(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

leila.. really good har?? i din buy cause i think too expensive.. where do u place ur mat?? in bedroom or living room.. so ur baby stays there whenever u not carrying him?

a quick post cos very busy tis wk. repainting my living n dining room, settling my #2's bday party, etc.

stella was an angel on e flights n during e trip. didnt fuss much, except for 2-3 occasions when she cried inconsolably n we took a while 2 calm her down. those were bcos she had blocked nose (e weather is freaking cold in Perth n stella wore 4layers at times) n she couldnt nap when we hit e rd.

other than tat, she ate well, slept well n even played wif herself. sometimes she even sucked her thumb 2 sleep.

she was alright on e flights. e ear pressure thingy didnt affect her cos i BF her when e plane was taking off. it was a 5hrs flight so she took 2 naps, both abt 1hr+ long. the rest of e time when she was awake, she sat on our laps, looked around, smiling away.

IMO, best time 2 travel now for our bbs cos very hassle free in a way. i brought my 2boys aged soon-to-b 2yrs old n 3.5yrs old. aiyo, they were more difficult 2 handle (tat goes without saying lah).

btw, i didnt hv problems changing her diaper in e plane. there was a table provided in e toilet. i tik i must hv changed 5diapers in e 5hrs flight 2 Perth cos Stella was still having loose stools then.

next trip 4 her...taipei in feb09. i foresee more difficulties cos she'll b abt 13mths then, may b walking, eating solids, etc. now she's juz lying there, drinking her milk n napping when it's time.

beryy.. ayr actually i understand what u mean.. e day just passes by so fast.. actually washing up baby stuffs.. preparing food and in between look after babies.. change diapers.. and stuffs is quite time consuming... but my hubby dun understand.. he says why i at home during ML never help him iron... hehe..where got time.. any extra time.. will be spent surfing net.

tute,
are you referring to books for your baby? do you intend to read to bb, or read together with bb? i got some books to read to arielle (those 5 minute read a loud stories from disney) as well as board books to read together with her. arielle likes listening to me read to her. she will lie quietly in the cot on her back and play with her fingers. I try to make eye contact while reading and she will focus on my lips as i read.

as for books to read together with baby, berry had recommended books by sandra boynton, dr. seuss, roger priddy. you can check out the range on amazon.com. i personally like curious george, spot (that cute little dog), and sesame street.

leila,
US$500 two nights but only available thru UOB lady's solitaire. can help you book if you want. very good deal! btw i mailed out the amex coupons yesterday. you should be receiving these few days.

since we both had our first babies at the same age, can i ask if you are considering a number 2? my hb has been cho-choing me almost every day abt this since i declared that one is probably enough for me.

berry
any advice is better than none
and anyway the smart ones will know to take all advice with a pinch of salt and make up their own minds in the end

SAHM
yah i am.. for now lah. planning to go back to work latest by next Jan

but sometimes no time to go high tea wor! esp since i'm trying to put him on schedule and he doesn't seem to want to drink his milk.

jeannie
yah do let me know how it goes, i'm really looking for tips, so far he cries when alone at my mum's place, and at my ILs they're already looking after my nephew so i pai seh to leave bb with them too often. now will try to have my mum spend more time w bb, and even thinking maybe when we start weaning him i only feed him at mum's place, so he associate good things with mama's house. heh.
btw if your hubby dun understand, maybe u ask him to look after bb for like 2 hrs. i sometimes force my hubby to look after, after 15 mins he say he tired already. so at least he understands!! hee..

gar
wah, $500 for 2 nights for 2 bedroom villa??? bintan banyan tree?

re mat
i also bought from small small world! the yellow bear one. i lurrrve the mat, it feels so nice! but a bit big so i fold in half for now...

garfield: nice meeting you just now!

re: holiday: think i will only go holiday when i no longer producing milk.

lucky blu: oouch!! now i never leave bb on the bed. he will play sleep and all activities on the floor. yesterday i also leave him on the floor, facing up. but when i went back he was far from the mattress, facing down. luckily i placed him on the floor! so now i got to make sure the floor is always clean..

