(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Blueginger,

Wearing a breastshell will help to "collect" your milk in the shell which is an alternative for wearing pad and still can wear your bra.
The one i have bought is Medela brand. Not sure whether Avent breastshell is exactly the same.

moi_dar,
re: Avent manual pump
thanks for the info.. will check it out..

re: sling order
oh, just to let u know, i will call the agent and keep u all update on the sling order..

moi_dar,
even a breast shell oso need to wear nursing bra. I find it very uneasy to wear it for sleep.

happymum,
how r u? WOW... So fast already 25ml... STRESSED.

Channet. Yalor... Alot comments that. n she is the biggest among those in the nursery ward. Very aggresive little one.

Blueginger: Can try putting disposable breast pad in yr nursing bra to prevent yr bra from getting wet.

Happy: not bad for 25 ml. Me currently still very pathetic. max 60ml from both breast if not just 20 to 30 ml even trying different ways and meants of drinking different fluid and taking supplement. Guess I am not consistent in pumping my flow even on and off i do latch my son.

hi ladies..
seems like we are still stressing abt BF.
im still having issues with latching on...either he fast or im fast. soo diff sometimes...untill i can break into sweat..like doing exercise!!
i guess i have to press on and show im in charge..but im abit not sure how to hold him..like scared.
thinking of going to tmc for latching consult again...but cannot be everytime go right??
im quite sure i have the milk...i just need to be in control when latching on!!! arrgghh so frustrating sometimes...

i think we just have to feed our bbs.
dun worry so much abt the amt of milk we express out.
just keep on feeding...and relax....everyone is different.
remember don let anyone or anything make u feel less of a mother no matter decision we make..be it on BF or FM or anything. we need to support each other.

Faten you are right we must stay positive and do not let anyone or anything affect us and most impt we must support each other.

Thanks Garfield

I'm back pumping and again...xian...my supply still stuck at 60ml these 2 days although I managed to reach 90ml 2 days ago. Anyone here completely express bm and combine with formula?

Wonder how is Xiaoyun..

Hi Snowbelle

Somehow the cabbage leaves worked for me. Even though it may not exactly help relieve the engorgement it still felt good to have something cooling on your breasts. But think massage is still the best. I massagedand pumped and next day it was ok.

I was upset my milk ss didn't come in, but on day 5 itself suddenly my breasts started leaking in the day and by night, it was so painful i couln't sleep.

updates!!!
xiaoyun has popped on 20th feb.
assised with epi!! bb weighs 3.1kg!!!

Andrea has popped on 21st feb!!! bb weighs 3.394kg!! natural w/o epi!

happy, while u complaining that yr pump'suction not good... think my sore nipple come from the pump.. plus my boi using them to "vent" his anger...

twtw, thank you for your reply on the epi.. think i'll ask for it before induction too in that case..

blue ginger..i would also vote for qizhen.. sounds nicer

I bought the Avent IQ Duo at TMC, cos that time very bad engorged, cant wait, so try there and bought there. 799. if you can wait, go china town, takes 2 weeks for stock to come in, but 700 only.....

Thanks for the note on the shell, I will take a look.

bluegin/vine_gal,
dun give up.. keep on pumping.. i believe you will see the result..

Xiaoyun/Adrea,
Congrats to both of you !!

dor,
haha.. i oso hv sore nippless.. later gg to get the manual pump.. maybe tml i will complain abt sore nipple from the new pump.. :p

hi Xiaoyun and Adrea,
Congrats to both of you !!

blueginger, Qizhen sounds better and sweeter :>
can buy the ameda's lilypadz,is sthg like stick on,sthg like silicone bra..

hi, i would like to share my boy's pics.
http://faten.multiply.com/photos

my delivery was a smooth one
1 Feb -woke up at 9am. Thinking when bb will come. Gynae said cld be overdue which might lead to induce.
11am-made brownies!! been wanting to bake some in weeks!
1pm- brownies done! start feeling some pain. And showing 'the sign'. Since im abit blur, i just wait la. Called gynae to inform her but told her i will wait first coz i really dun noe what pain im feeling.
1.20pm- start to monitor the pain. Frm 1.20 to 3pm, pain comes every 5mins lasting 1 min each. Called gynae, she say come down now.
3.45pm-reached clinic. She did her thing, told me i have dilated 2cm. Admitted to labour ward.
5.00pm-came to break my water. started to inhale my best fren, the oxygen mask
a jab on my thigh (i duuno how to spell the jab name)
6pm plus - was pushed to delivery room. still hooked on my mask! hubby tried to pull it off, but i scolded him...hahha
8pm-gynae came. did her thing. said i was 8cm. asked me to push. but i just cant push, i was having the flu as well.
9pm-told widwife to call gynae, think im ready..hahah...so i just gave my best 6 pushes without taking much breath in!! and suddenly out came my boy at 9.21pm!!

All in all, my delivery was smooth, unexpected..i am so thankful. I was talking alot of nonsense while on the oxygen...knowingly of course!! hehehe

enjoy the pics...

whao.. u mums can express so much bm.. its only less dan 2 wks but i feel that my bm is going low.. cos my baby is not getting enough milk and have to top up with formula.. plus my nipples so sore.. expressing quite painful..

for every feed, does ur baby latch on both breasts? my baby either falls asleep after latching on one breast or still very awake after latching on both breasts.. how come?

