(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Breastfeeding problem...

Finally bb is out but now I'm also super stress about bf... When in hospital, bb only suckle for a min and then will end up sleeping... On the 2nd night, she suckled better but think coz nothing came out from my breasts, so she kept crying... then a nurse came in and said some discouraging stuff... like bb cried because she was hungry, coz you got no milk... after hearing this, feel very demotivated... sigh... dunno is it because I over-sensitive leh...

Later, my hb suggested to see the lacation consultant... my breasts were actually blocked by those solidified milk, that's why the colostrum can't come out... The solidified milk was cleared on the day I discharged but I think I should have stay 1 more day... at least got professional there to help me...

When I tried to bf bb at home, only few drops of colostrum came out... and 1 of my nipples is too short, bb got problem in suckling... So when my mom and mil know about it... kept saying bb hungry, need to drink milk... you got no milk, better give formula... My hb and I insisted to bf... but damn stress... I tried to bf in the room and bb kept crying... and my mil knocked the door twice to check... I felt I'm so useless... and felt really panic when bb cried coz it's like showing to them I'm an useless mummy... no milk for bb, that's why she kept crying... in the end, I broke down and cried... and mil fed formula to bb... she fed about 70ml... is it too much for nb?

I tried to apply hot towel and massage my breasts, only few drops came out and my breasts became hard and painful and felt warm too... So today, my hb rushed to get the PIS... in the end, also only few drops... really dunno what to do...

Snowbelle

Dun worry abt supply cos for 1st few days only have colostrum and the milk supply will come in a few days after. In hospital I also do not have much and my boi also hungry so ask nurse to give him FM.

I am giving my boi FM and BM currently cos supply still not much. Keep latching yr bb and the supply will come in and at the same time give fm to yr bb if she is hungry it is ok. Initally it is ok to have those feeling whereby why we do not have supply but do not give up no one is useless mum. For newborn giving 70 ml is abit too much, perhaps u would like to check with the hospital how much they give yr daughter? Cos in hospital my son take in 20 to 30ml, max for newborn in 1st wk shd be ard 50 ml. However depend on individual bb. Best not to overfed bb.

U may refer to my comments on top and the rest of mummy suggestions. Dun be depress and dun give up drink more fluid and soup and yr flow will come in.

snowbelle, dun stress..first few days not much milk one..only drops of colostrum..but it shld be enough for baby.u must perserve..increase latch to increase supply..first few days latch on demand..milk shld come in..use hot towel.now my milk also coming in but low..so trying ways to increase. i do supplement with fm when my nipples get painful after i am home, so just do wat u can..but meanwhile do not stop latching or pumping

between i do not noe if 70ml is too much..but my gal drinks only at most 50ml so far at day 7..i tink babies r smart..they noe how much they wan to drink.

More breastfeeding problem...

I also face the same problem as some of u. i am trying total latch-on now. i tried to pump after feeding the baby but only like 20ml from both sides. so i will pour it away coz i really dunno how to store the tiny amt of milk.

Also sick and tired of assembling, washing and sterilising the pump everytimei use it. (i am using the avent manual pump)

today juz collected the tea from vine_gal, hope it will help to boost my milk supply.

BX do not throw away the milk very sayang. 20ml is also yr precious milk leh initially when i pump out also tat amt. Mix it with yr FM for yr bb. Little better den dun have. U can keep the BM in the bottle and warm it up and when feed yr bb mix with FM. That what I do also.

I also have the same prb with u, assembly and pump so little but u will notice the more u pump the flow will slowly come in. These 3 days i direct latch my son i dun bother abt pumping, my mum encourage me to direct latch my son cos more milk flow will come out. But still will pump to monitor the amt of flow supply.

