(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Artemis

FLASHCARDS
Where do you order the flash cards from?
I would like to buy the flash cards but missed your BP. =) Only come to this thread occassionally.

jass1408 / 4M3W /750ml / 6.9kg @ 4M1W
cheryl / 5M2W / range from 700 - 1000ml / 8.6kg
starrbliss/4M3W/range from 600+ - 800+ ml / 7kg
Artemis/4M1W/range 800 - 1000ml/ 7kg
bkkgal/4M3W/750ml/ 6.74kg
sunny/4M1W/1000ml/8.2kg
kitsune_sg/5M2W/500+ml-600+ml/7.2kg
Dor_11/5M1W/~1000ML - 1200ML + cereal/9kg
isobellies/5M/700-900ml/6.3kg at 4M
eliaw/5M0W/700-800ml/7.8kg
garfield/5M/900-1000ml/7kg
Jac/4M3W/700-800ml+cereal&supplement/7kg at 4M
Vine_gal/6M/800-1000ml/7.8kg at 5M
xiaoyun/4M3W/600-800ml/6.6 kg @ 4M
dianA/4M3W/800~1000ml/7kg
doink/4M1W/500+-600+ml/6.1kg @ 4M
jeannie/4M3W/650-750ml/6.5kg @4 M/Minnie
piglettail/4M3W/800-900ml/7.9kg@4M1W
hana79/5M2W/600-900ml/~8.5

happy

i m also interested..

but i anything.
no tue n thu, u knw lah, ah lao have to run

happy,

i wanna go for the tiramisu baking class...where izit? And hor, for someone wid no baking experience...do u thk it wld be easy for me to catch up??? Or i sit nxt to u and copy u can??? :p

Artemis,
m ok wid pick up on either thurs or fri at cck. Can i let u knw by nxt wed?? And i've PM u once on my hp no. did u receive it?

Jass,
m so sorry ! i realise i keep mixing u up wid Jac..don't knw wat's wrong wid me? :p

sunny/4M1W/1000ml/8.2kg
bluegin/5M/900ml/7Kg

Baking Class
I'm interested too, esp on Cheese cake n tiramisu. Do they provide hand-on classes?

May I know after dreamfeed, do u need to burp the baby? How?

Hairloss
I experiencing it as well. Sigh...
Better keep your scalp clean. Use a scalp cleansing shampoo. not sure abt patene, but many hair stylist dun recommend it.

re: baking class
cheryl,
ONZ lah !! for mi no fri lah.. u know lah hor.. :=P

leila,
Venue:
Geylang Lor 23, One Sims Lane, #01-10 Singapore 387355
i think it's near geylang/macpherson area..
yes, its relatively easy to catch up.. also, u can always ask the teacher whenever u hv prob/question..
no prob, we can pair up as a team..

for my past lessons, i recalled the teacher required us to team up in pairs for sharing of utensils/equipments & to help each other out.. :p

blueginger,
Come, join us !!

yes, tis is a Hands-on baking class..
u will make your own cake after listening to the teacher's instructions.. during the class, the teacher will continue to guide us through..

Phew...just settled 2 mega sprees on Children's Place and Disneyshopping. I keep telling myself to stop but alas...have already known that having a gal may cause me to become bankrupt liao...lol..

Anybody wants any stuff from Metro? I going for the Saturday's members' sales. 20+5% off everything.

Hairloss:
Me have slight prob also. But I attributed it to long hair? My sis has a rather severe problem and after being recommended some Phyto*** stuff, she swears by it. Even wanted to get me some when I complained to her last week abt dropping hair. Heard it is specially formulated for women.

Anybody know of any tailoring classes? Thought of doing my own clothes for gal and muar...

sunny/4M1W/1000ml/8.2kg
bluegin/5M/900ml/7Kg
amy's gracelyn(4M2W/700-1000ml(TBF)/ 7.2kg

jass,
sat if i go baking, then my 2 kids will be alone with my maid till abt 2pm when my hb returned from work..
Dun feel safe leaving my 2 kids alone wif maid leh, even if its just a couple hours..
shall we see wat the majority prefer first then decide on the date ?

hi ladies..

happymum2b, thanks for the info! yes im interested in the tiramisu class too. but i can only make it weekdays evening (preferably thur or Fri), weekends gotta take care of baby

jas, i can fully understand your frustrations. my maid shares some similarities with yours.

