(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re birkie spree.

Isobellies, i'll pm you my mobile in case u need decision fast. But i think i'm quite sure i want that madrid kimono black.

Re birkie size:
Me big foot. Most heels i'm more comfy in 9. But now can hardly wear high heels. Feet still a bit bloated i think? So tight!

Anyway i digress. I'm wearing birkie size 41. But pls go to the boutique try for better gauge. There's one at raffles city too.

Btw my friend says sometimes world of sports, royal sporting house, robinson's got sale, can get madrid about 60 (usual 79).

I feel very happy now. Am having a break n hubby carrying ruth sleeping. Today she power. Almost never sleep. Only had 2 bouts of less than 30min nap. Also threw up twice.

Think she teethin big time.

lezy
got it!

eliaw
narrow for both pairs? cos u ordered 2 pairs, different sizes right.

shoe size
my shoe size has increased from 38 to 39 over the past few years. are my feet getting fatter?! luckily when pregnant they were as per usual, haha.

amy
my PD said 6 months.

pardon my ignorance. Amazon spree buy what? Sorry if i never 'read faithfully' but dunno what u all buying. Damn jialat. Like looking for things to buy.

Btw very happy. Today bought a lighter, smaller stroller from tom n stephanie. Can use in day time outdoors, bring for walks.

lezy,
amazon spree ah....me using to buy books and CDs for baby plus parenting books for myself. the selection in SG is um not v extensive, plus buying from amazon saves me at least 20% (even if i ship direct from amazon without using vpost).

re: birkies
went to world of sports to try out my size ytd. they are having sale. some up to 40% discount. but the pair i like no discount. went to the tobiasmayer website to see. oso can't find a pair i like. now still looking. may get kimono black.

iso,
u urgent to order? can wait a few more days?

lezy,
think most of us go out on weekends. me can't go out coz rushing to complete work. sigh... usually our thread so quiet on weekends...

re: bb flipping
ashlynn finally flipped at 4 months 3 weeks!!

she keep flipping now. but dunno how to turn back. keep ngek ngek. we help her turn back then she flip again. haha...

lezy, bx, yar lor weekends we go out alot too, so not much time to go online n post.

Lezy, amazon can get alot! I usually get books and DVDs, the prices are really good compared to sg, can save alot esp if you are buying more than an item or two.

Iso, I wont join your spree this time, cause no time to go try out sizes today, and I am eyeing a model I've never had before, so not sure of my size.

jass, eliaw, lezy,
can wait until next thurs night before i place order? i also have to go down to the shop, hee. think i might not have time until thurs.

berry
any thing to recommend from amazon?? my hubby and i are spree-ing together, lol, becuase he's buying some car accessories or parts or something..

re birkie spree,
Me ok to wait. Actually wanted to go around n check if got sales, but dun tink they will have kimono black lei.

<font size="+1">AMAZON SPREE UPDATE</font>

Have taken in orders from:
1. Leila
2. YanYen
3. Berry
4. Helena

Another US$45 to go before I close the spree cos want to keep our total amount to US$200 to avoid GST. Pls PM me if you would like to join

Isobellies, I am quite a believer of reading to kids from v young (a month old or two!) and hope you dont mind my long post.

Sandra Boynton is of my fave authors, her books are all very fun, silly and often rhymes. http://www.amazon.com/s/qid=1215348439/ref=a9_sc_1?ie=UTF8&amp;search-alias=aps&amp;field-keywords=sandra%20boynton

I also love books by Dr Seuss, like "hop on pop", "mr brown can moo, can you?" and so on, but these might be more for kids who are closer to 1yo onwards who has a better understanding of the eng lang. They have mostly full-sized versions which might not be suitable for kids below 18mths or 2yo (cause its quite long) so if u are buying for bb, get the board book version- its a shortened version.
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_b?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&amp;field-keywords=Dr+seuss+board+books

For VERY young kids, I love Priddy books cause they use alot of real pictures (as opposed to cartoons/drawn illustrations) that are very bright and beautiful, my DD loved their range of books since she was as small as several months old. If you have to pick a few books to buy for bb to read NOW, I would pick Priddy books first. Cause the photographs in the books are very captivating, and if you manage to hold bb's attention, then reading will be a positive experience for bb that s/he will look forward to. http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_b?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&amp;field-keywords=priddy+books

These are my personal faves from Priddy books:

http://www.amazon.com/Big-World-Book-Board-Books/dp/0312491220/ref=pd_sim_b_5

http://www.amazon.com/First-100-Words-Bright-Baby/dp/B000F7BPCU/ref=pd_sim_b_1

berry.. really har.. din noe that leh.. aiyoh.. then must control liao.. thanks for sharing..

bx.. my ger hasnt really flip.. my mil said she flipped once last fri morn.. but i din see.. but till now can sh that she is trying but haven succeed . is that a bit slow?? saw one online buddy's blog.. her ger is 1 month younger than mine but she is already fliping front to back and back to front.. it hink she's super fast.

