(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

This is an article I thought you gals may want to read about:

Use Caution With Baby Rice

As if young mothers didn’t have enough to be concerned about. A new study has shown that baby rice can be contaminated by arsenic, a known carcinogen. A third of commercial brands tested higher for arsenic than is allowed in public drinking water supplies. More study is needed to determine the health threat, but there
are precautions that mothers can take now.

Weaning Your Baby From Breast Milk or Formula to . . . Arsenic?
A leading environmental chemist has recently published a study indicating that baby rice—a precooked, dried, and milled rice product that is a staple for weaning infants—may contain unsafe levels of arsenic. Dr. Andrew Meharg found high levels of arsenic in more than a third of commercial rice milk brands available in the United Kingdom. A child eating three servings a day of the rice with the highest levels would consume up to six times the maximum safe level of inorganic arsenic in drinking water under EU regulations.

Long-term exposure to arsenic in drinking water causes cancer of the skin, lungs, bladder, and kidney. Increased risk of lung and bladder cancer has been observed at drinking-water concentrations of less than 0.05 mg/L. That’s why arsenic contamination of water supplies is closely regulated. Now some scientists and authorities are recommending arsenic testing for foods as well. Food products are not required to be tested for arsenic in the United States or the EU.

For now, not all authorities agree that these findings constitute a health hazard, but parents can take steps to ensure the safety of their young children until the issue is settled. Shopping for organically grown rice, which contains much less arsenic than rice grown by conventional methods, can help to reduce exposure. Oatmeal is another popular food for weaning infants. You can also vary your infant’s diet by alternating rice or oatmeal with purees of fruits and vegetables. Starting your baby on fruits and vegetables provides her with a wide variety of important natural nutrients early in life.

Meharg, AA, et al. Inorganic arsenic levels in rice milk exceed EU and US drinking water standards. Journal of Environmental Monitoring. 10:428-31. 2008.

Williams, PN, et al. Market Basket Survey Shows Elevated Levels of As in South Central U.S. Processed Rice Compared to California: Consequences for Human Dietary Exposure. Environmental Science & Technology. 41:2178-2183. 2007.

World Health Organization. Arsenic in drinking water http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs210/en/index.html (Accessed 05/05/08)

Xiaoyun, don't know why my post took so long to upload. :p Yup, read about the BP. Okie, I'll order the calendula cream from BP then. By the way, possible to order Spritzer Overtired & Cranky and sunscreen from you? Will it be cheaper than BP?

dor,
i will like to share in renting the exersaucer too. but dun think ashlynn is ready for it.

kitsune,
read that u r getting the 2nd bumper mat? one for ur place and one for ur mil's place? is it good?

thks Artemis for the info on Phillips fair.

Cheryl ah,
u thk the hwa sia swimming thingy harbour front one better or punggol one ah? and how's the bb bathing facilities like?? Easy to bathe bb aftr the swim?? And wat do we need to bring for bb bathing??

leila

i went to harbourfront 1... so not sure abt ponggul 1...

i going next week maybe as my son just recover, so hubby say better dun bring him...

Artemis
hmm, i am not sure how much Hillary is drinking at the moment as i latch on totally. only give her bottle on and off. perhaps converting to bottle feed during the day is a good idea to gauge how much she is drinking. i got no luck with expressing out milk, sometimes can yield 100+ml, sometimes only 20ml and the breast still hard. what breast pump are you using?

where did you get your swaddle cloth and how big is it? does Danica struggle when you swaddle her?

just now i tried to rock/pat/shh her to let her nap. each time i put her down, she will wail until i was so frustrated =( ended up she napped on her bouncer again. *sigh*

Hi Xiaoyun

Have the califonia baby stuff i ordered sometime back arrived?
sorry. did not log on to this site for some time. Anyway i'm on short term oversea stint now. will only be back in end Jul.

rgds

Bx, I bought sweet bear 11mm bumper mat (now at my ILs place). Found 11mm a bit thin. Ok for my ILs place since they hardly let her use it, think because they don't have dedicated space for it so they prefer to let her flip on the bed instead of opening and keeping the bumper mat. Think once our darlings learn to crawl esp walk, thicker mat is better to cushion the falls so ordering a 15mm one this time.

