(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

piggietail
think your supply is coming in liao. what you need to do is to massage before and after each pump. after the pump, massage it and make sure that there's no lumps at your breast. after your bb latch on, you can also massage and pump for a while to make sure that the breast is soft. by consistently doing that, your supply will gradually increase.

you can try pumping 10 minutes for each side. 30 min each side might be too long.

dor,
haha...so funny =P

twinkle,
Mdm Sadiah's contact is 97724579

hi piglettail,
yippee!!! the heaviness is a sign of milk supply setting in. glad to hear you're feeling better.

i think BM and nipple cream combi is good. will take a day or two for the bleeding to stop and wound to heal. LC told me to go without bra at night (use a towel to cover if there is leaking) cos
(a) airing helps to speed up healing and
(b) the bra strap may cause blocked milk ducts

before pumping
the hard lumps are actually blocked milk ducts. you have to be MERCILESS in massaging them to unblock okie? as in like kneading dough *WINCE* it's really painful, but must do it. can get hubby to help you massage also.

during pumping
LC told me that we need to massage the breasts while pumping - and wow can really see the milk spurting out so happy. at 12, 3, 6 and 9 o'clock of your breast, massage by pinching about two inches of your breast with your thumb and second finger.

duration of pumping
pump one breast for 5 mins then switch to the other breast for 5mins (so that your breast can rest). do not pump each breast continuously for 15 mins. repeat this routine 3 times so each breast is pumped total of 15mins.

jia you okie!! *HUGS AGAIN*

snowbelle, when my bb in hospital, the nurses only fed 30ml. so maybe 70ml too much? about bf, jiaou ok!! i also felt very stressed during this confinement period when bb dint wanna zz and behaved cranky. i nearly brokedown and cried too lor.

if your breast became hard meaning there's milk inside, so you got to pump it out. it couldnt be ony a few drops, maybe your position of the pump on your breast is incorrect. i used manual pump and when pumping, the nipple will be vacuumed into the tube and you will see your nipple like enlarged like that. initially my breast also very hard, after pumping out the breast will soften liao.

bx: i also felt very tired of sterilisng the pump and all the bottles.

vinegal: my friend told me not to mix bm with fm leh. you mixed liao but your bb ok right? in hospital the nurse said feed bm first then only feed fm

june: aiyo poor thingm pls dont be sad, i hope your problem will improve! at least you still express out right. can you keep the milk? or cant because you on medication?

tute: ewaiting for your good news!

stephie: great you have 270ml now! issit 270ml for a day or 270ml for each pump? so you got 270mlx2=540ml after pumping twice a day?

casa: 150ml each pump? so how many times did you pump per day ah? wah you very steady leh! can bf on one hand and another on computer. i always feel very tired with my arms when i latched my boy on. i should have got a nursing pillow hehe

eliaw: yea, today my boy latches for very long for one of the makan session, but when i fed him with EBM he could finish very fast.

needle poking feeling: how come my breast got needle poking feeling ? does that mean that my supply building for bb's next feeding session?

cheryl,
i feed whenever bb demands for milk. if she doesn't cry for it after a 3-hr interval, i will go and kachow her and then feed her.

sorry to intrude, am fr e dec 07 thread,
hav e followin for sale:
1. medela mini electric plus
sellin at: $200
gd condition, used for less than a mth before stoppin bf..

2. avent isis manual pump (5 via cups set)
sellin at: $45
gd condition, used for abt 2 weeks after delivery before switchin to electric pump.

pls pm me for more details and happy motherhood.
cheers!

hi ladies..
had such a stressful afternoon...
bb was on the breast every other 30 mins.
prob is when i feed him, he will doze off..
then theres the latching on prob.
frm 11am, managed to put him to sleep at 2.30pm.
phew...SO TIRED..cried my eyes out whenever this happens...i mean am i stupid or what? cant even latch on properly...feel so sad sometimes...
juz now 5.30 he woke up, feed him..was abit easier....im so confused....

