(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
ur baby very active leh...i can only get my boy to lie in cot on his own max 10 min and i gotta turn his musical mobile on...

tongtong,
i dun burp my son at night anymore for a couple of reasons...sometimes i overslept ( i feed with sleeping position) then if i burp he'll be wide awake so his sleep will be interrupted. actually in the what to expect book, they recommend if bb fell asleep during feed then no need to wake bb up for burping coz that means they are comfortable such that they can sleep...

bx,
agree with garfield, avent warmer quite fast... when i heat up milk directly from fridge it will take 3-4 min...

jeannie/bx, my boy's face still got red patches la. now i wont bother to apply doc's cream and only apply normal lotion, see whether it can heal by itself or not. i have bot calendula cream to try out and see whether it's effective. still waiting for the post. my boy's face suddenly flared up and i suspected that it was due to my durian intake. Mmm..

bx: i got the same problem as u too cuz i'm using tollyjoy warmer which takes some time to warm up. when bb is impatient waiting for milk. so i latched him on. but i realised it's not good cuz my flow too big for him to handle and he always choked and vomitted the milk out. so now i will let him cry and rushed to warm the milk.while waiting for the milk will carry and pacify him. but he normally cries even louder and wakes everyone up. bobian.

tute,
ya lor - very active hor. even PD commented that she is very alert for her age and advised me not to leave her unattended even for 1 second unless she is safe in a cot.

bx,
my experience with avent bottle is that it only takes 4mins to heat up leh, even if i take it out straight from fridge.

but if your shou3 jiao3 kuai4, then you can utilize the 2mins that warmer takes to heat up to measure and pour out milk. dun need to prepare beforehand.

garfield/tute, thks for the feedback for the avent warmer. will pester hubby to get it.

tong, same as u. while waiting for the ebm to warm up, i try to pacify my bb. pat her, give her pacfier... if she manage to fall asleep, i will use the time to pump milk. wah, ur flow good. my bb will never choke on my flow. u lucky girl.

i tried the calendula cream for a few days. not bad. non greasy. mild on the skin. but now i using dr lily's aloe vera gel given by a friend. if it is good i will continue using. if not, i will use back the calendula cream.

i wonder when the bumps/red patches will go away. it makes me very conscious of the food i eat.

jeannie,
my bb sleeps around 10:30pm. then she wakes up at 5-6am. after which is 2 hr interval until 8-9pm. I will then change her, wipe her body, massage her, give her top-up feed, wipe her tongue. she will then sleep at about 1030 pm.

vine,
i meant was 'effective' not 'sufficient'. typo. :p

re: night feed
only feed when he cries.

re: diaper change
i dont change unless he wakes up for feed.

tongtong
he got sleep. these 2 days, he can sleep from 8+/9pm+ to 4am+. considered sleep thru? i hope he can stretch to 5am+ or 6am. then, this will coincide with my waking time when i start work. *cross finger*
i tried to wake him up at 11pm to feed one more time and see if he can sleep till 6am. but, he's too sleepy to drink any.

xiaoyun
wow... your bb's sleeping pattern is good!

sunny,
yours 8/9 till 4 is the same as mine 10 till 5/6.

vine,
thought that's effective for you because you want to buy somemore..
my ss drops recently too because i was sick last weekend. 1 packet, didn't expect to see any effect. later will take one more packet and see how.

hi hi..
talking about sleeping.. my bb just slept 4 hours w/o any milk.. first time he sleeps so much during the day.. was kinda worried n almost wanted to wake him up..

how much is the avent warmer?

vine,
yup. the milk is still with me. freezer is getting less and less space. still would like to give away some. you want? :p

eliaw,
haha.. you also want to give away..

eliaw, xiaoyun,
so envy you have so much that you can give away!!!

i hardly have any excess. trying to set aside 150ml a day to build up a store.

garfield,
my ss not that great. just that i stock up quite a bit when my gal had jaundice last time and she take fm.
since my gal can sleep through at night, now i will pump at midnight to store 1 new packet everyday for future use. probably early may will store 2 packets per day if my ss allows.