I went to Punggol Plaza at Level 2 for my gal's swim. Ok lar, not bad, but remember to bring your own towel cos their towel is common one.

hey kitsune,
i also brought my boi for swim at punggol plaza yestr. Didn't get a chance to bump into u leh...wat a waste...Ah boi enjoyed his swim too

Any mummies know where can i purchase this brand of baby toys. The brand is "taf toys" i cant find in any major shopping centre. kiddy palace also dont have. I want to buy their touch mat. anyone came across that?

1505238.jpg

Hi leila,

No problem. But yesterday I went it was not Philips fair leh. Perhaps I mistook ViNE_Gal's SMS. They were just having showroom sale on selected items. :p So end up didn't get my blender and scolded by my HB for wasting petrol to go all the way down for nothing except help Thankful get her free 125ml Avent bottle. Oh well, but I did manage to ask the security guard who told me the actual Philips fair is 8 - 9 September this year. But that is Monday and Tuesday not sure he give me wrong info a not.

Hi Andrea,

I am using the Avent ISIS Duo. Not bad suction and faster cause it's a dual pump.

I just bought flannel cloths from kidzloft during their sale last year. I think it's about 100 cm by 90 cm or something like that, quite big. Yes, she does. Very violently but she also knows that swaddle = sleep so very weird, she will thrash around very violently but once her swaddle is tight and she is in a good mood, she can put herself to sleep with any intervention from us.

At first when I tried the pat/shush method, she also wailed when I put her down. Just have to keep doing and doing and don't give up until she fall asleep in the cot. I remember the first time I did it for nearly 1 hour. :p ¾ of her nap time gone. But it gets progressively better.
The second time only required 30 minutes and the third time about 10 minutes. Nowadays, if she needs help to nap, it takes about 5 minutes for her to knock off.

Hi, mummies who latch-on babies,
which avent teat you give your babies? I am using 2 holes one which are for 1m+ and breastfed babies.

Thinking to give her 3 holes one(for 3 month+), but don't know whether she will reject latch-on.

tubao,
i'm still using the smallest avent teat cos it states that is the ideal size for BM. won't be upgrading cos afraid that bb will get used to faster flow and then reject breast....she is already showing signs of impatience even with the existing size.

mommies
i'm in dilemma all weekend over a work trip that's coming up. it's the first time i will be apart from my baby. i'm a FTWM but i latch her whenever i can and i pump at work.

can i ask those mommies who have been apart from their babies for 5-6 days before, did your milk ss go down during that time when you didn't latch and did your babies miss you? did your caregivers have a tough time with you away? did ur babies show signs of rejection when you came back? how often did you pump and did you manage to bring your milk home from overseas?

sorry so many questions but i hope you can help me cos they'll really help me to make up my mind whether to go on this trip or not.

Hi jeannie,

I received your transfer. :)

Hi tubao,

I'm still using the 1 month+ teat. I feel that it already has a negative effect on Danica as she is impatient and does not like to wait for my let down. But I just let her cry it out and she eventually drinks. :p

Hi Isobellies,

Basically, it is to set the environment, swaddle, sit and shush. I lower the blinds, put on a CD of lullabies, swaddle her, sit with her a while. Sometimes, she is ready to nod off like that. If she is overtired, I will have to pat her back in a tick tock manner while shushing her. The shush has to be long and drawn out. You have to carry you baby in an upright position. Hope this helps. :)

RE : flipping

Danica has flipped from back to front! The first time she did it none of us were around as she was sleeping in the room. She suddenly wailed and we found her on her tummy struggling to get back on her back. So now got to wait for her to discover how to do that. :)

bbk, I in the same boat except I dun bf. For me, no choice, have to go and its for one full week. Damn sian... also scared bb will reject me when I back or I may not be familiar with his patters already. Can only call back everyday and intend to ask my mum to bring the phone beside his ear to let me talk to him. Hopefully, he will know its mama in the phone.

