(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Jac,

hwa xia more expensive. The mambo baby bp as mentioned by Bkk is cheaper and the float is more interesting with the bells inside. Think Mambo also sell swimming tub etc together with the float as a set.

If i dun remember wrongly, hwa xia float is around $30. I bought from mambo baby only around $20.

qingling.. 6 feeds of BM is a lot.. think my baby only drinks 6 times in 24 hrs too.. Is that ok??

BX/garfield/bkkgal.. i drink coffee almost everyday too cant do w/o.. sometimes 2 x a day.. but my baby poos every day somemore on time one.. between 10 am to 12 pm.. usually.But i think the caffeine thing may depend oon babies to babies.. think my baby pretty ued to it since i drink kopi even when preggie but drank less. Hehe.. yester i offered a few sips of kopi to my ger.. a bit bitter but she seems to like it..

Re: Poo

My ger poo very watery nowades dunno why.. but she got no diarrhoea leh.. cause only poo max 2 x a day.. any baby's poo watery still?? Or should it be solid like adults liao??

jeannie,
each time ur ger drink how much? my ger oso drink abt 6 to 7 times, each time abt 125ml. sometimes cannot finish.

Very sad.... My gal don't want to latch on anymore. Cry till tears drop also don't want. *SAD* Disappointed... Why I keep pumping out when I can't feed her direct. Thinking of giving bf....

jac - the hwa xia sells the whole set for 130plus (or less) i tink..my fren just bought..

jeannie - sorry i meant 4 times BM, 2 times FM. also 6-7 per 24hrs. She drinking 140-150ml now.

Thankful.. dun think that way leh.. like that i even more upset... i have been BF since Day 1 but have always been pumping.. she doesnt even want to latch since she turn 1 month.. and during 1 st month she only latch 5 mins each time then cry for milk.. Somemore i TBF now but all pumped, but i still continue cause since i can provide for her i will do it lor.. feel taht at least i am like her mummy.. this is something that other pp cant do.. eg.. grandparents. Perhaps.. its just this few daes lah.. somtimes they have their moods.. try again when she is sleeping i think she will latch on again.

BTW, no offence to those not BF, i think its fine.. it definitely doesnt mean u r lesser as a mummy!!

Wah.. qingling.. ur ger can drink quite a bit hor.. BX.. my ger drinks abt 110-120 ml.. but hor.. she can take 1 hr to finish them lor.. super not attentice now.. use her tongue to push teat out.. look around.. try to talk.. or sometimes just let milk flow out of her mouth...very difficult to feed her one.. she will drink half 1st then half hr later drink hald again..

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them yest at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

bkkgal
i also dun think coffee will affect bb poo poo. me too drink coffee everyday and bb's poo pattern still varies.

jeannie
u let ur ger ger sip on coffee ah? my gal alwys gian our coffee/tea. even let her try those thick thick kopitiam coffee w/o milk or sugar, she also drinks. me trying to stop her from doing so else become coffee addict. she's still so young. if older, i dun mind her drinking.

thankful
i understand how you feel. last time my gal also doesn't want to latch on anymore 1 to 2 mths after I went back to work. think she's so used to bottle that she rejected me. was rather upset then but soon got over it. so i just continue to pump and feed her ebm loh. at least she still get to drink my milk milk. dun give up, k?

jac
that's the adv of doing marketing job, can shop while out for marketing. keke. happy shopping

Any1 here interested in buying the fridge-to-go?

It's a insulated bag for storing breastmilk after w pump it out in the office so tat the milk can last (10 to 12hrs) till we reach home.

I got it at the expo bb fair yest at a bundle set, comes with a extra small bag for storing 1 milk bottle (can last 4 to 5hrs)

I got the set og the big bag + small bag at $60. Tang selling $54 for the big bag & $18 for the small bag.

Selling coz my sis going to pass me her old 1 coz she is weaning her gal soon.

Interested, pls email me :

i gt BN avent teats size 3 and 4 for sale.
just received from spree. need to sell cuz using b-free bottles and teats.

2 BN avent teats size 4
1 BN avent teats size 3

unopened, still in seal.

selling at 5$ each pair.
PM me if keen.

