(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: milk intake
alamak.. 150ml after full month? my gal can't even finish her 110ml now. moreover i oso same as starry70, barely get 100ml from both breasts each time i pump.

dor,
u oso throw away so much milk. heart pain..

yawn. so sian.... i wan to go for tattoo.. :p dunp hb allow anot... :p

last nite my bb sleep for 5hr plus straight. 11plus to 5plus. power. i think becos he 9plus drink den 11plus cry for milk again. tat y can sleep longer???

1st "Feb 08 Mummies & Babies outing".

12th april, Saturday
1) Jeannie, hubby and baby
2) happymum2b
3) cheryl, hubby and bb
4) star70
5) Vine_Gal
6) Eliaw
7) Thankful
8) bx, hubby and bb
9) stephie
10) kelly, hubby & 3kids (depending on timing)
11) dor11
12)tubao,hubby and bb
13)kitsune

13th april, Sunday
1) happymum2b
2) cheryl, hubby and baby
3) Vine_Gal
4) Eliaw
5) Thankful
6) kelly, hubby & 3kids (most preferred)

go T3??

sigh..100ml is on good times..most of the times 80ml-90ml ba..down times is 50-60ml..when will i ever get 300-400ml...i tink not very possible ya...

vernon'sMummy,
wow, u so happening.. wan to go for tattoo.. :p
gd for u tat ur bb slept almost thruout the nite.. my gal will wake up punctually every 3 hrs or even earlier for milk.. :-S

bx, do u still latch on? i never le..maybe dats y ss never increase much..but after full month..ss was def better then b4 full month

starry,
i latch on from 8pm onwards, all the way to 7am. coz i lazy to wake up to make milk and wash bottles in the wee hours.

then from 7am onwards (daytime), i pump out and feed my ger EBM. my ss fluctuates. can vary from 60ml to 120ml.

if i put my ger at mil place overnight, then my mil feed FM. we oso give her FM when we bring her shopping. coz find it too troublesome to heat up EBM outside.

qoosan
if u hv any email or phone contact for the busy baby wraps do u mind to pm it to me? trying to help a fren, she purchased via their site previously and even paid, but no acknowlegement and no goods shipped to her. she emailed the contacts on their site but no response either. if not convenient np i understand.. thx!

gar, i pump every 3-4 hrly too..but sometimes when ifeel milk leaking..i put on breast shell for a while then i pump..although pp say milk leaking means got lots of milk..but i dun see..sigh..i wonder how long i can persist..pumping milk is so boring also...sit there pump pump..my neck n hand ache...

BX
My baby at 6 weeks plus also now seems to be drinking less leh. Usually he can finish 90-100 sometimes even 120 at one shot but this week he is so fussy..cannot finish and at 70 ml he drinks and gets very agitated and screams. By the time he cools down he doesn't want anymore. I tot 6 weeks should be growth spurt and drinking more?

Btw, try to calculate total milk intake for the day rather than by feed. My boy drinks abt 760 last week on the average day.

Re Pump:
Just bot my new Ameda Lactaline. Was previosly using Medela Mini Electric. I feel it expresses out a bit more milk (from 50ml for Mini Electric, now I get abt 60 for Ameda both sides.) But Medela more comfortable.

bb poo: my bb on 100% bf and at earlier stage he poos after every feed. now stabilised liao cuz already 2 mths old. so one day about 2 to 4 times. but my bb poo stil watery one leh most of the time. what about you all? mine watery most of the time and creamy sometimes only. is it due to the food i eat?

bb weight: doctor said bb will gain 30gram per day. so by full month should gain 900gm to around 1kg.

jeannie: my boy also like your bb, dry skin on ears la eyebrow. and doc said is eczema wor. jeaniie, i got probiotic in powder form, for my own consumption, from light lazuli. i also wanna find out from bx where she got the probiotics from

snowbelle: i broght bb to PD near my area. initially went to poly but din like it, so ended up signing package with pd

winnie, i'm going to little green house at yishun. aiya but i worried the infant caregiver gives 'sleeping pill" to my boy if he doesnt zz.. cuz dunno how they manage so many infants at the same time???
wonder whether the caregver will also carry bb to zz like us or leave them to cry>???
winnie: your bb still crying even when u are carrying and rock her?

i had asked my neighbour to pick my boy cuz i wont be able to reach home at 7pm. i'm ready to pay her some $$ to do this job for me!

sarong yao lan: my lifesaver! my boy din zz from 11am till 9pm yesterday , we were all exhausted and my cousin came to my rescue bringing yaolan,the tradiontal sarong to me. immediately boy fell zz when he was in the sarong!so amazing.
who else bb use yao lan here ah beside cheryl?

