(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: bm supply:
o dear just finished expressing. after 2 pumps today, the total yield for the day is only 220ml. dunno wat happen usually its abt 300 per day... yesterday is 250. then today like tat. sigh... drink lots of water liao leh. no milk, only keep going toilet.

stephie, no lah....
enough for him to use.

re: using scotch tape to seal the milkbag
stephie, i used that too.. to seal the playtex.. think i got no skill so they leaked....so messy..

re: CB
babyhope,
hey you are right. after calculation, getting from BP is slightly more expensive than spree (LV) only (~$1).
hmm... should I give vitaglo/goodnaturenutrition a try. let's see the total amount of order if can separate into 2.

re: frozen/chilled ebm
p1nk1e,
i also feed bb frozen ebm.

I pump in office from Monday to Friday.
Sat-Sun at home, ebm will send to freezer directly.

here's how it works:
Monday frozen + latch at night
Tuesday-Friday chilled, topup with frozen if not enough + latch at night
Sat chilled (to clear stock from Friday) + latch
Sun latch

I still manage to clear some frozen stocks.

p1nk1e,
my boi somehow cant has his fill when latched. cos when latched, if i am talking to someone, he will stop to "join" in...
so i usually latch to nurse him that all.

aiyoh.. e kindermusik thingy like cannot make it now.. haha.. I think its ok.. now baby 4 months all going for jabs and i think they should have told us earlier so we have more time to plan.. a bit late

Bkkgal/leila/tubao/yanyan i think we just cancel for this week.. hope u all dun mind.. can sign up for starry's one since hers is at a later date and confirmed. Prob.. i may sign up with her

Bkkgal.. yar my main motive is to see other babies too!!! Hehe.. dun think my ger noes how to play yet..

re: fridge
p1nk1e,
there's mini fridge (Pepsi) selling at 7-evelen. I think is $49.90.
do you want to check it out?
if not, can get Fridge to go, $48. I am using that + ice pack. So far can last me > 12 hrs.

dor,
initially i was thinking to get a deep freezer.
however, don't want to increase the electricity bill too. they are just too frightening!!!

pinkie, stephie:

fr medela website
fridge: 3 - 5 days
frige freeer compartment: can store up to 6mth
deep freezer: can storeup to 1 yr

re: CB spree
babyhope,
i know what to do already.
i will order from goodnaturenutrition for whatever items that they have, the rest from LV.
then consolidate at CGW side. i think this can be done.
you want to order? left $10 budget liao.

xiaoyun
if u going to get from goodnaturenutrition, please get for me the sunblock. Natural Bug Blend SPF 30+ Sunscreen Lotion 2.9 Ounce

jaslyn,
maybe u got block ducts? try pressing, squeezing and massaging ur breasts and see if got more milk come out.

my ss also siao siao wan. suppose to get 200ml but just now 12 noon session only get 160ml. now doing my 6pm pump. dun think can get 200ml too.

dor,
no wonder u need to use frozen milk. coz u freeze those u pump ay home mah. i seldom get to freeze my milk unless i bring my ger out and she drinks FM. then i have excess to freeze.

i think this has been mentioned before but i forgotten.

can we transfer chilled ebm to the freezer becoz baby can't finish them? the chilled ebm is still within the 48hrs.

dor
wow.. your ss so good!

tongtong
so far i only tried the 100 buffet. haven't got chance to try to steamboat buffet 'cos it's only available on weekdays.
go try the 100 buffet. nvr count if really got 100 varieties. but the food there, i find it nice. not too oily or salty. :D

cancellation of kindermusik
ok with me!
hehe jeannie, damn sillee right pay $25 to see other babies! LOL. We shud just organise one big gathering, everyone bring babies and bumbo seats!

CB stuff
umm...which BP has ready stocks? Xiao yun, sorry ah i need the sunblock now so i think i'll go for bp if got ready stocks.

yanyen,
go to the jan thread. they need our reply if we wanna proceed with the order in alien's BP. SSW's price already discounted, so no more 20%.

kindermusik - the organiser also needs my confirmation before the 27th. so mummies, do let me know fast if u r signing up for the 6th July trial. PM me pls..cos this link sometimes too fast for me to catch up.

sigh - i got to travel to BKK for work again..zzz..