1. wu zhong sheng you - that day baby at mum's place. told her to stay at my mum's place to help look after. she came home and told me my mum told her to come back do her work.

2. english - at least yours attempt to speak, mine make funny noises to my son like "quah quah quah" " quack quack quack" "airh airh airh". she can even "quack" twinkle stars. OMG!

3. expensive - mine oso super kpo. everythg i buy she asked how much.

4. execessive talking - i think they trying to be friendly....TOO FRIENDLY until like "13 dots". mine can just talk to anyone at voiddeck, in lift, at shopping if from her country.

5. I do not need your help - i find it irritating too when she like "fighting with me over my son". They simply don't understand that we want to spend some quality time with our baobei at the end of a working day and on weekends.

6. curry favor - mine like doing small tasks like asking me which pair of shoes i want to wear n fetching my shoes. but when comes to actual housework like mop floor everyday, always skive. n i hate how she act busy when i am around when in actual fact no real work is done.

7. it's my home - mine even rearrange the furniture. ARRRGHHH! stack bedside drawer on top of low cabinet and stack another chest of baskets (ikea type) on top of another low cabinet. machiam warehouse now my house.

8. damaging things - my fan, my blender, broom, frying pan, clothings etc etc

9. instructions - they just say "yes, mdm." whether they know or don't know what they are doing.

i really wonder how they live without a complete functioning brain. sorry ah.... i need to let out some air too...lol.

gar
yah i don't wake him up lah, but i still feel it's disturbing him

artemis
oh ok thanks!

So for solids, does she also give guidelines for a schedule?? like lunch at noon, milk at 3pm, etc?

jass mei
your blog is so funny! but feel sorry for you, so many problems, aiyo..
when my bb was abt 1 month my friend came to see me and brought maid also. then maid also like join in the conversation with me, talk about bb. i thought it was weird... i rather talk to my friend loh!!

re: intro solids
o ya like iso.. i was wondering if there is any schedule? how many feeds of milk do we have to give each day after we have intro eg bee ghor / cerea? cereal is as a serperate meal by feeding w spoon or just add into milk? counting down to intro solids hee~ hope my maid will follow my instructions and dun gei kiang. now its easier to manage my maid coz its all milk feed.

hmmm.... i can only make it on sat leh....or at most fri eve...

happy,
yes....i partner u ....gd gd!!!

mummies who do pilates,
which is better? mat work or reformers huh?

iso jie:
i ok to talk to maid lah. just dun be too excessive ok liao. sometimes @ home just wanna R&R, dun wanna entertain leh. ur fren's maid also v kaypoh hor.

sunny/4M1W/1000ml/8.2kg
bluegin/5M/900ml/7Kg
amy's gracelyn(4M2W/700-1000ml(TBF)/ 7.2kg
bx/4M3W/700-780ml/6.1kg @ 4M1W

sigh... my bb so tiny compared to all ur babies...

pilates
any mummies going to join inspire yoga's mummy and baby pilates starting 19 july? i'm thinking of going... need to get rid of my belly :S

Hi Stephie,

Really not bad leh. I sleep about 4-5 hours a night only but I wake up refreshed.

RE : baking class

I am interested but I can only go on Saturdays.

Hi hana,

After seeing the cards, I am going to order some more and have put up another spree here: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1522562.html

Hi leila,

Yes, I have your mobile.
You let me know again on your preferred collection date and time.

Hi blueginger,

No need to burp after dreamfeed.

Hi jass1408,

I so feel for you. :p

RE : solid feeding schedule

Tonight if got time I type out for you gals okay? :p Depends on what time Danica sleeps. Nowadays, cause I reach home only at 6:30 p.m. she kind of keeps herself awake to play with me a while and sleeps at 9 p.m. instead of 8 p.m.

dor: wah sei! you want no 3 already. salute you too, so energetic..