BX i also started the tea today dunno will increase the supply or not leh. But impt is to drink more more more fluid and do not stress yrself.

tongtong: on the pampers got one yellow line right that is the indicator, when there is urine the indicator will turn to green colour. Nepia and Goo.n also have indicator on their diaper.

thks kitsune and verone's mummy for your advice, thk i will change to Nan 1 ha then. By the way, does anyone has the nestle co.'s helpline that i can call 2 to ask? cos i visit the PD clinic 2day and was told that if change, shd wait aftr 3 mths then change bit by bit...but i forgot to tell him that it is under the same brand...can kick myself for being so forgetful these days.

bb's jaundice now is much lower and he is gain'g weight. Now, m afraid he might be taking too much FM though

Been feeling not too fantastic too...feel that i'm no longer in control of my life. Earlier on, i didn't have enuf BM but now ss seems to be increasing when i have sort of given up the notion of total BF and hope the ss jus dries up but things jus takes a different turn...m jus so confused. m jus not sure what to do now???

Hi vine,

was told breastfeeding hotline that if wanna mix BM and FM feeding, shd feed the BM first seperately then only supplement wid FM ....

hi hi..
anybody knows if there's any guidelines on how much to feed EBM? my bb is drinking very irregular amounts.. ranges from 40-80..
also does anyone know if EBM n direct latch on any differences to milk supply?

so far i only feed by latch on. I pump nothing much come out.

i dun think there is difference to milk supply if u feed via both methods. coz both method u r emptying ur breasts.

QooSan,

I very lazy to wake up at nights. Anyway, my confinement is ending this week. Afterwhich, I will have to take care of my baby on own and will wake up every few hours at night : (

Jeanice,
Congratulations!

More and more mtbs popping liao...

vine_gal,
Thanks. I'm afraid that if fed my bb with formula using bottle, she will get nipple confusion leh... Now I also gave in a bit, give bb some water using spoon and at night 1 feed is formula... Do you think it's enough? I'm quite worried... today bb only pooed once... Didn't change diaper that many times too, it didn't get wet that fast also...

starry,
Thanks. The 50ml is it 1 feed? How many feeds you gave your gal per day? I scared my bb greedy, keep drinking dunno how to stop lah... Luckily my hb understand the situation... Just now when my mil fed my bb with formula, he stood next to her to supervise...

Engorement,
I was told to put cold cabbage on my breasts and try to latch or pump every 3 hours... even if no milk come out, will it ease the engorement? Should I continue to drink those papaya fish soup to simulate the milk? 'Coz I'm afraid that the milk flow comes in but got suck... What should be the right way to ease engorement and increase milk flow? I'm really confused...

Formula milk,
Currently I'm trying out the Enfa A+, is it good? 'Coz I see many of you using Nan 1 ha.

Bb checkup and vaccine,
I'm thinking for subsequent bb checkup to do with a PD near my house and those vaccines to do in polyclinic (heard it's much cheaper), is it ok? Will the PD get offended if I do this?

Bb's 1st dose of Hep B is done by the assigned PD, is it ok to go polyclinic to get subsequent doses? Do I need to inform him?

dear mummies, i feel like giving up on bf. thot i recovered already but today suddenly both breasts very engorged and painful and fever came back. it's been one week already. no recovery after medicine/antibiotics for 3 days already.

doc advised me to express the engorged right one and throw away and latch bb on the left breast. but seems like bb not feeding well. he never pass motion for 24 hours. make me very worried. he's not latching on the left breast properly especially today as i can feel that it is engorged and inflammed, but just not as bad as the right one. now both nipples are sore and painful. can't sleep cos of the engorgement and fever.

very sad to give up but i dunno what else to do. been hardworking in taking medicine, expressing, latching and putting cabbage, but seems like no improvement. and i thot i could bf him for very very long... very disappointed.

June

You may want to engage a Lactation Consultant - she can help you with engorgement. There was an article written by a mummy about how she has successfully cure her engorgement through the help of LC with no medication. And she can help on the same day - priority given to mummy with engorgement.

if you want, you can call Betty at 98330170 or Dors at 9638766.

i also feel like giving up on BF until my friend suggested that i call a Lactation consultant to try.

