(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

happy,
yalo. i am not cut out to be SAHM. but just don't feel like working. lazy bum.. :p

re: baby toy
as I did not go out shopping, can anyone tell me how much this kind of toy selling?
1329432.gif

tongtong,
let me go and find...

Cry #1: Neh="I'm hungry"
"Neh" is the "I'm hungry" cry of a newborn. It is based on the sucking reflex. A newborn has a strong sucking reflex, and when they combine this reflex with a cry the result is "neh". When you hear this cry, nurse or give your newborn a bottle.

Cry #2: Owh="I'm Sleepy"
The cry to express tiredness is "owh". The "owh" sound is based on the yawning reflex. The first "ow" sound can be long and pronounced. When you hear this cry help your baby go to sleep. We always found that the more tired our babies became the harder it was for them to go to sleep. Look for other clues of sleepiness: rubbing the eyes and yawning.

Cry #3: Heh="I'm experiencing discomfort"
The cry "heh" is used when a newborn is feeling discomfort. This sound is different than the "I'm hungry" cry because there is a strong "h" sound at the beginning. If you hear this cry in your newborn, they may need their diaper changed or be put in a new position.

Cry #4: Eair="I have lower gas"
When babies have lower gas pain they often pull their legs towards their chest and make the cry sound "eair". We always found that when our newborns had gas they liked a bit of pressure on their tummies. We would either lay them on our legs perpendicularly and rub their backs or hold them in the elbow of our arm with our elbow supporting their head and their legs straddling our arm. (Be sure that your babies head is always held securely.) This can also be a good time for a baby massage with slow circular motions on your baby's tummy. Gas tablets or medicines never worked for our girls.

Cry #5: Eh="I need to burp"
You'll know when your newborn baby needs to burp if you can hear the "eh" in his/her cry. This cry is short and is repeated over and over; "eh, eh, eh." When you hear this sound gently place your baby on your chest with their head over your shoulder and gently pat them on the back.

Helpful Tips
Your baby's cries are identified easier during the pre-cry stage before the baby become hysterical. Try to Listen, Decide and Act before the cries becomes too difficult to distinguish.

React to the dominant word. If you hear more than one word being said, pay the most attention to the most dominant sound/word.
If you can't understand the cry, change the position of your baby; e.g., put them over your knee, shoulder, or on your lap.
It's natural for babies to use more words than others. Don't worry if some words aren't being said as often.
Listen for the distinctive sound in each word, e.g., the "N" in "Neh".
If you can't understand the word and feel distressed, just comfort your baby as best you can and listen for the word next time.

happy,
my mom got mood not consistent one =P just that now most of the time it's in support of BF.

bx,
day time my mom comes over. just two of us. no maid....not sure if you consider that help =) i usually read when i'm pumping lor. 30mins x 8 times a day. can read quite a lot

my ebm has been sitting in the food warmer for 2hrs waiting 4 my bb to wake up 2 drink. still can drink after outside the fridge 4 so long?

Happy, my baby's feeding also so inconsistent now. Most of the time he can only finish half (50ml) then dun want, then an hour later we try to feed him, he take some. I feed formula at night, so EBM and FM also the same, he can't finish.

BX, yep think I will go back to Dr Keoy next week. What I can't stand is the super long queue at the clinic. That's why considering another PD or go GP. But GP cannot do assesment right? Are you on your own at home?

Seng Kang Mummies, are there any good PDs around here?

RE: emptying breasts

So emptying breasts means pump until no more milk flows out is it? Normally how long does that take?

Garfield9,

Wow! You so hardworking. :p I think I must start to work harder too or Danica not enough milk to drink when I go back to work.

Re: Weight
My tummy still like loose oraage peel, and got another 7 kg before going back to pre-natal weight. No more clothes to wear coz now I need to wear M when most clothes are S or XS. Last week bot the Elancyl tummy lipo-cream. Hope it works! Btw, now Watsons' and TMC selling cream at 2 for 69.90/71.90, usual price 181/182.