Re: unfarmiliar face
brought my ger to my parents place.. cry like mad... sigh.. feel so upset.. think my parents will be too..

berry.. thanks for the links.. so u have a lot of books now har??

hi berry

wow, thanks!! i'm also a great supporter of reading, the first thing i bought before any other baby stuff (even before giving birth) was books! i have some dr. suess already, although do you find that some of the words are a bit nonsense? like they make words up. the rhymes are good though, my bb seems to like it although i just usually read a few pages lah.

priddy are nice!! only after seeing the amazon links i realised that i have one from borders on sale (large board book, only $7.95!) i love the photos/illustrations and font, hee. will go to borders and see if got anymore on offer..

boynton and finn look nice! will check it out.

what about berenstein bears? are they any good? i think i had those when i was young!

isobellies,
it's ok.. no hurry.. only size 39 narrow.. size 43 regular.. thanks!

re: baby flipping
bx, mine also never turn back.. think turn back not so fast rite??

eliaw.. mine haven even flip.. from front to back lah..dun talk abt back to front.. :p

Fed baby pear and banana puree from Heinz.. a bit sour.. like "sam za" taste.. she was squirming after tasting it.. dun think she likes it..Anybody started on rice cereal liao??

isobellies, just to add on.. i think dr seuss is really quite nonsense.. never really like the series..

jeannie, don't worry.. it's only a matter of time..

i haven't started anything yet.. for rice cereal, try to buy iron-fortified cereal..

<font size="+1">AMAZON SPREE TEMPORARILY CLOSED</font>

Have accepted orders from:
1. Leila
2. YanYen
3. Berry
4. Helena
5. Eliaw (can still take in your potty book if you are adding)

I will tabulate the orders at this point and get an estimate on shipping charges to see if we're well clear of SG$400. If so, I can take in more orders.

Shipping update
The good news is that I discovered an even cheaper way to ship via Borderlinx as there is no base charge, and the per kg charge is also cheaper! Eg. a 5kg parcel costs $18 cheaper than using vpost.

Exchange rate
I will use the actual exchange rate on my credit card bill so zero markup. For initial payment, will use 1.4 and refund/request top up as necessary.

For mummies in this spree, I will coordinate payment/shipping etc via email instead cos easier for me to keep track of correspondence. Please look out for my email

eliaw,
think some feb babies here can turn back liao

jeannie,
your ger younger than mine, so it's just a matter of time when she will flip.

Gar, very near to isetan scotts, did you pop over? Can see the complete gaya collection there. haha.

Bx, me same like you, weekend always hide at home cos hubby need to do his marking. But today drag him out cos got dinner gathering at Toa Payoh Oasis.

eliaw
ok got it!

re flip
my bb is 5 months tomorrow and cant flip at all. he seemed to be trying then recently like more interested to play with his toes..

berry,
re:walker
ya. agreed with what u have written.

re:jumperoo
just collected the jumperoo from bkkgal. my boi had a fun time jumping!!!! can jump for abt 15min in it until he so tired. that he KO soon after.

Iso, yeah Seuss book sometimes use nonsensical and silly words that they make up themselves haha. Personally I dont mind cause I didnt feel that it would impact their learning of the lang in a nagative way. If anything, I feel that those rhyming sounds (if read accurately) 'trains' a child's ear to hear the difference in similar-sounding words. Plus, kids ARE silly to begin with, and hence love anything silly. Imo, anything that makes a child giggle so much while learning cant be a bad thing (positive association). So my DD loves Dr seuss alot.

As for berenstein bears, I personally dont like them very much haha, but then again, I am pretty anal about certain things most parents have no issues with. :p But I know that alot of parents like berenstein bears books, so if you like then why not.

jeannie, u know, your question actually makes me wonder how many children books we have, and I did a rough counting- we have more than a hundred haha! But its a surprisingly big amount cause alot of them are v thin (like Dr seuss books), and took up only a few sections of my big shelves, I didnt thought there were so much! but I think books are v good investments- I find that at diff ages when my DD reads the books, she learn from them in a diff way. We bought quite regularly when my DD was smaller, now that she is much bigger, we mostly borrow from library and only buy them once in a while.

garfied, yes, use BDL, I tried both vpost and BDL before and gosh, vpost charges are crazy.

