(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Gar
wat promo is BYT having? I oso thot of going to Bintan but all the resorts there either very old or no value for $$ leh.

bkkgal
me alr planned to brg him to japan early next year, maybe around feb/mar. so by then he'll be more than 1 yr. this year, to compensate, we go for local hotel stay. again, another 'i won't do' thingy before i had kids :p

stephie,
same same...don't intend to let arielle fly till she is about one yr old.

i've already stocked up 3 winter coats for her liao
so die die must bring her somewhere then!

garfield
sometimes when i see 'special moments', e.g. case like urs, bb crying hysterically, etc, also will take/try to take photo/video. haha..me bian tai mummy. but only think think lah. most of the time i will be too occupied with bb to reach out for my camera.

gar
i know what u mean, sometimes if i prop my bb up and don't watch him and he fall on his face he's like struggling but actually it's also a bit cute

your mattress comes with the cot one?? or buy separately? got such a big gap that can fall in??

has anyone seen those clip on high chairs? i saw online that phil & ted and chicco have, but haven't seen one in real life.. not sure if any good. looks like can save space!

this is the phil & ted one:
1540298.jpg

hi ladies!

Kitsune,
thanks for letting me know regarding the avent teat vs. pigeon teat

seems like avent teat is really good hor...i went to the shops last weekend, there were so many avent teats to choose from.

now then i realised besides Avent, pigeon and nuk (i think? their premium range?) also has wide neck teats thus wide neck bottles. haiz, i should have bought wide neck bottles to begin with. but i've already bought a set of small and big 'standard neck size' bottles, feel very wasteful to get another set of wide neck bottles. see how it goes...

LOL! Garfield so kiasu! I borrow from you if ever I go to cold country with Kate :p

Stephie, i oso used to say this or that i won't do if i have kids, now i have to shut up cos it seems that whatever i won't do, i end up doing! yeah, last time i oso used to think why bring kids, they don't know anything, waste time and $$. but now even for 1 day I don't see my bb, I'll feel sad.

iso
me too don't feel safe using clip on high chair.

bkkgal
now i'll say 'it's priceless' to bring bb on holidays. haha. true that they won't remember a thing, but at least as mummy, we will remember the time spent with our kids and that's priceless.

Hey stephie, I agree 100%! I bring my kids on holidays not to 'score points' with them and hope that they will remember it, bur rather, its for me. Cause its just so enjoyable for me to bring them to new places and see new things, to have fun together. And these memories are for me to keep forever.

stephie, bkkgal, me too, used to frown at those mummies who bring crying babies to holidays. Always ask why they bother, even asked for seats away from families so that I won't be disturbed. Retribution time. Sigh, wanted to bring her to HK in Sept but can't cos hubby's busy during the school holidays.

Garfield, glad both Arielle and her parents have gotten over their ordeal. I will be very 'sim tia' and panic too if I saw my bb caught.

Kirsten, where do you stay? I'm at Tampines I got extra 120ml similac bottles with sealing discs if you want. I bought too many from thankful, the bottles are actually free, selling the cap/sealing discs. PM me if you are keen.

Isobellies,

travelling with babies

Yes, feeding babies with liquid as the plane climbs helps to release the air pressure in their ears. When travelling with young babies, try to book early so that you can get to have a bassinet in front of you.

kitsune
darn!!!

anywhere else still got sale? robinsons, etc?

blackbatz
oh ok, i thought the airlines (or at least SQ) will automatically give you a bulk head seat if you're travelling with a young child.

Iso,
have voted for ethan too.

Stephie,
i also planning to take bb to japan early apr next year.....already stocking up on his coldwear....haha.

Quite worried about plane journey also.....so decided to bring him up to genting late next week to test out his reaction. Haha.....take a short break before i get a new job.

Short trip but already my list of stuffs to bring for bb seems like forever. Also want test out how he'll react during the long coach journey.....hmmm....keep my fingers crossed he'll not wail too much.

RE: accident

My bb flipped so much that he fell from my bed. Hubby had went off to work & i left him for ard 7mins unattended niah to wash his milk bottle, then just as i finished & drying hands heard a thud followed by a wail & i ran into my bedroom to find him on the floor. He cry & cry then i did everything i could & he finally stopped after 10mins. Then 5mins later start again, & stopped 3mins later. Then i took him to my mum's, he see his popo start his "complaining cry"....not the non-stop type but the intermittent type....haha. Monitored him closely throughout the day he no vomitz no strangeness then i more relief. But got a slight bump on back of head.