Wk 1 - direct latch but baby not keen and also not very successful. So only pump - only up to 60 ml total for both sides. So feed baby with EBM in the day and FM in night.

Wk 2 - bad engorgement...continue pumping and also popping pain killers...milk supply start to drop. Now can only do up to 30 ml total for both sides.

Today - I saw the lactation consultant (LC) and she helped me with latch on. So today, TBF for baby but still haven't get full milk supply, so still have to supplement with FM. My LC asked me tried not to supplement with FM and latch on more often. It has been a really tiring day. Will try harder again tmr.....

Snowbelle, I've just switched BB to Enfalac A+, recommended by CL. Nan1 is good in the sense that it has been reconstituted to resemble breast milk (my PD said it's already broken down into amino acid) but for my BB, she poo a lot until her anus is red with my BM and Nan1 so we are switching to Enfa A+ to decrease the no. of times she poo poo. But today, so far, no poo poo leh. Must continue to experiment.

I had the blocked milk duct problem too. Last time the LC helped me massage and press hard on the areola to clear the milk duct. She said must make sure the milk or colostrum flows out before you use hot towel to massage the breast. If not, it'll be one layer of oil blocking 1 layer of milk all the time, end up like "jiu3 ceng2 gao1". Maybe you can try too. :p

Starry, your SS already better than mine leh, you got 50ml from each side. I only got 50ml from my right side, left side always lesser.

June, poor thing, one of the mummies in Jan forum also gave up on BF cos of very good ss, bad engorgement and fever. What pump are you using? Electric ones may help clear engorgement faster. I also think you should consult LC first so that you exhaust all means before giving up.If not, you may regret. The Jan mummy also regrets giving up too early sometimes, for no. 2, she still wants to try TBF.

I am Apr MTB. My due date is 3rd Apr. Need help fm u gals. I guess some of u r still doing confinement. My confinement lady informed me y'dy morning dat she can't help me wif confinement.

Anyone who is happy wif your confinement lady can pls email me at [email protected]

Thx

Hi ladies, am at hosp now. Still 2cm dilated only so i maybe stranded here for quite a while but pain is still bearable. Wish me luck!

Snowbelle: If u bottle fed yr bb and when u latch her on she is still ok den i think yr bb should not have nipple confusion. At night one formula feed shd not be enuff unless u BF her also. BB poo once is ok, tat time my bb din poo for 4 days im worried dead but lucky after tat he did poo. It is ok for bb not to pee so many time for the 1st few days but have to monitor her..too little that means she did not take enuff fluid.

hi piglettail
*HUGS* sorry to hear about your challenges re BF. i also had sore and bleeding nipples and almost negligible supply during the first few days. SS only kicked in on my 5th day (can pump about 60ml both sides)

it helped that i was in KKH for 6D5N cos no pressure from family to feed FM when bb cries, could get support and guidance from the lactation consultant and BF in peace (mum and MIL not around most of the time to pass discouraging comments =P)

insisted on TBF then...not easy decision cos bb having jaundice. but persevered and only supplemented with FM during the 2 days she was undergoing phototherapy.

my left nipple was sore and bleeding on my 3rd day post delivery, and it only healed on my 7th day. i used avent nipple cream and that helped. meanwhile, i latched baby onto my right breast and expressed the milk from my left breast. increase in supply.

i think the impt thing is not to give up, get help from LC, and surround yourself only with pple who will support you. initially my mum and MIL also keep saying bb doesn't have enough to drink, not enough BM blah blah blah...my hubby shut them all up. now i chase them all out when i BF.

now still on TBF and almost complete latch on. bb jaundice already better so TBF no longer a concern.

difference between latch on and pump
according to my LC, latch on drains a lot more milk from breast than pump. so to her, pump is a 2nd best option. latch on is the best pump and also stimulates milk supply. so mummies, pls try to latch on as much as possible.

increasing supply
for me, have been drinking the papaya fish soup, eating fish every meal, and taking fenugreek. seems to work. can pump about 50ml each side. LC says enough for bb cos she can drain out more than that.