Anyone here tried the first teeth toothpaste? Is it good for our bb so young? Realise my boy is starting to teeth. Saw two little whitish teeth growing out in front and wondering if I shd be more serius with his brushing rather than just using cloth now.

babyhope,
thanks for the validation
so happy to have found out abt this shipping lobang!

i hvn't used first teeth, but i heard can use even when bb not teething yet.

any mummies know where i can get those glass bottles to contain breastmilk. my boy seem teething now so his intake is reducing thus i have to find some glass bottle to feeze the milk. Thx

kirsten,

u can get from the hospital nursery rooms. or u can look in the WTS/WTE threads. i think thankful from our thread has extra bottles too.

u got to purchase the sealing discs and caps though...

garfield
amazon spree closeD?? i no time to log on to internet on weekends one lei. i am a weekday forum-er. haha.

re:flipping
cheryl flipped when she was 3.5mths. till now, haven learn to flip back. but i tink she is trying hard now.

first teeth vs spiffies
i am currently using spiffies. first teeth will kiv till to a later time.

berry
i love reading too!!! we really can open a mini feb mtbs libray. keke.

weekends
totally no time for internet definitely. always out with hb and bb. more shoppings coming on cuz i am moving house once after the lunar 7th mth. so tired.

cheryl finally slp through when she is 4mth 1wk old. last feed at 8.30pm and she only wakes up for milk at 5.30am.( my alarm clock in the monrings now ) so love her for being so considerate for her dear mommy who needs to work the next day. finally. haha.

re: walker
alamak. i oso let my ger sit in walker... coz my mum told me that my brothers and i oso sit in walker when we were young. so i tot it's alright to put my bb inside...

i have been up since 430am and feel like a zombie. this is why

420am - baby woke up for milk. feed her.
430am to 5am - rocked her in arms, baby had difficulty falling asleep
515am - after 45 mins of rocking, left her on the play pen to lull herself to sleep (she was lying quietly on her back sucking her thumb). monitored her from my bed and turned to my other side to rest
530am - sudden loud wailing

MY GIRL SLIPPED IN BETWEEN THE PLAY PEN MATTRESS AND THE SIDE OF THE PLAY PEN AND GOT STUCK THERE!!!

OMG she was wailing and could hear that it was fear, and not normal crying. hubby and i spent 30mins calming her to stop her crying and another 15mins to rock her to sleep. each time we went near the playpen she would cry again. also stuffed lots of towels to close up the stooooooopid gap. after that, stayed up to look after her so that nothing would happen to her again.

poor thing...and we felt so guilty for not making sure there were no gaps between the mattress and the playpen.

thank goodness she wasn't hurt but definitely scared like hell

yup
it depends how many they have when u go there. that time i went they gave me around 7-8? u can go to the pharmacy to buy the caps. abt 3 for $2. can't rbr exactly how much.

bx
thx! i scared i go there later dun have then waste trip. just go and ask from them can already is it.what the volume of the bottle. thanks

Hey!
Wanna share my joy!
Sat, my boy flipped for the 1st time!
Was so surprised, 'cos I was hanging up the laundry so I put him in the playgym for DIY play.
Then as I finished and walked in - BINGO, he was on his tummy! kekeke
But same same, he can't flip back so he starts to ngek after being on his tummy for too long... quite comical :p

re: swimming in public pools
what should bb wear? swim diapers? or rashguard? need to buy a bathrobe to wrap when he gets outta water?

Berry,
^5, i luv priddy and boynton books too!
very nice illustrations

Question
my boy probably teething now but no sight of his whities yet... how do i clean his gums now?

kirsten,
u can call and "reserve" 'cos nowadays they have very few since most mommies TBF and it's the "off-peak" season for BBs
i did with my MEH and they're fine

kirsten,
yup, maybe it's a good idea like what pinkie say, call and reserve 1st.

the vol quite small. abt 90 -100ml. coz they are the sample milk bottles.

garfield,
oh no... poor arielle. she muz have had a bad scare. dun worry, think young babies will forget incidents very soon.

Garfield
Hope Arielle's better now? how scary it must for the little ones when accidents happen cos they have no control over their limbs or strength to try and get themselves out.

Kate was up at 9pm, 1am, 3.30 am, 6 am - thankfully, my MIL stayed over and helped us otherwise I would be a zombie today. Nowadays I find that she can't be put down to sleep easily anymore. No idea what's happening here. She used to be able to doze off on her own when she's tired.

Dor,
glad Gervaise is enjoying the jumperoo!
If you wanna extend, you can call the company and let them know ahead. They will give you even if it's been reserved.

Kate was a little too small sized for it cos her toes couldn't even touch the floor. she jump jump 10 mins later she will be tired and wanna be taken out. Still like her playgym best.

re: flipped
my boy flipped last friday! now we have more sleepless nights liao 'cos this morning 4am+, he didn't manage to flip back, and cried for help. haha...

p1nkie &amp; bx

how come they so gd give us free sample bottles? Later i call tmc and reserve. Thanks so much.Should i call tmc main line and get them to transfer me to the nursery dept.

crystal, babyhope, qingling,
pls PM me yr orders and i'll see if i can fit them in without incurring GST.

Item Restrictions
1. Only Books/DVD/CDs/non-buiky items
2. Only items with Free Super Saver Shipping
3. Only items in stock
4. For 4-for-3 promotions, please ensure that you select at least 4 eligible titles.

if we exceed, i may do another spree =)

bx

i call already but the nursery dept nurse told me they dont provide sample of breastfeeding bottle. or do i say it wrongly

kirsten,
no no...u ask them for empty glass bottles

it's not sample lah...
nursery feed BB not on BF with these ready-made milk, so u shud be asking for those empty botts