(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

mummies who are interested in sewing, here's instruction on sewing a pouch sling.

http://www.ida.net/users/stace/sling.html

am very tempted to try doing that leh...

dor,
please keep me updated on the order, ok? haven't decide want to sew it or not. if need to order urgently, then include me to enjoy the offer.
btw, the sewing seems very easy. can you please let me have a look at your sling next Monday? I probably can make one for you too? :p

tute,
interested to join us also?

dor
i'm interested too. getting quite fed up with my mim sling.

xiaoyun
wish i was talented in sewing. it'd be nice to sew your own unique pouch.

Garfield, Betty came for home visit today. Good news, she said what I have on the left breast is not a breast lump but where the milk is being produced (think it's called a lobe). Bad news is she said my left side does have fewer milk ducts, so BB not happy with slow flow after a while. Finally, someone else see how my BB scream, shake head and come off nipple. She had to calm BB down 3 times during the short BF session. Told LC, that's why I prefer to express. Latch on, must fight with my gal, somemore never empty my breasts, end up I got to pump some more. Waste time and effort. :p Anyway, this LC ask me to start following my work schedule to pump liao cos I'm only left with 2 weeks before going back to work. Trying out now, hope my SS won't be affected. :p

Oh ya, so Oscar the grouch saw Betty too. Betty mentioned an Eileen but I didn't know who. ;)

Vinegal, bkkgal, talk about ampoules, I still got more than half of face and slimming ampoules left. Should have used more when CL is around. Now that it's only my MIL helping out, I have to be more involved, no time to maintain my looks, everytime forget to put. Sigh.

sweetpea,
yes i will be taking cab if i m going to the Ikea gathering on Mon.. Now not confirm if I m gg cos my son is having fever and I hope he will recover by Mon. Otherwise I will not hv the mood to bring my gal out to the Ikea gathering..
I have also PM u..

dor,
if i cant make it to the ikea gathering, pls help me collect the goat rue hor.. thks..

bkkgal,
for my 1st maid, she will sit down & watch TV after she has completed her work at ard 8pm plus.. but sometimes she sat to watch earlier & there are work that has not been completed, then my hb will tell her off.. for my current maid, she dun watch TV. Even after she has completed her work for the day and it's not 10pm (her bedtime) yet, she will find things to do which made us very impressed..

re: pouch sling
i hv a Lucky Baby pouch sling to let go.
Exactly as per the link :-
http://www.lucky-baby.com/p_product_details.asp?cID=5&pID=76&prod=ASHER%20-%20SALE
Size: L
Pls PM me if any of u r interested..

Dor/Xiaoyun, I'm also checking out the pouch sling. Are you thinking of getting single or double layer? Do you think we can bf with this sling? I have a cotton MIM sling from my colleague but it seems very warm, tried once but BB didn't really like it. :p

yipy
my boy is now 6 wk. during the 1st mth, he also woke up every 2 hr. hang in there, i believe our bb's sleeping pattern would get better and better.

winnie
try to sling your bb after feed, that's when the bb is more settled. last time when i slinged my gal 1st few times, she cried like mad, the whole face turned red. so, i slinged her after feed, she's ok. from there onwards, she loved being slinged and carried around.
then for my boy, when i slinged him, he would struggle 'cos he can't do any stretching, but when i sling, i sweet talk and sing song to him, once he's inside, he fell asleep immediately. haha....

xiao yun
need to practice and practice, then you would get the hold on how to adjust the sling. when you adjust, pull the portion of the cloth upwards then pull down. hmm... not sure if you know what i mean. next week i would be going to town, if you happen to b there, i can show you how i sling my boy.

RE: MIM sling

I also struggled a few times to get it "right". Up to now still not sure if it's "right" but I managed to sling Danica on a few occasions and she slept for 3-4 while inside the sling.

