(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Pacifier survey
) bx - mothercare (0m+, latex)/nuk(0-6m, latex)
2) Garfield9 - Avent (0-3M)
3) star70 - Avent (0-3M)
4) tute - Avent (0-3m)
5 cheryl - Avent (0-6m)
6) Vine_Gal - Avent (0-6m)

re:baby weight
my bb 50cm at birth n now also 56cm. but she's up from 2.9kg to 4.2kg today.i dunno if her weight gain has anything to do with us accidentally feeding her formula meant for premature babies!!!!

re: gripe water
it for tummy discomfort, expel wind.
i give everyday after bath, diluted with water.

bx...maybe just heat rash...since u say it's in areas that lack "ventilation". even adults get it ma.

lezy, ya could be heat rash. but that time i went pd, the doc say the eczema rash can also thrive in those areas that lack "ventilation".

my baby is 6 weeks old now. seems to be drinking lesser milk than last 2 weeks. used to drink 100 - 110ml ebm. now give her 110ml she cannot finish. do u experience this lost of appetite?

pacifier survey:
seems like avent is a popular brand. may get one to let my ger try

i use the ru yi oil on baby everyday and let her drink gripe water mixture (5ml with 50-60ml of water). i love the smell of the ru yi oil.

for those of you using Avent Isis Manual...do u wash and sterilise after every pump? so ley chey arh?

i'm very happy.i manage to yield 80ml from one breast pumping session from just the left breast.

sigh..but that's only after almost 6 horus of not 'using' the breast at all leh. but it encourages me...that maybe i do have enough for baby...just maybe.

BX.. my baby ger's symptoms is the same as what u have described!!! So u went to see a pd?? Where is ur pd ?? I a bit scared cause quite a bit although no white stuffs in the pimples but the rashes are like everywhere and there seems to be small flakes on the hair from the pimply section. I take milo mixed with milk powder and sweetener.. so i should try to avoid the milk and sweetener hor.

Berry/ happymum to be and sunny.. thanks for sharing.. i change diapers 4 hrly but sometimes i stretch a bit. think thats why but my baby really poo quite a bit.. everyday so many times.Lezy urs only once every 2-3 days? ur bb on BM??

bluwind.. i also apply ru yi oil.. everyday in fact 2 x a day but very small amt.

Lezy.. u let her drink the gripe water everyday.. u think it helps..?? i let her drink only when she fusses.. maybe i should try everyday.

Pacifier survey
3) star70 - Avent (0-3M)
4) tute - Avent (0-3m)
5 cheryl - Avent (0-6m)
7) Bluewind- Avent (0-3m)
8) jeannie- Pigeon (0-3 mth)

goodbaby.. yup u will c the doc.. beofer taking the jabs..

re:Avent Isis Manual
lezy, ya. i wash n then sterilise afer every pump;)

Berry,
where did u buy yr organics gripe water? wan to give my boi that. but mum claimed that the normal one sugar content veri high.

Qoosan, jia you!!

Pacifier survey
3) star70 - Avent (0-3M)
4) tute - Avent (0-3m)
5 cheryl - Avent (0-6m)
9) dor11-Avent (0-3m) -only used twice cos boi dun like pacifier, he prefer human pacifier!

re:teats
how frequeny do we have to change the teats?

Happymum: thanks I am ok already.your baby swellingburst and got blood, do u bring her to see doc? and do u apply anything?

Jeannie my baby has rashes over the face and scalp like you describe. sometime disappear, sometimes more. But i find that they are lesser when she is in air con room. Polyclinic doc say is due to singapore weather. I saw a PD and he said cos never wash her face with soap and she got oily skin (which i think is rubbish)Just monitor if it goes away as they gets bigger. I read that this rashes is common and will go away by itself.

Pacificer: so nuk one is shorter! no wonder my baby had difficulty sucking it and it keep dropping out. I thought is my baby problem

Do your babies scream and cry halfway in their sleep? My baby does that sometimes. But other times she will smile in her sleep and sometimes even laugh out loud/ Very funny!