Also went shopping on the same day and spent $200 on new clothes. Otherwise go back to work in 2 weeks nothing to wear! I bot all dresses, dare no buy skirt and pants coz I think my waist line will continue to reduce.

bx,
i had to move from 100% latch on to EBM cos bb keep falling asleep and not drinking well at the breast. so now i pump 7-8x a day and latch 2x. also good lah...it's like going back to work kind of schedule lor. just that i started this since bb week 5.

my daily timings are roughly.
6am to 7am - latch (pump after that if have time)
10am - pump
1pm - pump
4pm - pump
7pm - pump
8pm to 9pm - latch
10pm - pump
1am - pump
4am - pump

i usually try to use any EBM that has been warmed within 2 hours.

BX, I think try to keep 1 hr at most..though sometimes I also stretch 1.5 hrs on the warmer. Wake baby to drink?

Which warmer u using? Me using the pigoen one, find that warmers quite useless unless you warm the milk 15 mins advance or if you need a consistent warm milk, like waiting for baby to drink. Now I use hot water in a cup..faster..but I think the nutrients are destroyed..

winnie,
you're on TBF right? total latch on or also feed EBM?

The book states that the window for introducing bottle/pacifier is within 3 weeks of birth. Babies are able to easily switch from breast to bottle back and forth. Beyond which, it'll be tougher.

To get baby to accept bottle, keep presenting the bottle for two days and NO BREAST. Baby will be very frustrated and cry alot. Don't have to worry about bb rejecting the breast subsequently. This is his/her original feeding method and once learnt, he/she will not forget or reject. Babies are always willing to revert to their original feeding method

vernon's mummy,
1st day of ur bb with bbsitter.. Relieve for u leh.. :p

xiaoyun,
haha.. :p

sweetpea,
i oso feed my bb FM at nite.. Same, my bb cant finish her milk, whether EBM/FM..

u stay at sengkang too ? mi too.. which part r u at ? for pd, there is one at rivervale mall "The kids clinic" Dr. Lilian, she's not bad.. she was the allocated pd for both my kids during my hospital stay and the follow-up visits..
there is oso another one at compassvale "Kidslink" Dr. Vanessa.. I brought my son there for his 6-in-1 jab last year..

<font size="+1">LV Goat's Rue</font>

Using an exchange rate of USD1=SGD1.43, every bottle costs SGD27.24 for batches 1 &amp; 2. for batch 3, it costs SGD27.80. every mummy paid SGD28.56 per bottle so e excess is used 2 offset shipping charge + postage&amp;envelope.

Batch 1
1) annabelle
2) annabelle
3) annabelle
4) garfield9 (postage)
5) garfield
6) bx
7) <strike>snowbelle</strike> happymum2b
8) <strike>snowbelle</strike> bkkgal
9) dor11
10) dor11
11) happymum2b
12) vine_gal

Batch2
1) star70 (postage)
2) star70
3) jaslyn (postage)
4) blurspark (postage)
5) bkkgal (postage)
6) goodbaby (postage)
7) kelly
8) kelly
9) eliaw
10)jeannie
11)jeannie
12)kitsune
13)kitsune

Batch3
1) sweetpea
2) tongtong
3) tongtong
4) eileengoh (postage)
5) Thankful
6) yanyen (postage)
7) yanyen

jeannie,
I worst than u... still got 10kg to lose... during confinement, no appetite but never lose weight... these few days started to eat a lot esp cakes.... scare I put on even more...

cannot do situp or crunches yet... will kenna injure one... must do rec check first. see the link below

http://www.babycenter.ca/baby/youafterthebirth/exercisepostbaby/isbodyready/#6

Kelly,
I just wanting to inform you that the other bottle bought by happymum2b liao but just saw your post that you already know. How come you so fast?

sweetpea, re: baby not napping

my bb is 8 weeks. this is the 7th day she cannot nap. last time when bb finish feeding, i can just hug and rock rock her, even if she cry, very fast can fall asleep in my arms. but for the past week+, this method cannot work! sing song, jiggle, dance, walk up &amp; down, go bathroom sing song, give pacifier, all cannot work. and she has dark bruises under her eye and eyebag, cos she not enuff sleep i think.

so desperate, brought her to parentcraft yesterday, they call it baby freful. put her there for 3 hours let them monitor see why she cant sleep. best part is, i feed her there, then they swaddle her and put her in a cot, right next to the reception area where it's very bright &amp; noisy and a lot of people, then they pat pat her, give pacifier, and told us to come back 3 hours later. she hor... fell deep asleep for 3 hours! waste my $$$. this hotel damn expensive man.

then we brought her home. halfway in the carseat she woke up &amp; started crying. and never stopped from that point until 11pm at night. we tried to replicate the conditions at tmc (aircon + swaddle + pacifier + patpat) but still didnt work. sigh. i dunno whether this is just a passing phase or a serious problem. want to bring back to parentcraft but knowing my luck, she sure 'kwai kwai' sleep there again.

annabelle, bx, vine_gal, eliaw, jeannie, kitsune, sweetpea, thankful, tongtong,
pls advise mode of collection or postage (registered or normal).