But hor... I not sure if I do wrongly or it's a design issue with the sling. Even though Danica is quite light in terms of weight, the sling still can loosen even though I double fold the ends and tuck beside the rings as indicated in the DVD. Erm... Can someone advise? Cause I have to adjust at least twice within the 3-4 hour period if not Danica will be slung below my waist and quite strenous on my back.

RE: sleeping patterns

Danica does not have a fixed sleeping pattern yet. Sometimes she wakes up only once a night, sometimes 3 times a night, sometimes night totally don't want to sleep. Record is 11 p.m. all the way until 6 a.m. Totally zombie after that. :p

RE: anger at baby

I sometimes get angry at Danica also and shout out for her to be quiet when she keeps crying even though she has been fed / changed / soothed / massaged / rubbed with ru yi oil on tummy. Then immediately I feel so guilty plus she give me a very shocked look and cry more pitifully. Wah... So I decided that getting angry was utterly futile :p I just take many, many deep breaths and try again.

Hi dorothy,

Just curious... If the pouch sling no need to adjust, how to ensure tightness? Even with the MIM sling I have phobia of baby falling down.

Hi Qoosan,

I have also experienced shivering. It happened when I bei tahan the hot weather and switched on air con to sleep. :p So far throughout my confinement, I experienced thrice but can't say for sure what caused it as 1 time I only on fan also like that. Maybe like Garfield9 said it's cause never pu enough. Now I everyday drink 1 chicken essense on top of everything else I eat. Aches and pains, I think someone already answered you on it. I think the epidural is short term relief, long term ache. :p But at that time really bei tahan liao so bo bian ask for it. My HB keep teasing me because of this.

XiaoYun, ayoh there is no need for apology.... i just feel very blur on how to use it heheee.

Ok count down, 10 more days before my heartless hubby comes back....

I think take chicken essense is impt, i have been taking since the first day of confinement... finish all those people give hehee

One thing to share, mine is a crying baby... and a relative makes the remarks that cos hubby and I are both horses, so have a rat kid is clash.... so more difficult to handle.... wonder if it is true... she cries so often and so hard to handle....

wow Xiaoyun, do let us know if u succeed in sewing..looks cool if u can sew the sling..maybe i ask me mum if she can do it..keke..

Pouch sling:
I am interested in the sling too. but not sure how to use it.

dor, will u be bringing urs on mon? maybe i can join u gals for the gathering and at the same time decide whether i want to order the sling.

dor,
how to use the pouch for newborn baby ?

xiaoyun,
me interested leh...need to get another sling for when my mim sling goes to laundry. i cannot survive a day without my sling coz my son is addicted to it... and he's getting heavier some more.. want to try this one coz find mim sling too bulky when i bring out

re: diapers,
saw some diapers on promo price today at cold storage...
pampers baby dry 2 for 18.90
mami poko 15.80
quite worth it...

happy, no prob. but hope Ervin will recover so that i can see Erlene

Xiaoyun, no prob. the organiser has reverted. should be by mid april can get.
wow! u wan to sew for me? ok ok. Thanks in advance. think will show hb n ask him to sew one for me

Kitsune,
can bf with it. i did it in the car!

Artemis,
the pouch sling is a veri custom according to yr build. so veri secure. i can sling my boi n carry my gal's school bag n also hold my gal.

Bx, yes! i will be using it on mon. it is my life-saviour!

Tute,
it is like a mini yaolan for newborn.i used it when my boi was 6 days old.

dor,
bb's head need to be inside sling issit? can still use with bb's head outside sling (not sure if you know what i mean). my boy dun really like his head being confined in sling so normally i let his head out and use one hand to hold his head...hehe...not a very correct way of using the sling for newborn... but what to do, this is how he wants it..

dor.. did u get ur pouch sling from the same bp that u posted?? GOt size wan???Which one did u choose??

I always thot sling for bigger babies cause oure babies only 2 months.. when u put them in sling.. is it lying down or they sit in it?I very scard baby will drop out of the pouch so dun dare to try.