EBM vs latch on
hb used this analogy - fresh milk vs refrigerated milk. certain enzymes will be lost in the storage process. so again, if can latch on more often, all the better.

june
you poor thing...don't give up yet! think you can get LC to do home visit to help you? maybe bb not latching properly?

it is indeed very siong to be on TBF and complete latch on. some more i have no CL around to help me. but it is a very fulfilling feeling one. all mummies jia you!!!

piggletail
don't be too stressed up. relax.

like what other mummies said, it's normal to have really low supply in 1st few days. and what the bb needs is just few drop of colostrum.
bb got enough reserve in the body for the 1st few days. don't worry too much.
i agreed that it's really annoying when people around you kept nagging and kept commenting that the supply is not enough, etc etc etc and yet they don't do anything to help up. for me, i just close my ears and do what i think it's the best for my bb.
jia you!

June,
So sorry to hear that. Hope you don't give up on BF. All the best to you..HUGS ;)

Piggletail,
Don't be sad & pls don't give up. I came acrossed with your experienced (almost the same story!)
I have no milk supply at all at the 1st 3days after delivered, so the nurse told me to be patient & latch on bb more often. I was very hardwrkg then, wk up in the mid nite in the hoapital just to BF my bb (although i have no milk' at all).
In the 1st day my MIL came to see me & bb. Oh no, she kept nagging & complaing that i hv no milk & thats why my bb keep crying coz he cant sucks anytg! And yet kept saying that i hv such a 'Dark' nipple..whereby my FIL was just sitttg outside the curtain. I was so so sad & dissapoited.. i cried after she left the hospital. The nurse heard all her comments. Then the nurse was very encouraging, she told me that was normal for no milk supply in the 1st few days. Guess what, now i got 150ml from both side of breast. At 1st few days the max was only 20ml... but i dun give up & keep letting my bb latch on.. and it wrks.. So, piggletail, pls dun be sad ok..cheer up ;)

My Brest Friend nursing support pillow for SALE

I bought one pillow and last week my friend gave me a similar one. Therefore, want to sell the one i bought.

Price:$60
Condition: Brand NEW. Not opened at all.

PM me if keen.

wow...reading all of our stories on BF makes me wonder...who ever said it was the easiest thing to do? for me i didnt expect BF to be such a challenge or maybe im underestimating myself...i really dunno...low self confidence, but then again i managed to deliver my son w/o epi in under 6 hours but scared of BF...sometimes im sooo weird!!

Anyway good news..this morning, i tried to pump and my supply for left breast has improved. I keep telling myself not to be so concern..just feed the bb and he will tell me if he has enuff or not. but i just cant help it..especially if he falls asleep after 10mins.
anyone has sugg on how to stop baby to fall asleep...i talk to him, stroke him, i broke down n cry also...haaaiiii stressful sometimes..

piglettail/snowbelle
dun be discouraged. you've jz given birth recently hence milk ss may not hv kicked in yet. mine also gradually increased fr miserable 20ml -> 60ml -> 80ml -> 150ml -> 200ml -> 270ml (as of yday). i usually latch on and pump only 1 to 2 times a day when there's engorgement/when i feed bb with EBM. with proper latch on, your nipple shouldn't be sore/bleeding. make sure bb mouth covers your aerola and not just your nipple.

when my bb was in hospital for phototherapy, he's fed with fm too. i visited him at most twice a day to bf him. thankfully when he's back home, he still latches on quite well. i wanna feed him EBM at least once a day so that he can get use to both teats and nipple.

during the day, he can be latching on every hour. i just let him be and i think that helps to stimulate more ss. only thing i'm afraid that he's sucking for comfort and ended up being overfed. do try to latch bb on whenever he's rooting for your breast. as qoosan said, it's good to latch on for nite feeds.

do persevere, i'm sure you'll see better results. remember to drink more liquid. hv enuf rest.