#2 bb: seriously speaking, i cannot cope if i have no 2. i reached home at 7pm. bathe and had dinner till about 8.30pm.then express milk from 8.30 to about 9.30pm. sometiems even longer if bb needs me in between. after finishing express put bb to sleep. by then already like 10++. Then i got to catch my sleep liao. Sunny, salute u leh, you can still wake up to do housework.. somemore got #1 to take care of!
so sleep deprived , where got mood to have second bb??

nite feeds: mine last feed 8pm yesterday,2am++ ngek ngek, trying to make him sleep again by rocking him. will sleep when rock but ngek again when stop. so ended up latch him and he dozed off again. till this mornign 6.30+, woke up. shaun yet to sleep thru yet..jass/sunny: so good your babies can zz thru liao.

supply drop: i have resumed my goat rue. yeh, hopefully can maintain the ss to tbf.

xiaoyun, your bb can still latch during daytime? my bb very kepo, always look at me and talk when latching. so i couldnt feed him well if he is awake. he only latch well at night when he is zz..
hope you have fully recovered from your sick.take care

Amy: OOch!!! aiyo so painful to throw away 100+ packets of milk!!!

stephie: your boy zz thru liao? does your mum need to wake up to feed him at night? i am still waiting for my boy to zz thru, hopefully very soon before he goes back to KL with mum. I dont want my mum to be sleep deprived!!

hair loss: hair loss occurs now becuase we did not drop hair during pregnancy. so it will go away very soon. just need to 'dong' for the timebeing.

vine: so good that your julian zz thru already. i'm still waiting for mine. erm..

sample daily eating plans: this is how i plan for my son, according to a sample i get from some website; but i will change the menu cuz the sample is from angmohs. i will intro porridge and veg instead.. dont think wnan give baked beans or cheese sauce yet cuz it's so saltish.

Sample daily eating plans

Just starting solids 1 august
Breakfast -- breast or formula milk
mid am -- breast or formula milk
lunch -- 1-3 teaspoons of baby rice mixed with breast or formula milk
mid pm -- breast or formula milk
supper -- breast or formula milk
bedtime -- breast or formula milk

After 2 weeks 18th August
lunch -- 1-3 teaspoons of baby rice mixed with breast or formula milk, and/or pureed vegetables or fruit
supper -- breast or formula milk

After 4-6 weeks 1st September
lunch -- 1-3 tablespoons of baby rice mixed with breast or formula milk, pureed fruit and vegetables
supper -- 1-3 tablespoons of baby rice mixed with breast or formula milk, pureed fruit and vegetables
bedtime -- breast or formula milk.
(Gradually increase portion sizes.)

8-12 months 1st October to 1st Feb 09
Breakfast -- infant oat or wheat based cereal
lunch -- pasta and broccoli in cheese sauce, fruit compote
supper -- baked beans and mashed potato, fromage frais

hi not sure where to join as baby edd was supposed to be 4th march but baby came 29th feb.
hmmm trying to join some mummies rather then staying at home face 4 walls only. will go crazy if i were just to face my baby.
whar seems that all your babies are drinking so much? mine only latch on 6 times a day. Amount to sure as am sahm so latch on most of the time
he is now 4mth 2wks but weight in at 6.7kg @ 3 month dr visit
hmmm are you all going for baking class? can i join the gp?

hi isobellies,

my mum said u vy pretty & slim ah! she said how come other mummies can be so slim. and me..... *sigh* hehehe ;p

i still hv at least 5kg to lose !!! urghh !!

any mummies here is c-sect ah ? u back to your pre-pregnancy figure ?

my pregancy wasnt an easy one... had to bed rest all the time... can't walk nor exercise..is it cos of this i'm not back to my pre-pregnancy figure yet ah.... *sob*

jasmine,
*hi*.. sure, u can join us for the baking class..

dianA,
mi-c sect ! no ah.. still need to work hard to get back pre-preggie figure.. sigh..

