(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi jass1408

garfield:
haha he looks guai only becoz he is sick. he likes to take pictures but always looks grouchy in them. hahah he loves it when we show him his photos / video clips on the digicam / hp. haha he can 'talk' to his own video and laugh till kekeke~

XiaoYun,
I will try to trf to you soon. Have you managed to meetup with QooSan on my nursing wrap?

Nursing wrap Chocolate colour, Fenugreek seeds & Goat's Rue
Anybody wanna buy over?

Artemis,
You received my trf yesterday?

can some mummies recommend some good and interesting educational dvds?

heard feedbacks on brainy baby and mother goose. what abt baby einstein.

artemis
mayb you can recommend me some ? hee.

garfield:
dunno y he is not so interested in mirror leh. Bring him to the mirror he looks away and this happens every time i do that. Haha more interest in his photo/video. Funny leh.. thot all children likes mirror.. hahaha

crystal:
matthew like baby einstein, he prefers baby mozart of the baby einstein series. can watch 3-4 rounds at 1 sitting
brainy baby and babys can read, he will drift after 10 mins.

are educational DVDs better or Audio CDs? never seen the contents of an educational DVD before. what do they show?

garfield
i only got barney audio cds. they sing songs like those always played at kiddy palace. cheryl loves it so i just buy for her to listen.

educational dvds i am thinking what to buy for her. also nt sure what are the contents, what do they show. but it's another form of entertainment for her to watch the tv as she gets older.

Good morning mummies !

Can I ask if its really ok for bbs to start watching TV (be it bb vcds) at this early stage ? Will not affect their eye sight ?

Where can I find all these educational vcds?

I am also looking for flash cards. Any mummies show flash cards to yr bbs already ?

crystal,

i have the brainy baby - baby's first words and i think some counting wan (can't rbr the name).
quite boring. baby dun really enjoy it. parents must sit next to the baby to talk to the baby. coz the show only got music. no talking wan. parents do the talking.

thanks crystal!

dianA,
i hv same concerns as you. cos my eyesight is v bad (1200 degrees each side) so i'm worried bb may hv weak eyes too...hence thinking of delaying introduction of tv. according to my mom, i was shortsighted at the age of 3 due tv

re flashcards,
there was a long discussion on this topic in our thread last two weeks. you can look at the archives

RE : BP on Flashcards

Order placed. Stock will be arriving in Singapore on Wednesday, 9 or Thursday, 10 July 2008.
Jass1408, Lucky_Blu, Leila and Ahcapp, you may self collect from Choa Chua Kang from my sister any time after Sunday, 13 July 2008. I will email you her mobile number. For others, I will also email you on the meetup or if you already have a preferred date and time, please email me at [email protected].

RE : The Children's Place Spree on 2 July 2008

The items have been shipped! :D
mime_msexcel.gif
The Children's Place Spree 2 July 2008
TheChildrensPlace Spree 20080702.xls (49.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

dorothy, jeannie, leila, sunny, please transfer the indicated amounts to me. Thanks.

garfield
you are welcome!

actually i am also worried abt the eye sight problem. but i will only introduce to cheryl when she is abt 7-8mths old. i now kiasu, to source for educational dvds. keke.

Hi crystal,

I bought the set of 26 Baby Einstein DVDs from apple79. So far, Danica can watch and smile at the pictures on the screen. But she can only watch 15 to 20 minutes normally, so I stop at halfway of the DVD.

Hi dianA,

Are you looked for preprinted or blank cards to make your own?

RE : Baby pics

Wow! Some of your gals/boys have really grown!

artemis
i see. now cheryl is watching shows with me like chnl 8 all those. she is enjoying it and sometimes get excited. but i want to introduce educational ones. hee.

one morning and so many posts!!!

RUTH
Gar, ya, your arielle was rather skinny last time, now catch up liao! your BM must be powderful. hehe.

Ice skater? haha..maybe it's the 'mini-skort' and the socks.

SHOES:
Any of u let baby wear shoes yet? sigh. i have 2 pairs - given by people. So cute but my mother abit pantang..say before 1 year or walking cannot wear shoe.

So no choice, i go crazy buying socks. :p

FLASH CARDS
I bought baby einstein, scholastic and some other cheena brand chinese flash cards from the JL MEGA EXPO SALE last weekend. Chinese ones my mum show in the daytime OCCASIONALLY.
English ones i only shown once so far.

Ruth will look awhile at the pictures. I think after a few cards she will start to look away.

MIRROR:
Ruth is "ok" with mirror. We show her this full length mirror we have at home (wardrobe entire door is mirror) and she's quite amused why got 2 mummy and 2 daddy.

TV:
hmm...both hubby &amp; I wear specs. Erm. Dunno la. just let her watch lor.

Pictures:
Usually have to wait for her to be still to take.
Or else have to be in very well-lit places to take without flash. Best is sunlight.

Sometimes stand from far far away and use flash also..

but generally, i never liked taking all pictures with flash cuz i find it gives an artificial lighting effect and drowns the 'natural look' of the people/moment i want to capture.

