(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: supplements
i've some pre-pregnancy supplements lying in my drawer, don't know if we can take now as we are bfing.
they are:
(1) pearl powder
(2) flaxseed oil
(3) evening primrose oil

anyone knows?

re: travelling
although i am not travelling, i found info for travelling and breastfeeding accidentally:
http://www.mymomsbest.com/travelling.htm

some of the info is applicable for us who are going to pump at work too.

• How to sterilise the breast pump while travelling?

You only need to sterilise once or twice a day when you are in the hotel. Here’s how:
1. Sterilising tablet. You can use the sterilising tablet and soak the pump & accessories in the small cooler box.
2. Boiling. Ask the hotel for big electric kettle, big enough for you to put in the pump and boil it.
3. Anti-bacteria wipe. You can clean the pump with the anti-bacteria wipe from Medela, specially designed for cleaning the pump with no water and followed by soaking in hot water in the small cooler box.

• How to transport the EBM from foreign country back to home?
Before checking out, you’ll need to remove the frozen EBM from the freezer and wrap EBM individually with paper towel (or old newspaper / document paper). Then, line the large cooler box with ice bricks (available from Coleman which can be cut into shape / size of your cooler box). Line a thick cloth towel around the ice bricks, and put in the wrapped frozen EBM. Cover the EBM with another layer of thick towel and add more ice on top of the towel to fill in the space. The ice can be easily obtained from the hotel/restaurant.

Don’t put the chilled / fresh EBM together with the frozen EBM as this will thaw the frozen ones. You can put the small cooler box (with chilled / fresh EBM) inside the large one (with frozen EBM) so they are separated but you only have one cooler box to carry.

Try to negotiate to allow carrying the cooler box as your hand luggage. Usually they will allow upon knowing you have ice in the cooler box, as they don’t want to risk wetting / messing the other luggage. This way, you can remove the ice water and add more ice to the box while you are flying.

xiaoyun, transfer done!

To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 xiaoyun
Amount S$36.44
Transaction Reference 1679548791

thanks for the link abt express when overseas

bx, come.. we go Dawson for lunch?

garfield, ya loh. already good to witness ourselves

bkkgal: i know what you mean! my boy's poo is very smelly because of formula, but when it comes i'm always very happy. so, almost want to faint from the smell but happy at the same time. haha.

re cranky:
what kind of crankiness do your bbs have? mine has been crying like he want to die like that, mostly in the evenings and very hard to calm. but minutes after calming he can start to laugh already. sometimes i wonder what's going on!! heh.

Just want to check how much does your baby drinks now? My boy is a valentine baby taking S26 drinking about 4oz. Please advise is that the correct because he has been taking that amount for quite some time.

Kylie

Xiao Yun,
I can trf to you either on sun or mon. Hope ok on your side. Will try to trf asap.

jeannie,
You were sitting beside h@ppymum2b on the sofa right? I have not receive any reply via email from you. So you check on your side already? Still want the Pigeon fridge-to-go bag?

Garfield,
Valerie managed to flip to her right and left side when she lying on her back. Surprised that she's fast to learn to flip to her side compare to No.1

Diaper size
What size your darling wearing? Mine going to outgrown size S due to her thigh...

Milk intake
My girl drinking 125ml already. How much yours taking? Dare not increase too much.

thankful

my son is wearing ntuc m size and petpet m size already.... s is too small....

he is drinking 150-160ml but tis few day he cant seem to finish his milk

my girl born 15 feb. now wearing size S for bother GOO.N and pampers Baby Dry. I do find that the Pampers cutting is abit small for her thigh while GOON is much better.

if mamy poko wasn't so exp...i'd stick to it.

my girl also flipping to her right and left randomly. dunno if it's an acquired thing or just random.

re: Hubby..

recently i been having bad back...so my chiropractor adviced not to carry baby so much. my hub no choice but to take over...cuz at first i was going to go back to my mum's and after i said that he said he can help after he finish his work...

so past 3 nights, he has been taking more active role in looking after baby. he almost always wanna throw her over to me when she cries but i have to keep encouraging him and he manages to calm her mostly and put her to sleep even.

thing is when my girl cries, she sound like slaughtering pig like that. damn jialat one so he gets damn stressed and flustered. but i keep reminding him to be calm..then he managed to 'do it'. but still, his first alternative is always to 'pass to me'.

kylie
my bb is born 1 day after val's. she's taking abt 110ml per feed. been this amt for some time too. i expect next growth spurt to be at 3 mths.

