(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Isobellies, I'm interested in the pilates but I will be away on some weekends! Do they do make-up lessons?

Also, I worry that I may drop Megan on the floor as I'm not the sort to exercise so I may be very inflexible/weak haha! She can't sit up on her own yet.. does it mean we'll be carrying the baby for all exercises or should we wait till our babies can sit on their own before we join the class?

(btw, when do babies normally start sitting up unassisted?)

happy

i'm also interested in the baking class. date after 24 Jul and not on Thurs I'm ok.

starbliss
lucky i don't have to get a maid yet.can imagine yr stress.

hair loss:
i'm part of this group. o no!

first solid:
friso rice cereal have very fine texture . my 1st kid started with that.

re: solids
bbkgal,
cannot take cod fish? my mil keep saying eat cod fish and salmon good. "ngor hee" not as good. i always thought "ngor hee" is the common fish for babies.

Pigeon magmug:
anyone has one? can we sterilise it?

I think everyone mummies here experience the same problem: dropping hair and unable to lost our pregnancy weight. I was wondering isit because there is a change in our hormones that why it causes our hair to drop. Maybe we should monitor for a period and access our situnation.I also have 7kg of fat unable to lose. I am so sad too. Used to be a small size petite lady but now like a aunty. No self confidence. Wanna to exercise but is always very tired looking after baby. He keep waking up....
somemore now the bum so big all my last time clothing all cant fit is so sian man...

By the way check with mummies here does your baby wake up middle of the night to flip. Whenever i put my baby on the side to sleep he always flip. The thing is if i let him flip he will wake up and cry. If i didnt put him to side to sleep, he also try to flip. OMG what is happening? Anyone experience the same thing? thanks.

Bx
I think some magmug cannot sterilise. Look at the product info. I think rinse with hotwater is good enough. My dr say we need not sterilise the bottle when baby reaches 6mth.

bx
if introducing solids, start with rice cereal before adding other solids like pureed fruit and vegetables. Proteins like meat, fish should not be given until much later. I think the 2nd time moms here may be able to advise us what fish can be given to them after 12 mth old. Eggs and peanuts, all kinds of nuts, are definite no=no.

re:drop hair
sigh.. cant tong already. yest, i consulted a GP on this. he was telling me that when we breastfeed, all of vitamin n proteins goes to breastmilk, thus our bodies are deprived out all these. n these are needed in our bodies for hair growth, nail, etc.
so we need eat lot of foods that contains protein n vitamins n also to cut down on carbo.
stress time, cos i dun take vege.

tong,
re:no3
hee.. say only. no action.
also this hair lost thing is still veri scary. i did drop hair during my gal's time. but not as bad as now!

bx
re:fish
i fed my gal with ngor hee aka threadfin

bkkgal:
my maid seems to go on diet. she only eat a pathetic half bowl of rice with 2-3 stalks of veg!!! i'm sure she won't have energy to work. only like rubbish food. tried to make her to take more rice and other dishes.. unless we eat out, she won't eat. just keep in the fridge until spoil.

happy:
perhaps you wan to call up the baking place and check out the no of vancanies then we gers take our pick for the dates?

haha i gei kiang yesterday, tried to give matthew a bit of avacado... he vomitted out everything tog w the milk he drank 1.5 hours before. sigh.. he is doing a lot of merlion recently.

re: malay massage lady
will their service still be able to help us regain our figure? can gd ones to recommend?? SOS!

jeannie:
hee~ are u the yvonne tay who added me on mulitply? a bit luan.. jeannie? yvonne?? i only got 1 pple add me leh. wats ur email? i add u?

kirsten: i'll put a beansprout pillow on top of matt after he zzz. hahaha dunno if it helps? but so far he nv wake up and flip @ nite lah. but when he is taking afternoon naps, he wake up will try to flip a bit (afternoon nv nse beansprout pillow). not sure got corelation a not.

re: no need to sterilise milk bot
wah... after 6mths then no need to sterilise ya.. tat is great, make life so much easier. hee~ i'm a lazy mum

me at home today...felt so tired after working for only 3 days !! my sleeping hours remains the same but feel more tired...
luckily not much changes in ss, hope this continues...

kitsune,
u still on tbf ? i'm worried that doing combi if my son starts sleeping through the night then my ss will drop so i make sure i give another feed around 10 or 11.

btw, when u say working PT what's the arrangement like ?

re: solids,
i wanna start on rice cereal first...but yest went giant and i didn't see much options for rice cereal for 4 mth old bb... anyone has any recomm ?

re: diapers,
i bought huggies dry yest...didn't really like it...coz cutting seems like v small but i still try it on my son this morning...hopefully it won't leak...

re: drop hair,
me too drop hair like nobody's business...every morning when i wash my hair can see lotsa hair strands below... so sad...i used to have v thick hair now like a handsfull only
plus i'm also exp lotsa grey hair...