kelly: good to learn that stella was doing good during the flight. you said she had loose stools how come? hwo much do we need to pay for the bb, i mean for the flight?

diana: I think it's still fine if ur bb zz in cot eventhough he knows how to flip liao. I actually palced his mattress on top of another single bed mattress cuz his cot mattress is not big enough for him already. My bb has sensitive skin, am using California bb product. so far so good.

jeannie: my bb will sleep in yaolan/mattress in the living hall during day time and sleep on the mattress beside me during night time. wah you thought of #2 one liao. hehe

berry
look under BPs, i got mine from there. i think they're also listed under the biz section. i would find the link for u but today my internet connection like damn slow..

jeannie:
I'll put matthew on mattress @ living room floor or in the netted rocker. otherwise.. he wants to be carried.

iso:
wahhh... SAHM ya. no wonder i see ur post on my threads hee~

berry:
i saw the foam mat w/o the ABC... it is slightly bigger than those ABC mat. was checking out for a friend over the weekend. pic as below.
1542163.jpg

xiao yun,
You managed to collect for me my wrap from QooSan?

Anybody want to take over? No longer latch on so no use for me already.

hi all, am a mummy to a leap year baby and am looking to buy the bebe pod plus infant seat for my son. saw it at baby center going for 47.95usd if can get 10mummies to order together then can save on shipping. will cost about 10 to 15 dollars less then if we were to buy it here i think. going at 99 at the first few years paragon. any mummies interested? can pm me? or if you all were to start can let me join?

mummies, thanks a ton for the replies!

Jass, wow you took pictures lol! Waah its quite expensive from my memory, I think I used to buy 4 pieces for $25 and there was even a 20%, must be inflation lol!

Mats- hmmm I checked out the small small world ones, v gd quality and pretty but too big for me cause its a fixed size. I called up ELC to ask about theirs. Its 12 pieces for $109, more pieces than I thought, so maybe its a good price after all, considering that even giant's also not that cheap.

jeannie,
ya, the mat's gd! have been preventing my boi fm getting bumps on his head and it's cool to lie on too, such that my hubby sleeps on it as well. I move the mat all over the place, room, hall etc etc. And when not in use, jus fold n put 1 corner lor...

gar,
m thinkg of no. 2 too but nxt yr lar...my body n mind needs to rest mah...but i guess if u game, by all means, quickly help s pore boost the birth rate... :p
hey, the banyan thingy sounds gd! now i have to find another family to go wid us since it is 2 bedrooms. It's valid for weekends hor? n include ferry?
n hey, thx for the sending out the vouches.

berry,
though i have only 1 but i m old mah...so u come woodlands n gai lah...n m usu. off fri afternoons leh...weekends i got 2 bbs instead... :p

arg..so bz at work..steal some time to read posts..haha..

mats: i also haven't buy! is it really necessary?

Hello Kelly, updated your blog on your trip? envy envy..

jeannie - my gal sleeps on her bouncer in the day. Night she sleeps in her cot (if at my place) or the playpen (if at my mum's place)

just checking whether anybody needs to collect anything from kelly. I will go over to her place at 6 plus to take something. Since i stay west.. was thinking if somebody need to lombang something then u can collect from my place.. may be more convenient.

leila.. really so comfy har.. but ur baby can self entertain himself?? or u put playgym there??
do u use pillow??

jass.. my baby also.. either netted bouncer.. or playgym or being carried.

tongtong
actually i thot if still bfdg and latching on, less hassle to bring bb on holiday since no need to carry hot water flask, milk bottle, milk powder, etc. jz need to brg pump to express excess milk and nursing cover to latch bb.

jeannie
day time, either put bb on rocker/bouncer, on bed, or carry.

jeannie,
sometimes, my boi is facinated by the prints and can stare at it for a long while...other than that, ya, i put anything and everything on it so that he can entertain himself.. :p

tongtong
ya, actually it's easier to bring bb out for travel when you still bf. so much lesser things to bring along.

re: bumper mat
i got mine from small small world, too. very good. i bought 2. one at my place, another one at my mil's place. :p it's my kids' playing and sleeping area.

like what leila mentioned, it's also one of my best investment. keke...

