(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tute: had rec the pymt advice frm doreen, thks!~

kelly: yea had emailed u my address before. maybe u overlooked my email liao. had emailed u again. thx!

bb sleeping on tummy: yyea linda, my boy also zz very well when he zz on tummy, and could skip his meal time. i let him zz facing up for the past 2 ddays but could only last 15 minutes. and ended up having "dark eye circle".. aiks. today gave up and let him zz facing down, can zz for 3 hours straight. he must be catching up with the lack of zz for the past few days.

yo linda, your gal is so pretty and cute!!!!!! after seeing ur gal, so "gian" wanna have bb gal hahah

gathering: i cant make it cuz still in msia la. can go for gathering after May then.

garfield, i use the word pom pom too when wanna bathe my boy hehe. wonder who created these bb words?

cleaning tongue: i used bb's rubber toothbrush to wash tongue, quite useful!

my baby doesn't have a very fixed routine, or feeding schedule...just as I THINK she's settling into some routine for a few days, she will change again the next day! So it confuses me so much that I stop worrying about it...

but so far, there is some consistency...and the great thing is she is starting to "ask for" bathtime. Not that she's crazy about it but she at least doesn't tear the house down while i'm bathing her. If she cries, it's usually after the bath when i'm drying her, putting ru yi oil, etc.

ROUTINE:

7/8am-11am: wake up n feed, bath, play**, pat to sleep
(**play involves me singing and play-acting stuff toys and basically acting like a monkey for dunno how long before she is satisfied. if i'm lucky she will nap from 11 to 12ish/1)

11am - 1pm: either she sleeps...or she will keep waking up every 15-20 minutes and make noise.
this is the start of feeding her 30-60ml per period of waking up...or playing with her...or whatever...

1/2pm: FEED

if i'm lucky, she sleeps. if not, another round of ACTIVITY...

5/6pm: FEED & nap

7/8pm: FEED & wipe-down/bath (depending on whether she's sticky/sweaty)

SOMETIMES...she will make noise from 8pm all the way till 10/11pm...then she will sleep till 3/4am.
SOMETIMES...she will sleep from 9pm till 3am.

After 3/4am..she will wake up every 1.5/2hours...until the next wake-up time of 7/8am.

SCHEDULE:
As you can see....feeding is very random.
Sometimes she can't finish 60ml.
Sometimes she want 120ml.

VERY hard to predict. All the big feeds are not regular (like everyday 1 big feed at a certain time)

So now end up..if i express, i try to put max 60ml in a bottle. If give FM, also give 60ml max at one time. If she need more then i make.

xiaoyun,
no, i hv not received my item.. i ordered baby headband.. din order any clippies yet.. tats y i told garfield if she wan to order, tell mi cos i oso wan to order (the clippies..) hee..

washing tongue:
my girl aso will cry like mad but she lets me do it.

luckyforme...usually she will stop by the time i put her into the tub.

tong,
r u currently in msia ? cos i was thinking of arranging for my hb to collect the milk powder from ur plc tis sat.. so cannot huh..

berry, i was hoping to come out wif a routine so that it is easier for my mil to look after my bb. after my ML, i will be a weekend mum. only bring my bb back home on fri nights. ya, i guess sometimes must be more flexible.

lezy, cannot eat prawns, sotong.. eat fish lor

re: cleaning tongue
I will try using a thinner material. now the washcloth i use quite thick. if still dun work, i try the rubber toothbrush tong mentioned. i have the First Teeth toothpaste that comes with a toothpaste.

Washing Tongue

Mummies: Have to clean bb tongue cos if not they won't really drink the milk cos a thick layer of milk is on their tongue and it will go "sour" and siap siap.

Use a soft hanky to clean their tongue when bathing and it is normal for them to cry cos they dun like it. Cotton wool does not help cos no friction but dun clean too deep in if not they will throw up. Use last finger and wrap with hanky to clean their tongue.

