed evening (7-10pm)
11. jeannie -
12. twtw - wed evening (7-10pm)
13. berry - sat

eliaw
Take good care of carter. Speedy recovery

Berry &amp;Artemis
Agree totally with what both of u said. Thanks for the advices given

cleaning of baby boy genital area: do we need to pull back the foreskin when cleaning. If i am not wrong we shouldnt do that right?

eliaw, hope carter has a speedy recovery.

Re: Insurance
I believe this is very impt for our bb esp at their age. The medishield schmeme is too basic and will hardly cover anything if really something happen. Like eliaw, I also bought him a life insurance that will be fully paid for after 15 years and insured him for lifetime and also a fully covered H&amp;S shield plan that can be paid via CPF funds.
Within means, I strongly encourage mummies not to delay on buying insurance. PS: I not insurance agent hor.

happymum2b, i saw the thread too. So many crocs bp these days. I actually bought from this other org, blossoms before. She is org another bp again. Actually, I cannot tell if its real or fake and I din know there were fake ones in bp till then. However, apparently to some mummies, blossoms seem to be carry authentic ones. If you keen, can join her bp.

garfield, sorry, join another spree on amazon cos needed to get the book soon. Thanks.

eliaw,
hope carter will recover soon !

kirsten,
yes...need to pull back the foreskin when cleaning but dun rub too hard. i do this all when bathing so it's easier cos hb say that area quite sensitive so need to clean it softly...

garfield,
so onzz...still go pubbing !!

re: insurance,
oops...i haven't enrolled my son on any insurance, only the one from my company... i better start shopping...

Hands-on baking class @ Phoon Huat for "Tiramisu and Blueberries &amp; mix berries almond cake"

Venue:
Geylang Lor 23, One Sims Lane, #01-10 Singapore 387355

Available date for this class:
29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)
Fee: S$36.55 per entry (Including the Certificate of Participation and Recipes)

Timing:
1.30 pm to 4.30 pm (Tue to Sat)
7.00 pm to 10.00 pm (Tue to Fri)

Interested mummies :-
1. happymum2b - wed evening (7-10pm)
2. dor - wed evening (7-10pm)
3. vernon'smummy - wed evening (7-10pm)
4. vine - wed evening (7-10pm)
5. jass - wed evening (7-10pm)
6. leila - fri or sat
7. piglettail - wed evening (7-10pm)
8. blueginer -
9. artemis - sat (Cause I want to latch on Danica weekday nights :p)
10. jasmine - wed evening (7-10pm)
11. twtw - wed evening (7-10pm)
12. berry - sat

Thanks happymum.. but think i will be super tired after work...somemore not no oven..Enjoy pp!

i had a damn busy week last week cuz of some stupid big-deal-big-ass meeting. It kept me working till 8pm every night. So relieved it's over and i can now post again!

Iso, have u ordered? if not, i may want to change my order. Had time over weekend to check out world of sports and try on a pair or two (also check out the discount - 20% plus 10% if you have UOB Plat - but i think buying from tobiasmeyer if there is discount online is cheaper)

erm...will come back online again in awhile. settle some stuff yet.

Happy to be 'back'!

(Eliaw, hope carter feels better soon. It's an ordeal to stand aside and watch your kid scream. but my cousin once adviced me that infants will not remember for a fact and sometimes we let out guilt ride into us for way too much and neglect the 'present'. Hope you guys just focus on how to care and love him for now. Of course, good to find out the cause to prevent further mishaps. But do remember, we're all learning. No one's born a perfect parent. Think we all really feel for you.)

jass.. i haven add u leh.. paiseh.. My multiply is [email protected]

Kirsten.. no prob abt the insurance.. i think should get now if fianancially, you can manage. Like eliaw and babyhope... i think getting a life insurance w limited payment ia good and is cheap to get it when they are young. However, u and ur hubby need to decide what are ur purpose. cause some pp wish to give their kids a sum of money when they reach 18/21?? So if u buy life insurance.. it may not be that suitable.. endowment is better?