bx, bb's drinking pattern will fluctuate, and maybe growth spurt over for the time being so cant finish her 110ml?

mitten: i stop giving my boy mitten but he started eating his fingers since last week!

iang, qoosan,
i can take over the order for the babywraps. possible change color to chocolate pls
now bf so hvnt chk previous post for payment details yet. how much to IB (incl postage) and to wat acct?

happiest bb DVD - I am selling mine for $20 including normal postage, in perfect/good-as-new condition of course. PM me if anyone is keen.

goldfish, you dun accept PMs so cant PM you. If you wanna get from me, drop me a PM.

i dun wanna sound ungrateful to my parents 4 helping me but really sometimes i feel parenting the parent is harder than parenting the bb!! bcos last nite so rough hb called mom n ask her to come over and help. <actually i told my mom last wk i wanna take care bb by myself b4 go bk to wk . hai..anyway they came over and always 1st thing whenever bb cries or just "ngeh" abit oni ask me "hungry is it?"i hv to keep telling them bb cry not just hunger. so fedup tt after latch on for nearly 1 hr, i went to heat up 50 ml ebm to feed her. my mom said to me why i always dun feed her enuff and now wanna guve her so much! i so fedup tell her tt i nvr restrict bb but i noe when she hungry and when she just want to pacify.

bb finish the ebm but still ngeh abit. my mom cannot calm her so in the end, whole afternoon i had to take her and pat bb to sleep on my chest. then when bb wake up, she ngeh and straightaway my mom ask why, wat happened. i dunno how many of u hv bb who wake up smiling and cooing wan lor, mine wakes up with small ngeh ngeh sound or sometimes crying wan...in the ideal world won;t it wonderful if bbs are smiling all the time?????

thing is, i feel parents and alot of pp cannot understand y bb cry and aways must find reason to "explain" y they cry and always MUST be HUNGER. why can't they cry for no reason? y y y??? aarrgghhh.

poor bkkgal..
totally understand how u feel. there are some days when i actually tell my mom not to come over cos its more stressfuol for me with her around.. i find that when i manage bb alone, i can feel free to try whatever works n not spend time explaining my every action.

dun worry - my bb also wake up with 'wahhh' or when better mood it's 'ngeh' now she refuses to sleep in the afternoons vfrm 12 to almost 8+. even tho shes v tired and seems to fall asleep when i carry her, when i put her down she fusses and wakes up. i would like a smiling bb too pls..

guess just let your parents comment/grumble all they like, dont waste too much energy arguing or getting angry. hang in there.

bkkgal
can understand how you feel.
my boy also doesn't wake up with smile. it's always nge nge sound or cry. 'cos he wakes up with hunger mah. else, he will keep sleeping.

i think old people tends to relate cry = hungry. my cl also like that. until the 3rd wk of the confinement, then she agreed with me that my boy sometimes cried not because of hunger. but also he wants attention, wants to be carried, etc etc.

oscar/sunny
i'm glad my bb normal waking up with cries. my mom is retired, she happy happy wanna come over i cannot stop her. i waiting for my parnts to go on hol next mth then i will experiment with gina ford mtds.

yeah oscar, when i bf, my mom just sits on my bed and stares at me. sometimes we chitchat, but sometimes i feel damn stress lor so whenever i switch boob, will give her a "task" to burp bb. whenever bb not sucking, she will tickle bb's chin and tell her to drink. hai...

ya..i experience that frm both mum m MIL..well..but its so weird cos they have taken care of their own kids b4..shldn't they know that babies mostly cry when wake up..zzz...getting old le..forgetful..hopefully next time we not like that..anyway, if my mood is good, i will explain..if not..i jus do my things n ignore the questions..too tiring to answer back..

snowbelle,

i took 6 in 1 becuase i missed the hep b 2nd jab at one month old. i dont like poly becaue my son got rashes that time when i went for jab, then the GP said cant jab first, got to go for blood test and see whether got infection. THe gp there is not PD so everything they also want us to do blood test. then the queue for blood test was super longand crowded, how would i want my bb to queue and let them draw his blood? i ended up cancel the vacc appointment and go PD. PD said can jab la. so that was the first and last time i wold go to POly liao.

bkkgal/oscar and sunny.. my ger also wakes up crying.. ngeh ngeh sound like a bit uncomfortable.. which is always true.. either she hungry or she poos. Otherwise she will contunue sleeping. When she is awake.. she will ngh ngeh when she wants to be carried.. but sometimes she gets iritated for no reason then have to calm her down.

