(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

aquaDucks Free Trial Class
How many? 4-6 babies per class (1-parent-1-child)
Where? Heated pool at Suntec (When? Somewhere in SEPT(weekend)
How long? Each session is 30 mins max
Time: TBA
Age? 6 months onwards
http://www.aquaducks.com.sg/programmes.html

1. Cheryl
2. Dorothy Goh
3. h@ppymum2be
4. Vine-Gal
5. Blueginger
6. Qingling (sat 2-2.30pm)
7. Jeannie (sat 2-2.30pm)
8. kitsune_sg (sun 3-3:30pm)
9. Snowbelle (sat 2-2.30pm)
10. Tongtong
11. Leila(sat 2-2.30pm)(sun 3-3.30pm-TBC)(aftr 8 Aug)
12. Babyhope
13. Stephie (sat 2-2.30pm)
14. Tubao
15. Winnie (sat 2-2.30pm) after 13th Aug
16. yanyen (sat 2-2.30pm)
17. Eliaw (sat 2-2.30pm) 16 Aug
18. thankful (sat 2-3.30pm) 16 Aug
19. Artemis
20. Beautyseek (Sat 2-3.30pm) 16 Aug
21. P1nk1e

Beatyseek
pls PM me ur name, contact, baby name and date of birth. i tried to PM u but u dun accept PM.... thanks......

would u all like to make a grp of 4-6 ppl among urself???

pinkie
pm me ur name ctc bb name and date of birth

hi ladies! the thread is always moving too fast to follow.

I had a very busy weekend. Celebrated my wedding anniversary on friday. instead of the usual good dinner, decided to spend it on a day at sentosa with bb. Was also a good fren's wedding split into 2 days where hb and i were emcees, so reali very busy!

my bb had 2nd jab yesterday and now has fever! despite taking the ling yang
He's restless, not sleeping well, and keeps whining. He doesn't like the medicine, though he was ok with it 2 months ago! heart pain to see him lidat.

i take his weight every week, and he hasn't grown for 3 weeks!!! dr says it's ok cos his weight is still above average but i'm still concerned that maybe my bm supply not enough?

kitsune, maybe u can learn to latch on with both lying down on the bed, facing each other. that's what i do. so hands not tired at all. both can fall asleep if we are too tired too. haha.

re:menses

i still don't have menses yet! those who are tbf, issit the same??? i heard some can don have for 2 years... means cannot even have next baby.

garfield,
i very assertive towards my hb one.
i already told him many many times i not happy. but he just kept saying he bobian when ppl want him to join the 'kah'.
PIL, relative all know that I not happy, but they ignore and kept asking me to learn MJ.

everytime think about it, i very sian.

it was even worse during my confinement when i stay over their place for nearly 1 month.
they played MJ every night (hb not joining in weekday sessions). on one sunday night, hb fell sick. i let him sleep and handle a crying bb alone.
then they asked him to join the 'kah' and played till 12 am!!

xiaoyun,
why yr hubby cannot turn down??? tell him that he is now a FATHER and his first and foremost responsibility is to his DAUGHTER and WIFE now!!!!!

stephie,
my black face does not work on MJ only.
in normal days, he will definitely ask me why is it when i pek check or black face.

good idea. can put the repellent into good use.
in fact, i also bought a device which will give out high frequency sound to chase away the female mosquito one. quite effective despite the fact that a bit noisy to sensitive ears.

xiaoyun, how about you just bring your bb out on your own then? I am someone who dun like to and have too much pride to tolerate having to rely too heavily on others if that person is not 100% willing about it. So if I were you, I will just plan all sorts of fun activities for myself and bb on weekends and I think very soon, hubby will realised what he is missing out and possibly decide to psned more time with us. :D
You can bring your bb out to parks n the morning when its less hot, or afternoons you can either stay at home, or bring bb out to places to walk around and hang out? Or just stay at home alone with bb and chill out?
If you ignore him and just go about planning and doing your own stuff, will he soon realise what he should be doing and perhaps change his ways a little?