<font size="+0"><font color="0000ff">Hands-on baking class @ Phoon Huat for "Tiramisu and Blueberries &amp; mix berries almond cake" </font></font>

Venue:
Geylang Lor 23, One Sims Lane, #01-10 Singapore 387355

Available date for this class:
29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)
Fee: S$36.55 per entry (Including the Certificate of Participation and Recipes)

Timing:
1.30 pm to 4.30 pm (Tue to Sat)
7.00 pm to 10.00 pm (Tue to Fri)

Interested mummies :-
1. happymum2b - wed evening (7-10pm)
2. dor - wed evening (7-10pm)
3. vernon'smummy - wed evening (7-10pm)
4. vine - wed evening (7-10pm)
5. jass -
6. leila -
7. piglettail - prefer thu/fri ?
8. blueginer -
9. artemis - prefer sat ?
10. jasmine -
11. jeannie -
12. twtw -
13. berry - prefer sat

Can we do a poll on the preferred date/time ?
Sori if i hv left out anyone.. Pls feel free to add ur name in the list if u r interested..

bkkgal, I am not complaining and dun mind terribly what I am now, but would still want to tone up and lose at least 4-5 kg from current weight cause I feel thats the ideal for me in terms of clothing fitting and the way I like how I look. But I wont go on extreme diet or anything like that. Will just work on my inner health and let everything takes it course naturally. Anyway hor, its not like I have the energy/time to do anything more targetted even if I want to haha! :p

Dor, try supplements? See if it helps?

kristen, you need to give yourself more time. Our bbs are only so small, not even 6mths yet, give yourself at least a year?

Iso, I didnt have a massage lady, but I dont think its related lot. No massage in the world can tone our bodies the way exercise does, and no massage can melt away calories if we dont control our diets (haha, I feel so guilty saying that considering how I ate chocolate almost every other day just before bed!).

And hor, I like your saying that its a good excuse to buy new clothes! In fact me too leh, almost 90% of my current tops are newly bought after birth of my second bb cause I cant fit into old ones, and till today I still cant fit into a single pair of bottoms before my second bb so they are also all newly bought. But I didnt buy too much, just enuf to rotate, so now I am always in the same clothing!

Garfield, rice is quite a low-allergy food from what I know so its a good first food to introduce. But I personally feel that white rice is mostly starch, not much nutrients and our bb's digestive system below 7 or 8mths prob cant digest BR efficiently (v fiberous). So I plan to introduce avocado as first food- V dense in nutrients and good fats, also low-allergy. Plus the texture is already v mushy, so its quite ideal I feel.

WEIGH vs HEALTH- not sure if its because I am a sahm or maybe motherhood has made me more 'sensible' haha, but these days I am more concerned about my health than weight on the scales. I am alot more anxious about not feeling/being energetic or feeling moody easily casue these will all impact my children's well-being directly. So actually, I came make myself stop eating my chocolates n chips for weight loss reasons, but I can actually control my intake of junk for the above health reasons (when we eat junk, will naturally affect energy levels and mood to a certain extend). Quite amazing hor, motherhood.

kitsune,
my two cents' worth cos i kinda worked PT for 4 weeks before returning to full time.

firstly, you need to make sure that you portfolio is reduced accordingly in the correct proportion. or else you will be doing same amt of work, but half the pay! damn bo hua. it's easier if you do part time in your current job, so you know exactly how much you will be taking on when you convert to PT

secondly, i strongly recommend doing 2 or 3 full days. dun do those half day thingy, v siong and always end up working over time.

re financial wise, definitely need to scale back lor. so won't be able to spend as freely as before. but, it's not as drastic as having no income at all, so with time i'm sure you will be able adjust. anyway, there are a lot of "hidden costs" when we work.

hmm...know what you mean re work. my boss told me he wants to add two direct reports to me. i would be v happy with this progression previously. now, i'm like....um....not sure how to react to this development.

jass,
i think they can take in at least 18 pax..
Cos they told me if we can hv 18 pax, they will just charge 16 pax..
but i doubt we can hv 18 mummies gg together at the same timing due to our personal committment ?
i guess most likely we will have to split into smaller groups..