re: ABC mat
i bought before, but find it no good. 'cos hard to clean and the material will peel off when use it for long period; find it not so safe for bb especially when they start putting everything things into their mouth.

jeannie
during daytime, my boy would be either on bouncer or the bumper mat. he only sleeps in the baby cot at night.

sunny
the material is so nice right?? so shiok to step on it, hahah

diana
i think whatever size you have space for! i can barely fit it into my mum's place.. always have to fold it up and keep it away when not using.

qingling
not necessary but it's a good base for them to play on the floor for.

berry:
foam mat - i think its 19.90 for 4 pcs hee~

leila:
my boy oso likes prints. he likes boxes of the toys tat i bought for him a lot too. i got this fisher price grand piano and there is a pic of a toddler on the box, matthew likes to look @ the box. he will wave, kick and 'talk' to the toddler when we place the box by his mattress.

ELC mat- they are selling $109 for 12 pieces and $49 for 4 pieces, anyone wants to share a pack of 12 with me? I only need around 6 pieces, and for the quality, its quite a good deal. Note that some playmats that are made and sold by random companies might be using inferior-quality plastic that might gas-off and hurt a child's health, so I think I'd rather buy from more reputable brands- the ELC one is a little more exp but its certified safe for kids.

berry,
any site to look at the ELC? i dun mind sharing with you. how big would 6 pieces be in terms of surface area?

i agree quality is impt cos arielle will lick lick lick and i dun wan goodness knows what kind of chemicals to enter her system

thankful,

I've already replied your post some time back le, you long time never check forum liao?
Qoosan already opted postage, hence i am not meeting her anymore. I would suggest you to opt for registered post if you scared lost package.

btw, you have also joined the CB spree and wanted aloe vera cream and sunscreen but not yet pay up. Do you still want the item? Please let me know by end of tomorrow as I am placing order soon.

stephie/sunny,

true to bring bb when still bf. but when i travel i wouldnt bring bb along la, that's why i prefer to travel once i am off from bf! keke. no need to pump milk liao. so easier.

Garfield, I called ELC to ask, the dimensions are 62.5cm x 62.5cm per piece, so based on my (hopefully correct lol!) calculation, should be 125cm x 187.5cm, is it correct? The thing I like about these large puzzle-type mats is that its very light and easy to clean, also can fit the pieces according to your needs.

gar
depending on size and thickness can cost between $150 - $250. i got the 12mm one, i thought it was quite ok, but i didn't buy based on thickness, i bought based on design and size..

diana
i got the yelow bear one, with ABC at the back.. but it's not really ABC in sequence. not surprised, since it's from korea, heehee.

dianA, I dont have the pics, also not available on their website, but basically its all plain in solid colours (various colours in a pack, blue, orange, white etc).

RE: Gap.com / OldNavy.com spree on 30 June 2008

The items have been shipped!

RE: BP on flashcards

They have arrived! The supplier sprang a surprise on me and delivered them early. I have arranged them into bags and you ladies need to let me know when you want to collect them. Cause of the weight of the items, I can only meet 1 person a day unless you are coming over to my place to collect. Do let me know okay?

1. HarbourFront (12:30 - 1 p.m. / 5 - 5:30p.m.)
- 9 July 2008
- 10 July 2008
- 11 July 2008
- 14 July 2008
- 15 July 2008
- 16 July 2008
- 17 July 2008
- 18 July 2008

2. SengKang/Punggol (6 - 6:30 p.m. on weekdays, weekends any time but please let me know at least 1 day in advance)
- 9 July 2008
- 10 July 2008
- 11 July 2008
- 14 July 2008
- 15 July 2008
- 16 July 2008
- 17 July 2008
- 18 July 2008

3. Choa Chu Kang (I have to check with my sister on her schedule, will update here again.)

Gar, I went to Banyan Tree Bintan for my ROM short honeymoon, very nice.
I didn't stay in pool villa, only 2 people mah so jaccuzi villa more cosy in my opinion. My hubby typical unromantic guy watched free VCDs (borrow from hotel library) everyday. Sigh. Wa, must have UOB lady's card solitaire, I can't meet the income requirements leh.

bumper mat
I have one 11mm LG Sweet bear one and now buying another Yellow bear parklon 15mm one. I think it's good if you have the space. My first piece is at my ILs place but they hardly open it cos no space in their house. But I 'bu si xin', bought another one for my house, think they'll eventually use it when she starts to crawl. Haha.