re: bb falling asleep while latching
mine also does that after 5 or 10 mins. if i feel that bb has not sucked much (as in breast still feeling very full), will try to wake him up either by burping, changing diaper. usually after i change diaper for him, he'll be awake and suckle again. for nite feed usually bb is very hungry then and really suckle hard. so if bb falls asleep after 5 or 10 mins and no need to change diaper, i just let him be. heehee, cos i wanna go back to sleep too :p

winnie
i feed ebm with bottle. i purposely do so once a day so that bb will be ok with bottle fdg too. else after confinement i can't leave the hse without him :p

eliaw
latching on for 1 hr is too long n bb may juz be suckling for comfort? me opposite fr urs, the initial few times when i fed bb with bottle, he took more than 30mins to finish whereas with latching, d most is 15 to 20mins. now better liao, can finish d ebm within 15mins.

piglettail
yes, ur ss is cmg in liao! gotta msg ur breast as u pump. i'll press on those lumpy areas as i pump. ur milk ducts cld be blocked. me too had same situation as urs and no matter how i pump, milk juz won't cm out. try latching bb on regularly to clear d blocked ducts.

tongtong
me got 270ml during one pump. that's d max so far.

cheryl
me too feed on dd.

hihi...
i've given birth to my darling girl on 18Feb2008, assisted delivery without epidural. weight at birth is 3050g. kindly update for me in your list k. thanks thanks.

tongtong: I do mix my bm with fm but bb ok leh.

BM:
Tongtong, stephie: so gd u guys supply is so much mine still very pathetic leh even trying ways and means for 3 wks.But I still continue to latch my son and feed him with fm.

Chery: My son got auto clock on his tummy, if he crys for milk den give him but estimate time is plus minus 3 hrs

Needle poking feeling: I also have this feeling too.

piglettail: jia you!! supply slowly coming in remember to massage yr breast.

My baby also a sleepyhead... thats why have to pump out the milk each time after he has falled asleep while BF him.
Got a new breast pump from Avent yesterday, a manual one. It helps me alot.

Tongtong,
ya, i get 150ml every morning b4 i latch on my bb. And i drink alot alot of red dates water & soup.. I pump 2-3 times per day. Will still let him latch on when he is not sleepg ;)
I will usually pump when i start to feel engorge or leak on both breasts. The timing is so 'gum' most of the time after i pump, he will awake & cry for milk..so he gets the fresh one except in the midnite, i will store few in the firdge & the CL will heat up to feed him.

snowbelle, yup 50 ml per feed for the 5th day onwards,now going 60ml for some feeds.

piglettail, for very hard breast b4 milk will flow,massage clockwise in small circular motion, u got to really massage them with force b4 the hard breast becomes soft to pump milk..

my baby just pooed, my milk was dripping all the way while changing her, then wipe her clean liao, the drypers sticker 1 side not adhesive,keep coming out, then go get new one, she pee while i lift the diaper up, her booties n clothes kena pee..zzzz...is that our life now...haha...

casa, how many days since your delivery now? me also hoping to cross the 100ml mark soon..sigh, keep fluactuating btw 50-60ml from both sides only....

hi my dear ladies...sunny,garfield,stephie and vine_gal

THANK YOU!!

yes i will keep on trying...

Purplecurlz and snowbelle,
dun give up ok?lets keep trying!

faten,
I also have same problem as you. my bb demands to be on the breast almost every half an hour. I have not really sleep since i was discharged on sunday. tonight i am going to try giving FM so that i can sleep longer.

Burping:
Anyone have problem burping ur bb? my bb doesn't burp after every feed. only sometimes. what will be the consequences if the bb doesn't burp?