Xiaoyun, no lar, me not very successful yet. Tried using the sling again today at ILs house, only managed to walk from living room to kitchen before she started fussing but even then I needed to hold her back & head cos not resting well on the padded area. Think either the sling is too big, or she's too small or worse, I ordered the wrong size. :p

bkkgal, need to get more breast pads liao. Back to full day work next week so hubby can pick me up and we can pop by your mum's place after work. I get 2 boxes from you ok?

Hi Garfield9,

My HB is also like that so I report his behaviour to his Mum and she scolds him. :p

RE: Bi-Omega 3

I purchase it at autoship price of S$36 from USANA as I am a distributor. I have been taking this with Essentials (multi vitamins) and Active Calcium throughout my pregnancy and even now cause I want my breastmilk to be nutritious without me having to eat a lot of nutritious but tasteless food :p. I think I have them to thank for a smooth pregnancy. No morning sickness, high blood, diabetes etc.

Danica was only 2.69 kg after she left the hospital but at 6 weeks she was already 4.6 kg. Her PD said she was slightly above the 50% for her age plus her neck is very strong. She can hold her head up and look here and there herself at 2 weeks. :)

If anyone is interested, I can help to purchase at distributor price.

re:milk intake,
yesterday tried giving the bottle to my son once and he only drank 85ml eventhough his previous feed was 3 hours before and then he refuse to drink anymore...sigh...today will try again...

re:sling,
i also feel a bit tight, i try putting baby in when he was asleep and he seems comfortable in the sling but can hear his breath was heavier...not sure if this is because he was cramped inside or not...i think pouch sling is meant to be body hugging (looking at the video that xiao yun put)

but then biggest problem i don't think i can put my baby in the sling by myself, hb helped me yesterday. i dun think i got enough strength to hold baby with 1 arm...then when i try taking him out of the sling also very hard (think bcoz my big boobs was in the way)...so i'll prob only use it in emergency and stick with sarong sling at home..

jeannie,
my son bend his feed automatically when we put in the pouch sling..

lezy,
i know the slaughtering pig type of crying...my son does it too especially when he is a)super hungry or b)super sleepy...or worse combi of both...think gotta train hb to be immune to the wailing...

bx,
u teaching at the school beside dawson ? i used to stay around there...but have since move :p

