(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

I'm planning to stop bf-ing when bb hits 6mths so am starting to introduce fm to her.

I've tried mixing like 30ml of fm to 120ml of bm to 'trick' her but my bb seems to be able to detect the slightest taste of fm in her milk and will shut her mouth tightly, turn her head away and refuse to drink up. She'll rather go hungry than drink her mixed milk.

How do you mummies convert your babies from bm to fm?

bbkgsl/eliaw,
u all r so determined!i really surrender liao. now counting down to 6 months. told my hb i wanna go ritz carlton to feast on 15th Aug (my bb born on 15th Feb). now daily ss is abt 600+ ml, wonder if i can stop completely at 6 mths?

gar,
u good! ss over dd
i used to be able to achieve that, but ever since i reduce pumping sessions to 3 times, cannot liao. somemore so stress at work, dun even feel that my breasts got milk. still feel "light" after many hours.

re: bf
yesterday i was pumping in the toilet, then suddenly got a lot of my colleagues waiting outside the cubicle. so i shouted out to tell them dun wait for my cubicle coz i will take long. just happen my big boss is there. she tell me not to pump in toilet coz not hygienic. want me to think of alternative venue and tell her. the thing is i already tried to think of one but dun have so no choice do it in toilet. i thought maybe she feels that i am obstructing others of using the toilet. so today bringing my PIS to pump at my workstation. cover up with nursing wrap.

innosense,
i will try to intro 1 FM feed a day, then 2 and progressively become total FM. u urself r u reducing the no. of pumpings?

havent been able to login for a long long time again and i guess i missed a lot of the sprees....

hee not sure if anyone still remember me either.

may i ask, for the bumper mat, do we need to put mattress on it? or it is ok for bb to lie on it?

re bf
I am still pumping twice in the office, 6 hourly apart, but soon going down to 8 hourly... currently still tbf, but i am not sure how long more i can tahan... but i really cant bear to stop cos that is the min thing i can do for her.....

so far bb is getting on fine at the infant care, just that there is a 2 cases of HFMD that came up these few days.... keeping my finger cross

re hubby
turn out hubby has kidney stone and need to go in for day surgery today..... hope everything will be fine.

re pumping outside
i have a few seminars coming up, and i am worrried, whether there is place to pump. may i know any one of you work in matrix at biopolis??? i am going there for a day seminar and i am not sure if there is a nursing room to pump there...

hi winnie, long time no see!
i know wat you mean abt min thing you can do for bb. i oso feel the same. it's really tough for FTWM to persevere in BF and pumping cos it's so tiring. I simply couldn't bring myself to get up at 1am to pump anymore!

hope your hb's surgery goes well. it shud be easy, in and out kinda thing.

pumping outside
i had a seminar at supreme court the other week. was oso worried where to pump etc but turns out there was a kids/nursing room with a mini fridge! so i could actually keep milk there and pump in peace. The downside is: no tea breaks for you, must rush out to pump, wash and run back in quick quick. If lucky, grab the leftovers from the tea break and bring in loh. Oh yeah, when I went through the security screening, the guard was like "what is the equipment in your bag?", I told him for milk expression, he didn't understand but just let me go in anyway. I think men generally embarassed abt these things. haha.

BX/Eliaw and moms thinking of stopping
*pat on back* for all of us who managed until now. we've done our very best for our little ones already and you know wat, it's the best gift ever for them.

kitsune, u call to cancel the card and hope they will 'keep' you, or you call to specifically tell them to waive charges? Cause I always call to tell them directtly to waive charges, I'll say "I need you to cancel the membership charges on my statement." and that it lol. Abit buay paiseh I know. :p But they always waive!

good morning!

re:stop bf
any mummies wanting/thinking to stop bf due to bb however hungry? Gervaise seems not full with his bm.
will ask for milk after 1.5to 2 hours. currently taking 4oz. tried to increase his intake, but cant finished. already started giving him solids but he is still not enough. if we give him fm(nite feed), he can finished 6oz of fm...