COLLECTION POINTS
ikea tamp - on sun afternoon
pasir ris st71 - anytime
mount faber safra - on sat fr 6-730pm

mummies who r opting 4 postage, pls PM me ur mailing add wif tis heading "Postage for Goat's Rue" by 4April Fri. i'll b making 1 trip 2 e post office 2 post out everything. if i dun receive ur mailing add then, pls collect fr e other locations.

i going 2 bring 2bottles to e post office later n weigh so i know how much postage will b.

mummies, pls understand tat i hv 3kids so hard 4 me 2 run 2 e post office more than once.

oscar, when you say cannot nap, you mean as in cannot nap on her own, once put down will wake up? Or cant sleep at all? Its not possible for a baby (or any human being) to not have any sleep for 7 days right? Or you mean she is sleeping very little/cant fall asleep easily? Have you tried white noise form hair-dryer/TV?

Garfield, wow its really great that you get to pump so regularly. So wonderful of your mum to come n help you out too. Jia you!!

xiaoyun, toys R us has tons of these bb toys if u are keen, there is a section called babies R us inside TRU, bring bb there for a walk whenu are free, heaps to choose from. I think the price range for this type of convertible fisher price toys usually cost ard $70-$120 thereabouts. But if u wait for the sale at robinsons, u might be able to get them at a better price.

bx, if I am not mistaken, its not a gd idea to put milk in the warmer for so long, cause heat breaks down the milk very fast, and the lukewarm temperature its usually set at is supposedly the optimum temp for bacteria to breed.

sahm- lol I must be a hardcore sahm then, cause even with two kids and no external help (apart from hb but not counted cause he is at work whole day), I still cannot imagine relinquishing both my kids to anyone else's care. :p

oscar
maybe she needs bright lights n loud noises? i notice when i bring mine out to shopping centre, she can sleep quite well. white noise from radio works 4 me :>

sweetpea and bx.. must go back for 1st month assessment?? I went polyclinic for hep b jab.. the doc also did some assessment.. like check on baby's motor skills and nervous system.. also dunno what he did but he move the baby's hand and legs and see how they react.

Re: Milk Intake..
Happymum.. and sweetpea..my baby also on diet these few days.. she used to take abt 110 ml.. now she sometimes take only 30 ml each tie then stopped.. 1 hr later.. take a bit again. Then sometimes she can take a lot.. very cranky now.

Re: baby struggling

I dunno how many of u experience this .. my baby luvs to struggle and turn her hea backwards, sideways.. like trying to wriggle out when u carry.. buay tahan.. somemore she quite strong now.. he legs will push against ur thighs an dun wanna relax when we feed her..Are babies so strong now?? she can lift her head when rest on her tummmy..

Re: where does baby sleep during daytime??
My baby sleep in the living room on those netted bounder then at night move into room sleep on cot and on aircon.. but now i ealise she cant sleep well in room leh.. think i gonna let her sleep in living room tonight. Where do ur babies sleep??

Re: Baby pics

Hey pp..u all got blog or anything?? wanna see ur babies and see how they are growing?? Haven seen some of them before :p

Re: rashes

andrea.. i will try to clean the mouth everytime also.. try lah.. using just normal tap water.

BX.. ur baby rashes recovered?? mine still have on the face and it s a bit dry now very scared will have scars left.. the rashes is quite a big patch.. sianz man... dunno whether thecream doc gave is ok.

dry scalp.....Can we apply anything in the scalp to prevent it from drying and developing into cradle cap??

Cheryl.. wah.. enjoy now leh.. so when u going back to work?? how much does the nany charge??

crying bb = hungry bb
my mom thinks tt my bb cries alot, if not most of tym cos she hungry. she also thinks tt by not feeding on demand, i'm depriving my bb.

yday went out. brought bottle of ebm. all the way in car, bb cry cry cry. in shopping centre oso cry cry cry. finally i feed ebm. can u imagine my father actually clapped his hands when he saw bb finishing the bottle?? i think all this time they cannot physically see milk come out of my boobs into bb so they think she never drink or wat.

guess wat? after feed and change pampers, she CRY CRY CRY some more.