xiaoyun
i also dunno how to play MJ. so dunno y pple are so addictive to it. i think my hubby look fwd to sun cos it's when he can play MJ. else he watch by the side also happy. maybe ur hubby didn't want to reject when ur relative ask him to join the 'kah' cos he's afraid that pple may say he 'pa4 lao3 po2"? u know sometimes men want face (maybe that explains why your black face didn't work on MJ only). probably can try what berry has suggested and see if it helps?

where did you get the mozzie device from? expensive or not?

crazysgmum,

re: bb's weight

My bb also hasnt gained any weight nor grew any taller in 4 weeks, as of her last visit to the pd. But pd said as long as she looks healthy n alert, n still poo-ing and pee-ing as usual, there should not be much cause for concern. As breastfed bbs tend to gain weight slower at 4-6mths. They may be using that milk to develop some other skill or brain power...

Btw, any mummies using a pillow for their babies yet? Scared bb later get flat-headed if i continue letting her sleep without one. haha...

inNoSence,
re: pillow
i get those so-called "Apple Pillow" - whereby there's a hole in the middle...
Good also cos i tried normal pillow but my boy's head keeps slipping down...
Can get from BB Hyperstore...ranging $4.90~$6.90

berry,
your suggestion is a good one! i shall start planning programmes for me and bb from this weekend onwards. :D

stephie,
I bought a PiyoPiyo brand one, very cute. But a bix ex ~ $15.
1482438.jpg

Xiaoyun,
i'm abit like berry. if i really fed-up i will try out one of the below:

- u mentioned going to ur parents? go ahead without him lor. just bring the baby along. Only need to 'suffer alone' on the trip there..once u reach ur parents' place they will help u right?

- appeal to his empathy...i told my hubby before...that sometimes i get pissed cuz i feel i'm already giving up so much for motherhood yet he doesn't 'contribute' enough. from losing figure, losing lifestyle, losing time for myself....he can see for himself - my life is just work-ruth-work-ruth. He can leave me with baby and go out, but i cannot leave him with baby to go out. He can sleep through the night (every night) while i have to work and still wake up to attend to crying baby.

When i'm tired, i will not stop yawning but he will never catch me 'taking a nap' or what cuz things need to get done n i cannot afford to take 2 hour naps like him. Helps that my mum will also sometimes 'chip in' and say 'working mother is very tiring one'.

i think it depends on what type of person your hubby is. perhaps once u can show that there are BETTER THINGS to do than play MJ, he may stop.

Or perhaps he feels that MJ is way to 'keep in touch' with his family. I see that he is really quite "into" it. Ask him if it's possible for you to go shopping/have dinner with friends/family EVERY WEEK while HE STAY AND LOOK AFTER BABY. See how would he feel.

Garfield
I just went to Taka to buy the GAIA products and they having a 10% discount on now. Hope it works on my gal.

Xiaoyun, I was like you too. Get tired of seeing ILs (no offence, they are nice people) but different parenting style, and different living style. My baby was supposed to be looked after by them every night initially but after 2 days I pek chek. No. 1, want to spend more time with baby, no 2, don't want to be at their mercy. Feel that I have no right to interfere with their parenting style if I leave my baby there every night. So, since then, I brought her back everyday. Weekends, if hubby and I want to go and 'pak tor' or run errands, then we leave the baby at their place. Eg. today we leaving baby there cos tomorrow, doing minor renovation at home and tonight going to watch a movie. It turns out to be a good thing, cos ILs are more than happy cos they only get to spend the night with baby occasionally so they really treasure it.

xiaoyun, keep us updated on how your hubby reacts to your latest plan. We help u to brainstorm!

