(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Isobellies,

I never really had any problems with the schedule cause I am a super tyrant. :p If she refuse to drink milk at that time, I will not give lor. Then if she is hungry more than 15 minutes before the scheduled time for milk I don't feed her, just give pacifier. If less than 15 minutes, I will feed her. So eventually she knows that she better drink when she is given milk or she doesn't get any. But you have to be patient and not give in. How old is your son? Still sleeping every 2 hours?

Danica's caregiver when I'm at work is my maid. I draw up a schedule for her and ask her to write down all the timings so that I can review when I am home. Basically, you have to tell your caregiver what you want and what is best for the baby. When they see that how you handle the baby works, they will eventually follow.

artemis, then what if your bb still refuses to drink her milk during the given/arranged time slot despite your constant trying? Surely you cant make her skip her feed for the next 3-4 hours? If you do, then wouldnt she be crying constantly for that 3-4 hours?

pinkie
i think bib only got 1 size.

berry
same! my elder one never drooled even when she's teething. i only used the bib when she started solid... but this younger one... forever drooling leh... my mil asks me to check with the doc why he is not swallowing the saliva... do you think i should?

artemis
wow... you are really strict in training your gal to be on schedule. i thought i am considered strict already.... you are even stricter...
any reason that you wanna be so strict over the schedule?

sunny, I woudl only be concerned about the drooling if he is drooling this amount past 2yo. I am pretty sure its v normal at this age for some bbs.

mummies who bring bb to swim at huaxia, just wondering whether bb needs to put on swim diaper?? or can go down naked?

also, can we bring our own neckfloat? or must use theirs?

artemis,
my gal is also on EASY schedule in terms of sequence of activities. i didn't impose it on her, she kind of just developed it on her own.... the only thing is that she auto wakes up after napping 30mins, and continues to play. have tried shhh/pat/rock her back to sleep but she refuses cos she wants to play. i now call her the POWER NAPPER =)

Artemis,
hmm... den boh bian, have to "trial & error" liaoz...

Berry,
yeah, super drooley boy lor...
think i go bio pumpkin patch... somehow i find their things girly...

sunny,
U R BACK!!!
i was screaming for you last week leh... :p

berry,
thanks for the tip on bibs. i'm using the carter bibs, but getting abit small for arielle. she's growing really fat now haha...

pinkie
miss me har? :p
last wk was a sad wk for me.... my dad passed away... some more on my birthday. *sob sob*

tongtong, the babies go down naked. ;) they have lots of neck floats there...think they won't mind if u bring yours. oh yah, do bring your own towels, realised that their common towel quite worn out and doesn't look too clean.

leila, i was at huaxia@ponggol last saturday too with my twins, evening time. ;)

artemis
ok thanks, that sounds like a good tip, becuase very often he goes on a milk strike and doesn't want to have his milk! how would you know if they are on a growth spurt then? more milk at each intake rather than more intake times?

getting others to follow is easier said than done, esp when the ILs have had 3 kids of their own and raised 3 grandsons already. but because i can see what the 3 grandsons are like, i made up my mind to do some things differently.

ok i'm inspired now to try and put him back on schedule. already got some blackout blinds for bb's room, so hope that will help also!

kirsten
i have something similar like yours. i bought it 2 yrs ago from a mummy in the forum. find it very useful. but can't find it in any of the dpt store. leh. the brand is IQ baby. so far, only see this from Noelgift.com.

this is the pix:
1507402.jpg

Garfield,
Too small you mean a bit tight on Arielle's neck?
Dunno why bibs got no size...

sunny,
oh, my condolences.
no wonder i didn't see you friday and thursday (i think)...
how's everything now?