Hi Isobellies,

Like that you may receive the flash cards later wor... Cause normally takes around 2 weeks for US items to reach Singapore.

Hi crystal,

I don't let Danica watch anything other than the Baby Einstein DVD or BabyTV (channel 37 on StarHub Digital Cable). :p I feel should not overstimulate her with adult shows.

artemis,
me also want harbourfront. i live depot mah - nearby. u work there? so only weekdays? pls advice. i cannot find the post whereby u stated 'collection options'.

Hi lezy,

:p That's because I never stated. Collection points are Choa Chu Kang, HarbourFront (weekdays only cause I work there), SengKang and Punggol. Oh and of course, you can also opt for post.

artemis..u very disciplined. me abit bo chup in that aspect. i just dun like barney. heh. ruth watches anything. She even watches those US game shows in the evenings. all the bells/tinkles, and flashing lights interest her i think.

and i can't remember that old gameshow...like hangman lidat - got Vana White walking up n down 'unveiling' lighted up alphabets? i think can teach her spelling man. hahahaha.

wish there was still sesame street now. i like sesame street. all time favourite.

artemis, what time u knock off - i mean like what time is good to collect from u at harbourfront?

(i work and live depot so always around this area...)

artemis
yah i do show cheryl digital cable cartoons and children's shows. however i find she like more keen in adult ones. haha. sometimes i feel she is over stimulated too. then i shift her attention away from the tv.

lezy
i let cheryl wear shoes. though i know the pantang thing. so far, my parents are okay but not her great grandparents. haha. shoes too cute to resist to buy for her to wear. i got 4 pairs for her some more! haha. let her wear with socks, like a little da ren. lol.

Hi lezy,

That's Wheel of Fortune. :p Playhouse Disney (channel 34 on Starhub Digital Cable) has Play with me Sesame.

I normally try to knock off at 5 - 5:30 p.m. so that I can get home to Danica by 6 - 6:30 p.m.

Hi bkkgal,

lezy can't remember the name of the game show. "and i can't remember that old gameshow...like hangman lidat - got Vana White walking up n down 'unveiling' lighted up alphabets?"

kidding la. hmm...i dunno about the rest. sometime back when there was some discussion on having "no. 2", i recall some saying in the 30s, some in the 20s so i think we are a 'varied' bunch.

me...born in 76.

artemis...sigh..i knock off 7/8pm nowadays...but i'll see how to get from u - maybe next week one of the days i may take leave to take a break.

crystal, i dunno what is the superstition. i going home now and will ask my mother. haha.

lezy,
i like the mini skirt. where did you get it from?

btw, there's a BP going on for Sesame Street DVD. quite a lot of titles...you can check that out. i love sesame street too! especially elmo,

my BM powder? thanks to artemis's omega 3

artemis
oh.. or maybe i can come by one of these lunch times to pick up from you? no rush lah.

garfield
aiyo, more things to buy. think i really have to start restraining myself, heehee...

garfield, alot of those 'educational' DVDs teach simple concepts (niceness/kindness/what-have-you), word recognition (visual and auditory) and so on. If you are wondering if your bb will 'lose out' by not watching "educational" dvds, I really dont think so, honestly- cause you can achieve the same 'educational' goals by talking and reading to her. But if you need to buy some DVDs for caregiver just to 'buy' them some housework/rest time, then its def a good option as long as bb dont watch too much, compared to regular/adult TV shows or even most cartoons on TV. (Of course I am not saying that those bbs who watch adult TV will not turn out well or anything to that effect.
) Just my $0.02's.

sesame street- haha, something interesting- my older DD doesnt like sesame street, cause she finds cookie monster, the trash monster, the counting vampire and the elephant v scary because of their voices, looks and the way they behave. She only like elmo but thinks mr noodle is weird lol! So yeah, she doesnt like sesame street.

artmeis,
i have transfer
$8 to yr acc

ref:4275

Diaper on promo!
there are some offers on diapers at NTUC.
mummies, who needs to stock up. can go there to take a look.

re:age
i borned in 1975

berry,
it's more for my bb's caregivers cos my mom is quite tired out playing with her all day. for a while, my mom had difficulty reading to arielle cos she wouldn't sit still on her lap.

however, recently my mom managed to have arielle sit on her lap and sing along to nursery rhyme CD and read along to those story CD. she can sit there for up to 30 mins so my mom can sit and rest!

so it's no longer so pressing to get educational DVDs =) but buy to standby just in case my mom ever needs a break!

wow.. crystal.. must be a young and yummy mummy.

what u working as??or sah tai tai?? hehe..

i from 80.

jac.. my baby also got a bit of dumbo ear.. so i make her wear hair band everytime we are out so that her ear will not fly out.. me a bit dumbo leh.. i personally dun like so scared she will be like me too.. sigh

dor,
thanks for the info! do you know what brands on offer?

btw, am thinking of changing diapers. what brands are good ah? any with urine indicator apart from nepia?