re:expressing in the midnight
kitsune, u veri hardworking. these days, i rather latch him laying down. just cant wake up to express in the middle of the nite. but sometimes, will still wakes up to express cos felling gulity not to express.

dor, zzz. no place to squeeze also lah.... vernon slp on floor. den me n hb on bed, dun tell me another 1 squeeze with us on bed ah

berry
me too like you some times. *thick skinned*. the saying 'ask and you shall be given' is quite true sometimes.

kitsune
yup, me too same as berry. outright ask them to waive. unless i really dun wan the card, then will ask them to cancel. sometimes i just mail back the statement and indicate on it that i wanna cancel my card (cos i don't like to call unless necessary). depending on which PB officer u encounter, some will try to retain you, some simply bochap and accede to your cancellation request.

gd morning girls

leila:
fisher price piano retailing different price @ different place. i saw the tag on my box - OG's price $89. kiddypalace abt $100+. i bought it @ a warehouse sale @ 80 bucks. bought the activity table @ 60 bucks coz the box is torn. tot its quite gd deal.

iso:
wah... we have same bday ya! hee~ same yr? i'm 80.

re: another bb
i oso wan... but now bf leh... dunno when is ovulation anyway. plus we concuzz everynight hahaha~

innosence:
how abt intro 1 feed of pure FM 1st? maybe mix liao the taste is weird?

winnie:
hope ur hubby is well

bx:
wah.. u still have 600ml/day ya. i'm only doing 350-450ml per day now with 3 pumps. jia you! another month for you to your feast

berry:
i called UOB to waiver signature card fees leh... when bo hiew me as i dun use tat card oft although i use UOB lady's alot. they are v xian shi hor... dbs card hor.. rarely use the card also can waive the fees leh.

dor:
maybe gervaise prefer no to drink so much during the day while he noes that he has to go longer w/o milk during the last feed? haa~

re: stopping bf
my ss not enough to meet demand also. can only support abt 3 feed w bm, the other 2 feed FM. but as Matt increase his milk intake, i guess have to reduce to 2 feed of bm per day and eventually 1 feed liao. heheh trying to make the EBM last longer. so tat probably when i stop @ 6-7 mths.. then watever stock i have left can last him till maybe 8-9 mth? hee wanna him to have the antibodies for longer leh. less prone to fall sick.

dor/kitsune & othr mummies who expressed in middle of nite

salute you all as i've not done even once. not easy to perserve expressing in midnite esp after starting work cos will be super tired/sleep deprived the next day while at work.

bx
i'll carry on as long as i can. last weekend ss suddenly dropped. scare me. i think it's due to lack of sleep so hubby ask me try to sleep early the past few nites. now ss back to normal liao.

eliaw
wow, u must be v happy to go on hols. too bad i'm not a beach/resort person. places like bintan, bali never appeal to me. actually these places are good to brg bb along since it's really to rest and relax there.

garfield, I realised I still owe you money for the Wall.E book and the amazon spree, a thousand apologies! I am rushing out now, will transfer by today for sure. BTW, let me know soon if u wan the ELC mat, cause I wan to buy soon, if u dun wan then I'll post at WTS section to see if anyone wants to share with me.

Morning everyone!!!!
nice cloudy day 2day to sleep in....hahaha!! yes, envy the SAHM lor....that is if the bb ever allows u to sleep at all!!!

Jass,
thks for the info, will go chk out OG this wkend then...hopefully still has that disc...or else everything abt the bb is jus so EXP!!!
Btw, let me knw when u nxt wanna order the nan 1ha ys? Or did i get the right Jass ??? hmmm....

Gar,
BY villa must pay by UOB card ah??? then my hols plans dwn the drain liao...

hey, if u don't mind me saying, 1 kid like very lonely leh...2 at least got company mah...hmmm...ur hubby shd come bribe me....muahahaha!!!