shall we update this?
<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB wt</TD><TD>Deliver Type</TD><TD># of kids </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Grumpus</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.86kg</TD><TD>c-sec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Mini</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.160kg</TD><TD>natural w epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Linda</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Cheyenne</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Kitsune</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>RaeAnne</TD><TD>3.255kg</TD><TD>natural w epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Stella</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>natural w epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jess_Yew</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javier</TD><TD>3.085kg</TD><TD>c-sec with epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Vernon</TD><TD>3.1kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Cuclainne</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.98kg</TD><TD>c-sec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Maruko ting</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nigel</TD><TD>3.14kg</TD><TD>emg c-sec with epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Casa</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Andre</TD><TD>2.985kg</TD><TD>natural w epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Hweiz</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Arianne</TD><TD>3.49kg</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Tong</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.33kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Tubao</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Emma</TD><TD>2.98kg</TD><TD>natural w epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Ade</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Jaena</TD><TD>3.490kg</TD><TD>natural w epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Stephie</TD><TD>31-Jan</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.805kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Krisci</TD><TD>31-Jan</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Ariel</TD><TD>2.77kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>vine_gal</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Julian</TD><TD>3.015kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Moi_dar</TD><TD>1-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dwayne</TD><TD>3.155kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Julie Lim</TD><TD>2-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Raymus</TD><TD>2.880kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Dorothy</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Gervaise Isaiah</TD><TD>3.750kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Yen</TD><TD>4-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.4kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>June</TD><TD>5-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Jerome</TD><TD>3.365kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Leila</TD><TD>8-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Leonard</TD><TD>3.15kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Garfield</TD><TD>9-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.090kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Thankful</TD><TD>10-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Valerie</TD><TD>3.375kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Eliaw</TD><TD>10-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Carter</TD><TD>3.04kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>skk</TD><TD>12-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.1kg</TD><TD>natural w aid of gas </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>babyhope</TD><TD>12-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.020kg</TD><TD>emg c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Blueginger</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Janeth</TD><TD>3.66kg</TD><TD>emerg c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Baby_yun</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.188kg</TD><TD>natural </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Bkkgal</TD><TD>15-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Kate</TD><TD>2.3kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>bx</TD><TD>15-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Ashlynn</TD><TD>2.95kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Piglettail</TD><TD>16-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Apple79</TD><TD>16-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w ep</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Snowbelle</TD><TD>17-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Elise</TD><TD>3.495kg</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>happymum2b</TD><TD>18-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Erlene</TD><TD>3.185kg</TD><TD>spinal c- sec</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Sunny</TD><TD>27-Feb</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>YZ</TD><TD>3.03kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>Doink</TD><TD>28-Feb</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>natural w/o epi</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>toyzlogy</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Loinky</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Hana</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Starry70</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Esther</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>Bluewind</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Xuan</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>Tute</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>Xiao Yun</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>Emoments</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>49</TD><TD>RoyalBlue</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>50</TD><TD>sc</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>51</TD><TD>jac</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>52</TD><TD>Genice</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>53</TD><TD>Jaslyn</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>54</TD><TD>sweetpea</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>55</TD><TD>meep</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>56</TD><TD>Panggou</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>57</TD><TD>Artemis</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>58</TD><TD>Fairfield</TD><TD></TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>59</TD><TD>HappyBee</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>60</TD><TD>Purplecurlz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>61</TD><TD>Eileen</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>62</TD><TD>Yvonne tan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>63</TD><TD>Mimi</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>64</TD><TD>Juddy</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>65</TD><TD>Cin29</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

could i know what milk you are feeding your bb now?

TBF
1. sunny

Partial BF

FM

hi garfield,
"saw" u at the CK romper BP..

just to let u know, for the CK romper i ordered 3-6 mths and it is slightly long for my gal now..
saw u order 6-9 mth, u plan to keep for future or let A wear now ?
fyi, my gal was 5.1kg &amp; 58cm at 8 weeks.. She is nw 10 weeks..
Wat's A's length ? If she's taller, then u can get the bigger size for her lor..
Oh, the quality of the CK romper is good..

bkkgal, yaloh wish there are more pple like dat man. There was once my mum was standing in the mrt n had to carry my 3yo gal whose slping. No one gave up their seat.

re: pouch sling, based on feedback fr mummies here, seems like its quite diff to use. Then oso hv prob wif size being 2 big or sml. Hope it wun become anothr white elephant 4 me :p

Kitsune
Another mommy reserved 2 boxes of breastpads liao. I have one box left, do you want?

Pouch sling
yeah, i find it quite difficult to sling too. my gal doesn't seem to like it much. everytime i try she will fuss. lucky never buy the expensive one from US.

lezy, bx, our bbs same bday!

help!

my boy is not drinking milk these 2 days! he is not drinking but kept talking and giggling. so we tried not to talk to him . and he took so long to finish the milk. only about half or more his usual consumption.

when i latch him he drinks ( though i dont know how much he drinks). but with bottle he kept pushing the teat out. it couldnt be that he is rejecting the bottle becuase i bottle fed him since first day he was born till today. he is 3 month old today.

Do i need to bring him to PD??

tongtong - my boy the same! but it's been more than 2 days, maybe a week like that. and he cries if you keep trying to give him the bottle. he's been partial BF so not sure if he wants BM or it's because i change FM and made him confused. at first i can just entertain him a while then eventually he will finish it but now he will just start to cry. and like yesterday he can go from 11am to 5pm with drinking only about 20ml at 3pm.

haiz!

if you hear of any solutions, please share!

bkkgal, okie, no problem, I'll take 1 box then. I'll PM you my hp no, please sms me so that we can discuss collection.