Starry70,
I had poped since 26th jan... at 1st was only 20ml...take more fluids lor, it helps. I started to get 150ml since last few days only... Kambadek!!

my bb has developed this weird behaviour past two days.

she will struggle as i try to feed her, spit out my nipple a few times, finally wail with her mouth wide open before accepting my breast.

very strange....????

re: breastfeeding
after i decided to stop BF, i was so sad i kept crying. the thot that i cannot see my baby suckling milk from me and cannot bond with me anymore made me very sad. so, this morning i decided that i can definitely solve the problem and persist on!

eliaw, how about consultation charges? how much does he charge for first and subsequent consultation charges?

garfield, mdm sadiah's charges so cheap and good? mine is $65 per session. after 7 sessions lost 4 inches only... still got 4 inches more to go... how many inches did u lose?

vine_gal, your parents chinese birthdays exactly the same as mine! my dad 15th of lunar month and my mom on the 1st!

piglettail, when my nipples were sore, i expressed n fed ebm first. when they recovered then i continued to latch on. think both mthds are correct. after feeding, put some bm on yr nipples, then put the nipple cream. i just bathe and wash hair every other day. think it's impt that we keep ourselves happy.

julie_lim, thanks for the info.

kitsune, i'm using the medela mini. noticed that my ss dropped already. luckily today massage lady helped to clear some of the blocked ducts and engorgement. i'll see if i can handle or not, otherwise will have to get the lactation consultant. btw, how much was yrs?

garfield, i know how tiring it is. cos now my MIL not around most of the time as i kinda "invited her to go home". so now hb and i gotta handle everything on our own too. but luckily my hb also very nice, looked after the bb whole of last nite so i could have my recuperating sleep

casa/stephie/twtw/tong, thank you. i'm still persevering for now. don't wan to make an irreversible decision.

dor, my boy also use my nipple as pacifier lor. sometimes full already but juz wan to suck for a while to fall asleep... and he will really cry very very loudly until he gets what he wants.

eliaw, ok so it's normal that he doesn't poo daily... cos the pamphlet says that i should see 4 wet stools per day to know that he is feeding correctly. so i was quite worried initially. last nite immediately after i said he didn't poo... he pooed 3 times all the way till 1am.

pigglettail, if it's hard and u can't pump anymore milk it's no good... gotta massage to soften it otherwise wait get inflammation

kitsune_sg,
I think my blocked milk duct problem solved liao, coz got some milk liao. But breasts still feel hard... I tried to use breast pump to pump until no milk come out, but I find that my breast still hard leh... is this engorement?

vine_gal,
My bb keeps rejecting my other breast coZ diff to suck and ended up crying... then today I noticed when she sucked her favoured side, she was very impatient... I'm worried that she too used to the flow of using bottle feed... What should I do?

stephie,
If engorged, can we still drink papaya fish soup or get goat rue to increase milk flow? Will it worsen the engorgement?

Actually, I have no choice to use bottle feed... coz not enough breast milk so gotta supplement with formula... wonder if I spoon feed bb, will bb still has nipple confusion?

tongtong,
Today got slightly more milk compared to ytd but breasts still hard leh... but now bb dun want to latch on...

Hi, I am using spoon too... cos i am worried about nipple confusion... but I feel so sad that it seems to make her work harder....

very dilemma right?

I am having very sore nipples... i really tried to latch on properly, also know it is best to cover aerola area, but if baby did not open so big, also tough right???

Garfield

thanks for the number. My bb sometimes give me a funny look when i latch her on my right side ...I wonder if the milk taste different from both side??!!

Snowbelle
Got to balance the latch on both side . Else you'll soon notice that one side becomes bigger than the other.

Vine
How you train your bb on 3 hr routine? mine sometimes take the nipples as pacifier and want to latch on when she is awake!

goodbaby
guess have to wait....

Actually I find doing the massage during confinment a hassle cos can't bath and still have to bf when skin is still oily. maybe i'll contine after the 1st month.

June, I'm using Medela Pump in style (traveller). It's $600+ but I'm lucky cos my friend lent me hers so I no need to buy. Thinking of buying the Avent ISIS manual pump to put at ILs place cos a few Jan MTBs swear by it. They said the breasts become so soft after pumping with it. That one is $91+.

