(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: babyleg warmer...
kidzcottage having sale for $10, maybe you gals can check out

cheryl,
my boy have it too and pd asked us to go for cardio scan with a heart specialist. seems like quite common for babies and can be quite harmless. for my son's case we need to go for another checkup when he's 6 mths old to see if any changes...

re: goat's rue

hello mummies, have your goat's rue taken effect yet? i hope mine has becos my last pump is 150ml but its like after 6 hours of not pumping..but even so, this is my first time yielding so much..dam happy. but the average is now at least 110 ml which is wat my gal is drinking now..so at least i can TBF.."i think i am too milk targeted oriented..haha..a bit crazy"

Kelly, thanks for hosting us today. Your 'kong ba' pao very good leh, can give me recipe?

Starry, kidz cottage also babylegs but fewer designs. Since, it's nearly half price, I'll be ordering from them if they have the designs I wanted.

happybee, most mothers here use medela pump i think or the avent.

I am using the medela mini electric and the medela swing, which i feel is just as good. Medela mini is noisy but pump is good. Medela swing has 2 phase expression, and is less noisy.

re: babylegs
i order from kidscottage le!! hee..so means mcfluffy can drop my orders?

kitsune
i dunno how 2 give u receipe cos i agar agar add in e seasonings. i cook again then i take note of e amt of seasonings then i share wif u can?

re gathering: wasn't able to attend cos am sick, so did not want to pass the germs ard to the babies. hope we have another chance to meet up again

<font color="aa00aa"><u>1st Feb '08 Mummies &amp; Babies gathering at kelly's place</u></font>

kelly,
many thanks for the hospitality &amp; the yummy food u hv prepared for us.. It was fun &amp; enjoyable..

some bb pics taken..

1353776.jpg

L-R: Gervaise, Stella, Carter, Erlene

1353777.jpg

Erlene: Gwen, dun sleep.. quick, open ur eyes.. let's take picture..

hi all.. the pictures are so cute

was at a friend's daughter's 1yr birthday party yesterday.. kids really grow very fast.. esp when you only get to see them once every other month..and when they're around 1.5-3yrs old I think they really go through a growth spurt.. i'm always very amazed when i see how fast all my friends' children are growing up! ;)
i've started taking the goat's rue yest after i got betty to come.. dont know is it the goat's rue or her massage (though not much lah).. manage to increase speed of flow now.. can pump abt 100ml in abt half hr..

happy,
have you paid yokogi already? she will send it to you first then we get the clips from you?
please let me have your account number to transfer you the fund.

xiaoyun,
no, i hv not paid her.. waiting for her to confirm our order 1st..
will keep u &amp; garfield posted of any further status..

happy
re: cradle cap
i remembered your post about removing cradle cap on your gal's head for 1hr right? is she still having it after that? my gal's one seems to be getting more and shes losing her hair on her front fore head.. seeing those crusts on her head make me so "kek-sim" i tried to use baby oil and remove them but still some stubborn ones cannot be removed! then again, my gal doesnt allow me to touch her head for long!! how did you manage to use 1hr to remove for your bb?

babies pic
somehow my gal looks like baby Gwen. whose baby is that =P the gathering seems fun!

kelly, no problem!

next time sure join u all for gathering.
the babies look so adorable!!

dor, gervaise is the biggest in size among all isit?

happy, erlene's eyes very pretty

jeannie, gwen is chubby!! look at her legs....

i wanted to take the goat rue, but i am not sure how many to take... should i take together with the fenugreek?

And all, a very impt message.... I have been to the individual swim place (quoted in one or the earlier message, but I wont name the place here...) for baby massage... And I have to say, it sucks.... thus, I dont think the swimming is good too...

why it sucks:
1. There are 2 china ladies in the shop.... and when i walked in, one of them just put on the robe to do the massage. totally very unprofessional place. (of course this is personal opinion)

2. My dad says one of the ladies is still using her finger to dig her toes on a chair before entertaining us ( I did not see, else wont let baby try liao)

3. They just have a towel on the bed to do a massage, and the towel looks like it has not been changed for long :p personal opinion. thus I insist them to put baby on my swaddle wrap instead.

