(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

artemis,
thanks for interpreting it for me!!

berry,
ya i would like to let arielle continue wearing sleep suits cos she squirms like a worm when sleeping and i don't want her to expose her belly so a one piece is prefered.

can you make any sense out of the babymall online disclaimer?

jeannie,
still at work? sianz... cca now.

jeannie/m_mummy,
my bb sees them once a week. she's much more attached to my PILs. i let my mum continue to carry. if bb cry non-stop, then i carry back. if not, i leave it to my mum to pacify. otherwise they think i ngiao.

m mummy, for me, if my bb cries when carries by someone else, even if its grandparents, I'll take him back to soothe him, and get them to play with him while he is ON me, then pass back to them after he has warmed up. Personally I wont let my baby cry and insist on not taking him back- if anything, I feel that this will only worsen stranger anxiety. A baby who is securely attached to mummy is a confident baby who has less anxiety and more confident. and the easiest way to help a baby feel secure n attached is to respond positively to their needs.

berry,
good tip. my bb cries pitifully whenever my FIL carries her (i'm always at work when he comes). so maybe i should tell my mom to carry her, and let FIL talk/play with her first, before letting him carry her.

got to find a way to relay this to FIL without offending him. v sensitive this old man.

Berry, I also always take her back to soothe her. I actually recently stopped work to take care of her full time. Wondering if that's the reason why she's so attached to me and nobody else. In some ways I'm worried that's not good.. prefer her to be friendly with everybody.

Does your strategy work for you? I think I shall try that

I did read somewhere that stranger anxiety is a development milestone but usually starts at 6 months. Just wondering how to minimise this!

M mummy, some kids experience it alot more than others, my DD has seperation anxiety from 2-3mths old onwards, she never liked anyone else to carry her apart from me and hubby and so we respected that. Anyway, from 7mths old she could crawl, and 1yo onwards she could run around, and my PILs just happily chased her around instead of carrying her. My strategy didnt work for my DD cause she was pretty insistent about it lol, but it worked for my bb boy now. (BTW, that has no permanent impact on her personality, today at nearly 4-yo, she does pretty well in terms of social skills for her age.) So depends on your bb's personality.

I think sometimes, while wondering what to do about certain things that doesnt seem ideal on our eyes as the parent, its also good to stop n think about how our child feels. Speaking for myself, I feel that its not really up to me to decide or dictate what my kids should be like, or what they should prefer cause they are just human beings like me too, just very tiny ones hee.

Like that maybe want to get from the BP dawn recommended cheaper. Not sure how much shipping will be. Thanks dawn.

Hi M Mummy,

I meant the 40 and 50% off. :p I can't seem to find where on the website that says when the sale ends.

Hi jeannie,

No problem.
I'm always happy to know when something I recommended has helped someone.

Hi Garfield9,

I was just curious and went to read cause Danica has been wearing so I wanted to know if there was a potential problem. :p Sometimes, her feet manage to get out of the sleepsuit even though she is swaddled!

RE : Payment for spree

I think Monday should be okay as it will still be Sunday then. But must before U.S. reach Monday is it? Then got to be before noon liao, I think.

RE : USANA stuff

Anyone wants to get anything? I will be going down tomorrow cause blueginger said she needed a bottle of BiOmega urgently.

bx.. i still in school now.. cca! sama same.

berry/bx/ m mummy.. i also carry her back when she cannot be pacified lah.. think my parents are ok.. but somehow i think they will be a bit upset that the grandchild does not recognize them.. but actually after a while.. she will be ok.. as long as u carry her w/o letting her c ur face?? haha..

My colleague was telling me must show photos.. so she will recognize them.. i think must blow the photos real big lor. else how they see.. hehe

re: Sleepsuits

i never quite got attached to them. those people handed down to me were actually quite nice..but i felt abit too short for ruth - maybe to me, ruth has rather long legs.

i think the dangerous part as they grow older is maybe how much harder it is to get one that fits baby perfectly all the time. if too short, may constrict motion (blood circulation etc - imagine if u were wearing a pair of pants with your feet inside and u couldn't straighten at all.)

also if too long, happen to kick n kick, and somehow the heel hooks onto the thigh portion on the inside, may be alarming as it means the baby legs gets 'stuck' in that position.

baby einstein:
went to see the site that dawn recommended..looks good leh.