I feel so damn vindicated lor. not tt i happy my bb cry but i've been drumming into their heads that bb cry for many many reasons not just hunger. now finally they see for themselves. bb is fed n changed, wat else can it be???

seems my mom can't handle bb crying. every since i started to gv bb water, she wanna shove water into bb's mouth whenever she cries. either tt or use pacifier. i'm worried when i go bk to work, there'll b no ctrl. she will b fed every hr, water and gripe water will be given freely.

nowadays when mom can't tahan anymore, she will literally shove bb in my arms n then when bb calm, will say die, bb want my smell, go bk to work how.

drinking:
My girl now drinking much more. If on FM, she gobbles up 90ml at one go and sometimes wants more. In terms of bf-ing, nowadays when i pump, i see quite a ready stream of sprays unlike the past - which was just one spray. But my supply still not quite there since i've been supplementing for some time now.

she is now week 6.

Mother/MIL:
my MIL not as good as my mum at handling babies. My mum is very patient and 100% suitable for SAHM type...though she's working now (but she will quit when i go back to work). My baby cry n cry but she can handle and never lose patience. I'm very thankful for her. I'm very relieved to leave my baby in her hands when i go back to work.

"smell":
Some friends recommend u sleep on a piillow and pass this to your caregiver to put with baby. Or your t shirt or something like that. my hubby even suggest my mum wear my tshirt. So funny.

Mentality about BM:
Actually, my baby does cry becuz not enough to eat from my breast. Thus I reluctantly admit that i need to supplement. Even now, sometimes she fussy at my breast even though i feel it's full and able to supply. But that's also cuz she already very very hungry. Just last night, she refuse the bottle and want my breast instead. I think she's got her moods. Sometiems want breast cuz of comfort.

Sleep:
Ever since I supplement her - so she can be fuller, and also put her on her tummy to sleep, baby is sleeping better and longer. past 2 nights she fuss n fuss..but fall asleep about 2+am and wake up at 7+am. If she can sustain this pattern, i think I'm quite satisfied.

Shopping Centre:
i also brought her out a few times liao. Sometimes mum carry, sometimes i carry (in a baby carrier like babybjorn but different brand). Even to hawker centre too. She sleep damn well...usually 2-3hours at a go. I think it's cuz of the motion, as well as the human body warmth. at home if i can tahan to carry her for hours, she can also sleep well in human arms. but shopping centre more shiok - cuz got aircon.

for 5 in 1,how many doses are there??i called up a GP,the nurse told me is $80 per dose,then assessment is $10 each,no package...so if take all 5 in 1,how much will that be???5 in 1 is 5 doses??so 5 X $80=$400???

Hi Happy

I'm at Fernvale
Not so near Seng Kang Central.

Just now played with baby, fed him, pat him to sleep, swaddle him in air-con room...Baby finally fell asleep for 15 mins beore he startled himself with his hands. Then after that try to put him back to sleep he couldn't. Then I and my mom decided to try the infatntino baby carrier we just bot..and he fell asleep immediately. I carried him for about half hour, then carried him out and put him back to the cot..and he started crying again. Hiaz!

I find the carrier abit difficult to take baby in and out leh..

Hi Kelly, most prob will collect Ikea Tamp. What time will u be there?

Jeannie, I also put baby in net bouncer in the day. Nowadays he hardly sleeps except nap abt 30 mins on the bouncer. But today I switched on air-con in the atfernnoon and put baby in cot, also cannot sleep

sweetpea
i got a baby carrier but not the brand you mentioned and i find it difficult to put bb in and take bb out. need assistance from someone then can use =\

chest-ache
i haven been experiencing chest ache a few days after delivery, likely after my milk came in. i got difficulty changing position when i am lying down on bed either because of the chest-ache or due pain on my breasts. and also whenever i exert too much strength on my chest, i can also feel some pain. sigh.........
anyone experiencing similar problem?

thanks for the suggestions on how to wean the baby off my breast....

my ex CL is back this afternoon to help. my mum can finally take a break. She says even if it is a $5k job, she will not take it heheee. cos she has enough changing of diaper.... so now finally i have time to call back to office to settle my ML, and check out the infant care....