Jeannie,

How did u manage to be TBF purely on pumping?? I stopped breast feeding cos my girl simply cannot latch and I tried to purely pump instead but then the milk supply was simply miserable in just a matter of days.

jeannie,
Cos I won't be having next one anymore. So this is so call final liao. So very sad can't latch on. Number 1 totally expressed out. So I enjoy latching my gal now. Now she don't want to latch on so very sad. Due to blocked duct and I was extremely busy for the past month so I did not latch on. My gal can drink 150ml every 2hrly in the day and sleep at 10pm till next 7am depending on last feeding time. Is intake too much?

stephie,
so you did not try to latch her on already? Think bb will forget what they learnt and used to bottle feed leh. Cos BF need strength and effort to drink. Bottle just nibble and milk come out. Feeling frustrated also. Sigh... I enjoy the feeling of latching on leh. I want to have a strong bond with my gal.

re baby doesn't want to latch,
i'm not sure if arielle is also showing signs of weaning off the breast. since mid last week, each nursing session is like a wrestling match. she will be squirming, kicking, yanking her head back. but i very firm lor, put up with the pain and just continue "forcing" her to feed from the breast. she will usually calm down after a while.

when she was younger, about 2 - 3 weeks, i also experienced such behaviour. at that time, we suspected it's due to the smell from the herbs after i do my massage. she was ok after i stopped the massage.

not sure what is causing it this time round. maybe she also prefers the bottle due quicker flow that's why so impatient at the breast

thankful,
i know what you mean re enjoying the feeling of latch on. me too...i wanna latch on for as long as possible. the feeling is so magical. jia you okie? maybe it's temporary only. keep trying and dun give up - baby may accept eventually!

Stephie
Haha thats my job. everyday go see same cilent also bored. Cilent see me everyweek also bored. so do market research lor. Furthermore boss outstation this week,lagi no govt...haha

GSS is here and i would like to check which retailer should I go for good and affordable watch?? any brand will do. any recommendation? Am buying for my brother. thanks

thankful
i did try many many times but she just didn't want to latch. think it was becos sometimes i reach my mum's plc late and she alr had her milk. so on certain days, i didn't latch her at all. so as day passes, she's getting more and more use to bottle feeding instead of latching. so this time round, i make sure i latch my boy at least once a day during weekday and fully latch him on weekends since i started work.

jeannie - i agree now feed our bb is more difficult now cos they are getting more alert and curious. they keep fidgeting, kicking, even push the bottle away..aiyo..she can smile to you when she finish around 70% of her milk...then the last 30% she will take ages to drink..but nowadays she dun ususally finish everything..always use her lips to push out the teat..always wasting my BM..sigh..

my bb sometimes drink 130, sometimes 150..aiyo..hard to predict..haha..so i give maybe 130 if the feed before she had 150..etc..minus plus minus plus a bit..if not very wasteful

re: latching - i latch her occasionally..not fixed schedule..depending if i haven't pump yet and she wants to drink..but somehow i feel she very lazy to suck cos breast always feel not empty after she drink..and she doesn't seem to be full.hmmm..but i still like the bonding during latching.

re: feeding interval
may i know for those whose giving breast milk, how's your baby's feeding interval now ? i'm still giving every 3 hours but thinking of stretching coz he hardly cries for meals every 3 hours so i think he's not hungry yet...any tips to extend feeding interval ? do you normally take cue from bb or feed the baby more then extend ?

re: bottle rejection...
yup2...from 2nd month till now my son still doesn't like drinking from bottle i.e. he only drinks 40-50ml or at most 80-90ml. but i try not to worry coz at least he's drinking and only feeding him 3x during the day via bottle so he will tank up at night + morning. since i start giving him bottle regularly he has been waking up more at night (up to 2-3 times)...but then i dun mind lah, i'd rather wake up more at night knowing he has enough to drink...

at times he does cry when i offer him teat when he's hungry + sleepy...and i'll have no choice to direct feed (somehow this happens more during weekends)...during weekdays i'll try very hard not to direct feed him. i also notice that it's easier to feed him late afternoon via bottle (maybe coz he's super hungry and have no choice ?)

btw, i read that if bb reject bottle...dun direct latch straightaway as this will prolong the rejection... (i know it's easier said than done coz for me i dun have the heart to leave my bb crying there so if he cries i'll direct feed straightaway)

garfield
me too enjoy the latching session. will look at shawn and sayang him. but sometimes when i'm v sleepy, will just doze off as he latch. haha.