Qoosan, I have transferred, $35 + 2.20 for normal post. total $37.20. Ref 1285.

Sorry, cos this afternoon bring my girl to TMC PD again.

guess should be ok...cuz my mum does that all along for all her children.
ru yi oil is to keep tummy warm. gripe water to expel wind.

my girl cries like kana torture during bathing. give her gripe water, she will drink and smack her lips. LIke a reward for her after bathing!

Anyone interested to take over my order for busybaby wrap coz my baby does not want to latch on now so giving express breast milk

jeanie,
my baby now on BM supplemented with FM. say about 3/4 BM 1/4FM on most days.
my baby poo pattern all along is every 2-3 days. my GP says it's normal for BF baby to either poo very often, or poo infrequently. Key thing is your baby peeing and pooing normal (as in not hard to poo or poo too watery), putting on weight..then all is fine.

i dunno if drinking everyday helps but my mum says all of us were brought up this way so i just follow lor.

vernonmummy,
my girl very long never wear mitten liao....since week 1 i think. i just keep triming her nails.

garfield/ sunny, I bought the organic gripe water from Vitakids at Forum basement.

bkkgal, the organic gripe water I am using contains ginger extract, fennel extract and camomile, these ingreds aid in calming the digestive system and helps expel gas.

bx, my older Dd had similar problems when younger- pimply skin and cradle cap, but they cleared up on its own by the time she turned 2 months. I doubt its due to your fault.

garfield, different bbs are different, if your bb is drinking/sleeping fine and growing and Pd confirms that, then dont worry.

Qoosan, hehe, big font so that everyone knows you going to pop liao mah.

Garfield, you are so kind to RaeAnne, she screamed so loud previously that the nurse said she "you3 ge4 xing4". :p

Cheryl, me stop wearing mittens for BB since week 6.

OMG....my right breast suddenly developed a few lumps that are tender and painful to the touch.

Have been massaging n pumping for one hour already, still can't get rid

yawns..moo moo again..
so our meeting is at T3 as suggested by eliaw? though its super far for me..haha..i live in jurong west..but shld be ok ba..bring bb for walk

vinegal, I bought the organic gripe water for $16+ I think.

garfield, oh dear, sounds like clogged ducts or something similar? You tried using hot towel when massaging?

bb woke up at 1am, 3am and 5 am to feed last nite!! every feed lasted 1 hr. i m zombie today already! *sob* she used to wake just once a nite. why lidat??

berry,
ya i think so. i spent FOUR HOURS from 1am to 5am massaging my breast...finally managed to clear it. SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO PAINFUL =( let my bb suckle a while after that and i think that helped to get the flow going again.

thanks for the tip on the hot towel. if i kena again will try that.

but i notice that the affected breast is still not yielding as much as before. all the lumps are now gone, but my breast is so sore that i don't really dare to massage further. maybe that's why.

Garfield
How to know if there is any lump or not? I tried to rise up my hand and find that there is a lump on both breasts but when my hand is in normal position, can't feel the lump at all. Getting worried also!!

Apple
My bb does that too. Will cry out loud suddenly in her sleep and tend to smile when she is sleeping! Sometimes will laugh for awhile and get back to sleep.

Pacifier survey
3) star70 - Avent (0-3M)
4) tute - Avent (0-3m)
5 cheryl - Avent (0-6m)
9) dor11-Avent (0-3m) -only used twice cos boi dun like pacifier, he prefer human pacifier!
10) andrea - Avent (0-3mth)

bkkgal,

my boy also like tat wake up every 2hrs for milk. and he refuse to sleep at 3am till 8am plus aft bath then sleep. wah feel very tiring.
at nite only manage to sleep 1hr very siong.

jeannie, i brought my ger to the pd at tmc. dun worry, i think rashes very common among babies. u monitor a few more days. try to keep ur baby cool. dun overdress her. if really get serious, then u go to the doc again. ya, try not to put milk in ur milo and see if it gets better.

