(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Garfield9,

Wow A is so slim! At first Danica has also been latching 8 times a day. But since I introduced EBM, this has slowly reduced to 6 - 7 times with 3.5 to 4 hours interval from start of last feed. Somemore these 2 days she has not been waking for her night feeds and by the time she wakes at 6 a.m., her mouth so dry can see cracks. So worried that she is not taking enough but not sure if I should be waking her up to latch.

RE : Pooping

Oh I see. So it will naturally reduce? But once in 4 - 5 days is still normal? :p Can't imagine myself doing that. Sure super grumpy one. A is okay with that?

garfield, yaG is not drink <600ml a day

ya should be >7kg now.
the majority intake came from night feed

re:LSS
Cheryl, U LSS queen!!! hahaha

cheryl,
u shave his head? for the "islands" on his scalp, u put J&amp;J oil then massage. after that u peel off gently. very shiok wan.

pumping at work
i read from earlier posts that some of u r getting sterilising tablets? is it for sterilising ur pump at ur workplace?

cheryl, ya loh.
sigh. supposed to give him jab this coming week. might wan to delay it.

bx, ya.
i got sterilising tablet to sterilise my pump in office. i got them at $6 for 32 tablet(brand = pigeon)

Hi Artemis,
Yes A is on the slim side =) i believe the calories get burnt up due to her very active kicking in the day. her average weight gain is about 200g a week which is ideal for my PD.

If D doesn't wake up for night feeds, means that she's getting enough calories then. no need to worry. you're feeding her 120ml x 6 or 7 which is between 720ml and 840ml. should be sufficient.

re poo - dunno leh, A seems rather well. her appetite is still good, doesn't fuss more than usual, sleeps pretty ok. maybe babies really are like that hor...i still can't quite come to terms with it though. so wish she would poo more frequently!!

dor,
if G is sitll gaining weight steadily then it should be ok. try to get him weighed? i understand that all babies go thru this phase of drinking less, and they resume their normal amount shortly. can understand your concern. it's just like A's poo issue...PD keeps saying ok but i can't help worrying!

cheryl,
very nice pic of vernon!!

dor,
how r u going to use it? can briefly describe? i starting work on mon.very nervous.

intially was told can use the computer lab. but the key to the lab is kept by a male lab tech. how to approach him every 4 hours to get the key? tell him i wanna pump milk? or say i wanna check the computers? he sure think i siao...

bx,
just tell him once - that you need to use the lab every 4 hours and have your supervisor's approval. dun need to give reason one =)

dor/tute

my boy only takes at most 75-80ml every 3 hrly and he only takes 6 feeds so all in all only 450 -480ml a day. Been using NUk teat... duno if changing teat will help.

bx,
i bet if you tell him you need a room to pump your breastmilk he'll be too embarassed to ask you any further questions ;)

piglettail,
could it be the particular tin of FF that maybe not so good anymore so making bb LS?

garfield,
better not to give laxatives.. one friend's bb didn't poo for 10 days (he was on similac) then the PD didn't really give laxative but more like flushing the colon. not sure of the details but it sure doesn't sound good!!

Piglettail
I wanted to get the Allerhand Black Tote from Robison's Centrepoint. Saw it a month ago...Quite a few left. But I got the Allerhand backpack instead so that Hubby can carry also. So far I love the backpack. Esp when I put baby in his carseat, I do not have to worry my tote will swing down and hit baby...almost happened a few times with my totes.

xiaoyun,
think u have missed my post earlier on. i was asking u if u pour boiling water into ur mug then bring out for heating ebm or u put water in thermal flask. when u need to heat the ebm, u pour into the mug to heat up.
u get what i mean?
kao_shy.gif

bx,
sorry, i really missed ur post.
i've not used the lunch jar yet. don't know if it can keep the water hot. I hope that it can be like a thermal flask.
my intention is the put boiling water into the lunch jar, when needed just put the bottle with ebm inside to heat up.

i am going to JL this Tuesday morning to get the Zojirushi lunch jar. will ask the sales person before buying.
will let you know if i can do it this way, ok?

Iang.. my ger also does not take a lot.. at most 100 ml every 2.5-3 hrs now.

Artemis dun worry.. ur ger is taking enuff.. mine takes lesser than u.. she is 10 weeks now and weighs abt 6 kg i think.

Re: cutting baby thumb.
Aiyoh.. artemis.. i think i will cry too when i see her cry.. I can understand must be so heartpain.. even now ehwn she suddenly wails fr no reason like very sad like thta i also feel like crying cause scared she got a fright. DUn worry she will not remember one .. but next time be careful k

Bx.. so fast u starting work already.. all the best.. Hehe.

DOr/ Happymum u all not working yet? got extended leave?

Yeh.. so happy.. My ON stuffs arrived.. w happymum. will collect it tmr..