Hi tongtong,

If I recall correctly, BW suggest to feed fruits first to encourage taking of solids as cereal is quite blend. Also, introduce only 1 new solid a week to gauge baby's reaction to it. Plus it is best to start at breakfast so that if the solid does not agree with the baby, it will not affect his/her night time sleep. I think her recommended first solid food is pureed pears.

dianA, me emergency c-section n now my weight less than b4 pregnant. my pregnancy was smooth until towards end of last tri, i was ordered to stay home to rest coz baby small.

diana:
i have at least 8 more kg to go... sob~

iso jie:
wah... pretty and slim leh. i oso wan to be like tat... so envious

tongtong:
jia you.. bb will be able to zzz thru when their staomch is bigger ba... u will pull thru!

jasmine:
hello

artemis:
any relation btwn hair loss & bf & menses? sorry heee~ i didn't noe

Hi jass1408,

I not sure leh, h@ppymum asked. I believe cause we breastfeeding, especially direct latch on will generate oxytocin in our body. But that is supposed to be a hapy hormone. Not sure if it has any effect on hair loss. But if have quite strange. :p Happy people = bald people?

any fast fast way to get back our pre-preggie figures ah ?!?! ;p

i'm so frustrated every morning cracking my head what to wear to work..... :-/

really envy seeing those mummies dressed in super slim tight jeans and carrying their babies ;p

happymum2b, vernon'smummy, artemis - we ganbatte ne !!!

starbliss - me also emergency c-sect, was bleeding cos of low placenta..

should hv ask the gynae to "shun bian" remove my fats... since he's opening me up anyway... hahahha *think i work until ki siao liaoz....

Hi dianA,

I think a bit hard ah. :p I super lazy type. Don't exercise at all one.

RE : maid issue

After all the rubbish I went through with the previous maids, I think I am okay with this one except that:
- she takes 30 minutes to bath and she bathes twice a day. Sometimes early in the morning, she go and bath and Danica ngek ngek I have to take care and be late for work?!?
- She is super duper forgetful. Cook soup ask her to watch fire and cook until overflow or dry up?!? Super duper dangerous. She is always very apologetic afterwards so I don't really scold her much but my HB super black face at her.

She quite quiet with us and only talkactive to Danica. Her accent is atrocious but she makes an effort to correct herself after I tell her how it should be.

So I guess win some and lose some.

b4 i came back to work, i didn't experience any hair loss throughout the 3 months (even while washing my hair).

b4 i came back to work, i went to chopped off my hair to chin length bob and did coloring.

and immediately the next day, i experienced my hair dropping.... i think its also cos of the coloring.... *sob* .............

diana:
me too me too... i will stare v long @ the clothes every morning. tough to mix and match coz not many can fit (coz i refuse to buy too many L size clothes liao)... but then didnt manage to slim down.. how? i can't find time to exercise

i hear so many maid issues ah... abit of phobia... we just got 1 filipino helper to help my mum.. should be coming in end of the month... *cross fingers, cross toes, cross eyes*

jass1408,

yah... me also don't want to buy too many L size clothes (hoping i would slim down fast !!)... and hope my usual clothes can MOTIVATE me ...

now left those lose lose baggy baggy clothes to wear.. so demoralizing..

BUT ....aiyo... i am still wearing my pregnancy bottoms leh.... very very sad....

ppl told me if we wakie for nite feed usually will slim down fast one wor... aiyo.. bluff me ah !

artemis:
how abt tell her tat she has to be ready by certain timing? for me i'll get my maid to wake up @ 5.40 and wash up, bathe, do laundry. expect her to be able to take care by 7am. when we need to go out.

Re: baking

i also wish to go but i got no oven at home like a bit no point hor?

Jasmine.. welcome to e thread.

isobellies.. wah liao.. i also jealous leh.. slim and pretty..

jass: i add u to my multiply k..

leila, I do matwork all along but changed to reformer when I was preggie cause its safer and more targeted. On the whole, I like reformer better, but I am sticking to matwork now cause reformer lessons by my instructor will cost me nearly 5 times the price. Too expensive for me lor. But I know that there are some schools that specialises in reformer classes (one called sky pilates in liat towers? I never tried before tho), and they have multiple machines in class, and costs quite reasonably. Just that I want to stick to the instructor I am familiar with.