Jaslyn - would you be getting the blank cards from Hiap Moh soon? i want to start soon..so thinking of getting it earlier...mummies..can you post the size u want as well..i will ask if they deliver..

Bkkgal,
I am not sure if GoodNatureNutrition will have ready stock. If do, still take about 2-3 weeks to arrive after order.
I pressume you doesn't want the sunblock already. Took out your name, ok?
Btw, you still have bubble bath, diaper area wash with me.

Jeannie/Leila/vine,
I think you want to order something too, right?
please include your order, I am going to split into GoodNatureNutrition and LV.

A. Item Name: Botanical Solutions Bite Guard Jr. Spray - 4 oz.
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/5856
Price: USD6.80
(1) Qingling

B. Item Name: California Baby Calendula Cream - 2 oz.
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/57870
Price: USD10.35
(1) Qingling
(2) Tongtong
(3) Artemis
(4) Dor11
(5) Dor11
(6) Bkkgal
(7) Thankful

C. Item Name: Reviva Labs Beach Baby Lotion SPF 25 - 4 oz.
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/54670
Price: USD4.79
(1) Qingling

D. Item Name: CB Calming Botanical Moisturizing Cream - 4 Oz.
Price: USD12.15
(1) Dor11

E. Item Name: American Health - Ester-C with Citrus Bioflavonoids 500 mg. - 225 VEGETARIAN TABLETS
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/item/itemKey/55204
Price: USD$12.80 per bottle
(1) Garfield9
(2) Garfield9

F. Item Name: California Baby Non-Burning & Calming Diaper Area Wash - 6.5 oz.
Goodnaturenutrition
Price: USD7.95
(1) Qingling
(2) Tongtong

G. Item Name: Calming Diaper rash cream
Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Tongtong

H. Item Name: Aloe vera cream
Goodnaturenutrition
Price: USD8.9
(1) Tongtong
(2) Bkkgal
(3) Thankful

I. Item Name: CB Natural Bug Blend Sunscreen Lotion 30+ SPF - 2.9 oz.
Goodnaturenutrition
Price: USD11.80
(1) Artemis
(2) Thankful
(3) Babyhope

I've been reading abt milkbags and cost of milkbags.

Qingling, if you go to BKK, you may wanna buy the Boots brand milkbags. They are cheap and good. I'm using them. Here's why:

1) double seal ziplock bag
2) can store up to 300ml
3) pre-sterilised
4) 150 baht for 40 bags (approx. S$0.15 each)

hi xiaoyun,

I've taken myself out of sunblock and calendula. Is there a minimum order for delivery within the US? cos I have a fren coming back from there..wonder if can tompang with him. hehe.

here's my revised list:

(1) Qingling

(2) Tongtong
(3) Artemis
(4) Dor11
(5) Dor11
(6) Thankful

(1) Qingling

D. Item Name: CB Calming Botanical Moisturizing Cream - 4 Oz.
Price: USD12.15
(1) Dor11

E. Item Name: American Health - Ester-C with Citrus Bioflavonoids 500 mg. - 225 VEGETARIAN TABLETS
(1) Garfield9
(2) Garfield9
(3) Bkkgal

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Qingling
(2) Tongtong

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Tongtong

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Tongtong
(2) Bkkgal
(3) Thankful

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Artemis
(2) Thankful
(3) Babyhope

morning ladies!