Hi Berry,

At first when I started the EASY routine, Danica was about 2 months old. She was still on 3 hourly feeds then and slept about 1¼ - 1¾ hours. I merely adjusted Danica's feeding times by 15 - 30 minutes interval (I delayed letting her sleep longer, if she woke earlier, I just gave pacifier) until it reached the 3 hourly feeding times I wanted. For nap times, I just distracted her until it was time to prepare her for bed. When she turned 3 months, I started on my quest to move her to 4 hourly feedings and also adjusted her feeding times by 15 to 30 minutes interval. So not really that she scream for milk for 3/4 hours. :p Wah, I tyrant not monster leh! Anyway, I think I will go deaf if she did. Her lungs are very healthy.

Hi sunny,

:p I want her to know who is boss around the house. Just kidding. My HB works from home and goes out occasionally to meet his clients. So it is easier for him if Danica's on a fixed routine so that he can estimate when he can transport her and the maid to his parents' place and when he needs to bring them back. I do give about 15 minutes allowance here and there depending on if I see she is hungry or tired. So I don't think I'm being over strict. Just want to have a definite routine to stick to.

I also have that playmat!
My MIL's colleagues gave as Danica's 1st month present. If I'm not wrong, Kiddy Palace got sell also.

Condolences on your dad's passing.

Hi Garfield9,

I think Tracy also said something about babies who do well with power naps. If Arielle is not cranky very soon after her naps, I think should be fine. Maybe it's just her? But if she gets cranky easily when awake, you may want to start trying PU/PD. She's 4 months old right?

Hi p1nk1e,

Yeah, have trial and error lor.

Hi Isobellies,

Wah, your boy 5 months still sleep every 2 hours? Does he get cranky easily if he only sleeps 30 minutes?

artemis, no lar I dont mean to imply that you are a tyrant monster or anything to that effect. I was asking cause my son has very peculiar drinking patterns that wastes us HEAPS of FM, like up to 2-3 bottles a day at times. What I meant to ask was, what do you do if Danica doesnt want to drink at her 4th hrly interval and the milk has been prepared? Or what do you do if she drinks a quarter of it and then refuses to drink the rest? If she drinks half and stops, then doesnt it spoil your 4 hrly interval cause she will surely be hungry much sooner? Do you have such problems? Just trying to explore possibilities for myself.

Actually my DD was exactly like that when she was younger, v unpredictable n eractic feeding patterns, hence lotsa FM wastage around here.

Hi Berry,

:p If she doesn't drink finish her milk, I will burp her and try again, change her and try again and if still have milk left, play with her for about 30 minutes and try again. Very rarely will she have any left after the play 30 minutes drinking but if she does and she is on EBM, I have instructed my maid to try again in another 30 minutes if not throw the EBM away. Then if she is hungry before the scheduled time, just distract/carry/play/give pacifier. After a while, she will know to drink her milk on time. In fact, now that her 4 hourly routine is established, I am thinking to stop at try again after change diaper cause will jia lat to keep trying like that. Must not let her form bad habit of dilly dallying at meals.

berry,
my son is a bit like that now. he was doing quite well on 4-5hr periods when he finished everything, then maybe on a growth spurt became 3 hr periods, now everything all in a mess. and q frustrating to keep trying to see if they're hungry! worst it i think it's a downward spiral cos if they take abit and not hungry, later take abit again, lagi won't finish everyting..

artemis,
he doesn't really get cranky, most times he will wake up and smile at everyone. sometimes if he wakes up and no one around he might protest (not really crying). not having a feeding routine is getting a bit tiring on me!

sunny
oh dear, my condolences

any mummies find that their bbs drink less milk when out? i tink my boy too easily distracted. thought of using a nursing bib, even for formula!! :D

thanks, artemis, isobellies.

artemis
the playmat very cute right? so many 'toys' on it. my gal still likes it very much. luckily, she doesn't fight with didi for the mat.
if my boy is on 4 hr interval, i would be very happy. he's still on 3 hr interval.

Isobellies, yar lor, it becomes a vicious cycle after a while! Like wat u say, cant finish milk, then later hungry 1-2 hrs later, then drink abit more, then hungry 1-2hrs later! LOL, I think I am destined to produce babies who go on regular milk strikes. :p
When feeding out, with my older DD, I used to have to feed her ONLY in a nursing room, OR in the car, nowhere else will work.

sorry to intrude. I am from April thread.
I'm odering Desitin creamy from drugstore.
Any mummies interested pls email me at [email protected]

No payment no order. POSB savings 032-29853-2
Pls indicate ur nick/ trans no.