4. NOt skillful, personal opinion too..... and there is once she throw baby head backwards without holding well.

5. It is an open place, the place is not enclosed as a shop... thus, though they dont on air con, they used the mall centralised air con.... worried that baby will be cold, but the person assured that massage will make baby hot... but during massage, she keeps commenting my baby legs and hands are so cold, feel cold... end of it, baby sneezing liao....

3. By right it should be swim before massage, but they are very pushy, keep askin me to let her swim AFTER the massage and ask me to get the Avent Massage Gel.... very pushy.

4. And truly speaking, on a sunday noon, there is no biz when I went :p personal opinion, thus i dont think it is that great.

5. Most imptly, dont go there to cut hair, we saw the person sweep the floor with the broom then use the broom to sweep the chair for baby to sit on for hair cut!!!!

Happybee, I am using Avent PUmp, So far I think it is very good. just taht the spare parts are not readily available.... need to get from Philips Showroom

Winnie,
OMG!!!!!! Sounds very gross!!!! Thanks for highlighting. I think i know which place you are referring to. Hai, nowadays there are Chinese nationals all over the place. I had personal experience too, at the food court. So super unhygiencie can faint. What to do....govt encouraging foreign labour.

Re goat's rue. I'm taking 1 capsule 4x daily so total 4 capsules, which is the recommended dosage. I know some mommies are taking 6 capsules daily cos 4 don't work for them. Maybe you can start with 4 and if no effect then increase? Cos i think if the dosage too high and milk ss increases too drastically, will risk engorgement and blocked ducts. very painful and troublesome then....slow and steady better.

feeding schedule,
my gal has developed cluster feeding habits. very scary, but yet very cute. i call her cookie monster now haha...her schedule is something like this:

7am - latch 30mins
9am - latch 60mins + 110ml EBM or FM
12pm - 110ml EBM
3pm - 110ml EBM
6pm - 110ml EBM
7pm - latch 30mins
8pm - 110ml EBM or FM
3am - 110ml EBM

baby can tahan 7 hr stretch from 8pm to 3am without drinking. so she makes up for it by drinking A LOT from 6 to 8pm in the evening, and also 7 - 9am in the morning. rest of the day, it's a "more normal" 2.5-3hr feeding interval.

initially didn't notice, so a bit worried how come she has insatiable appetite one. can drink soooooooo much within a 2 to 3 hr window.

Re: Gathering yday

Kelly, thanks for hosting us yesterday. yup, your kong bak pau is very nice. my girl likes it a lot (usually she doesn't want to eat but yday she kept asking me to get more kong bak for her!). she likes your cookies too. ate quite a few pieces. heehee.

too bad we came late, shawn couldn't join in the bb photo shot. next time bah.

nice to meet all the mummies yday. hope we can have another round of gathering soon.

garfield, thanks, then i beter start slow, once a day one capsule first hehee.

Touch wood, but intially i also think my girl drinking too much and worry that i cant pump fast enough.... but hor, later when she goes on hunger strike i told myself i should not have think that way in the first place... can drink is good... the most is to supp with FM..

Winnie,
I had the same concern as you also re not enough BM. Then came to the same conclusion as you - it's good that bb has good appetite, and at most not enough BM then supplement with FM lor =) We try our best to give as much BM as possible, but if really not enough, no harm supplementing one. Less stress for mummy = happy mummy; Enough milk for bb = happy baby! Works out well for everyone

Xiaoyun,
Looks very nice =) I don't mind joining in. Let me go surf surf first.

My gal has a very huge birthmark that covers the entire right foot up to her calf. I'm not sure if it will fade. A bit worried, and wondering if I should get it lasered off or something.