Teat problem
I have been using a 'provision shop brand' teat (think it's called kidsspor) since month 2. it's those traditional teat without any anti-leak/anti colic, etc, properties. works ok, i feel that the hole is kind of big and the rubber is too hard, compared to other 'branded brands' like Pigeon and NUK in the same age category, size S/0-6mos/3mos+. it always leaks milk (when bb is taking a break while drinking) which i find it very irritating and i seldom see the teat being 'depressed' when baby is drinking. however, bb can finish milk very fast using this teat (about 5-8min for 140ml)

Recently i bought the Pigeon 3mos+ cross cut teat and 3mos+ regular silicon teat to try and solve my problem (the leak and i feel that rubber of the kidspor teat is too hard, bb can't flex his facial muscles when drinking)

now,
Pigeon cross cut teat: no more leaking, but he's drinking very slowly and it's immpossible for the milk to flow out once rice cereal is added to the milk (mil has been adding a tiny bit of rice cereal to bb's feed since 2 days ago)

Pigeon regular silicon teat for 3mos+:still leaks, bb is also drinking more slowly as compared to the Kidspor teat, but at least the milk with rice cereal can flow out.

what i like about both teats: i can see the rubber being depressed when bb is sucking so i feel that he's getting some exercise on his facial muscles. on the other hand, my mil is against that cos in her opinion, once the rubber is depressed it means baby is using too much effort to suck the milk out (i.e the teat is not suitable for baby)

any suggestions on what i can do? im hesitant to go back to the Kidspor teat cos i really hate the leaking problem, it always stresses me out when im feeding outside cos it'll dirty bb's clothes. it also bothers me that bb's mouth doesn't seem to be getting a 'work out' on the kidsspor teat (cos it's so hard, can't be depressd) which i feel is important for his speach and facial muscles development. (or am i wrong?)

im using a standard neck bottle.

jaslyn
have you ordered the cards yet? i'm also keen

piglettail
i haven't read any scientific evidence, but my MIL says that one of my nephews started talking very late (like 2yrs+) because he didn't eat much and therefore his facial muscles weren't so developed. up to people to believe. hee.

Bkk - tks for the info. although i doubt i have time to shop
..anyway my milk ss dun allow me to freeze..so i still hav 3 packs of Lansinsoh milk bags..partial use only..haha..i doubt i can finish using it when i stop my pumping at bb's 6 mnths..so probably keep for nxt round

by the way, any mummies know where to buy those blank eraseable flash cards too?

hi,removing my order...
(1) Qingling

(2) Tongtong
(3) Artemis
(4) Thankful

(1) Qingling

(1) Garfield9
(2) Garfield9
(3) Bkkgal

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Qingling
(2) Tongtong

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Tongtong

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Tongtong
(2) Bkkgal
(3) Thankful

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Artemis
(2) Thankful
(3) Babyhope

piglettail - what bottles are u using? i wld assume if baby tries too hard to suck, it can also cause colic right, because u will take a lot of air too. so i thought ur mil is right?

RE : USANA stuff

Before I start forgetting things, I better prepare a list. If you gals want to add on, feel free to do so okay?

<table border=1><tr><td><center>Nickname</center></TD><TD><center>Items</center></TD><TD><center>Amount</center></TD><TD><center>Collection</center></TD><TD><center>Payment Status</center></TD><TD><center>Address Given</center> </TD></TR><TR><TD>qingling</TD><TD>BiOmega x 1</TD><TD>S$37.80</TD><TD>Postage</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>bx</TD><TD>BiOmega x 1</TD><TD>S$37.80</TD><TD>Postage</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>h@ppymum2b</TD><TD>Usanimals x 1</TD><TD>S$26.00</TD><TD>Self Collect</TD><TD></TD><TD>N.A. </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorothy</TD><TD>BiOmega x 1</TD><TD>S$37.80</TD><TD>Postage</TD><TD></TD><TD>Yes </TD></TR><TR><TD>jeannie</TD><TD>BiOmega x 1</TD><TD>S$37.80</TD><TD>Postage</TD><TD></TD><TD>No </TD></TR><TR><TD>tute</TD><TD>Essentials x 2
BiOmega x 2</TD><TD>S$244.00</TD><TD>Self Collect</TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>N.A.</td></tr></table>

Amount includes postage and envelope where applicable. Please transfer the amount to my POSB Savings account: 109-37121-1 by Friday, 20 June 2008. Thanks. By the way, I will be going to USANA office on Saturday, 21 June 2008.