GAP:
wah..i also wanna look see..hope tonight i have some time to take a look...though i always tell myself - me still fat now and dun deserve new clothes. i should only buy clothes at a later time and stop using it as an excuse to buy new clothes!

re: BM mix with FM

i dunno how to do it cuz never done it. me lazy bugger..only expressed 2 frozen bags and never wanted to do it again. i expressed for awhile when i was on maternity leave but towards the last month of maternity leave, i stop liao. just latch on or feed FM.

That is why i always say all of you who persist on TBF and now working, i really hand it to u. cuz i really can't be bothered. even thinking of giving up my mid-day latch-on session cuz workload is damn heavy now.

but since boss is willing to let me go, i must persist for abit. it's also a good break from work for me. walking home everyday - even though hot during midday sun - is a joy cuz can see my girl smile n coo at me.

berry....i dun allow hubby take full view..just show face.

face ok...but i've still got more than 5kg to lose and it's all on my tummy/hips. damn depressed cannot fit into my berms/3/4 pants etc. i used to wear a lot of that for casual wear.

damn fed up if need to buy new ones..

my mother ask me why work so stress but never lose weight. i dun dare to tell her - stress i snack lagi more. heh.

re stranger anxiety.

i think ruth is generally "ok" with strangers as long as she can see familiar faces around. i find that if she's distracted enuf, anything goes. haha.

but she does recognize me and my mum in the sense that she laughs much more with us than with the men at home.

but if she in fussy mood - maybe sleepy but can't sleep, or hungry then it's abit more tricky lor

maybe cuz my mum n I are abit more 'siao siao' when we play with her and hence she kinda imitates/reciprocates.

artemis, I still want my ON order, but can I add on to my ON order?

if so, please include this from GAP:

Item Name : Striped ribbed tank
URL : http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26680&pid=559977
Size: xs
Color: gray stripe
Quantity: 1
Price in USD: 7.99

Item Name : Striped racerback tank
URL : http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26680&pid=560120
Col: purple stripes
if OOS: blue stripes
Price in USD: 12.99

TOTAL: 20.98 x 1.4 x 0.9 = 26.43

26.43(Gap) + 23.10(ON) = 49.53

If its okie I'll transfer!

re anxiety
i think bbs change quite a bit.. and quite often! at one stage my bb was crying everything we were at my parent's place, and also if my mum carries him, even though we have been going there regularly since he was born. then after a while, he was ok again. i guess they go through so many stages and so many things are going on in their little brains we just have to not worry so much when things change and go with it, cos before you know it they will change again

Hi, Artemis, Garfield, Jass
Thanks for replying on teat problem. I will let my gal try size 3 since she didn't complain latch-on; and is fussy on bottle recently.

Hi, Bx, Artemis
After my project kick-off meeting in end May, I can only pump 20~30ml at office for 2 weeks. But I still manage latch-on at home (5am, 8am, 7pm, 9pm).

Last Friday my colleagues praises that my gal grow well at company's family day; I feel so encouraged that I managed to total latch-on last Saturday and Sunday. This week at office I can pump 200ml~300ml.

Don't feel too discouraged if your supply drops temporarily.

My colleague's wife(a teacher) didn't pump at all at daytime; but latch-on her gal at home. She managed to breastfeed her gal for 2 years.

Hi Berry,

Sure no problem.

Hi goodbb,

:p I was thinking of emailing them tomorrow. Will let you gals know.

RE : flash cards

We are currently have 26 sets already. Anyone else wants to get?

tongtong, me no tbf la. No determination like u all. Bf maybe 30% only. Rest is fm.