Artemis,

wow...u busi busi lady....so much organising to do...btw, where do u stay? mayb i can pick up fm u instead?? Thks hor!

winnie,
hope your hb's surgery is a success

iso,
i think there is a difference. if first kid before 35, then the probability reduces significantly for each subsequent kid conceived after 35, but it is still higher risk compared to younger moms. if first kid after 35, then the risk is much higher.

berry, stephie,
*wave* me too. always call and say i would like to request for waiver of m/ship fees. if i dun wan the card. i will say pls cancel it and even if they offer to waive fees, i will still cancel it.

re BF,
ya me also thinking whether i should stop at 6 mths although ss is still ok. cos it is starting to get challenging to pump at work. and it's sooooooo tiring.

dor, kitsune,
jia you!!! I'm also still pumping once at 10pm and another time at 3+am. contributing quite a bit to chicken essence industry cos so tired everyday.

berry,
no worries, will wait for you. i think you go ahead with the ELC cos the size is a bit small so i may buy a whole pack of 12 pieces on my own.

leila,
ya lor...did he ah...cannot leh i "bribe" you with my vouchers haha!! actually i also n

leila:
no prob... but then the price tag is v worn out. so i'm not sure if they are still selling it @ this price. can check out thou. i rem the supplier is @ 1 lok yang way. tried to google but cant find the supplier name. if not can call and check when is the next warehouse sale.. more worth it leh. my cousin bought it there @ 60 bucks coz box is torn.

dor,
wa.......num 3 =) salute you man! how you cope ah? i feel so overwhelmed even with one.

what is the ideal age gap to consider the next one ah?

Stephie, Dor, Hee I only did it when frozen stock was zero lar. Now got 6 packs, complacent liao. :p

Just weighed my bb gal yesterday, she's already 7.2kg, how come still need night feeds ah?

UOB
Agree with Jass, last time I call to cancel, they'll ask if it's because of annual fee, if I say yes, they'll always waive, but now really cancel.

anyone wants to learn baking (hands on) this fri @ marine parade (super far for me sob~)? hahah my fren just ask to if i wanna learn to bake black forest cake... quite tempting leh. anyone keen. hahaha trying to get 6 pple. so tat the fees will be cheaper if we confirm and pay by today.
http://creativehomebaking.blogspot.com/

morning everyone!

Gar: Have u manage to put in yr order for the organic food?

Teething
Gar: Maybe cos this month onwards their teeth will grow out of their gums.

tong,
nice to meet you too! you still want to try goon baby wipes? i want to order and it's $60 for free delivery. i can meet you at bugis for pick up =)

kitsune,
u meant the weight of the bb will attribute to nite feed?mine should by<9kg

garfield
re:no 3.
heehee.see lah. cos my gal already 8. can take care of herself. i just need to coach her for her studies.

re:ideal age gap
garfield, it really depend on individual. IMO, 3yrs will be ideal. but i cant afford to wait that long for no.3(old already)

jass
i like black forest cake!!! only like to eat n bake

car seat
ladies, i need to get a car seat. any recommendation. got budget

Gar: U wanna tompang to my order cos I want to check with her whether I can add in orders? If she is ok you want or not?

jass
*wave* i'm interested! i went for baking class before at Redman shop, aljunied. it was fun but man, all the aunties were ngek ngek ngek like crazy. so noisy and i was 9 mths preggy then!

isobellies
ya, the bumper mat is so nice to step on. sometimes, i sleep on it together with my gal. haha...

garfield
i can't remember mine is 11mm or 12mm. it's easy to fold and it comes with a bag. before i decided what size to buy, i asked my hb to measure the area which we wanted to put the mat on. it's sort of permanently put on my living room since i bought it. only remove it when i mop the flr.

re: pumping in the office and bf
i still pump 3 times. since my ss can meet my boy's dd and still got excess to gv my #1, i will tell myself to continue bf.

winnie
when i go for course, i will hand express and don't keep it; but rather drink it myself. :p

dor
i am thinking if i want to have #3. but dare not 'take action' 'cos of the financial commitments and we might not have time to gv attention to 3.
didn't tell my hb about my thought 'cos he wants 4!!! :p

re: age gap
i think there's no ideal age gap for the kids. there are pros and cons to have close age gap and wide. IMO, it depends on how we can cope loh. i find that if there's helper, the closer the gap for the kids, the better. if there's no helper, i would prefer to wait till the elder one is independent on certain areas e.g. self feed, partial potty trained, etc then start TTC.