during my gal's time, my gal kept crying whenever i latch her on or constantly demanding to be latched. hence, my mum thot i dun hv enuf milk for my gal. then when i managed to pump out quite a substantial amt, i showed to my mum and said "see, who say no milk" :p Hence for my boy this time, my mum didn't comment on my breastfeeding anymore.

snowbelle
i think enfa A+ is ok. in fact all the FM brands have its own merit. just that one may be more suitable for your bb (or your bb's taste) then the rest. i choose enfa too when my boy was in hospital (cos my girl drinking enfa too now).

if you are afraid of nipple confusion, maybe intro bottle EBM when bb is very good with latching. for mine, he has got difficulties drinking from bottle when i started bottle feeding of EBM (kept pushing the teat out of his mouth). now slightly better.

during the first week, my bb drank btw 50 - 70ml when the nurses fed him. as long as bb doesn't throw out the milk, it should be ok. different bb has different appetite just like us adults

jeannie
Congrats to you!

tute
all the best to you and wish you a smooth delivery!

june
hope you are feeling better now. maybe can seek help from LC like wat julie has suggested. i can see that you are very determined to bf your bb. at least try out first so that you won't hv any regret in future.

ting
nigel has got very big and sparkling eyes! nice!

eliaw
moi_dar posted a formula for estimating how much bb should be drinking previously. think it's something like:

150 x wt of bb (in kg)/no. of feed per day (eg. if 3 hrs interval = 8 feeds) = xx ml

i think mine is drinking about 80 ml per feed cos that's the max he can finish when i bottle feed him.

BX
ya, don't throw away your EBM whatever is the amount. can still feed bb with that and supplement with FM if needed.

hmm.. still no news of Xiaoyun?

good morning!!!

mummies, let jiayou in reg to BF.

mummies, i have a question... my nipple are so sore after the pump. i have applied medela nipple cream but still dun help...
also i have this sharp sharp pain in my breast.
what should i do?

also when we call LC or BF hotline, what should we ask?

casa, 150ml? that's a lot. my max is only 90ml..

Re: latching on
i think some of the milk ducts on my left breast are blocked cos i can feel that the breast is still heavy with milk but i just can't get the milk out. then i continue to let bb suckle on the breast and i think that helped to clear the block ducts. hence, feel that latching bb on is the best 'pump' to clear blockage/engorgement of breast.

hi stephie...
i guess my main stress factor is the latch on.
he will latch on okay for first 10mins..then i can see that his mouth will slide off...hmmm..how???

dorothy,
yes. i m happy with the result too. wk up in the midnite just to bf him... finally can get more milk supply. now i m BF him, one hand holdg him ..while another hand on keyboard now.

sleepy baby,
ya my baby also sleepyhead. she will cry and cry for milk and the moment i put her to my breast, she will suck a few times then fall asleep. machum my milk got sleeping pill haha...!!! LC say babies at this age are like that. just need to keep tickling their ears and chin to get them to suckle.

stephie,
wow your supply increase is very good! i'm now at 20ml -> 60ml -> 100ml. been at 100ml for a few days, so need a "breakthrough" haha! ya i know what you mean by showing pple your milk. i also very proud the first day i pumped out 60ml (almost filled one small Nan1 bottle).

dor,
your pump can adjust suction? maybe it's too strong for you?

casa,
you good leh!! i can't, need one hand to hold bb, another one to tickle her to keep her awake. so i just play 92.4 and stone....=P

garfield, can! but min not power....
haha, my boi also like thar, the moment he latch on, after a few suckle, he also sleep.... tickling him wont help....

garfield, no lah... my boi "see" my nipple as his "pacifier" n also something to "vent" his anger....

btw, how's yr gal's jandice level?

Good day everyone!!

Finally found a minute to come into the forum heee.