Although i know babies sure have falls in their growing up, but feel so guilty & now very scared of leaving him on bed, always carry him to make his fm even.

haha, know how you feel, I so kiasu, called KP that Monday, cos no time to go during weekend. When they said it was last day, I dashed down after work to stock up on teething rings, snack cups, weaning bowls, etc. Wanted to buy potty even but hubby think I too 'kua zhang' so didn't buy, no space also lar. :p

me back fr perth last mon. been very busy. lotsa things happening n i was in pretty low spirits too.

how's everyone? tried 2 read e thread but cant keep up.

hi kelly!
were just talking abt travelling with bb - how did stella take the trip? how come low spirits after hols?

kelly,
what happened? you ok?

garfield,
would like to join your amazon spree but not sure what are the good books to buy. i will join next time ok?

me too feels bb's expression very comical when she flipped and half body on matteres, half body on floor. my matteress very thin one, don't think she felt any pain. :p

re: healthy times
dawn,
i saw that at carrefour too.
initially wanted to buy but found out that the expiry date is this year Sept/Oct. I don't think I will let bb start taking them so soon.
however, i bought the barley and brown rice cereal. expiry date 2011. It's $6.65. A little cheaper than shown in the website. Heard that there will be 15% discount and free delivery when ordering > $200. I don't think I will be able to make it though.

kelly,
welcome back! was just wondering how you're doing cos didn't hear from you for so long. are you feeling better now?

luckyblu,
oh dear.....i can imagine how traumatised you must have felt! *hugz* is baby all ok?

xiaoyun,
no problem. i'm probably doing a second batch depending on the demand. are you thinking of books for baby or yourself? can give you some recommendations

kelly
welcome back. hope everything is fine for you now.

luckyblu
sometimes bb really catch us by surprise. even few seconds away from them may result in 'accident'. i still remembered my gal fell from the basin when i just left her there for a few seconds. i was so heartpain and guilt stricken then. just gotta remind ourselves not to take things for granted in future.

luckyblu:
o dear.. quite scary hor. i guess place a lot of pillows so tat they wont roll and roll off the bed ba next time. hope ur ah bb is doing ok now. *sayang*

Today 2nd day back in office...no mood to work…brain still slow and too many meetings...luckily first day pumping is still ok…hopefully no changes…I realise the fridge in nursing room have refridgerator compartment so can keep my ice pack there….plus they actually paste a list of ppl who have access to nursing room so now I just leave all my pumping equipment in nursing room, which makes it easier
pumping 2x in office now, but only sterilise after 1st pump...all in all I think it takes me 30 min to pump during lunch and 20 min around 5pm.

My baby apparently was throwing tantrums the first day I left him…I think he has more separation anxiety ? My maid and mom say he keep looking around like trying to find me and was crying very loud late afternoon…I feel so sad after I heard that…hopefully today he's better...

garfield,
Can give me some recommendation for bb book? am interested to get some...
oh and i hope arielle is fine after the stuck in playpen incident...i would have been terrified myself !

Iso,
Think I gotta back out from the birkie spree…really no time to go to the store and try them on...

gd morning mummies !!

can i ask a few questions?

1) i am thinking of letting my gal zz on the floor with mattress soon (when she starts to flip by herself). she is zz in her own cot now. Or they are fine zz in their own cot even they know how to flip over ?

if zz on mattress, should we get a good mattress (ie. babysafe) or it doesn't matter ?

2) anyone has pets at home? i hv 2 chihuahuas at home and i dun dare to let my gal lie on the floor (on her bb gym, am afraid of their fur will be flying around. so usually put her on the bed on the bb gym. is it too small a space for her to roam/flip ?

3) any of ur bbs hv sensitive skin? what body wash are you using?

tute
about the birkies, no worries! i will only place order thurs/fri, i also need to go to the store, hee.
don't feel sad for bb, guess he just needs to adjust. think i have to let my bb cry at my mum's place also.. sigh. altho i'm not working, i would like to at least have a few hours to myself every few days, but so far even if i go out for 15 mins, once he realise i'm gone he will start crying. aiyo..