Happymum.. why u selling urs?? u dun use the sling?

Anybody knows where we can try the sling before buying?For eg. the puch slings where can we try them?

Do u all sling the baby everyday at home??

Re: Cry baby.

Winnie.. i think u dun be affected be what other pp say.. the more u think ur baby and u not compatibel the angrier u get.. my hubby also horse leh.. but i think my baby ger prefers him than me..She lus to sleep on his chest!
My sister in law also worried that she's a horese will clash with rat so dare not give birth this yr.. aiyah.. every year also got different things wan.. next yr ox yr... babies born that yr must work hard.. even jia lat.. Rats are smart!!

Re : vaccinations..

Anybody thinking of bringing babies for pneumoccal jabs?? When will u all start.. now or when babies are older .. cause start at different timing.. the no. of jabs will be different.

Re: rashes

BX.. i brought baby to see Dr Keoy yester.. he said my baby got eczema.. may be allergice to FM.. but i only like feed her FM 1-2 X a day.. he advised me to change to soy milk.

Din give me what probiotics leh.. i got cetaphil lotion, cetaphil cleansing solution and 1 more dunno what for rashes..Actually he is quite ok hor.. quite gentle with babies lah.

jeannie, I will be letting my baby take the extra jab toprepare her for infant care... but i undersatnd that each jab must be 28 days apart to monitor the reaction...

yeap you are right, I have friends of the same age telling us the same thing that they dont intend to have a rat baby cos incompatible....

Jeannie...did Dr Keoy close his eyes while talking to you..and talk like a parrot off the checklist during the first check up? My first check up he did! so strange...but he quite gentle and patient u r right

jeannie,
i hv 3 slings now.. the MIM sling, Lucky Baby sling and the newly bought Babyrock sling.. i oso hv a baby carrier too..

For the MIM sling, i also faced the same problem as Artemis whereby the sling tend to get loosen after slinging my son for awhile.. I hv to keep adjusting & tightening the sling.. quite pek chek lor..

Then for the Luckbaby pouch sling, i din use it cos it is abit too big for mi.. tats y i wan to sell away..

dor,
thks.. i oso hope he recover fast then can join u all on mon..
enjoy the bb massage.. let mi know how it is after the session.. must be v relaxing for the babies..

sweetpea,
thks.. no, his fever is not due to jab.. i think it is the viral fever/viral infection.. my son is close to 20 mths nw and i was abt to bring him for his MMR jab.. but becos of his recent fever, i hv been putting it off again & again.. sigh..
did u PM mi ur hp oredi ? cos it will be easier for mi to contact u if i m gg for the gathering on mon.. or u can sms mi too..
no news from thankful hor ? not sure if she would like to share cab wif us..

aiya
happymum
the pouch too big for u den shd be too big for me liao lah. tot of buying from u...

my mim sling very long nvr use liao. haha....

cheryl,
when i bought the lucky baby pouch sling, i was not preggie with #2 leh.. u try to measure first & see if it's really too big for u or not..

jeannie, my boy has eczema and doc recommended NAN HA which is hypoallergenic.

Formula milk for sale: I have to change FM cuz bb eczema. Enfalac unopened (big) and similac advance eyeQ (small)for sale. I'm willing to let go at very cheap price. interested mummies pls pm me, thanks.

jeannie, that time i went tmc, it was another pd who assessed my ger. i got different medications from you. so it turned out that ur bb also having eczema. the pd never ask me to change to soy-milk. i am now giving similac. dunno need to change onot. but i not giving FM everyday. only occasionally.

sweetpea, i agree with you. dr keoy looks like he memorise his lines. and he appears weird. have to agree that he is really gentle in handling the baby. and i am quite comfortable with him as he is assuring.

dor, so u show me how to use the sling on mon k?

hi tongtong,

just to check: enfalac causes eczema? cos my pd just gave me eczema cream for my boy but he didn't ask what FM i gave him.

hi happymum, replied u liao

yanyen, i think different pd said different things. so far i bot differnt brands of FM to standby cuz will be putting my boy at infantcare where they require us to leave a tin of FM there. then when i brought my boy to another PD for checkup today he said change FM. but another PD i went din ask me to change Formula though.

re: slings/carriers

following from the link on how to make a sling, i came to this link and foudn it quite informative.