Oh... Those who opted for postage but have not given your address to me, please PM me. Thanks.

Hi piglettail,

I brought my wallet today :p Later will send out the 2 tubes of Desitin to you. Is it okay if I SMS you the postage and envelope cost? I have your mobile number from the email cheryl had sent out previously.

RE : teats

I think teats should not leak, period. It's a waste of milk and makes a mess all around. If it takes a little longer for your son to drink, take it as a form of exercise. Anyway, I believe 5 - 8 minutes for 140ml may be a little fast? :p Must give him time to enjoy his milk too mah. Danica takes 15-20 minutes to finish 180ml when she is very hungry. If the cereal cannot come out, maybe buy a teat with a larger hole? By the way, is there any reason your MIL is adding cereal to your son's milk now? I mean he is only 4 months or a little more right? If he is okay on milk alone, starting cereals may give him constipation and extra calories he doesn't require yet.

RE : LittleTouch Leadpad Books

ARGH!!! Just bought 2 of the books last month at US$9.99, now only US$3.99. :p Maybe I buy the one I didn't get the other time.

Xiaoyun,
sat &amp; sun, u latch and still pump? wow..so ONz
for me
Mon-Fri: MIL feed frozen, i latch on AM and after work (pump to freeze)
Sat-Sun: total latch on

so now considered TBF (cos too much frozen stock to clear..)

dor,
yeah yeah!
my boi will stop and stare at me... when i talking... but i'll shoo nipple into his mouth again... maciam force him to drink...kekekeke
wat u mean "latch to nurse"?

re: fridge
dun like fridge-to-go cos still need to freeze it beforehand. my prob is i dun wanna rely on office freezer 'cos it's sometimes locked lor...
somemore can oni fit 2bots right? me got at least 2 bags + 1 or 2 bots a day...
pepsi fridge so X ah :p
i wanna find in auction but site is down

jass,
yeah i saw that... but been seeing different schedules so i juz take the "average"... hehe

bx,
btw why u feed FM when u out? lotsa stuff to bring right??
i latch on even if i go out wor...

bx,

yup yup, hv updated Jan thread, decide to order from Alien as well, cos she has the YB design wif alphabets at the back. same design as what you have chosen.

RE : frozen EBM

Frozen EBM can be kept for 3 months in freezers of normal 2 door refrigerators (not in door compartment) and 6 months in those deep freeze freezers.

Is there any concern with giving frozen EBM? I have been doing FIFO for my frozen EBM leh. My next week schedule will be:

05:00 p.m. Pump at home
07:00 a.m. Frozen EBM 220ml
09:00 p.m. Pump in office
11:00 a.m. Frozen EBM 220ml
01:00 p.m. Pump in office
03:00 p.m. Frozen EBM 220ml
07:00 p.m. Latch on
09:00 p.m. Pump at home
11:00 p.m. Latch on
12:00 a.m. Pump at home (if I not too sleepy :p)

Nowadays, each time I only yield around 160ml - 180ml without latch and 60 - 80ml with latch. No increase in supply even though Danica has been drinking 180ml. Not sure is it because last 3 weekends I have not latched on full time as using the time to train maids. Hopefully, my body will know to produce more this weekend after I latch on full time and pump. :p

dorothy: yeh, the buffet i mentioned to sunny is veg :p
oh, which bp got ready stock?

pinkle: yea the bag not very big but good enuff for use leh. yea we wash the bag before use.

sunny: the steamboat buffet looks good too cuz they also serve other dishes like dim sum and desserts. i went for alacarte that time becuase i went during dinner, dont want to be too full for dinner. lunch buffet still ok hehe

isobellies, qingling and artemis,
thanks for your input

qingling,
im using NUK bottle, which is the standard neck bottle.

Artemis,
yes, no problem, pls sms me the postage cost later and i'll transfer to u.