It is really not easy to be a mum!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My Birth story

12th Feb night, Doctor said baby water level is running too low, must induce the very night

13th Feb midnight, go into hospital, induce with tablet inserted.... the nurse is very rough, so end up very painful and there she is grumbling i waste her medicine cos it melts as I am not relax enough. Like S***

13th 8am, put on drip as only 1cm dilated

13th 10am, put on epidural, i did not tahan too long.... was using breathing technique all the while, but the nurse came and tempted me hehee, said the doc who can administer is in the corner, ask me if i want, if not, later call the doc, he may need half hour to come, 15 min to setup and 15 min for medicine to take effect. so i scared liao heee, chickend out.

13th 11am, realised bb heat beat keep dropping if they increase the drip and contraction comes each time. Called doctor.

13th 12pm, doctor came and conclude baby in distress most prob the cord is around her, so must emergency op.... and he said epidural is sufficent.

13th 1pm, push into theatre with hubby, and baby is out within 10 min. The cord was around her leg....

I am trying to be a cow this moment...

May I ask, for the EBM, do you all feed with bottle? or spoon? cos hor, i ask my CL t o use spoon as i worry about nipple confusion. she said a bit wasteful.... cos will drip out.

I am trying to latch, but really tired, every 2 hourly must latch and then hor, i try to pump 3 times a day, morning, noon and before sleep. each time can only reach around 40 to 50 ml. I am not sure if this is right.

I am getting sore nipple too, and cos baby bites, there is some crack too.....

Not sure if this is normal. Please do give me some feedback.

Thanks!!!

hihi mummies.. can i ask if any of you asked for epidural even before insertion of the tablet to induce? me super super low pain tolerance.. yest and last week even when gynae did v check i was squirming away.. and gynae cldnt really check on my dilation level cos i was so tense.. so i'm wondering if i can ask for epi even before the insertion of tablet?

faten

You can try to call these 2 ladies Betty at 98330170 or Dors at 96387660. They are private practise LC - can find them on Breastfeeding support website.

Re: bb falling asleep during latch
Suggest let him cry more.. until he's more hungry.. but bb very poor thing la..

June, i think yr BM really quite a lot.. i think u have to keep pumping to relieve the engorgement.. u should seek LC advice..

Re: Poo
everytime i do diaper change in 3-4 hrs, i always see poo.. but PD did mention that as time goes on, sometimes bb won't poo daily.. it's normal..

Re: direct latch on
how long does bb feed each time? during latching on, my bb feeds for up to 1 hr.. when i feed him from the bottle, he finishes in 10min.. so EBM is less strenous for me leh.. wat about u gals?

Thank you to all of you for your encouragement, i feel much better now

i started to feel my breasts heavier and harder this morning at 5am, so woke up to pump. i suppose this is engorgement?

However my breast still feels slightly hard in some areas but no more milk is comming out liao ( i have pumped for about 20-30min each breast)...what's happening? I don't dare to pump too long in case my nipples get too sore and start bleeding again.

Can I find out how/what does block milk ducts feel like?

Esther,
Yes i delievered on 16Feb, my ward was 505. was wondering if u may have been there while i was there too.
How long was your labour?

Hi Garfield,

*hugs*

what do u use to heal your bleeding nipple? I am using BM and Medela purelan cream. i wonder if there are more effective methods/products to use?

Sleepy Baby
yes! mine also like datttt! no amount of tickling will wake him up after 3rd try...and that means he has only suckled for max 10mins. sigh.

Garfield/Vine
Can I have Mdm sadiah's contact? thanks

Garfield
My bb also have jaundice(24 hr type) due to difference betw me and dh blood group. I can understand the stress of Jaundice...

June
Breastfeeding is never easy to start off but it is good for your bb. Maybe don't think so much, just follow the Nike slogen - just do it. when you reach a regular stage(with establish flow,bb auto know how to latch properly..) - which is what organisation always use in advertising, you'll enjoy it.

My baby now 3weeks+ old also still have jaundice. Initially, I have to bring him to Polyclinic to check jaundice level every few days, now is weekly. I have to continue to bring him for follow up until his jaundice is completely gone : (

twtw,
I was also told that his jaundice got something to do with his blood group and mine : (