kitsune
heheh.. everytime got sale and i go there i dunno what to buy. then sale over i remembered what i want to buy. grr! :D

dianA, I think most cots are adjustable right? My DD used her cot from newborn stage till she was 3.5yo. We just adjusted it lower when she was older. If your cot is adjustable, baby will be safe in there, if u are worried about bumps against railings, can always buy bumpers.
If u wanna use a mattress, then you must be prepared to babyproof the room VERY well when bb can crawl/cruise, cause then they can crawl/cruise off the mattress without caregiver's notice and start wandering around. This means that they will possibly sitck everything they can lay their hands on into their mouths before the caregiver knows that they are awake, can be potentially dangerous (choking hazards).

berry
it's so nice to have more experienced mummies like you here for advice. i recently was looking at some of the newer threads, like those MTB in 2009, and they all sound so innocent and cute. like they will ask, i'm 9weeks preggers, how come like no bump yet. so cute, aiyo

Iso, thanks alot, tho sometimes I wonder if I am commenting too much haha! Even with my weeny bit of experience, somettimes opinions still differ, cause everyone has their own parenting/care-giving style. Hee I can still recall my preggie-with-first-child days, everythng was SO new, so exciting and so much to find out! Those were the days.

isobellies.. hehe.. i understand what u mean.. i also think they very cute.. now i can imaginehow i was like previously... must be asking a lot of "funny" questions. but then.. we really must go thru it to understand hor.. even now still blur.. so all those 2nd and multiple times mummy can give some good advice.

But come to think of it.. each baby is different too.. whatever suits first or second may not suit the next one.

isobellies.. u SAHM?? So cool.. like berry.. aiyoh.. u all can go gai gai in the afternoon liao.. high tea!!!

kelly.. fill us in more on how to travle on plane w baby.. how is stella now??

i will be driving up w hubby to m'sia in sept too..dun think can bf then.. must bring fm.. hot water.. cna just get along the journy hor..Wah.. if only my baby can latch on.. so convenient!!!

just out of curiosity.. where does ur baby stay during day time and where does ur baby sleep during night time?

My baby these few days very naughty.. wnats to be carried... she's either on bouncer/ playgym if at home/ walker or carried by pp.nowadeas always been carried.. sigh.. else she will start crying.

at night.. she sleeps on her own bed( from ikea) which is joined to our queen size bed.

Sometimes.. i wonder.. if there is a second one where will the second one sleep since.. the first is already sleeping w us and there's no place to put cot liao.

Iso, you are a sahm too?

jeannie, haha gai gai I also wish leh. In fact, last time when my DD is a baby, I used to bring her out almost daily, so almost everyday go n gai-gai like wat u say, v fun and quite relaxing(er..at least until she brawls in car seat) way to spend time. but now I dont really get to do that much cause mornings is my housework/food prep time, and when my DD comes home from school, time is spent on the two kids/washing bottles/more meal prep. So I am very busy everyday, luckily mu PC is on all the time, so once in a while I can go online abit to help me catch my breath!

jeannie, I think all bbs like to be carried and snuggled, gives them comfort mah. Imagine they are so small, sure want and need alot of comfort n assurance. Secondly, I think they also want to be 'in the action' and watch wat we are doing and join in- and since they cant walk, the only way to be 'in the action' is to be carried. Its actually very good for their development, like if a bb is carried around alot while caregiver does stuff, they observe keenly and they learn alot from it.

FOAM MATS- Anyone knows where I can get GOOD quality foam mats? Similar to those ABC types but in large pieces instead of puzzle ones (v hard to maintain and keep, wait till bb learns to peel the tiny pieces out lol!)? I threw mine away (
) so need to get new ones. So far I only saw large pieces from ELC, which retails for a ridiculous $109! Anywhere else I can get? Will be v useful when bb learns to crawl, soft and easily wipable.

hi gar,
how much for the banyan 2 bedroom villa ah? make me gian liao....
btw, my book orders r all fine so will trf the funds to u later ya? thks!!!

berry,
what gai gai...i only have 1 n almost always tired out!! really really really wish i was way younger.... gone were the days i can do 2 aerobics classes back to back
Hey, why don't u come over to woodlands to gai :p then i can meet up wid u liao....hahaha!!!

berry,
u didn't buy the mats fm small small world before?? thot that was one of my best investments, been using the mat ever since boi was 2mths or so...but ummm... ya...not cheap!!!

leila, LOL eh u are the one with one kid, should come and meet me instead. :p Or we meet for coffee on weekends lar, I dont work on saturday afternoons. :D

MAT- are you talking about those one large piece types with cartoons on it? I dont have space for those leh, but yar, v good quality.