2 wks old baby should feed on how much milk?

dorothy,
u interested 2 take over a BN set of avent manual breastpump? i hv 1 set. pls contact me. u hv my HP no? i lost ur no after i changed my HP.

i agree wif u abt e medela mini. my nipples cant tahan medela.

loinky
me also not enuf BM so top up wid FM. And i find latching on less painful than expressing but also same prob, bb falls asleep at breast aftr a while. so, in the day, i let him latch on both breasts as long as i can till he is satisfied. mean'g m always try'g to wake him or on standby to let him empty my breasts anytime.

my boi also 2 wks old and since i use FM as well, i will make sure that he is not fed more than the recommended amt (in a day) that is stipulated on the milk can. Even though my MIL and CL always says that wen bb cries and cannot sleep means he wants his milk!

Any mummies encountered bb peeling skin? must apply bb oil or moisturiser?

hi leila
i think its normal for baby to peel skin.
it will go away soon. its like the skin is exfoliating itself..hehe...coz 9mths inside tummy...
baby will also be prone to rashes..so dun worry

i meant the skin of the bb peeling as if he had sun burnt (and not bb peeling skin...hahaha) what shd i do? jus leave it alone or apply bb oil?

Loinky, my son when he is 2 wk his feeding amt is from 50ml increase to 70 ml. However, it depends on individual bb.

Leila it is normal for bb skin to peel. Cos they are shedding the old ones. Don't really have to apply oil or moisturiser. Just bathe the bb as per normal do not have to do anything. But hair u can apply bb oil.

Leila sometimes if u find that the usual amt does not satisfied yr little one u can gradually increase the amt abit. I do not follow the amt stated on the tin cos different bb feeding amt is different but more or less ard there.

leila,my boy is exactly 3weeks today.

for first 2 weeks, i did not put any cream, lotion or powder on him.
as he was also having some rashes, i just rub the medicated cream tat the PD prescribe.
only this week, started to put the normal nappy rash cream and powder.

btw, my BM ss dropped until almost nothing.
now tiking of stopping BFg cos my girl wont b wif me until next thu/fri so cant latch her 2 stimulate supply.

how r u guys? been awhile i didnt log in... now back to in law place, no internet..so only can log in when im back to my mum place.

dor, saw 1 of your thread that u r selling drypers diaper loose pcs.. can i buy from u? can sms me? 9047 1768...

cheryl, hows your uti? recovered?

garfield
i still hv e terrible ulcers in my mouth. drink water also painful.

tis is my EBM output in e last 36hrs, despite taking goat's rue & drinking tons of water/milk/barley water

21feb
8am = 80ml
1pm = 40ml
8pm = 1teaspoon
22feb
830am = 20ml
330pm = 20ml

tis is such a stark difference fr my usual 60-80ml every 6hrs.

i guess it may b due 2 me being sick and/or my girl not around 2 latch on but i can never keep up wif her intake n i wont b seeing her until next thu/fri. at e rate it's going, i doubt i can do much 2 increase my BM ss.

will c how things go in e next few days. if continue like tis, i'll stop BFg. very sad! cos was intending 2 BF 4 1yr for my princess.

hi kelly,

dun be so sad. some things are just beyond our control. as hang in there. as long as ur baby is healthy, be it BF or FM doesnt matter.

Kelly dun be sad cos temporary perhaps u r sick that is why yr supply is low. Hope u recover fast so that yr supply will still be coming in. Perhaps u can pump yr bm when yr girl is not ard at least can maintain the flow.

stress..

am very stressed ever since my boy doesnt wanna zz after drinking. dunno what he wants. and total latched on made me really tired, so decided to give EBM and only latched when i felt more energetic. really drained out and busy, tired during this confinement.. aiks. plus stress made me upset mnay times. bb developed acne and on his face and doc said it's common for bf mum. so got to make sure after latched on, wipe bb's face. the acne is like the milk rash la.

after having first bb, i have decided not to have second one liao. decided to close shop. maybe not used to taking care of bb and very upset when he was crying but dunno what he wants.and very sim tia seeing acne on his face, so ugly. also not wanting to go thru confinement liao becuase stressed with confinement rules too.. sigh.. initially wanted to go see PD with boy but parents dont allow, and made me so stressed. kept asking me to rest yet i couldnt really rest well. and my aunt kept asking me to eat eat eat all the time, and everytime asked me to drink alcohol. but i'm bfding, so felt another stress. Then i told them i dont care about my health, bb more important, if i dont "bu" now doesnt matter becuase i dont want to have another bb liao. aiya i also dunno what i was saying that time.. then during confinement mum saidcannot cry, later eyesight will be very poor. but i think already cried twice liao.. sigh.

breastshell

this one can collect our milk and we got to throw the milk away one right? is this one better than breastpad?

faten: ur bb is really cute!!

milk volume: my bb 26 days and drinking about 110 to 120ml.