Meanwhile, good idea to let her wear leg warmers to cover it up hee hee.....she can grow up dressing like Japanese kawai gal =P

The other time saw someone posted abt the hairband or something similar for baby gal, wth a big flower design, anyone can recall? Where can i buy?

garfield,
erlene has birthmark too!! at her right forehead.. u can see from the pic.. sigh.. so she has to keep fringe to cover it..
wat colour is the birthmark on ur gal's foot ? mine is dark brown..
during the hospital stay, the PD told mi that birthmark is due to pigmentation and asian babies are more prone to it..
i m oso thinking to have it lasered off when my gal is older..

happy,
is it? i can't see it in the pic. is it very obvious?

my gal's one is like the colour of a bruise. bluish green colour.

did your PD say there's chance of it fading on its own? cos some babies have the mark onn their buttocks but they fade with time.

garfield,
maybe becos from pic u can't see clearly.. but it is v obvious if u see my gal in person..

PD did said that it MAY fade on its own.. hope it will fade off for my gal, otherwise will think of alternatives lor (like laser it off or let her keep fringe)..

happy,
let's pray and hope that the birthmarks WILL FADE for both our gals!

do you know if lasering will be painful or not? i don't mind the expense, only afraid that it will be very painful, then must think twice cos dun wan my gal to suffer lor

garfield,
yes, the best is that the birthmark will fade on its own..
hv yet to do any research on it but i think lasering shd not be painful bah..
if it is, i m sure some form of anesthetic will be given..

re: birthmark
garfield, i think the blueblack can will fade on it's own.
happy, erlene one not too obvious lah. hope will fade with time too.

sorry to barge in here.. but is anyone interested in buying "PAMPERS BABY DRY DIAPERS - S (3-8KG)"?

Im letting go of 4 packets of PAMPERS BABY DRY DIAPERS - S (3-8KG)46 S as my baby can no longer wear S.

Usual selling price at NTUC: $11.90 each

Selling for $38 for 4 packets or $10 per packet

Pls sms me at 96810386 for quick deal.

re: gathering

thanks to kelly for being such a good host! looking forward to future gatherings.. especially when our babies can start to interact, that's when the real fun begins!!

happy,
i bringing my gal to PD for vaccination tmw. i will ask her about the options to remove birthmark and ask her if painful or not. let you know what my PD says

my girl also have birth mark... one bit dot on the right eye lid, and one little patch above her lips below the nose.... It is like reddish... PD says willfade in time.... sometimes it seems to fade, ayoh but when she gets angry and cries, the patch will become obvious....

I also hope it will go off....

that time mymum keeps asking me to recall where I have put a patch of red mark in the house...

cradle cap: do you use baby oil and remove with your hands? cu i dont have a baby comb.

gathering: hopefully there's another one coming up!! hasnt been able to join u all cuz still in msia :p

babyleg: is it to keep bb's leg warm ?what if the weather is very hot?

i'm going crazy.

baby seems to be able to sleep in the new rocker i bought. the problem is - she needs constant rocking. if i stop, she will stir within 5 to 10 mins. so i'm literally GLUED to the rocker hahaha.......

in the meantime, have bought lots of stuff online already cos too bored liao.

latch: i'm very scared to latch my son cuz he always dont know how to stop!! twice already he merlion aiyo. he doesnt have problem with bottle cuz i know how much to give him.but during latch he kept sucking and sucking till vomited all, on his head, on my breast, on his shirt. so messy!

spillmilk: it's my turn to spill my milk while expressing! yesterday was sitting in front of pc, tot the lansinoh bag can stand on its own after i poured in 250ml. when i wanted to transfer some more milk inside, "doom", the bag fell on the floor and spilled into all the wires and the extension sockets!

tong,
your ss so powerful ah...bb can drink until merlion =P maybe just let him latch one side?

the baby whisperer says that you can gauge how much bb is drinking by pumping out and measuring how much each breast yields after X hr interval. then add 30ml to this amount cos baby can get more out of the breast than pump.

sleep on his own: my boy can zz on his own liao(maybe he is older liao) but he will cry until he zz. his cry still ok for us, cuz it's like very pitiful or wanting us to sayang that kind. but he will wake up from his nap after 30 minutes. so for his next nap, when he started to cry for nap we put him face down, and it works, he zz longer!