cheryl,
how do you want to collect from me? btw, appreciate the exchange of playtex milkbag + clips for the milk as i stored the milk this way.

hey xiaoyun and eliaw i dun mind getting from you ladies but you have enuff for your bb or not? Cos if you are going back to work scare that your ss might not be enuff.

wah milk bath for bb so sa yang!! I wish i have excess haha

vine,
i can give a few packets -- probably 10. I am reorganising my freezer. now freezing the bags lying flat. so, would like to clear the stocks which are standing. hopefully will still be sufficient for my girl after work.
i've got a friend with lots of ebm too, just throw away 6L. would you like me to help to contact her?

xiaoyun no prb i will take 10 pkts from u. May I know which mth the ebm is?

wah why yr friend throw away!!!! actually if they have excess they can post it up on forum cos some of the mummies want ebm from other mummies. But dun mind asking yr friend's health ok hor? Hopefully she dun stay too far away if not i got prb travelling.

dor,
here's the pic.
the standing icecream box is trying to hold the stacked up frozen ebm.

vine,
the ebm in the blue color icecream box is the stock that i am trying to clear.
1361150.jpg

cheryl,
i think vine already reserved my stock. vine, confirm?

vine,
let me contact my friend how much stock she can give you.

btw, my frozen ebm to clear is from 29 Feb and early March.

Pigeon Warmer

bx: I use pigeon warmer to heat up ebm from fridge at 40degree will need about 12 mins if 70 degree will be like 4 mins. But normally I will prepare ebm earlier to feed my boi. I will turn to 40 degree and slowly heat the ebm cos this way the heat will not destroy any nutrient and not too hot for bb to feed. The pigeon warmer will have instruction like how long and the temperature to heat up ebm or food taking out from fridge or from room temperature.

Xiaoyun, I confirm with Cheryl. You may let her have the ebm first.

Vinegal, I've been heating up EBM in a cup of hot water from my Tiger electric pot. Is it too hot? Will it destroy nutrients? I have a new pigeon bottle warmer that is unused. Problem is my gal is super impatient when it comes to feeding so 12 mins of hearing her scream is very long.

Hi xiao yun,

jus logged in after a long long time and so envious to knw that u ladies have excess milk ss. If u happen to knw anyone wanna give away EBM again, m interested too cos I am on medication now and have to stop breast feeding
so, ah boi on total formula liao....

Kitsune sometimes i also use hot water to warm up the ebm but i think shd be fine ba as the hot water will cool down. However, for warmer the temperature will be like constant loh. Why not prepare the ebm earlier for your girl? The warmer is really useful! My mum and I also prepared like one hr or half an hr earlier at about 40 degree for my boi so when he cry for milk we will pop into his mouth immediately. haha

yeah, glad got mummies don't mind taking my ebm.. i go n do stock check first.. so now i pass to vine huh?

thanks for the info on the warmer.. i'll go check it out..

kitsune, i also worried about the temperature of the heating.. so tot maybe get a warmer to control the temperature will be better..

previously when i was pumping every 3-4 hr i have stored quite a bit.. now i only pump twice a day.. but luckily still got enough to feed.. plus occassionally get to freeze some excess..
since supply already established, i tot don't really need to keep all the frozen ebm.. bb drink fresh is better..

Vinegal, my gal will drink halfway then don't want to drink. My MIL lets her sleep for a while before making her finish the rest. Heated EBM supposed to throw away after 1 hr according to KK LC. If I use warmer and heat up early, I'm left with only 30mins to make her finish the milk, very stressed leh. :p

vine gal, also dropping my order on the book since there's no discount.. then think i'll go down to kino or borders to get it myself when i'm in town.. thank you anyway for helping to check out the prices and availability..

SECRETS OF THE BABY WHISPERER
Getting from Kino @ $26.03 after discount @$20.82 (Big Version)

1)Vine_gal
2)happymum2b
3)dor11
4)goodbbb
5)kitsune_sg

Baby whisperer solves all your problems
Getting from Kino @ $28.48 after discount @$22.78 (Big Version)

1)bkk
2) dor
3) vinegal