Has many links for SLINGS, POUCHES, CARRIERS etc. Some even have YOUTUBE movies to show you how to use in various positions or nursing.

http://www.thebabywearer.com/

I also own an MIM baby pouch...but haven't quite mastered it. The 2 times i tried..baby wail n wail - feels very hot. Maybe good if shopping (where there's aircon) but at home...feels too hot for her. Especially nowadays so hot.

re: LC

garfield/kitsune, regarding the LC, do u have to book her for how many hrs? or normally 1 hr is enough? sigh...i got some blocked ducts cannot clear.

dor,
passed the desitin creams to eliaw already. total is $14. you still have my account number?

starry,
no need to pre book her for any duration. she will stay as long as necessary. for me, only took 1hr. did you try the method i shared for getting rid of blocked duct?

sling,
i also bought the MIM sling. doesn't look easy. but hb has managed to master it. also good la, means he slings bb when we go out!! heehee...

artemis
ya, for my case, i also need to tighten the sling after using a while 'cos it tends to loosen a bit, too.

yipy
me too. really lack of sleep. so daytime, when my boy manages to sleep, i will try to grab time to sleep, too.

Hi, Vine_gal,Eliaw,Dorothy,
Could you please send me the photos you took at baby massage session? Thanks alot!
My email account [email protected]

Found class very good; We practiced after bathing baby just now.

Kitsune,
Last time I often got blocked ducts. And need to spend hours hot massaging, and keep hand massaging while doing other things.

Nowadays it seems that my baby is more efficient at suckling. I keep pressing blocked area while baby suckling; most of time baby will clear it.

Gar, i tried ur method but after few latch on(ard 3 seesions) still block..i massage till red red liao...can it clear within a session with the LC?

tubao,
i have emailed u the pic!

Just realised what Gerviase has done!
(Tubao's princess cried cos Gerviase molested her)
1339526.jpg

bx, no prob!

jeannie, my current pouch sling was bought from a bp previously. now getting another one for mum.
ya, i will sling him during noon time. avg abt 2hours a day.

tute, i got what u meant.
sometimes, my boi's head will be inside. sometimes outside. but outside must support. if his head inside, the both my hands will be free to do things.
i have done things like washing dishes, hang clothes and also surf nets!

garfield,
got the cream. i dun have yr acc. can pm me? also u need me to collect yr goat rue from Kelly?
let me know

Thanks, Dor. Are you ordering single layer cotton or double layer for the sling? I'm still not sure cos I have the MIM sling from colleague but it's too hot cos not cotton sateen. Double layer sounds more durable but scared end up as hot as the MIM sling then I'll end up with 2 white elephants at home. :p

tubao, I also try pressing on lumpy area while bb suck but very 'suan' leh especially the curve between index finger and thumb. You don't have this problem?

Gathering on Ikea, 7April

stella caught the flu virus so i bringing her 2 c doc 2mrw morn. i'll discuss wif my husband 2 c if he can pass me e car 2 swing by 2 ikea on mon so tat i can pass mummies e goat's rue. if i got no car, then bo pian i'll hv 2 find other alternatives 2 pass it 2 all of u.

unless 1 of u drive, u can swing by my plc (3mins fr ikea) n pick up e goat's rue.

i cant confirm anything yet. let me discuss wif my husband cos he's also down wif flu. he KO liao after taking drowsy cold & cough med.

Goat's Rue
i juz went out 2 e post office tis afternoon 2 send e goat's rue to winnie, jaslyn, jeannie, bx, annabelle, bluespark & star70.