I just ordered a play pen and a yao lan. Hoping to put the baby in play pen to sleep in living room during day. night will be baby cot.

i need to get a baby carrier too.wait till baby bigger then bring her there to try.

my baby also cannot sleep well at night, she will keep groaning and grunting. in the day, she sleeps well only on tummy down.

and she has many bad habits... she always "kee" when i stop her bottle half way to burp her. She will always kee when the bottle finishes and i remove from her mouth. she will kee to demand to latch on after a bottle feed of 140ml....

thus, i am going to take the suggestion to give her full bottles for 2 days first....

sigh, but i think i will a bit woried about not latching, cos it may affect ss, and of course the missing of the bond... but i guess no choice, cos i need to return to work.... it is for her own good.

did not know i must introduce pacifier during 3rd week.... now, no matter how i put into her mouth, she cries murder...

winnie
when i intro pacifier at week 4, bb spit it out, i thot she didn't like. but i tried again a wk later n now she takes it under duress. when she had enuff, will pui it out.

jeannie,
yes, my gal likes to struggle too, like turning her head backwards/sideways or curl her body up like a prawn.. same, she will push her legs against my thigh/body.. also, she refused to sit in upright position when we wan to burp her after feeding, need to wait for her to relax b4 we can burp her.. sigh..

my gal sleeps in the room during daytime &amp; nite time, either in the cot or yao lan..

for dry scalp, u can try j&amp;j baby oil..

may i know when did ur baby starts responding(smiling) to u? mine 6 weeks still ignoring me. i m just her food...

xiaoyun,
my gal sometimes will smile at me when i talk to her.. not v often though.. most of the time, she will look at me when i talk to her..

happy/andrea,
my gal did smile on her own since wk 2/3, but not responding to me. and most importantly, she doesn't make much eye contact with me.. when i call her name, she looks at elsewhere..

do u notice that somtimes she smile like laughing with sound? she looks very happy but i afraid that's because she is 'cou1 jing1' :p

xiaoyun,
perhaps there is something that attracts her more, tats y she din response to u when u call her ?

yes, my gal sometimes oso laugh loudly, usually in her sleep..
huh.. wat is "cou1 jing1" ?

Your baby: 10 milestones for the first 2 years
(between 6 and 8 weeks)
1. Eye contact
2. Social smile
3. Cooing
4. Babbling
5. Reaching and grabbing

(9 to 10 months)
6. Pulling up to a stand
7. Pincer grasp
8. Gesturing
9. First word
10. Pretend play

garfield, u really hardworking with ur pumping. pei fu!

sweetpea, yup i am alone with bb at home. but most weekday afternoons about 2pm - 6pm i will leave my bb at my mil's place. so that i can go home to clear the household chores plus 2 sessions of pumping. i am also using the pigeon warmer. i find it takes a long time to warm up the milk, so i usually put in the milk much earlier so that when bb wants milk, i am ready to feed. but sometimes bb never ask for milk, so i leave it siiting in the warmer for 1 - 2hrs. alamak, i think all the nutrients gone liao.

jeannie, that time i go polyclinic for hep b, no doc check my bb leh. that's y thinking of going back to dr keoy's clinic.

my bb's rash on face better. but now her neck, back, and areas with folds are red with rashes. haiz.. dunno y my bb skin so bad.

kelly, i will collect from ikea tampines on sun.

happy,
mm.. something attracts her more.. is there anything behind me that's attracting her attention? scary.. :p
seems like u and andrea's baby is developing faster than mine although we are in the same weeks. yours 2-3 days older, and andrea's 1 day younger...

i will patiently wait since some people say smiling starts at 6 week on average.

'cou1 jing1' is like cramp? :p

berry

no lah, not that my bb completely never sleep. she just cannot nap during the day. at nights, depending what time she settle down, she can sometimes sleep from 11 to 6am, and then maybe 8-10am. but after that, she is either awake, or feeding, or crying and rubbing her eyes trying to sleep. i read bbs need 16-20 hrs sleep a day, she definitely not getting that. i also dunno how.

berry,

thanks for the info on toys. probably will find time to go toy'rus to check it out. find that my gal very bored because not much toys to play. and always stay at home with a boring mummy.. :p