BX... and the rest.. i think our babies are the same.. now she drinks vey little.. sometime 40-60 ml at one time then fall asleep and refuse to drink using her tongue to push the teats out. Last week she could drink 110 ml! This week.. a bit weird.. she is 5 weeks old.

Re: BM pour away
Erm.. actually i dunno whther i am doing the right thing.. cause i always prepare 100 ml of EBM then if she cant finish.. i will just leave the milk there and when she wakes up an hr or 2 later then i feed her the remaining milk again.. worst still sometimes i put back into fridge and rwarm up again..is it ok?? Dun wanna waste leh.. but sometimes i wonder whether she will get stomach ache.How long then we must throw away the BM??I read somewhere that EBM can put back to fridge 1 more time after drinking..

Re:rashes
Apple and BX. thanks for the advice. i think i will monitior a while more.. Anyone tried using stout to bathe baby?? MY CL did that during my confinement.. and she said baby will feel more cool..

tongtong..that is eczema??I also dunno leh.. i think i will wait a while then bring her to pd.

BX.. ur pd is dr keoy??

MY BABY FELL FROM THE SOFA ONTO FLOOR LAST NIGHT FACE DOWN!!

Hubby put baby beside him and he fell asleep.. then he heard baby screaming.. i also heard and rushed out from the bedroom.. hubby was already carrying her. He said he thot i brought baby to room.. woke up did not not see aby onsofa.. ended up she was on floor face down.. luckily she cried.. otherwise dunno whta will happen.Seriously dunno how she dropped cause she cant flip yet. So worried that she will get brain concussion thank goodness she is ok.. no vomit.. no buah luku. U all must be careful when u all look after the baby. She cried so badly.. think she really got a very bad shock.. so sad to see her like that.

JEANNIE,aiyo your post scared me off@! bb felling onto floor! must be so painful. oouchhh. pls ask ur hubby be careful next time...

jeannie, my pd is dr keoy. but that day went i brought my bb to tmc, he was on leave. so we saw another pd.

usually i throw away the milk if bb can't finish. i dun dare to keep. not sure abt other mummies here.

hope ur bb is fine. strange. wonder how she fell. maybe she really turned?

bkkgal
what's gina ford teaching?

jeannie
glad that your gal is fine. last time when my gal started to flip, she fell from my bed onto the flr, too. and i was just beside her... but, i dozed off. luckily, she's fine.

tongtong
i will still burp him if he fell asleep. 'cos he tends to regurgitate milk quite often. and sometimes, before i start patting him to burp, he would struggle a bit and 'self-burp'.

tute..
mine on BM aso poo every 2-3 days.

bx....
my routine similar to yours. but if i pump every 3 hours, at most 40-60ml per session.

tongtong...
i read dun let bb eat hand so much....aso that eating hands is sign of hunger it seems.

Re: Pumping
today i latched at 3pm...then reached hom only 8 plus n pumped about 9plus. That's like 6 hours interval. i managed to get 110ml from both breasts after massaging all the nodes.

Re: EBM
i read from the lansinoh milk bag 'advice sheet'.
"After warming up, remainders of milk must be discarded. If milk settles down in different layers, mix it by shaking bag carefully."

I believe if ur baby takes like 1-2hours to finish the milk, i guess can just leave it at room temperature and continue feeding. But putting BACK into fridge for consumption much later may be detrimental as you will need to warm up again and this process 'deteriorates' the milk further. u may be giving her more harm.

One solution (i think) is eg your milk bag has 100ml.
- Thaw entire milk bag from freezer (100ml)
- After thaw, mix well and pour out 50ml (or desired amount).
- Warm the 50ml and leave remaining milk in milkbag in FRIDGE.
- Remaining milk MUST be consumed within 12hours. (advice from Lansinoh milkbag sheet)

Winnie,
White Noise is the 'static' from untuned tv channels, or radio station which doesn't 'operate' after 12mn.
That zzhhaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh sound.

Think i will try tonight - if the white noise doesn't drive hubby crazy!
(Actually i think it may drive me crazy before it drives HIM crazy since he is the type that i throw pillow at him he may not wake up also!)

tongtong,
I see... so your bb rashes ok liao? I'll be taking the 6in1 too but will be going to the hep B 2nd jab when bb is 1+month old. I thought regardless of 5in1 or 6in1, also need to take the hep B 2nd jab at 1 to 2 month old?

hi hi.. missed out on so many posts!

finally gave my bb pacifier just now.. he suck on it for vv long!! at least now he can fall asleep by himself instead of carrying all over the house.. hmm..