Re: LSS
Cheryl.. must control leh dun buy so much

Re: online spree
GArfield/tute.. i also tabulated mine.. sian.. think i bought more things for her than i bought for myself during these 2 months.. But the consolation is dun need to buy in future lor.. hopefully.. cause i bought a lot of stuffs for 6-12 months.

I never buy for myself.. cause no point lah.. still out of shape.. i juat wanna fir into my old clothes!!

Re: taipei trip

I am going taipei next week.. anything that i should buy home?? Any recommendations like beauty products or accessories that i must buy?? anybody needs to buy anything?

Any places that i die die must go?

twtw
i find tat getting a diaper bag is abt personal preferences. i've 3kids n i've been looking around for donkey years for a diaper bag but i cant find 1 which i fancy.

i like allerhand bags but i find them heavy. i like oioi bags but it's pricey. i like LSS but no shape so things can get messy until i learned how 2 organise it. i like skip hop too but cant find a physical bag 2 touch &amp; feel. 4 my husband, when he brings e boys out, he uses a backpack (no brand type) n juz dumps everything in.

mayb u like 2 head out 2 taka, mothercare, tangs &amp; robinsons 2 try, touch &amp; feel. a gd suggestion 4 u. if u c something u fancy, put all ur contents into e new bag, carry it around n c if u like it, can tahan e weight n check out e practicality (eg when e bb cries, is it easy 4 u 2 quickly grab wat u want?)

i did tat wif a allerhand bag at mothercare but e bag too heavy 4 me so i ended up not buying.

re: baby's weight
stella weighs abt 5.9kg last mon. her weight gain is abt 150g per wk. i did raise a concern wif e GP b4 but he said tat a bb shld reach 2x their birth weight at 6mths, 3x their birth weight at 1yrs old so he concluded tat my girl's doing alright.

garfield
if stella's my firstborn, i'll b fretting abt her poo frequency too. i was like tis wif gabe, my eldest son but i've learned 2 relac wif her. easy 4 me 2 say so but i know it's hard 4 u. mayb if u dun expect her 2 poo so often, she'll surprise u?

artemis, bkkgal
i can totally understand how u feel. i cut stella's right index finger last sat. she cried until no sound n e finger kept bleeding. being a 3rd time mum, i was so frightened, hugged her closely, quickly shouted for my helper 2 get e medicated solution (e yellow solution). i didnt sob but i kept scolding myself for tis silly mistake. while holding my girl, i also apologised 2 her nonstop.

i also cut my 2nd son's finger when he was a few mths old. so history repeats itself. sigh!

piglettail/thankful,
will keep u gals informed if i open another spree ok..

dor,
my gal oso drink lesser lately.. hope it's just a phase and she will revert back to normal..

jeannie,
same as ur gal, my gal oso drink abt 100ml every 2.5/3 hrly.. but recently, she dun finished her milk.. sigh..
i start work on 12 May, took full 12 weeks ML tis round..

xiaoyun,
the dress from kohls v nice.. u gg to organise a spree for tat ?

jeannie,
sigh, my son is down wif flu.. had runny nose &amp; cough.. thought can invite u to stay longer at my hse.. but better not now as i dun wan my son to pass the virus to ur gal.. My son has already passed it to my gal, nw she has runny nose.. sigh..
so i will just pass u the ON items tml and we catch up with each other more next time ok ?

bx

i use the Thermos brand food jug to heat up ebm when outside. but i dun pour hot water in..cos will leak even when capped on..hot water is pour in from a hot water flask into the food jug then put in the bottle of ebm. maybe other brand food jug may not leak if u pour hot water in and take out....hee.. with the food jug, it warms up better then in a cup..since it can keep the water warm longer but sometimes also have to change hot water twice to heat the ebm

xiaoyun
the clothes are nice!!!

vernon
your bb so cute. sleep so soundly.

dor
my boy also drink lesser. after he drinks, i still can feel that my breast is not emptied by him. but when i gv EBM to him, he can finish 125ml leh and can ask for milk less than 2 hrs... i dont' know if my ss is better liao or he normally doesn't drink much if latch on.

re: diaper bag
i didn't buy a proper diaper bag. i bought adidas sling bag. it's light. and with lots of compartments/pocket. serve me quite well.

happymum
talk about returning to work. i am going back to work on 28 may. feel so sian. and need to do some 'handover' thingy to my mil so that she can cope with 2 after i rtn to work. seeing my boy getting cuter and cuter everyday, making me sad when think of going back to work. *sigh* how i wish financially i can afford to be SAHM...

btw, when you started to buy stuff from ON, did you encounter any problem abt the credit card? i heard that ON usually want a credit card which is registered using USA address. is it true? how you manage to order from ON?

xiaoyun,
ok, no prob. do let me know. i have a Tiger lunch jar. I tried putting hot water in. After a few hours the hot water cooled down alot. so it can't be use to contain water to heat ebm.