unparticipative hubbies- a gf shared this with me once, she said that her husband never ever helps out willingly and automatically, only does what he is asked to, and usually with a grunt and complaint. On weekends he will take off for drinks with friends more than several hours each time, while she never ever gets a day off (she is a sahm to THREE kids). So one day shortly after the birth of her third kid, she blew up (finally! she has the patience of a saint) and decided its her turn to get a break. She prepared food for all three kids and went shopping for 5 hours. And for a long long time, her husband has new appreciation for her. :D

My bb's cheek got a red spot... a bit rough... any idea what's that? Is it rashes? What can I apply? I suspect coz I keep kissing her cheeks and my hb keeps sayanging her cheeks too... that's why became like that...

hi xiaoyun,

i not urgent to get,next fri,i can meet u at amk,roughly let me know the time,thanks a lot
where u buy the mozie device?

hi garfield,

how do i collect the bb leggings from you??i had not received my bb leggings,thanks so much!

Xiaoyun, no problem about the bb sunblock. Just curious, that's why thought of taking over. Suspect my baby will be well protected by hat and umbrella if she does go out. haha.

Gar, I haven't received my leggings also. I forgot what was the collection mode and if I still owe you $? Let me know. :p

re hubbies
my friend was just telling me a story today, one useless hubby would play computer games till 3am then sleep till noon and scold the wife if the wife wake him up to help with their 2 kids. horrible or what?! and they're expecting their 3rd kid...

i think men really do need some time to adjust, for them they don't really realise that their life HAS to change, lucky my hubby has been more understanding since i brought that up, and will even decline MJ or dinner sessions if it's not impt and he's been too busy to spend time at home. but i do like berry's suggestion, i was thinking of that too ;) maybe i should just try that one of these days to reinforce the point, heehee.

isobellies, aiyoh, that hubby sounds terrible man. Ya agree, men need time to adjust to their new roles. Can't blame also lar because they don't have a 9months headstart like us. ;)

thankful
i can help u collect but i dunno when i can swing by 2 meet xiaoyun. i'll keep u informed.

xiaoyun
we communicate via sms ok? i tik i'll swing by ur plc 2 pick it up.

apple
can i pls hv e file? thks!

Hi, kelly, if you swinging by your mum's place, can pass me my tupperware? I'm around tomorrow cos getting contractor to install grilles. Will also be around on Sunday.

hi kitsune
i'll contact u 2mrw. i heading 2 tamp 2mrw abt 12pm. can i meet u at ur blk downstairs cos i hv 3kids in e car, waiting 4 me. i'll contact u 2mrw.

goodbb, snow, kitsune,
sorry, been busy at work so no chance to go to post office. will try to send out asap and advise payment details. thanks for your patience!

stephie,
i can actually sense that he doesn't like to appear to be 'pa lao po' in front of his family members.
sometimes, he told me that he doesn't feel like playing (very tired, blah blah blah) when his father asked him to join 'kah'. Here's the conversation after he joined:

=======================================================
me: 'don't you feel very tired? do you want to rest?'

his uncle: 'play MJ then not tired already lo!'
=======================================================
>.<

another thing that I hate is that his uncle smokes even in front of bb. I've to keep reminding him not to smoke when bb around. This is the reason I hide in the room whenever he's around.

berry,
yup. will try the method soon. thanks.

Kitsune,
so good, your PIL can help to take care for the night.
my PIL has no intention to help us taking care of bb for night from the start.
In another way, it's good that they never interfere on our parenting style.

goodbb,
so, meet you next friday, around 6.45 - 7 pm.
for the mozzy device, i bought in Taiwan. You interested? I can help to get from you.