Hppymum2b, where's the CK romper BP? Closed or not? ;)

I just ordered more ampoules from BP, found it not bad, esp the face ones. Nowadays, not much time to go for facial, so buy and use at home. Pamper myself a bit. Hee.

wah.. happymum and dor.. buy leg warmers hor!! hehe

u din buy from kidzcottage?? I bought 3 liao.. so cannot buy anymore.. but really very nice leh..

hppy, which ampoules did you buy? This time, besides DNA, I'm trying firming, purifying, mandarine but I never try these 3 before. Don't know good or not. Hee. ;)

Thanks, saw it but CK gal rompers not much variety, will pass this round.

jeannie,
i try to go to the kidzcottage link u provided but dunno where to look for the leg warmers leh..

or can u provide the link here again ? thks..

jeannie,
Oh, i tried again &amp; saw the leg warmers liao.. but like not much designs available.. the ones u got for ur ger v nice.. :p

wah.. u buy so much.. ur hubby never complain har.. hehe

Xiaoyun.. thanks for the info.. very usefull.. but u noe where to buy sterilizing tablets??

Hi mummies... Anyone know where i can get a good buy for desitin. Is so expensive. I am using this cream very often because baby skin is very prone to redness..

I notice some mummies here always pump out their milk at a very short interval ( 1-2hrs)After pumping still have milk for baby to latch on? the milk that is pump out is meant for the baby or storage purpose? If it is for storage purpose will baby get enough feed the next round?

Thank you for the advices

hi kirsten,
another alternative is that you can check out the spree thread in the forum or even the WTS as some of the spree organiser normally have excess when doing spree/bp...
here's one link :
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/1278359.html?1209132308

happymum2b,
yeah, the collection from kidzcottage now is really limited so not so nice... :p

iso/tongtong,
same here...am trying to re-intro bottle to my son again after putting him off for a week and he will drink only 40-50ml and after that he will cry... not sure if i pick up wrong cue or if he is upset bcoz after drinking that much he gets sleepy and can't control flow from bottle...haiz...but when he latches, he will latch for 5 min and happily release...though i dunno how much he's drinking... but i will just have to be persistent and keep offering him the bottle once a day and see how...

Re: Type of Milk

TBF
1. sunny

Partial BF
1. bx / similac
2. garfield9 / isomil
3. dor11 / similac

FM

Bx, beside dawson got school meh?
u mean towards orchard direction huh?
so next time can jio me go redhill mkt also/

genice, heehee...

iso/tongtong/tute
My boy oso rejectg bottle recently. Cry n cry like we r giving him poison. refused to drink even tho v hungry. See him so ke lian, in d end jus latch him on. N he happily drink. Hope it's jz a phase else my mum wil hv a hard time when i rtn 2 work.

re:bp pouch sling
my mum tried hers already. ok, but i dun like the design. prefer my littlepod.
mummies, let me know if u need any help on the sling.

stephie/tute:

i use avent bottles at my mum's place and pigeon (standard and wide, tall and short, all got, haha) at my own place (which is also my ILs), but same problem, so i dun think it's the bottles. already using no.2 teat for avent and M/Y for pigeon also.

i wonder whether stomach pain? but if it is then when latch on should be pain also right? haiz.

at least a bit comforting that a few bbs going through the same. really hope it's a phase...

Re: Type of Milk

TBF
1. sunny

Partial BF
1. bx / similac
2. garfield9 / isomil
3. dor11 / similac

FM
1. leila / Nan 1ha

hi xiao yun, thks for organising batch #2 as well.
Hopefully can go thru'...

mommies
I rem at one point (abt bb 2 mths old) a lot of mommies were saying that bbs' appetites were decreasing. Did their appetites pick up exponentially after that? I ask becos last 2 weeks, my bb's appetite went down alot and then suddenly today, I latched her 30 minutes both sides and she wanted some more. So I gave her another 100 ml and she FINISHED ALL UP! She is swinging from extremes, so scary. Last week, drink 40-50 ml and then dun wan anymore. Today, suddenly drink so much. Anyone else noticed the same?