Reading all you mummies trying to hard at breastfeeding put me to shame.

I feel sad and guilty at times that I gave up and did not persist.

Jia you all mummies. I see my colleague, older kid around 4 to 5 already, younger one ard 1 plus still breastfeeding both kids! Very Pei fu you all.

-tute - bb waking 2-3 times a night, whew, u working? me only need to pump at 11pm and 6am in the night i already deprived of sleep. luckily my gal can sleep from 930pm to 630am...else i tink i no need to work liao..everyday yawn at the workstation..

thankful
can understand how you feel. last time, my gal refused to latch on after abt 13 mth of latching on... felt so lost 'cos of her rejection.
if your bb refused to latch on, just express out and feed bah. there are always other ways to bond with our bb.

re: milk intake
my boy taking 170ml every 3 hrs for 4 times. then morning when he wakes up, night before he sleeps will latch him. i think when latch on, he doesn't take 170ml each time...

apple
dun feel that way. if giving up makes both you and baby feel happier, then it should be a better decision. cos it can be quite frustrating/demoralising to cope with handling a new baby (esp for 1st time mummy) and fighting the obstacle of bfdg. i've heard of cases where mummies feel more happy after giving up on bfg and that was really when they could enjoy their time with bb rather than having headache over bfg.

wow, ur colleague super leh. bf till 4 - 5 yrs. i think i'll stop at 1.5 yrs - 2 yrs at most.

Hi Stephie,

You are very kind.Makes me feel better. Ya loh, really pei fu my colleague also.

By the way, u mummies supplement with FM too? Just want to know when u prepare the FM, say preparing a 150ML feed which is 2.5 scoop of powder, do u put in water first (150Ml) then put in the powder? Or put in the powder first, then pour water till its 150ml?

stephie,
hee hee me too! will sayang arielle...play with her fingers and stroke her body. but when she's in a naughty mood i will also lightly spank her backside

apple,
dun feel sad. lots more to parenting other than BF. can also bond in other ways too!

qingling,
i haven't start working yet...will start next month. eventhough my son wakes up 2-3 times but since i latch on during night feeds and i use the side lying position so i can sleep while feeding plus he only latch for 5-10 min only...so not too tiring
looking on the positive side, this actually helps to maintain my milk supply since i only pump at 6am, 12pm and 5pm during the day without latching...i'm also the lazy type lah, never pump at night...too tiring...so i rely on night latching...

stephie/garfield,
i also love latching on my son...feel so close to him...but like stephie night time will sometime doze off...hahaha...

happymum2b,
just read the archive posts...hope ervin's doing better...u take care also...think you've been through so much in such short period...

apple
for my gal, i'll put in the required amt of water first followed by milk powder

garfield
haha..i also play with shawn's fingers. sometimes put his little hand on my bra/chest. then he'll either hold on to my bra or rest his hand on my chest :p

Hi bx, tute, h@ppymum2b, apple79,

Thanks for your concern. Danica is doing better but still has a slight cough. I called the PD yesterday and she told me to increase the cough mixture intake by 0.5 ml. Hopefully she will get will soon cause quite heart pain to see her little body wrecked by the coughs.

Hi blueginger,

Wow! Your baby reaction so good. Danica also makes noise when she watches BabyTV (Starhub Digital Cable). Haha... I find that she is so absorbed by the bright colours even though some of the programmes have no apparent plot.

Hi apple79,

I replied your PM.

Hi h@ppymum2be,

Hope that Erwin is doing better. Not sure if you want to get him on multi-vitamins to help boost his general health. That time dorothy bought a bottle from me. She said her daughter likes it. Erwin so young, 1 day take 1 only. 1 bottle can last 8 weeks.

- http://products.usana.com/bin/sg_usanimals.pdf
- http://products.usana.com/en/products/sg/essentials/usanimals.shtml

I also intend to let Danica take after she is 13 months old. In the mean time, will continue TBF.

RE : menses

I also have not gotten mine yet. I also only get to pump 4 times a day but I breastfeed Danica at 7 and 11 p.m. so total 6 times output.