Teat
yar lor, if i were to go back to the traditional 'hole' teat (whether Kidsspor or Pigeon), i'll have the leaking problem. i'll not not have the leaking problem when i use the 'cross cut teat'. not sure if there's a 'bigger' cross cut teat around?

RE : leaking

I was wondering is it I leak too much that's why pump out so little ah? Even though I pump in office twice, by the time I reach home my breast pads ready to fall out cause too heavy. :p Do you gals think it is okay to keep those leaked in the breast shield? Cause maybe I want to try to see how much I leak.

artemis, my breastpad never feel heavy leh, only can see the stain on the breastpad, like very underutilised like that. i wear breastpad after i finished pumping at 7am+ and after i went home at 7pm. 12 hours still doesnt leak much leh.

read that it's not good to wear the breastshield for long hours. forgot what's the reason liao.

Artemis,
u can try use a breastshell and pour to see how much... but dun store those u leak 'cos afraid of contamination...
i think medela breastshell instructions recommend storing for leakage during latch on...

pinkle, yea got smell hehe. especially the frozen EBM, i tasted myself. very metallic, like iron smell. wash the bag thoroughly and air and dry it, the smell will go away after a fwe time usage.

(1) Qingling

(2) Tongtong
(3) Artemis
(4) Thankful

(1) Qingling

(1) Garfield9
(2) Garfield9
(3) Bkkgal

F. Item Name: California Baby Non-Burning &amp; Calming Diaper Area Wash - 6.5 oz.
Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Qingling
(2) Tongtong

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Tongtong

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Tongtong
(2) Bkkgal
(3) Thankful

Goodnaturenutrition
(1) Artemis
(2) Thankful
(3) Babyhope
(4) Jeannie

Xiaoyun.. what is the calendula cream for??

pinkie.. i think frozen ebm really taste quite bad.. strong metallic taste.. i feel so bad giving to her so now i try not to freeze and give her only fresh ones plus i dun latch on so bo pian.

i tried feeding her frozen ones in the middle of the nite when she still sleeoing but she din finish it!! Normally she will take everything but i think the taste really too strong for her. If ur baby is ok w ur milk then thats good but u thot of giving her chilled ones?? E old stock just stand by in case.. when u stopping bf??

artemis.. danica can drink 180 ml??? wow.. every 3 hrs?? impressive!!! my ger only drink like 110 ml.

bx, i bought glass bottles &amp; plastic caps from thankful but got too many cos bb drinking more and she more or less depleted my frozen stock. Still got 4 boxes of lansinoh milk bags too. I stay Tampines, if you want I can sell some to you.

Qingling, I tried leh, but she very busy, Sat usually cannot. Unless ask her not to clean that week lor. Dirty house though... :p

jeannie,
i know...i hate that smell too.
my boy used to reject, but now my MIL feeding him, he manage to finish all

erm... my frozen stock is like 3-4bags each day, dated 3months ago kind so dun clear means all throw liao

Jeannie,

Nature's First-Aid! California Baby® Calendula Cream is excellent for use on general diaper area, cradle cap, on cuts and scrapes, and may be used on face and body for extra-dry or sensitive skin. Botanically based, our light and fluffy Calendula Cream contains the active ingredient of Calendula, which has been used to heal the skin for centuries. California Baby® Calendula Cream offers deep hydration, absorbs completely, and leaves skin feeling satiny smooth. Use daily for everyday protection and especially when the air is dry and baby's skin needs relief. Our customers have reported excellent results with California Baby®'s Calendula Cream in their fight against eczema, perioral dermatitis, and other skin sensitivities. The entire family can benefit from this soothing, multipurpose cream. We suggest that you try California Baby® Calendula Cream and/or California Baby® Botanical Moisturizing Cream in combination with any of our Shampoos &amp; Bodywashes. Also add California Baby® Calming™ Soothing &amp; Healing Spray, and any of our non-chemical sunscreens to your skin care regime.

For grownups:
Moms &amp; Dads - Calendula Cream is a great facial cream for you too!

Calendula Cream is highly recommended for eczema, perioral dermatitis, and other skin sensitivities

Non-comedogenic