Kelly,
I smsed you. Did you receive?

re: sleeping bag
besides the dreambag, there's currently grobag and another kind of fleece sleeping bag in BP.
I am looking at 0.5 Tog one as I normally set my air con at 25 C. Anyone has seen the fleece one before? don't know good or not.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1481245.html?1213210214

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1479004.html?1213167940

xiaoyun, wah you are really very nice and easy going. I think I am not. I will not go to a place where there are people who will smoke in front of my bb. And to think that I am the one who has to retreat to the room?! Like what a friend of mine says "your right to smoke ends where my right to clean air begins!" Especially when its long proven that even second hand smoke can cause lung cancer, so imagine the effects it can have on a small bb!
(disclaimer: I have nothing against smokers or smoking, just that its really inconsiderate for a smoker to expose a child/baby to second hand smoke knowingly)

Xiaoyun
I understand you. My play MJ every sun with my mum, sister, and 1 friend. sometimes is my sister, husband and friend. then my mum will look after bb if maid is off. As for the smoking part when my mum is not playing she will always carrying my bb out near the table and KPO. My sister, husband and friend smokes and we always ask my mum to go away and sometimes she will answer nevermind one lah, all of us are grown up when my dad smokes even my both nieces. My friend will say wow my mum so good one.

I always read in forum that alot of problems with mummies. I always tell myself i very lucky to have my family support. As for my MIL i just go back on weekend just to let her see bb, never like to talk to her much also different living style.

As for hubby, he looks after bb when i not free or not feeling well. but when bb poo he will sure push to me..haha..Last night just went out to have kopi with friend until after midnite and bb was sleeping with maid..

Jia You all mummies!!!

Sorry for the long post.

sigh, i also just had harsh exchange with my hubby this morning.
We stay in SK and his parents stay in hougang, and i think this is the worst mistake i ever made. my parents stay in Jurong. before marriage, he insist got to stay near his parents cos they older.... it never crossed my mind to think in another way that's if we have babies, we need to stay somewhere we can get help readily...

now with baby, it is only my parents driving up down JE to SK during confinement... without complaints.

my IL, ask them come over like want their lives like that. one period my FIL even boycott my place say bb must go over instead.....

this morning, i ask my huby, can they be more considerate and ocme over instead.... cos over there, because their windows are all closed, smelly with the dirty dogs, and dog hair all over.... even if the dog urine or pooh on the floor, my SIL will just wipe with those old calendar paper then that's it!! how to put bb on the floor?????

no place to latch, cos SIL says cannot use their rooms.... can only use my hubby's room which is now occupied by his hateful aunt (the aunt tat gives me tons of problems during confinement)....

so end up always watch tv there, eat the da bao food then let IL play with her a while then bye....

but hubby can never understand....

Berry
I can tell you i have a friend that dont smoke or drink all his life and he got cancer at the age of 29yr old. He was suffering for 1yr in hospital and he pass away at the age of 30yrs. I always tell myself no matter what you do if the time is up you have no choice. My grandma have been smoking for so many years and she still around she 90yrs old now, still very strong can scold people everyday.

Winnie
Understand how you feel. I will not let dogs go near my bb or bring bb to my sis house cause she has a husky and japanese spitiz there. Husky's fur always drop.

I think you have to come clear with your hubby. I havent got a house but we intend to get a resale one near my parents in Bt batok and my MIL stays at CCK. my maid will be the one looking after bb in the day so its more convinent for us to stay at Bt batok. My Hubby agree after i explained to him why. I told him straight that his mum only want to play with bb and when bb crys she will rtn to us.

jac, hmmm for me, its about not being able to deny science and facts that has been proven medically? Just because there are a few people out there with exceptional health that is able to take daily smoking w/o it having visible ill effects on their health doesnt mean that this applies to the majority. And if your friend (the guy who had cancer at 29yo) had been a heavy smoker and drinker for a long time, he might have passed on even way earlier. I personally feel that just because we cant help our natural state of health doesnt mean that abusing it will not make a difference, u know what I mean? But of cos, what I say here is what I think personally, not that everyone should think this way or do the same thing or even agree with me. I mean, we are all different right? I was just sharing my own thoughts and thinking out loud. Not meaning to impose on or offend anyone. So my apologies if I accidentally did so.