RE : Weekend activity

I normally spend Saturdays at home with HB and Danica. Sometimes, we will go window shopping or walk in the park. Sundays normally also at home then evening go my PIL's place for dinner and let them play with Danica.

RE : feeding

Danica is drinking 6 times a day about 150ml each time. Am I feeding her too much? :p She is 5.7kg now.

Hi Thankful,

Maybe it's a phase? You keep trying, don't give up okay? Danica sometimes also refuse to latch on. I just keep trying and don't give in to her cries. Now she knows, if I offer the breast that is all she is getting until she has taken her fill. :p My HB say I very dictorial.

Hi jeannie,

Danica also likes to push the teat out with her tongue, talk or smile. I take it that she needs a break. So I burp her, try again, if she doesn't want then change her and try again. If she still doesn't want I will try again 30 minutes later if not throw away liao. But normally first time she will left 1 to 2 ounces.

RE : baby poo

Danica still poos 2 - 4 times a day. Is this considered diahorrea?

RE : feeding interval

I am trying to stretch her feeds to 4 hourly so planning to increase 15 minutes between every week. Sunday, she was still used to the 3 hourly feed so woke up at her regular timing for milk but I just walk around with her and distract her then the actual timing then feed her. :p My HB said I am baby torturer. But Monday onwards she get used to it and don't complain as much already :D

RE : maid issue

My actual maid is finally here! Will be taking 3 days leave to train her properly. Hopefully this one can make it one. <keep>

RE : www.thedreambag.co.uk

Not sure if any mummies here interested to get a dream bag. After observing Danica throwing off her blanket even though she is swaddled, my HB finally let me buy. My ang mo boss coming 30 June so I will be getting him to bring back for me (read: no shipping cost). If get 2 or more got 10% discount. I setting the exchange rate at 2.75.

1. Artemis 1.0 Tog Flutterbyes - 6-18m £15.99 (15.99 x 2.75 = S$43.97)

Anyone interested to join me?

Oops... super long post again. Sorry

RE : sleeping through the night

Since Danica was 2 months and 2 weeks, she had been sleeping through from 8 plus to 5 or 6 plus. But since I started working, she struggles to keep awake till 9 plus and talks, smiles at me. Hard to be firm with her when she like that but have to if not I can't go pump, bath and have some couple time with my HB.

RE : pumping

I only pump at 5 a.m., 9 a.m., 1 p.m. and 9 or 10 p.m. (depending on when Danica sleeps). I want to direct latch during weekends but have to train maid these few weeks so did not get a chance.

Hi apple79,

I saw your email on the Baby Einstein DVDs. Later transfer to you okay? Now have to finish up my documentation for meeting in the afternoon.

Garfield: Thanks too for consoling me

Stephie: I also think that should be the right way, otherwise the feed will be too concentrated. (Mother and MIL put powder then follow by water) We have been making the feed in the wrong way!

Atermis sounds like a very strict mummy. :p

thankfull wow ur ger drinks quite a bit.. thats good.. i wish she can drink more.

artemis i thinking of getting the bio omega thingy.. the one that increase the hind milk.. hehe.. wanna "pump" her up before i stop breast feeding.

apple79.. agreee w stephie and garfield.. dun need stress urself.. else u will be an unhappy mummy.. i only pump leh.. but i think pumping helps to maintain supply too.. my supply only comes in when baby was abt 6 weeks old.. it was quite a "torturous" process during my baby's 1 st month i was upset w no milk.. and my hubby has to help me Squeeze out the milk!! Every drip was so precious.. thats why now i dun bear to throw milk away.. i even drank my own milk when i was in taipei for holiday at 1 month ago.:p

re: dreambag

i have one here to sell.
let me know if u are interested.
1.0 Tog under the sea. selling at $38
for 6mths to 18mths
1479088.jpg

re:latching
stephie/garfield, i too love to latch my boi. he will look at me when latching. sometimes, he will rest his hand on my breast. Love the moment.
these days, i will latch him in the mid of the night.

apple,
jiayou for the next one.. for me, this maybe the last pregnancy, that y i tong til so long. durig my gal's time, i only bf for a month

i just call hwa xia to check the price for the tub and float set. without training session is $118 with training session is $128. they have 3 sizes for the tub, Small up to 6mths, medium up to 1yr and large for 1yr onwards. they dont have stock right now the stock will only come in next week.