Artemis, your post came just in time, my bb refused to sleep tonight, think she was overtired cos didn't nap in the day. hubby had to put her on bouncer and rock her before she finally fell asleep at 11:45pm, way past her usual bedtime. I find that she sleeps lesser and lesser now that she's bigger. She used to sleep at 9+pm, wonder where did the good old days go? :p

Leila, I went a few week ago, not yesterday. Thinking of bringing her swimming again, when are you going again?

Xiaoyun, sms you when I was at my mum's but no reply. Guess you were busy.

Artemis,
Luckily u told me in time abt the phillips fair having nothing much or else sure kennah fm my hubby too....hahaha!!!

Kitsune,
1st and last time going there liao cos i wanna "upgrade" ah boi to waddling pool...hopefully soon
since punggol one so exp.

Qingling,
did u manage to bring ur kiddo to the 'Big' pool. How??? fun??? me also wanna bring soon....

kitsune,
yup, I was busy when you sms me.
took shower, wipe bb, feed her, let her sleep, etc. by the time finish doing everything, it's already about 9:30. only realise I've got sms this morning.
sorry.

garfield,
me too. still using the smallest teat with the same reason as you. :p

kitsune,
i also noticed my boy sleeping less... but it's
more like naps.
he used to take 3-4naps but now it's like 1-2 on weekends...
bedtime still the same tho...

hey mommies,
anyone using bibs?
thinking of getting some 'cos my boy keeps drooling until his shirt all wet *faint*
how do i know what size to get?
i saw gap only has "One Size", dunno can fit or not...
my boy got jumbo neck so scared too tight leh...

Artemis
I am using muslin cloth to swaddle her and its not bug enough. It measures 100cm by 100cm. You still managed to swaddle Danica snuggly now?

When you said shushing her in an upright position, meaning carrying baby on your shoulder or? =P

Hi kitsune,

I think as babies gets older, the number of naps reduce but length of time increase. Nowadays, Danica only takes 3 naps in the day: 9 - 11 a.m., 1 to 3 p.m. and 5 - 5:30/5:45 p.m. Then she sleeps around 8 or 9 but I try to put her in bed by 8 or else by 9 she is super duper tired and cranky liao.

RE : bibs

I am tempted to use bibs too as Danica drools a lot and sometimes the front of her romper all wet if we didn't manage to swipe at her mouth in time. :p

Artemis,
i only standby 2 beforehand so need to get more...
it's good and doubles up as a burp cloth

only problem is dunno what size to get...
i see www.babymallonline.com has "drooler bib" and "feeding bib" - got difference mah?

Hi kirsten,

Kidz Loft sells Taf Toys. I think the playmat you are looking at either here : http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=0&products_id=354&manufacturers_id=14 or here : http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=0&products_id=375&manufacturers_id=14

Hi Andrea,

:p The size of the swaddle cloth is just my estimate. I did not measure it. But Danica is about 60 cm now so I still manage to swaddle her quite well. When my ang mo boss comes on 30 June with the dreambag, I will let her use it. Not sure whether she will reject it though.

Eh... How to describe ah?

Hold her vertically against your chest with her head resting on your shoulder. Then if she is nodding off, you can feel her head resting more heavily on your shoulder. :p Hope you get what I mean.

hi artemis
oh, i thought there was something about putting baby on the side and patting while shh-ing? or was it pat then shh then pat then shh?

hi artemis

Thanks a lot. I know kidz loft sell that but was thinking if i can get it at major shopping centre then will have discount mah. Anyway thanks

Hi Garfield9,

I put her on a routine as advised in BW books. At first have to be quite strict about it. Nowadays, Danica's routine is like this:

07:00 a.m. Wakeup and drink milk
07:30 a.m. Change diaper and play
08:40 a.m. Prepare for nap
09:00 a.m. Nap
11:00 a.m. Wakeup and drink milk
11:30 a.m. Change diaper and play
12:40 p.m. Prepare for nap
01:00 p.m. Nap
03:00 p.m. Wakeup and drink milk
03:30 p.m. Change diaper and play
04:40 p.m. Prepare for nap
05:00 p.m. Nap
05:30/05:45 p.m. Wakeup and play
07:00 p.m. Drink milk
07:30 p.m. Bath
08:00 p.m. Prepare for bed
08:20 p.m. Sleep