Hands-on baking class @ Phoon Huat for "Tiramisu and Blueberries &amp; mix berries almond cake"

Venue:

29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)

Timing:

5. jass - wed evening (7-10pm)
6. leila -
8. blueginer -
10. jasmine -
11. jeannie -
12. twtw -

kirsten,
i went to sterilise my magmug, does it mean i mus throw away liao?

u all use milk bottle to feed water?

so we should only start on porridge after 12 mths? how to tell my mil i dun wanna give ashlynn cod fish and salmon????

sterilise bottles:
i think better to wait till they are 1 yr old then dun needa sterilise...

bx,
ya i use milk bottle to feed water now.

re solids - say doctor say one. that's how i diplomatically avoid confrontation with MIL.

bx, baby is yours, if you dont want, just tell her nicely that the PD says that fish is seafood, highly allergic, better to delay (actually this is not untrue). Surely she cant start your bb on stuff you have said no to (or am I just naive lol!)?

Actually cod n salmon are both oily fish, v nutritious n high in Omega 3, so personally I might give it a try when bb ard 8 or 9 mths unless bb has proven to have alot of other food allergies.

garfield,
re:vege.
heehee. this bad mummy dun take vege but still send gal to vegeterain student care.
sigh, that's y i take biomega....

tute
re:drop hair
i dun have much hair to start with. n with this rate of dropping veri depressing.

Hands-on baking class @ Phoon Huat for "Tiramisu and Blueberries &amp; mix berries almond cake"

Venue:

29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)

Timing:

6. leila -
7. piglettail - wed evening (7-10pm)
8. blueginer -
10. jasmine -
11. jeannie -
12. twtw -

bx:
i use milk bottles. bought a avent sippy cup.. it says 6mths onwards... hehe looking fwd to use tat.
how abt say dr say not suitable to start so soon due to her condition? erm.. hahah can any how smoke whatever reason you have brought her to see dr for? say u suan bian ask...

berry,
thks for ur advice. oh, so it's ok to eat cod fish and salmon? coz i tot one mummy mention that her bb merlioned after eating cod fish, so that gives me the idea that better not to give.

Venue:

29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)

Timing:

5. jass -
6. leila - prefer fri or sat
8. blueginer -
10. jasmine -
11. jeannie -
12. twtw -
13. berry - prefer sat

Can we do a poll on the preferred date/time ?
Sori if i hv left out anyone.. Pls feel free to add ur name in the list if u r interested..

hello mummies

wow - now even got baking classes liao..me super outdated with the posts liao. I have recipe for tiramisu, if u want pm me
, i personally make it a few times, quite nice.

re: bb sleep thru

Heidi has been sleeping thru since 3mths..and now she's waking up later n later..she used to wake up at 6am,then 630..then 645..last 2 days she woke up almost 730, today she woke up at 8.10am! am i suppose to wake her up earlier for her first feed ah or just let her sleep till she wakes up?

bx, I think if u want to be very safe, then try only after 1? I think all food has a chance of allergy, but all kids are different and I think most kids can take most types of fish from 8-9mths w/o much problems. For me, I'll start in small quantities and see how my bb takes it.

Venue:

29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)

Timing:

6. leila - fri or sat
8. blueginer -
10. jasmine -
11. jeannie -
12. twtw -
13. berry - sat

bx
just say "oh mercury levels high, no good to give at young age" but if you personally want to give, then there's no issue the way i see it? it's all individual wat we want to give our babies. i mean, some pp prefer to take it slow and easy and intro rice cereal first before giving other types of food. others are more adventurous who dare to experiment with fish, meat etc.

m mummy
pilates, not sure leh, i know they have classes on tues afternoons also. maybe later i call them and ask.. i was also thinking of asking how old the bbs who attend the class usually are
think bbs will start to sit up around 6 months, cos before that we can't really feed them solids?

jass
sippy cup is to use for milk or for other thing like juices?

bx
ya milk bottle. u got dedicated bottle for water?? i lazy..

berry
i am amazed that some of my old tops seem so small!! like i grew into a giant or something, but at least i dun feel like giant lah. just feel like my clothes have shrunk, hee. i don't mind being bigger, i DO mind the tummy though :S maybe round 2 i will wear the binding thing for longer just after confinement, cos they say that that's the best time to get back into shape... but then, that's what THEY say lah ;)

nuts
i think a lot of pple read abt nuts, but are you reading ang moh books? ang mohs are genetically more prone to nut allergies (so if you go marks &amp; spencers, u see a lot of things will state whether got nuts or not), so i think it's not such a big thing for us?