Hospitalisation is necessary.. but getting medishield/ healthshield/ incomeshield may not be enuff.. u should have riders that will cover the deductibles and co-insurance.
Just my 2 cents worth....

Eliaw.. i hope carter is fine now.. hmm... a bit worrying cause like kitsune says ours.. gers... think more prone.. better go back check.. and clean properly..

any 1 started giving baby rice cereal?which brand better?how to start?

hi eliaw,

can pm me ur insurance company for the health plan?

hi kelly,

how many times to feed the baby cereal a day?is it to replace milk feed??

hi babyhope,

can pm me abt the life insurance company?

Eliaw, oh no you must be so pained.
My DD was suspected of a similar condition sometime back and also did the same test. It was kinda traumatic for her but thankfully everything turned out fine. I will keep my fingers crossed for you. I'm glad for you that at least you dont have to worry about the hosp fees, otherwise it will surely add on tons to your burden.

RE : ear infection

How to tell if baby has ear infection? I am asking as Danica has been tugging and scratching her left ear quite frequently yesterday and was cranky even after milk which is quite unusual for her. Not sure is it because nowadays I a bit more careless about water going into her ears thinking that she is older already so no need to be as careful?

artemis, serious cases may comes with fever and ALOT of unexplained crying or colds/sinus problems. For mild cases, no way to tell unless a doc looks into her ear.

RE : collection of flashcards

Hi AhCapp, Lucky_Blu, leila, jass1408,

I have sent your contact details to my sister and emailed her contacts to you gals.

Hi crystal, Isobellies, tute, Thankful,

Please advise when and where you would like to collect your flashcards.

RE : The Children's Place 2 July 2008 and Gap.com / OldNavy.com Spree 30 June 2008

I have paid for the shipping charges and the items are on route to Singapore. Will update again when they arrive.

i also duno if mine have ear infection anot... cos he also scratching n tugging his ear as well... his left ear behind already red and got rash..

iang,
yes, need to book with uob card

eliaw,
poor you....must have been a big fright of your life. has carter discharged yet? must say he's really a tough chap smiling in spite of it all.

artemis,
hmm...tugging and scratching ear could be sign of teething as well i think.

insurance,
can i check how much you mummies are paying for the life insurance (pay 15 years only)? is there a significant difference in premium depending on age?

babyhope,
no worries.

Hi Berry,

No fever just crankiness that is relieved when we carry her. Hmmm... See how, maybe make a trip down to the PD if she continues like that today.

Hi Garfield9,

So fast??? Danica only 4M1W leh. But she has been putting a lot of stuff in her mouth (everything she can get her fingers on :p). Have to monitor a bit more I guess.

RE : latch on position

Not sure if anyone is experiencing this but Danica has been acting weird when latching on the right side. She refuses to be held in cradle position and prefers the football hold position instead. The left side she is still okay with cradle position. Not sure what is going on. It only started for the past week.

tute,
when i was "younger" used to go clubbing EVERY FRIDAY night. hang out till 3/4am in the morning. dancing the night away. nowadays, i turn into a pumpkin at 8pm. worse than cinderella haha...

not that i really need to go pubbing or clubbing, but i still enjoy dancing the night away once in a while.

this 35 year old first time mummy is still "young at heart"

h@appy
wah you even help her! i trying to order from blossoms but she always like no reply.. hmm

lezy
not yet! will order this week, later will send out the latest orders, u want to change?

kelly
no need to pull back, just leave it as it is. chances of getting UTI from dirty foreskin is actually very low, so no need to worry about anything.

artemis
i wanted to collect today! then hubby not working so i bo eng to go down to harbourfront :/ will let u know asap.. maybe i shld just wait for the children's place stuff

ear infection
my PD said that babies have much shorter ear canals than adults so they have a higher risk of ear infection.. these days i just use a cotton ball to wipe dry bb's ear just to be safe!

dawn
that's so interesting! i've been wondering whether bbs "learn" sleep habits or some of it is genetic. my bb seems to be more like me, light sleeper, don't fall asleep easily.
if you have twins and they're both different, that might seem that not everything can be "learnt"?