Pacifier survey
) bx - mothercare (0m+, latex)/nuk(0-6m, latex)
2) Garfield9 - Avent (0-3M)
3) star70 - Avent (0-3M)
4) tute - Avent (0-3m)
5 cheryl - Avent (0-6m)
6) Vine_Gal - Avent (0-6m)
7) Bluewind- Avent (0-3m)
8) jeannie- Pigeon (0-3 mth)
9) dor11-Avent (0-3m) -only used twice cos boi dun like pacifier, he prefer human pacifier!
10) andrea - Avent (0-3mth)
11) eliaw - nuk silicone (0-6m)

re: gathering
so it'll be afternoon rite?
here's the list at T3:
TCC
Crystal Jade Shanghai
Swensons
lerk thai
tosto
coffee club
secret recipe
yakun
coffee bean
wang's cafe
macdonalds
popeyes

re: burp
ya, i also burp even if sleeping.. bb has learnt to self burp.. so now it's easy easy!

re: ebm
i usually throw only after 2 hours.. i don't refrigerate again..
nowadays, he likes to drink 50ml, then 1 hr later, 50ml again..

re: fore/hindmilk
i'm starting to give more hindmilk instead of foremilk.. shouldn't be too filling for bb rite?

jeannie, so poor thing.. my hb always insist that cannot let bb sleep on the bed with us.. he has this phobia that we will crush bb accidentally..
tat day i accidentally knocked bb's head against the bed, he also cried pitifully..

winnie
sorry wanted to reply ur post. white noise is like wat lezy said, vacuum machine or hair dryer noise oso can be white noise.

jeannie
ur poor bb. hope ok. ur post gv me shock.

sunny
gf recom putting bb on routine. v strict wan, she wrote bk called the contented little bb bk.

white noise is consistent with the idea that babies are in the 4th trimester. they are used to hearing all the noises of our digestive systems, heartbeat, outside voices and noises so white noise imitates that comfort environment for them.

the happiest bb on the block dvd actually has a recording of white noises at the end of the dvd which you can play back to your bb.

1st "Feb 08 Mummies &amp; Babies outing".

12th april, Saturday
1) Jeannie, hubby and baby
2) happymum2b
3) cheryl, hubby and bb
4) star70
5) Vine_Gal
6) Eliaw
7) Thankful
8) bx, hubby and bb
9) stephie
10) kelly, hubby &amp; 3kids (depending on timing)
11) dor11
12)tubao,hubby and bb
13)kitsune
14)june, hubby and bb

13th april, Sunday
1) happymum2b
2) cheryl, hubby and baby
3) Vine_Gal
4) Eliaw
5) Thankful
6) kelly, hubby &amp; 3kids (most preferred)
7) june, hubby &amp; bb

jeannie! the same thing happened to my bb on wedneday. brought him to the office and he was crying so left him on the sofa at the reception after i coaxed him cos didn't wan him to disturb ppl. suddenly i heard loud wailing and i ran out and found him struggling on the floor. my heart really broke. hugged him and cried too. feel so guilty and feel like a horrible mum. luckily it's carpetted floor. he has some skin peeling off due to abrasion. also very scared if there is some brain damage which i can't see... thinking of the incident still makes me feel very very sad. nowadays even though our babies can't really roll, i think they are capable of moving just by kicking the surface... so i think cannot leave them unattended in an unsecure place!

eliaw, i saw u at parkway on monday. smiled at u but think u don recognise me. u walked into singtel and i wanted to go over to say hi, but when i walked over, u kind of "vanished". don't know was it my illusion. maybe it wasn't even u... but i'm quite sure it's u la. hehe.

got a question re electric pumps, for those of you who use one - does the pump drain your breast entirely?

i'm back to using my medela PIS and giving it a 2nd chance =P find that after the pump can no longer extract milk for about 10 mins, i can still hand express about 5 to 10ml worth of milk. i don't have this problem with avent cos i keep massaging and pressing as i express.

is this normal? can anyone advise me how to ensure that the pump drains out everything?

andrea,
re clogged ducts - there will be localized spots in your breast that are super hard (not the normal fullness kind of hard) like there's a pebble under the skin, and very sore and tender to the light touch. when you press on it, the pain is quite excruciating.

if you can only feel it during a beast examination type of motion, then it is in the early stages of becoming completely clogged.

mums thanks a lot for the note on the white noise...

wanted very much to join in the gathering, but my hubby will only be back on the following Monday, thus quite impossible for me to go out alone with baby... very phobia....

Sigh wonder if colic is such a common thing within babies.