loss of appetite:
anyone's baby tends to drink less? i am super worried. this morning, i gave her 110ml, left 40ml! my precious milk...

re engorgement
i learn this method from the lousy CL, buy Jiu3 Bing3, wine biscuit (in mandarin) then add rice wine, mix, then mash it up, then apply on the swollen area. she says the milk will shoot out... not sure if true.

re pacifier
my girl dont want pacifier.... taste and see no milk come out she will reject immediately.

re colic
anyone of the baby got this? mine is underognig now, and i am really helpless. sob sob. she cries i also cry... can only console her by latch, but my nipple is sore and then hor, i cant do anything other thing but sit on the sofa. and it is not gonig to work, cos i need to return to workforce later.... sigh

tongtong, i am finished, till now no time to find out more on infant care

re EBM
I read in a book that baby may need to take 150 ml after full month... turn out my baby always scream for more after 130... or she will demand to be latch.....

"Colicky" babies- I checked out Garfield's rec of the happiest bb on the block DVD and reviews seemed impressive on amazon so I bought the DVD and it was delivered to me yesterday. Just watched it this morning while trying to get my bb to sleep. Personally I wont implement all of wats suggested but I find it v useful overall anyway. Definitely a good buy for mums who have difficulties calming or getting bb to sleep enough. As of now, I can be here typing this post cause my bb is fast alseep (for long I hope!) cause I tuned the TV to static as white noise as recommended by the author, it actually works haha! :D

Those who are keen, I bought mine from here: http://www.smartbaby.com.sg/content/THB_dvd_buy.html

Kelly,

Just dropped you a mail. Bbkgal has taken over 1 bottle of my goat's rue order.

Goat's rue,
I still got 1 bottle, anyone wants to take over?

loss of appetite:
bx, mine too!! started yest. i have thrown away abt 120ml yest. today another 80ml!!! my precious bm!!but he looked ok to me... btw, he is 7weeks plus

happiest bb on the block
i tune to the radio's white noise to put mine to sleep in the evenings. so now instead of listening to bedtime lullabies, mine listens to white noise to sleep! heh. i find the techniques there useful esp when i come to a "dead-end" in trying to calm bb.

garfield, i refer to the guidebook i pick up from Singapore baby and child clinic at TMC.

Tolume for first week varies from 30 to 90.

Increase to 90 to 150 by 3 to 4th week.

Can you imagine now i give her 140, she still screm for more, very worry my SS cannot meet her needs.

bbkgal, sorry i very sua ku, white noise means the ZZZZZZZZZZZZz sound is it?

re: milk intake,
dun think mine is taking that much...gave him FM since tue and at most he drink 80ml. The most he ever drank from bottle is 100ml and that spans across 3 sessions within an hour. not sure how much he drinks when i latch him on, but he seems to be gaining weight well.. i'm also getting worried that my ss not enough for him, but i hope if i keep latching him on, then my ss will meet his demang...

lezy,
i just started giving FM to my baby since tue and he only poo today after 2.5 days no poo ! it was a major bomb poo, lucky pampers never leak though it couldn't absorb all...i've never seen him poo sooo much LOL ! think our baby's poo pattern quite similar. but if he's on full BM he will poo once a day.

re: milk intake
oh..i am giving only 90ml-100ml to my 6wk old..is that too little..but she seems contented after 100ml..only 1-2 feed she seems to ask for more..then i make her another 30ml FM..my EBM sure not enough for her..my per pump barely hit 100ml from both side..pump till tired...

milk intake is depend on ur baby's size, if ur baby still small size like 3kg+, dun force her to drink like wat 5kg baby drink even though same month. As long baby gain weight then should b enough liao.

jus wana pour my "pains" here..my wisdom tooth extraction is hurting me..having migraine...sigh...cannot imagine i got to go for another extraction for the other side in May..zzz