Snowbelle, that's good. Breasts still hard means still got milk inside. Try pumping longer, sometimes got second let down. Or try to get BB to latch on and clear the breasts. After emptying the breasts, it should feel very soft.

Winnie, my KKH LC said if BB never latch properly, unlatch her and let her latch again. You may want to pinch your areola to fit her mouth to help her latch properly. I was worried of nipple confusion too so in hosp keep asking them to cup feed. And true, it does waste quite a bit of EBM cos it will keep flowing out. Then when BB home, I had to supplement with FM cos SS not enough plus I can't tahan the night feeds so gave bottle. But ok leh, no problem. I think BB are quite smart to adjust. In fact, my CL said cannot always latch on, if not BB don't know how to suckle from bottle next time.

Twinkle, I wiped my body with hot da feng cao water after massage. Not as good as bathing but better than nothing.

Although I am no longer bfing, just something I have learnt to prevent sore nipples.

Sometimes it is not due to poor latching. It is when mummies unlatch, they tend to just pull the nipple out of the mouth. The suction is still there and due to that, the nipples can be injured. Mummies should insert one finger into the corner of bb's mouth to release the suction before pulling out the nipple from the mouth.

For mummies trying to recover from bleeding/cracked nipples, wearing a breast shell (not nipple shield) can help as it prevent abrasion from wearing bra and allows the nipple to dry. I didn't need to apply any cream and my nipple recovers! Just my personal experience.

I'm very sad now... bb totally dun wan to latch on... she gets very impatient... thk is due to the bottle feed... she can finish her formula very fast... what should I do? If by using breast pump entirely, can I still increase my milk flow?

Snowbelle, I know of friends who totally EBM and can do so up to a year. But they were very hardworking. Express out the milk every two-three hours. You can always try it out first.

Snowbelle, it's like that. My BB also impatient, she'll fuss and cry when she loses the latch. Have to keep on relatching for her. So, i usually have to bf for 45min - 1 hr. Just now also bf her from 11:35pm to now, break record liao. :p Sometimes, she's also like that when bottle feed but sometimes can finish in just 5 mins. I think as long as you keep trying, she'll take it as long as she's hungry enough. Just need to be very patient.

Moi Dar, had a hard time getting BB to unlatch just now. She clamp on the nipple very hard though not sucking, put finger into her mouth, still need to pull the nipple out. Left nipple painful now, got to apply Purelan.

Me delivered on 11 Feb although EDD was supposed to be 26 Feb. Normal delivery at TMC. So long never log on to the forum liao..really miss reading the forum. Now i take the chance to log on while pumping away.

Here's my story:

9.30 am - In the office as usual, discovered show

11 am - Hubby sent me to hospital after getting my hospital bag from home.

11.30 am reached hospital. Went to gynae but clinic but clinic told me to go to delivery ward

12 noon - Nurses checked dilation only 1cm. No contractions but water trickling. Almost told me to go home.

12.30pm - Gynae came and checked on me - 2cm dilation. But while she checked water bag burst. (So happy it didn't burst on the way)

1pm - Contractions begin. Had some light lunch.

4pm - Supposed to be abt 6 cm dilated but still 3cm! Gave me drip to speed contractions.

5 pm - Asked for gas

9.45 pm - Asked for normal injection. Contractions so painful..already gong gong with all the pain and gas.

11pm - started to push. Couldn't tahan the pain any longer. Couldn't wait for gynae. Fortunately gynae came in time. Pushed many times until she told me this had to be last push if not gotta use vacuum. I gave baby one last push, was so exhausted and screaming. Finally baby came out. Phew!

So far latched baby on in hospital for colostrum. Milk came in only on day 5..was quite frustrated during day 3-5 coz no milk and I had insisted on no formula initially but when I see my boy so hungry no choice but bottle feed him formula. So now I express bm for his day feed and feed formula for the night coz my supply can't keep up..plus formula more filling for the night.