Also after drinking FM or BM can feed them with plain water (abit will do) to "clean" their mouth and tongue.

agreed with vine, feed bb with some plain water can help to "clean" their mouth and tongue..

vine, but my gal dun like water!! the total opposite of my son who LOVES water..
she will take a few sips and frown then refuse to drink anymore.. haha.. sigh..

May u r not the only one, initially my son is ok with plain water but dunno since when he dun really like plain water cos not sweet mah. Whenever drink water he will either cry, stick out with tongue or drink but grumple. haha ( I love the way he grumble)keke

re: washing tounge,
i use soaked sterilised gauze for now and i only use boiled water...coz i think that was what is suggested by parentcraft class. but i cut the gauze into smaller pieces so that it's not to thick, otherwise my bb will choke... my mom also said if we never clean bb's tounge then when u latch on it's painful for ur nipple as well...not sure if true or not...

lezy,
my bb also like yours...just when i thought he's getting into a routine, yest he stayed up till midnight...sigh...the only routine i force on to him is his bathing time.

bx,
me also like lezy...no restriction but eat in moderation for those food that will cause wind.

xiaoyun: er, not sure what first teeth u mean leh?got it from the pd actually when she saw my son's tongue. i din ask for it but she already "prescribed" me that. so i use that to brush his tongue, and maybe later his gum. my boy doesnt cry when i wash his tongue, like very enjoying wor! when iput my finger in he will bite very hard, so me and mum are always laughing when we wash his tongue. just like playing time with him.

happy mum, yea i'm still in msia. yea you can collect from my hubby, he is at home. but not sure whether he is working this saturday. i ask him and let u know again hor.

washing tougue: if use hanky, do you dip in water first or use dry hanky to wipe?

bx
ya, like what berry said, every bb is different. so don't feel bad when your bb has not developed a routine yet.

re: brocolli
i read that it will cause wind. so, better eat in moderation.

re: cleaning tongue
ya, i have not washed my boy's toungue yet after CL has gone. :p

tongtong
my CL would dip the hanky in cool boiled water and wipe.

chinese believe supposedly "poisonous".

chicken can eat..but not rooster i think. so outside chicken u dunno if they sell rooster or hen...so cannot eat!

ROCKER:
anyone has those fisher-price rockers? any comments on the durability n usefulness??
i'm referring to those infant-toddler types.

xiaoyun, if the white coating on tounge cant be removed by wiping, then its prob oral thrush, its a fungal growth. Do ask your PD about it. If it goes untreated, it can linger for v long (up to several months even) and if it worsens, it may cause bb's tounge to be v sore and have difficulty in drinking. Both my kids are quite prone to this, and my DD had a really bad bout that lasted for 2-3 mths. My bb also just about to recover completely from his.

for the tongue, since we were babies, my mum uses a wet gauze,with abitof three rifles glycerine pure for cleaning mouth n ulcers.

Re: cleaning tongue

I used to use hankie and just wet it but after that i realise actually the rubber toothbrush that u can slip onto ur finger is easier to use and its effective. Now my baby tongue quite clean even though i clean it only once every 2 days. I realise when baby drink breast milk.. their tongue cleaner leh.

Re: drink water

My ger drinks water whenever we give,.. cause sometimes i addd gripe water in.. and it becomes sweet just like breast milk so when she's crying in between feeds i will just give her that.

Xiaoyun.. yup.. i used the one that comes with first teeth.

Re: Princessbowbow
Happy mum.. very nice hair band.. but very ex hor!!

Garfield.. my bouncer was passed down but u ca get from any hdb shopss.. even bedok also have.. at bedok central that side.

Re: SHopping
Yar lor.. happmum.. u must update us on any sprees.. cause i also blur one.. Must learn from u leh.. shopping queen!! hehe

jeannie,
re: princessbowbow
haha.. tat spree got 15% discount, tats y i buy.. i oso find abit exp but i like the design..
actually their other items like non-slip clippies are quite nice and not too exp..
so might get some in the next spree provided if still hv discount lah.. :=P

haha, i got hooked on online shopping liao.. die..

yar.. happymum.. just saw it.. i wnna get the baby non slip bows and clips.. Very cute.. but my baby not much hair in front.. and they say guranteed can stay.. dunno true or not..