PD
oh, are there some mummies who stay in the west? i go to a really nice PD in bukit timah plaza, i really like her! wanted to recommend if anyone near there needs a PD

bx
look at yr product info first before decide to throw away the magmug. some are not suitable for sterilise.

Baby insurance: can any mummies advise me whicg insurance u all buy. dont worry i am not an insurance advisor. I want to buy insurance for my baby but there are so many company ard i dont knw which is gd. thank you

bkk,
ya i agree with you. also can see if baby has been taking well to BM if mummy "anyhow eats". like for arielle, i have to be v careful with solids cos of her allergies even when on BM.

Hi dorothy,

:p Maybe you can try taking Essentials.

RE : hair loss

Actually, how much is a lot? I think mine a lot cause last time after washing hair only a few strands. Now almost cover half the drainage trap.

Hi kirsten,

Some time back, Danica also was like that but after 4 days, she auto sleep through again. So maybe just a phase?

Venue:

29/07/2008 (Tue)
30/07/2008 (Wed)
31/07/2008 (Thur)
01/08/2008 (Fri)
02/08/2008 (Sat)

Timing:

6. leila - fri or sat
8. blueginer -
9. artemis - sat (Cause I want to latch on Danica weekday nights :p)
10. jasmine -
11. jeannie -
12. twtw -
13. berry - sat

isobellies:
which PD u go to? so far i have not brought matt to see any yet.. *choy touch wood* hee~ but it gd to noe of a gd one just in case we need to in future.

sippy cup? i only thot to start w water, so tat bb can learn to drink fr a cup hee~ water easier to clean up if bb make a mess haha

I read the BW book yesterday night while dream feeding Danica. Here is the suggested schedule:

Week 1
------
07:00 a.m. Milk
09:00 a.m. Introduce 1-2 tbps of solid food (single food suggested for easy elimination of culprit if allergy develops)
11:00 a.m. Milk
03:00 p.m. Milk

Week 2
------
09:00 a.m. Introduce 1-2 tbps of another solid food
11:00 a.m. Milk
01:00 p.m. Move 1st week solid food here
03:00 p.m. Milk

Week 3
------
07:00 a.m. Snack (Milk)
09:00 a.m. Introduce 1-2 tbps of another solid food
11:00 a.m. Snack (Milk)
01:00 p.m. Move 2nd week solid food here
03:00 p.m. Snack (Milk)
05:00 p.m. Move 1st week solid food here
07:00 a.m. Snack (Milk)

Slowly increase the amount of solids and decrease the amount of milk by equal proportions. E.g. increase solids by 1 ounce and decrease milk by 1 ounce.

all this while i'm with planet fitness and i suspend my membership during my pregnancy. i just started to go back to gym beginning of this month. running on the threadmill is killing me man.... (after almost 1yr no exercise...)

RE : sippy cups

I think basically can put all liquids inside right? I was thinking of letting Danica drink milk from it too. BW also suggest giving 2 cups, 1 with water and 1 with milk so that baby would know that the cup can contain different liquids. Juices and other sweet stuff should be kept to a minimum.

Hi jass1408,

I think after the food has been proven safe with baby, you can start to increase to 2-3 tbsp, 3-4 tbsp each week, etc until baby's hunger can be satisfied by solids. Must remember to proportionally reduce milk also.

Just a Thought on Baby Whisperer (no hard feelings)

Actually BW (or other parental or bb books) is just a reference book or a guideline for us and we do not have to follow strictly or diligently on what the author written. Eventually if our baby did not follow the schedule, mummies and babies as well will be feeling stress and frustrated. We, mummies still have to be flexible cos if bb follow strictly and when the they grow up if they are out of schedule they will find that their life might be chaotic.

Lastly, we want our baby to be happy and we ourselves want to be happy too! Cos happy mum = happy baby!

vine_gal

yes, i really agree with u, i have read BW as well. but i dun wanna stress my boy on such stuff.... i dun wanna upset my bb,

hello mummies!!
long time no post here.....

kristen
re. flipping at night
Hillary is also the same! She will try to flip whenever she wakes up in the middle of the night but because she got the beansprout pillow on her chest, she cant flip! =P