The above is an ideal day. Most of the time, the first 3 eat/activity/sleep times can be adhered to. However, the last milk time and bathing time is dependent on when I get home on weekdays or when we get home on weekends. The 20 minutes before actual nap / sleep time is for her to unwind and relax. Basically, we just sit with her if she is cranky or put her in her cot if she is not. If she is not cranky, sometimes she will stare or talk to the animals on her cot mobile and nod off herself. If not, then we use the shush / pat method. Sometimes, if she is really overstimulated / overtired the shush / pat method can take slightly longer: 10 - 15 minutes.

Hi p1nk1e,

I believe that drooler bibs are for saliva only while feeding bibs are for when you start babies on solids and should be more resistent to stains.

Hi Isobellies,

That is when after you put the baby down and s/he still cannot sleep on his/her own. Turn the baby on his / her side and pat and shush him / her. Slow down the pats and shush until he / she is finally asleep. :p I long time never do this step already cause Danica no longer requires it.

Artemis,
in terms of sizing, drooler bibs & feeding bibs got difference mah?
i scared his jumbo neck can't fit into drooler bibs leh...

Artemis,
btw i have the same Q too... how do you keep Danica zzz for 2hrs?
mine quite light sleeper and always wake up to find pple to play with...

Garfield, Oscar, Eliaw
You want to collect ur nursing wraps?
U might want to PM me as I did not visit this thread very often.

Thankful,
I m nt meetin xiao yun, u might want to opt for postage for ur wrap...

Hi p1nk1e,

I believe most bibs are one size only as they are velcroed or tied together. :p I personally felt that the ones I bought from Ikea and kidzloft are quite giantic when Danica tries them on.

pinkie, some bbs are just more drool-ey than others, my older DD never used a single bib till she started self-feeding solids! and when she did, even bibs cant 'save' her clothes LOL! My bb boy is very drool-ey, I go through 6-7 bibs a DAY alone casue they get soaked and I change one everytime they get wet. So far I've tried bibs from several brands, I think the best is pumkin patch's (I bought from vivo city, level 2) cause they are very soft, absorbent and thick, lasts alot longer. And they are about the only bib that doesnt soak through to the clothing even when pretty wet. Plus, they use snap buttons instead of velcro, more comfy imo, and the cutting is bigger, so definitely suitable for chubby bbs.

Re: Teats
didn't know that for bf babies, should not give teat with more/bigger holes. me now using size 2 (avent) and M size (pigeon). was stil thinking of changing to size 3 for avent cos my boy drinks very slowly via bottle. better hold on 1st else later he rejects me :p

tubao
saw ur post on my blog liao. keke. heng u tell me else i'll be wondering who is the person.

I have for sale a Maxicosi carseat, good condition and seldom used, colour is green/black. Brought for $319 now selling at $250. Also a Brand New Beco Butterfly carrier selling for $190.

Pls PM me if you are interested.

mrs yap, I used them for a while. The food was ok for 1-2 weeks, but its very easy to get sick of what they serve cause they repeat alot of ingredients, put HEAPS of ginger in everything, and the soups are not salted, at all. So its pretty lacking in terms of taste- I cancelled after 2 weeks. Service is good tho.

artemis
heh ok thanks!
do you ever have the problem with the schedule if Danica doesn't want to drink milk? my bb q picky, sometimes can go 5 hrs without drinking, so the whole schedule is pretty messed up. only constant thing is that he needs to sleep ever 2 hours.

also how did u get your caregivers to follow? think previously you said it's you parents is it? i stay with inlaws, and if i'm not home for e.g. 2 nights in a row, then bb won't sleep at regular time because they see his eyes open and say he not sleepy, even though he can actually easily nod off at abt 8pm. pek chek!