Have't come in here for 3 weeks liao. So busy and work and when I come home I peng san. Nowadays reach home about 7pm, prepare and have dinner at about 8, play with baby, then latch baby to sleep at about 10pm, and wake up at 12am to do housework. My baby can sleep at the most 7 hours, so middle of the night at 4 plus he still wakes up for milk.

How long does your baby tahan without milk at night?

I'm still pumping 7am, 12nooon, 5.30pm, then latch at night. But I think I not enough milk liao. Baby's weight no good, at tail end. So PD advised to start solids liao.

jass
i am interested! but got weekend class or not?

bkkgal
is it worth attending the redman one? i always wanted to sign up, but it's either full or i was busy at that time schedule.

sunny,
re:no3
haha.. me too. no action yet as i am still deprived of my sleep.

re:bumper mat
loves it....got it from bp.

sweetpea
re:"tahan without milk"
abt 3 -4 hours for gervaise. cos that's fm.

sweetpea
ya, life becomes so tiring after starts work hor? me too. i reach home at around 730pm, then busy with washing bottles, thawing the EBM, then latch bb at 8pm and settle him to bed. then, brush my #1's teeth, read story book, then accompany her to sleep at 830pm. then, wake up at 1030pm to express, do housework. knock out at 11pm.

my boy zzz at 8pm, wake up at 5am+ most of the time.

dor
ya loh.... everyday, i come to work with a pair of panda eyes. and when i discuss works with my colleague, i always need her to repeat her qn. haha... zzzz....

I got the bumper mat too. I love it and baby loves it. Now he like to be carried with our hands under his armpits and then his feet on the mat. Then he will "walk" and "walk" all over the mat and become very excited hahahha

sweetpea/sunny,
ya. super tiring
i reach home abt 630pm, then got to go n fetch gal from pick up pt. then dinner, taking over boy. latch then tutor my gal. express, then tv for a while. that's all "/

sunny
the redman course is cheap compared to outside and you can bring home the cakes you bake. they are good for some things like CNY cookies, tiramisu but not for everything.

kitsune, me oso want to know if wt has sth to do with nite feeds?

re: nite feeds
mine on normal days will wake up btw 1.30 - 3.30am and another round at 5.30 -6.30am. i tink only once or twice he slept thru until 5am.

sunny:
hee i try 1 sip of own bm.. yucks cannot take the taste.. v weird..

er... i dunno got weekend class a not leh. the www dun have leh. my fren went for the last sat wan.. she said quite fun. @ someone's home actually.

bbkgal:
later than comfirm w u ok coz the person say to call me back w regards to vacanies

i attended the poh huat (red man) demo class... like v luan leh. coz onli get to watch. i noe they have hands on classes too. but not sure where is the venue... v far fr west definitely.

sweetpea:
hehe matt also likes to be Mr T... er.. coz his hands will stick out if u hold him by armpit. he dun like to walk leh i dunno y.. only like to stand. i thot its a reflex for bb to 'walk'

re: tahan w/o milk
normally feed him @ 3.5-4 hours interval. last feed @ 10.30pm.. can last till 7am (last feed i give FM)

good afternoon mummies,
i fell sick recently. currently on medicine and doc advised not to bf baby.
so, i am drawing my frozen stocks and throwing away more than 1 L of bm already.
luckily bb taking frozen ebm well. just that i lost the fun of latching her on.

my ss drops from 240 ml each session to 170 ml each session. Not sure it's due to my health or due to not latching/expressing frequent enough.

will take goat's rue to increase ss once I've recovered totally.
i've stopped the medicine last night. Hopefully I can latch her tomorrow. :D

from this incident, I realise how much i enjoy latching my bb. I don't intend to stop so early. probably will preservere to at least 1 year.