Nick:
Qty:
Price in USD: 5.79
Price in SGD: 5.79* 1.45
Collection method: Cityhall/ Tanah Merah Mrt or by post. Buyer to bear postage.

I have a pack of huggies Ultra (large 34) + 12 loose pieces letting go at $16. self collect at Kovan pm me if interested.

Artemis
thanks for the explanation on shushing. =)

re. candle cap
those who shave their babies, do they still get cradle cap after that?

i think really need to shave Hillary! She has been rubbing her head against the bed when she sleeps and is starting to drop alot of hair. Not only that, she got that "ah-gou-lou" one straight line no hair! =(

hi all mummies...can i join, i am also a feb 08 mummy, my baby born 22nd feb....

Hi kirsten

u manage to find the playmat? i am looking for one too..but seems quite ex the taf one u talking about...anyone knows where to get cheaper versions? my baby turned already and cant put her on rocker as she tries to sit up!!!

berry
maybe i should try nursing room or car too! but i think i will also try artemis's method of delaying to try and make the meal times more regular, hopefully that will work.. stay tuned for the results, heehee.

andrea
hair loss is normal right? will shaving help?

cheryl
what shampoo are you using?

isobellies
yes hair loss is normal but Hillary has been rubbing her back of her head until it starts to bald. so i think shave is a better idea so that all the hair can grow nicely again.

Cheryl, thanks for sharing, I was looking for it too. Should have bought the shampoo, instead of asking my MIL to apply baby oil. Took so long to recover. :p

hello mummies, so trying hard to read all the post! heh..yes i brought Heidi to the big pool! ha..she totally enjoy it!

1508463.jpg

btw i borrow my fren's tub bought from hua xia..alamak it leaked! nearly flooded my kitchen..anyway i tink its wasteful..cos u got to use a lot of water..better to bring her to pool..i can enjoy too!

andrea.. my baby also got the ah gou lao thingy.. i din noe abt this til my mum told me yester what it means.. she said my get my sis in law to buy her shoes.. hehe

what qingling... looks fun.. but where u bring ur baby swim.. is the water cold?? she wearing normal swim suit har?? I scared too cold for baby.

<font color="0000ff">Morning,

I'm Mar 08 mummies, currently on TBF, using glass bottles to keep my EBM, but as u all know that the cover is metal cap, so i happen to found out that Gerber Juice cap fitted nicely on the glass bottles, so if any mummies giving ur toodlers gerber juice? those in small plastic bottles with blue plastic cap... if yes can give the blue plastic cap to me? I need those to store my ebm....

thanks...

email - [email protected]
msn - [email protected]</font>
1508763.jpg

berry,
Erlene oso has the same drinking pattern as your boy ! Recently she kept refusing milk even at long interval of 4-5 hr.. Sigh.. wasting FM is one thing.. I m more worried that she might be hungry yet still refused milk..
i dun hv this problem with Ervin.. really at a loss.. tis morng, my mum is bringing Erlene for her 2nd jab. Had asked her to bring this up to the doctor for advise..

tong,
wat time u gg down to huaxia this sun ? will try to join u if i can make it..

i went there a few times to watch at the babies swim.. No need to wear diaper.. the bb swim in the tub naked.. i believed u can bring ur own neckfloat if u want..

qingling,
ur gal seems to enjoy her swim ..

make mi want to bring erlene to the big pool too.. :p

happymumtobe, do share what your PD said later. My PD said that bbs are like that, some more prone to others. Just make sure bb is not unwell, is still happy n active, and basically wait till they want to drink lol! As I am typing THIS POST, I am waiting for my bb to dirnk- his LAST full feed is at 2am. I've wasted 2 full bottles since then sigh. Now he is on my lap happily trying to suck on my arm! *faint*