qingling,
thanks. most likely i will try ur method. but how do u bring the chilled ebm out? do u put it in a cooler bag with ice pack?

jeannie,
ya going back liao. sianzz. first day of work bringing exam paper home to mark liao.

garfield,
re:G gaining weight.
the last time, 2 fri ago, i think he is abt 7kg cos i sling him n weighed us at airport luggage weight machine.

bx
re:sterilising tablet
direction for use
1)wash the bottles/pump
2)fully dissolves 1 tablet to 2.3L of cold or lukewarm water in a non-metallic container
3)imerse items to be sterilized completely in the solution, leaving no air bubbles trapped inside any of the items
4)keep all items immersed in the solution for at least 30mins b4 using or until the next feed.
5)remove items from solution with clean hands or sterilization tongs. no rinsing req.
6)fill bottles imed with new feed.
7)the soloution can be re-used within 24hrs

i plan to use only half tablet. bought a 1.9L lock &amp; lock to put the solution.

Hmm, maybe u can just tell yr male colik that u need to use the lab every 4 hourly. if he ask, then tell him that u need to express milk.

genice,
ya. supposed to start work on 28th april but extend til 07/05. gg to work on thurs.

re:ss
last 2 days was veri worried that ss dropped. today managed to get 220-240ml with every 5 hrs interval!

genice
re:tw trip
thanks for the offer. no lah.. u go n enjoy yrself w hb... be careful hor... skali u be the first one in our thread to be preggie again!!!my shopping list veri veri long one

re:what to do/buy!!!
must go hot spring n eat!!!!

dor,
thanks for the info. mon i am going to be thick-skin. chuan2 dao4 qiao2 tou2 zhi4 ran2 zhi2.

re: ss
220-240ml good leh. u started eating ur goat's rue?

bx, np.
at least u got lab to use.
me will do in toilet.

re:ss
sigh... my ss siao siao one... prior to today result. only managed to express 120-160ml.
re:goat rue
i stopped for a while as i try not to depend too much of it.

bx, eh u know hor, a gf told me- when she was a new mom and wanted to pump milk in office, she went to tell the guy who has the key to spare room she needs the key. He asked her for what, so she replied to pump milk. And he asked "har? what milk?" And she replied "breast milk la!" and he asked "huh? pump then do what? how to pump?!" LOL...
so she told him "u quickly get married and have kids then your wife will show you!" hahaha..

jeannie, my hairdresser happens to be from taipei, and today when I was having a haircut we happened to chat about taipei, she told me that everytime she goes back, sure will stock up on tons of masks cause its half the prices here, those sasa types. So if you are keen on those masks, maybe can stock up too lol.

kelly, yar man, I still have not found my holy grail diaper bag, I think I give up liao lol. Nvm lar, v fast stella and gene will be 2yo liao, then no need diaper bag! hehe I think we both know how fast time flies right by, we'll be celebrating our kiddos' FOUR year old bd this year, amazing huh.

jeannie,
you don't need to buy new clothes? so lucky!!! i've had to spend about $400 buying essentials and bare minimum....dun intend to buy more if i can help it!!

kelly,
thks for the assurance. i'll try not to worry too much!

happy,
the kohl domestic shipping has base charge for each additional items. bo hua buy from them le. does anyone knows where can find similar clothes?

I have about 60 packs of frozen EBM to give as my son dun take much and my fridge has run out of space. The 1st pack is dated 13/3/08. As i really dun have space would appreciate those who are interested to pick them up ASAP. Pls Pm me if you are interested.

xiao yun
what do you mean by base charge for each additional item? meaning every item ordered got base charge? i thought base charge for additional batch of order...

sunny,
sorry, it's base charge of 6.95 for 1st item. each additional item is 1.5 extra.
paiseh.. make ppl confuse. type with 1 hand while latching my gal. :p

BX.. u still have to mark?? luckily i going back after marking day.. hehe.. return papers liao.. but think i have to go thru lor.

Happy.. i going work one day after u.. SO everyone m,ore or less started work liao..

Garfield..not that i dun need to buy but i wann save money leh.. cause spend too much liao. and i dun want to buy cause later will think that i can fit into the clothes and lose motivation to diet.

Dor.. dun scared me lor.. i will not get preg so fast one lah.. at least 2 yrs later..I think i just focus or eating there!! hehe

Berry.. so i should just buy more masks lah.. thanks k..actually think clothes quite chepa there but now i cant fit in also.

Re: online sprees
OMG.. for the past 3 days.. when i open my letter box.. i kept seeing the stuffs that i bought from sprees all in brown envelope.. when my hubby sees.. he also shakes his head.. i also feel quite shocked.. since when did i order so many pieces.I think G really got too many clothes liao. I will stop buying liao.. enuff..