Actually the hair band u buy very nice also.. u got the white one?? e flowers can be used as clips har??Got this spree must tell us k..

yar lah.. u hor.. amazing man.. got 2 kids still can shop so much online!!

Hey.. update me on the ON thingy k. I got things to buy can lombang.. or if u see any worthwhile spree.. must update us!!

aiyo, don't know because today i brought my boy out and sling him for too long, just now he kept crying and didn't wanna sleep by his own after last feed...

hi garfield and happymum2be,

i m interested in buying the princessbow also,
count me in if there is any future spree!which shop can we purchase the princessbow?buy online cheaper?

hi vine_gal,

SECRETS OF THE BABY WHISPERER
1)Cheryl
2)Vine_gal
3)happymum2b
4)dor11 (help to put her name, think she might be interested too? )
5)goodbbb
6)bx
7)tute
8)jeannie
9)kitsune_sg
10)eliaw

Can give me more details?

Kelly, can PM me about the BB massage/yoga too? Thanks.

Garfield, think most of them have answered your question about bouncer. Mine is similar to what Stephie has except it has wheels.

Bx, my gal also no routine. But I bo chap liao lar, since I'm going back to work soon, let MIL establish her own routine lor. If I set routine, she don't follow also no use. :p

Princessbow very pretty but no discount now is it? :p

hi there mummies

sorry to impose! am from the july 2008 thread and looking for a CL for my 2nd mth (ie august 08 period) ..appreciate if you recently had a great CL experience and could share contact with me. thanks and my email's [email protected]

Hi mummies..i'm frm jan thread.. anyone needs glass bottles n plastic caps to store bm..i got alot wanna sell off.. some caps are still BN, while e rest all lightly used.. interested pls email me at [email protected]

may i know where do you buy those toothbrush to clean the tongue pls???

I am now hiding in the room, cos hope by not letting bb see me, she can accept bottle feed....

Anyone of you having problem to wean off bb from the breast???

read in magazine that we are supposed to avoid perfume when breastfeeding... anybody knows if not supposed to use at all or as long as we don't spray near breast area it's ok ?

tongtong
u asked abt shushpat? it's just saying "shh..shh..' to bb n patting her to calm her down.

routine
it may work 4 some bbs but not 4 others. so dun stress abt it, eventually will fall into some sort of rhythm.

constipation
i didn't know abt massaging bb stomach. will try today. was so desperate yday, i took some lactulose (i oso hv bn having probs, dunno whether it affected bb). anyway, lactulose may hv filtered thru bm, half day later, bb poo poo.

kitsune
i'll give u e info later when i return but e class is full liao.

eileen popped by my plc ytd 2 collect e goat's rue n saw how big my living room is. she also agreed tat my living room can accomodate 6bbs max for everyone to b comfy.

mayb u 1 2 wait for e next term (after 8sessions) 2 c if any1 drops out. if e prog is gd, i'll continue 4 stella.

tute, i totally avoid wearing perfume now.

kitsune, i oso agree with u my mil will not follow the routine i set. most of the time she doesn't really listen to me.

re: 1st Feb mummies gathering
anyone's hubby joining?

tute,
i totally avoid perfume. read somewhere that bb are sensitives to them. also if u direct latch on, it might turn bb off...

there was an occasion whereby my church mate carried my boi, she was on strong perfume, my boi turned cranky. so when he was passed to another person(guy), he was ok...

Tute, me also totally avoid perfume now. As dor was mentioning BB have super sensitive nose and they do not like the smell of perfume.

Actually right now we also have perfume that is bb natural smell on our body! keke =)

hey Kitsune

saw u asking about the lilypadz in the jan thread..r u getting them? i m interested too..let me know if u come across a spree