Artemis, i'm gonna discuss with hubby about the flash cards. But i think the chinese i'm quite keen on m1 n m5. I'll let u know latest monday. Now i go gap see see.

bx,
i mixed the fm and ebm for my gal now. when she was a bb, think i did so around 1 yr when i was introducing fm to her.

jeannie
u din take any fish oil supplement previously? i've been taking neurogain since preggie days till now. so can't tell whether fish oil makes a difference in the proportion of hind milk.

artemis
my revised order:

Nick: stephie

Item: Athletic mesh tank
Colour: blue jay
Size: 12 - 18 months
URL: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26210&pid=561393
USD Amount: 4.99 x 0.9 = 4.49
If OOS: Drop

Item: Women's French Terry Drawstring Shorts
Colour: Bridge Gray
URL : http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=26196&pid=575527
USD Amount: 8.25
If OOS: New hatch brown

Item: Hibiscus-Applique Swim Trunks for Baby
Colour: New Black
Size: 18-24m
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=26638&pid=574860
USD Amount: 6.25

Total USD Amount: 18.99
Total SGD Amount: 18.99 x 1.4 = 26.59

Will trf the $ by Mon. Tks.

Hi lezy,

Okay, will wait for your confirmation.

Hi Stephie,

Noted your revised order.

RE : baby einstein flash cards

I emailed them but they replied that they cannot reduce their price any further. <sigh> So you gals want to order individually from them or what. Unless there are other stuff to get from Amazon I think get from them is still cheaper. Or you gals want to wait to see if there is a 4th of July weekend sale :p

Aiyo... Just saw the cutest thing. A small toddler was running towards the exit glass door but somehow it did not open for him and he hit his head on it with a soft thump and fell on his butt. After his mother helped him up, he went and tapped on the glass door with a look of disbelief. :p Like machiam, why don't open for me? or what is this transparent thing?

Hi leila,

Okay. You take your time over the weekend lor.

Hi goodbb,

If we can't get more than 30 sets, I think a bit hard to bargain any more. Once everyone has confirmed their orders, I will see how many sets then bargain again.

artemis,
My hb dun want me to buy flash cards without pics. Sorry.

Anyway i went to expo john little sale today. I bought flash cards there. Those chinese with pictures. Per set 3.90 for about 100 cards i tink. Haven't open. Baby einstein, dora, fisher price n scholastic flash cards also have but limited selection la. Range from 12.90 to 16.90. I bought a few here n there. Dunno if will hv discipline to do it. Heh,

Those who have linkpoints, don't forget to bring card to earn linkpoints. I forgot.

Wah, ystdy no time to go online niah this thread already so long! Haha.....tats y i didn't post earlier even though i read this thread at times when i was pregnant.

U mummies r real amazing leh, i can't seem to find time at all, now then free. Hai. Hubby can't manage my boy, feed him bathe him put him to bed everything also must be me, not to say the tons of housework.... super tiring. Many times i wish i didn't let hubby persuade me into having a bb so early...lost my freedom &amp; 4va tired now.

Hi Artemis,

My order from Gap:

Item: Raw-edged beach graphic T
Colour: off white
Size: 3-6 months
URL: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26210&amp;pid=561134
USD Amount: 6.99
If OOS: 6-12mths

#
Item: Athletic mesh tank
Colour: utah sky
Size: 3-6 months
URL: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26210&amp;pid=561393
USD Amount: 7.99
If OOS: 6-12mths

I'm actually leaving for a cruise tomorrow morning and will be back on Thursday.. can I settle the payment then if you don't mind? Hubby rushing me to go to bed now already! Don't even have enough time to surf for more stuff

Thanks so much!

Jass1408,
thanks! The link is quite helpful.

Berry,
your bb so smart! Hmmm.....dunno if i can train my bb to self-feed at so young...he very lazy leh, make him hold milk bottle by holding onto his hand he always struggle to remove midway &amp; will cry/refuse if we don't allow him to free his hand.

Isobellies,
i don't have much patience but is my own bb so no choice but force myself to patient. Hai.