Those who can latch on..dun give up. I really would like to latch baby but my nipples too short..can't latch properly. I really miss the time in hospital when he could just take to my breast and suck a little while..the feeling is wonderful. Helps build excellent bonds. Now I feel sad when he cries for milk but when I offer him the breast he can't latch.

Hi Moi dar..where to get the breast shell? I think either my bra too tight or my boobs sensitive. Now breasts feel very itchy coz the bra pads seem to retain a lot of heat and when it absosbs the leaking milk, my breasts become red and itchy..feel like a rash is developing there.

moi dar,
you are right! the breast shells worked for me too!

sweetpea,
avent has the breast shells so can get anywhere that carries avent stuff

Thanks all for your well wishes..
Bb n I were discharged yesterday.. Trying to get used to handle 2 kids at d same time wif my mum helping mi.. Some of u may be awared of my maid prob.. Hopd d replmt maid can come asap..

snowbelle
if got engorgement, gotta mk sure u pump out the milk. datz d best way to relieve engorgement. massage/press on the harden part while pumping to get the milk out. can continue with ur intake of soup, etc.

do cont trying to latch on bb as often as u can as it not oni help boost ss but also clear blocked ducts. i thk cos ur breast engorge/ducts blocked hence milk got stuck n bb can't get wat she wants hence got impatient. once u manage to clear ur engorgement, i'm sure d flow will be better.

last time, my gal also dun wanna latch on after i went back to work for a while. so i juz pump and give her ebm loh. like moi dar said, gotta pump diligently at 2-3hrs interval to establish d ss.

winnie
if u pump regularly, it won't affect d ss.

good morning!!!

re: more intake of fluids
mummies, other than the red date water n soup, what else u gals taking... i think my body badly need water. i only pee 3-4 times a day.

kitsune,
wow! avent manual pump good? i also using medela mini.. my nipple so sore after that...

does any of the bb spit out the milk after latching on... mine did!!!

dor,
in addtion to red date water n soup, i also drink warm plain water and milo.

my bb doesn't spit out milk. she spit out my nipple haha!!

avent manual pump,
i'm using avent manual pump. i find it very good also. can control suction strength and duration. pretty efficient also.

anybody experience trouble with baby spitting your nipple out a few times when trying to BF before latching on eventually?

I finally setup my pc at my parents place. Is in the middle of moving n confinement. Terrible running against time.

my girl name is Channet. weight: 3.66Kg when borned.

Is it normal for bb not to poo? She has not be poo poo for 2 days. How can i get her to poo poo? Have been feeding her with BF & FM.

Mums, thanks alot for sharing with me. I feel so sad when nipples are all sore, but I think I will push on, she always screams after latch for more... so end up feed EBM via spoon.

I was wondering, then it means after each latch, the supplement with EBM, then i go and pump, then latch, then feed EBM then i go and pump, with the cycle ongoing, is it madness?

yeap may i know what is breast shell and where to buy???

my girl is Cherie heee, she is only 2.6KG, sigh cos only 37 weeks.

those who r using Avent manual pump, can advise roughly how much it cost ?
my current manual pump bought 1.5 yr ago seems like not working very well..

today only managed to pump about 25ml BM.. can sense that the suction not working very well.. so not sure if my supply is really low or the pump is not working.. sigh.. today is day 5 for mi so i m expecting the milk flow to come..

winnie,
AVENT have breast shell. Can get it at shopping centre/ kiddy palace.

Stephie,
huh? 270ml? Me still 30ml on my 7th day.

Sore nipple
I have been using the sample nipple cream. Quite effective. Any brand will do at this moment. But advise not to latch on for more than 15 mins each breast.

Leakage:
I always wet myself. Any solution beside wearing nursing bra? I saw a lady who use a flower-shape plastics that stick on to your breast without bra support, any idea where to get it?