Pre-pregnancy weight: Haha I think hor, my standards drop liao! :p When I had my first child, I told myself DIE-DIE must lose ALL my weight in 6 months, and turned out that after more than 3 years, I still retained a stubborn excess 3kg which I gave up on. :p
As for now, after my second pregnancy, I took on an additional 5kg which refuses to budge (shucks!). And that makes a grand total of 8kg sigh. And I dont even dare to think of losing all 8. I just want to lose this additional 5kg by the time my bb turns 1. But I am not very confident I can- not that I have time to think about it on most days!

dianA, if you can control your diet and do regular excercise, then sure can lose weight. IF you have the discipline tho. I know I dont. :p

BAKING- If you all decide to do it on a weekend, count me in!

regaining our shape

wanna encourage all mummies to try exercising regularly. i am FTWM, no maid at home. the only time i have to exercise is lunch time and i try to squeeze in one swim a week (once in a while swim twice).

i'm still +2.5kg, but some old clothes are starting to fit.

i think the exercise helps me de-stress also. hardly have any me time with baby. so i enjoy my 30mins of leisure swim and enjoying my own thoughts as i swim

wah, diana's mum is spreading rumours!! hahaha.. i only look slim but actually she dunno that i'm hiding everything, all 6kg of it! :S ESPECIALLY my tummy, so sian. i started to do a bit of running but so far still got the tummy. i don't really mind being a bit heavier but the tummy!! argh!! :D
i can't even fit into many of my old tops, and even bought some new clothes from mango/zara sale. at least got excuse to go shopping :p

mummies who still need to lose weight - did you have a good malay massage lady? mine wasn't good, hardly feel anything. wonder if it's related??

hair loss
my hairdresser already warned me, he said 4th month either you or the baby will lose hair. but MOST LIKELY IT's YOU. heh.

pilates
more info here

inspire is at katong mall and $290 for 8 sessions. not cheap, but i thought would be nice to do w baby...
http://www.inspiremumbaby.com/inspirebabydetails.asp?no=84

Just had my first pilates class today, realised how out of shape I am, even my colleagues in their 40s & 50s are more flexible than me. :p

Artemis, I use Sealy posturepaedic too. Top marks for back care, but sucks big time for motion transfer. The mattress has shake for a long time if my husband turns to sleep on his side. :p

Garfield, that's what I heard too so already bought Heinz white rice cereal to stand by.

Mummies, I'm seriously thinking of working part time liao cos my boss told me can't put me up for promotion unless she doubles my portfolio. Even then no guarantee, so I'm thinking why work so hard, might as well, take this opportunity to work PT since won't be promoted anyway. Any mummies working PT? What do you think? Any pros & cons?

Baking class
I won't join the phoonhuat one cos I've been before. Looks like there's quite a few mommies interested. You gotta book early cos there are many regulars who attend. When I went with mom and sis last time, almost everyone in class knew each other and yeah, you pair up in 2s or 3s to share equipment and ingredients.

Losing weight
sigh...also another 2kg to go...damn sian no clothes to wear, keep wearing the same ku sai maternity tops or loose bottoms.

Berry, you dun need to lose any more weight lah! so slim already! seriously.

Intro solids
I read in Gina Ford that should intro veggie before fruits otherwise bb will prefer sweetness of fruit. I think rice cereal is quite safe cos apparently it's got less chance of bb getting allergies.

I think we not supposed to intro nuts, fish, etc before 1 yr old cos these could be allergy triggers. My cuz went to give her8 mth old cod fish, the bb throw up so badly after that. Dr said cod is too oily for bb's stomach.

Maid issues
Sometimes close one eye lah or else either you will be driven up the wall thinking of it. Win some lose some is true. I have no complaints abt mine so far except small annoying things like 1 time when she kaypo told my ILs how much I paid to put solar film on my windows in order to protect my girl from UV glare. She saw the bill which I put on my study table and told my MIL. Also, to make sure that she doesn't play games with us, we always countercheck her stories with my mom or IL depending on who she tell what to. So now she knows better not to say 1 thing to me and another to my IL/mom. The irony is, she gets blamed by my mom for some mistakes which are not really her mistakes. She's lucky cos I know my own mom's tendencies so I don't blame her without basis.

When she started work, I gave her a daily, weekly and monthly routine to follow so that she knows what to do and knows my expectations. It's like giving her KPIs so that she knows what are the deliverables we expect. As for food, yeah, they all eat alot of rice one. I was shocked at first how much rice we can consume in a month! I kept asking my mom wah, why rice run out so fast! Then I realised who the culprit was. But I guess for them, they need the carbo to work lor. So we close one eye lah, as long as she works diligently and not lazy, we dun mind how much she eats lah.