RE: clothes size

my bb also wearing 6-9mths or 6-12mths clothing now. He quite tall i think as the rompers fit him nicely for length but very roomy. That time i bought carter's bodysuit 6mths de, now almost can't fit liao....i hoping can last another mth as just wear 3weeks niah...kee. Now i don't dare buy current mth sizing for him.

Anyway, i very kiasu, always if see design i like, i buy 2-3 size up. Think his wardrobe should able to last till 1years old no prob. ;) But mainly i bought from BP. Think also is due can't shop properly now with my bb so active even when we go out. Today went shopping also most of time struggling with bb....so had to buy online, &amp; it helps me de-stress!

RE: BM mix with FM

I did that for my bb when i gradually reduce my pump to stop BM.

Artemis
add'l orders from me:

Item: Printed Web-Strap Flip-Flops for Baby
Colour: Surfboard Yellow
Size: 11
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=26807&amp;pid=527722&amp;scid=527722112
USD Amount: 5.00

Item: Regular-Fit Jeans for Baby
Colour: Light Wash
Size: 12-18 M
URL: http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=26636&amp;pid=505752&amp;scid=505752002
USD Amount: 4.99

Item: Pique polo
Colour: white
Size: S
URL: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26281&amp;pid=484968
USD Amount: 4.99 x 0.9 = 4.49

Item: First Walker Velcro™ sneakers
Colour: raw indigo
Size: 6
URL: http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26216&amp;pid=562200
USD Amount: 7.99 x 0.9 = 7.19

Total USD Amount: 21.67
Total SGD Amount: 21.67 x 1.4 = 30.34

Grand SGD Amount: 26.59 + 30.34 = 56.93

Have trf'd $ to you:

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 Artemis
Amount S$56.93
Transaction Reference 1774792542

Tks.

Artemis,

When should i transfer ah? Email me at [email protected] . Follow thread till quite blur &amp; time consuming.

Interested in the baby einstein flash cards also, but ordering from amazon or the link dawn provide?? Cos i thinking maybe get 2, so many sets think no time to go through all. Intend to put 2sets at my mum's, ask her when free can flash when i'm working &amp; bb at her place....hahaha.

Ok, i going to bed. So stressed that even tired also hard to fall asleep. Hai.

Hi Jas,

Can i chk wid u if u were the one cld get nan FM from a friend. I thk i might need ur help cos' i seem to have difficulty getting nan1 ha at the places near my home. Let me knw asap pls??

thks!!!!

Artemis,

Wait for me....i wanna get gap stuffs and flashcards...2day die die must shop on line....hahaha!!!

Artemis, I have revised my order, please cancel the above and take these in instead.

Item Name : Women's French Terry Drawstring Shorts
URL : http://www.oldnavy.com/browse/product.do?cid=26196&amp;pid=575527
Color: Bridge Gray
if OOS: new thatch brown
Price in USD: 8.25

TOTAL: 8.25 x 1.4 = $11.55

Item Name : Striped ribbed tank
URL : http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26680&amp;pid=559977
Color: gray stripe
Price in USD: 7.99

Total: 7.99 x 1.4 x 0.9 = 10.7

TOTAL for both: 11.55 + 10.7 = SDG$22.25

Payment made, I would like to collect via post. Thanks a ton and sorry for the changes.

To Account POSB Savings
109-37121-1 ARTEMIS
Amount S$22.25
Transaction Reference 1775683964

lucky, I dont think its up to us to 'train' our kids to self-feed? Basically, just gotta give them the opportunity to do so when they are ready (7/8mths onwards?), be very patient, dont get upset about messes, dont expect perfection and just let them develop at their own pace! With practise and time, they will be able to do it for sure. I kinda believe this applies to most normal kids, as long as the caregiver has the patience for it.

Anyway, if your bb is also only 4mths old, then getting/expecting him to hold his own bottle is kinda too early, I dont think they are able to do that well till at least 8-9mths, if not past a year old?

Garfield,
Transferred the $ liao. Thanks a lot!

To Account: POSB Savings 032-73860-5 Garfield
Amount: S$0.50
Transaction Reference: 1775873298
Transferred Date &amp; Time: 29 Jun 2008 09:57 PM