Gar, why you never ask me, I'm 33 this year. Also, thinking of when to try for no. 2 cos no. 1 didn't come easy. Even thought of cutting short BF if it'll affect ovulation. But thought it won't be fair to RaeAnne. Plus I super no mood to try lor, every night severely sleep deprived. Sigh. :p

Leila, I bought the FP grand piano too, it's $139 if no discount. Got it at 30% during Isetan private sale.

most of our bbs are almost 5 months. anyone planning to stop bfing at 6th month.

how u planning to stop bf? dun pump?

artemis
hurray!
when you can, perhaps you can just bring mine to your office and leave it there? harbourfront is pretty convenient for me, but because my hubby's schedule is q erratic, it's often hard for me to plan before hand whether i can come or not. i might be able to make it tmm or thursday, or if not, next week...
thanks!!

bx
i hope to go on as long as possible but nowadays i'm having probs with let-down (too much stress at work) and katelynn's dd is greater than my ss so i have to supplement her soon with FM as my freezer stock is going down. until such time when i can't do it anymore, i will slowly reduce the pumping from current 4 times to 3, 2 and then 1. And then finally, just latch her b4 work and after work.

sigh. i'm sad every time i think abt it, just bu she de to let go of this one duty that only i alone can fulfil for her.

bx, me also trying to hang on until 1 yr.. but seriously very very tired of expressing everyday..

u all make me feel like getting a bumper mat too! so 15mm is good huh?

kitsune, tot lady's solitaire is strictly by invitation.. maybe they'll send to u.. btw, i don't have.. i just kaypo only..
anyway, these credit card companies will send out invites for platinum status if u r a regular user, even though u never hit the income status..

i have decided to bring bb to bali with me.. heheh.. now waiting for hb to make reservations.. finally a holiday!! YEAH!!

Wa, Gar going to Bintan, Eliaw going to Bali, I'm so envious. My hubby, ILs and my mum all against me bringing bb on airplane at less than 1 year old leh. Sigh...

Eliaw, haha, UOB nowadays very 'ngiao', I called twice to cancel card to 'siam' the annual fee and they really cancel for me leh. Both my UOB ladys card and my UOB signature card. Now, I'm only left with UOB metro card. My conclusion is they don't value my business anymore lor... :p

Bkkgal, I had the same problem, PANICKED when my freezer stock went down to ZERO. So, had to pump after latch, even if it's 3+am. Weekends, cannot go out, keep latching so that don't touch my EBM, keep pumping after latching. Finally managed to have 6 bags of frozen EBM again. Not ideal but better than nothing. Anyway, just to say it's not impossible to build up supply again but will be very tiring for FTWM lor...

sorry to intrude...i've the following for sales/exchange

BN unopened Step 2 Formula Milk at S$10/tin for:-

1 x 400g Similac
1 x 400g Dumex Mamil Gold
1 x 400g Enfapro A+

Or exchange above for Friso Gold 2.

Interested, pls PM me. *For sincere buyers only*

berry,
thanks for the info. let me chum siong with hb first.

re small small world,
how big is the mat? can fold easily or roll easily? my place confirm no space to leave it on the floor all the time.

kitsune,
you 2 yrs younger than me mah...my dear dr loh will say that so long as 35 and below no need to do those horrid tests so if you want number 2 must quick quick
for me confirm kena already...sigh...

bkk,
yes need to pay with the card.

eliaw,
so smart....i long time UOB lady's card user and all my spend is on the card over the past 10 years so they earn a lot for me liao now upgrade me so i will spend even more!

re BF,
my ss now exceeds bb demand, but i still supp once a day with FM. dual purpose - firstly to reduce stress so that even if i skip one latch or one pump session won't feel overly anxious; secondly to let bb be used to FM so that eventually when i stop BF, transition to FM will be smoother.