Berry
My 29yrs old friend dont smoke or drink at all. Understand what you mean its just that the more concern you are always will have problem. so let things be natural, just prevent.

happybee,
read ur blog, hee, ur gal's expression very cute (esp the before cut hair one)
My boy going to be botak this sun, hope he wun cry. By the way, is it a custom to shave eyebrows as well? I a bit bu she de to shave his eyebrows le.

p1nk1e,
there is a thread for bbs with eczema: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/362952.html?1212073831, can seek advice there. my boy also has eczema on his face, PD prescribed desowen (mild steriod cream) but i try not to use often. As advised by one of the mummies in that thread, i use physiogel to moisturise his face and gaia moisturiser for hands and legs.

Winnie,
same like you, i don't really like my bb to be at my ILs place esp over the weekends. My ILs are nice people but their 3-room flat very old and very packed with old boxes/stuff etc and so many nieces and nephews running ard the place over the weekends, very rowdy). So what i do is to occasionally jio my MIL out to go shopping/gai gai with us over the weekends. At least considered i 'visited' my ILs and yet dun have to be at their home.

Winnie, understand how you feel. I also chose to stay near my ILs when buying resale flat last time. Hubby didn't insist but I wanted to make use of $40k HDB grant so die die must stay near to 1 set of parents. Also, because I saw how my cousin had to shuttle between her Pasir Ris home and my ummarried auntie (babysitter)'s home everyday who looks after her baby. End up she moved into my auntie's house. :p During my confinement, my mum doesn't come often cos she said she stays further away at bedok res compared to my MIL who is 5 mins walk away. In a way, it's good that i chose to stay near ILs cos my parents are much older so can't help with baby. My mum can only play or carry baby, dun know how to feed, put her to sleep, change diapers or bathe the baby so when I bring baby over to her place, I'm more tired cos still got to look after on my own. :p

Kitsune
Same here when i go back to my MIL house i have to look after myself. And my MIL is always out and come back late around 11+ then she will come in to my room when bb is sleeping and try to wake my bb up. Then one day i got so pissed off i scold my hubby saying that his mum always disturb bb when she sleeping whose going to look after later? Then the next week when my MIL try to wake my bb my hubby scold her infront of me.

Kelly, sure, you sms me lar at my new HP number. I'll go down and get from you.

Xiaoyun, ya lor, they are nice people lar, super patient with my baby. Even more patient than me sometimes. But still everyone's parenting style is different, theirs is old school. Want baby to sleep in sarong, don't bring her out at night, cannot go swimming, travelling too early. Etc etc. Which I'm all resisting for now cos it's my baby after all. Hee. ;)

Jac, hubby and I are 'sian xiao ren, hou jun zi'. We tell everyone, if you wake her up, then it's your responsibility to soothe her. Hee. :p

Winnie, oh ya, some old people are like that especially traditional chinese men, more chauvisnistic. My dad ah, from the time my baby born until now, he only visited her at my home twice hor. Once when she was 2 weeks plus old and the second time when she doing full month. My mum will keep coming but my dad won't even when my brother drives. I think the reason is because they think their 'bei4 fen4' higher than the baby plus they are old already so they feel we should bring the baby to them instead as a form of respect. :p

tute,
I still have many glass bottles which I want to clear them away. FOC. Btw I'm selling the sealing caps with sealing disc. You interested to get them? I don't have metal caps as throw them away. They get rusty.

XiaoYun,
Did QooSan get in touch with you? Abit complicated but I don't want to risk losing in mail. Trf the funds for CB Wash already.
12 Jun 2008 10:13 AM
To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 XiaoYun CB Wash
Amount S$1.91
Transaction Reference 1751034956

Nursing wrap
Anybody interested to take over my Chocolate colour nursing wrap? As it seemed I can't latch on. *Sad*

Nursing Top
I have quite a few of nursing tops to let go cheaply as well. So worn a few times, I have 2pcs brand new too. Bought them at $30++.

Thankful, maybe can still try? You may not have latch her when you busy with work but you've latched her for several months so far, maybe she'll remember if you keep trying.
Can't help you with the wrap, I also have one chocolate, not used yet too. :p