(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tongtong
for the 1st hep b jab. it's indicated in the hospital brochure that jab will be given if bb's condition permits. maybe you go thur the health booklet to confirm if the jab has been given?

hi garfield,

can pm or email me mdm sadiah's hp no?
i tried contacting her,but in vain...
email: [email protected]

hi xiaoyun,

have a smooth and fast delivery

how abt the chu yi of the mth?good?

hi pp.. just come up here to say hi b4 i go hospital. Gonna induce tonight... caus i think baby movement getting lesser so doc advise to induce

very scared leh.. wish me luck!!!Gonna visit happymum too. Xiaoyun and berry will be at tmc also??

<font color="ff0000">Jia you jia you Xiao Yun &amp; Jeannie!!!

Garfield, didn't know that. No choice leh, too much poo poo make my bb's anus area very red, wet poo also make her uncomfortable. But CL said she'll mix the different FM slowly with my BM so hopefully ok lor. Today, when she poo the semi solid poo after taking the soy milk, she didn't cry at all when CL change her diapers. Normally, it'll be a screaming session all the way. :p

Leila, I think KK used Nan 1. When BB was discharged, we bought Nan HA. No problem, BB didn't detect the difference.

I am back! Thanks for all your kind wishes

Dorothy, thanks for helping me to update
More details:

Baby Name: Gyan
Natural assisted with epi
Wt: 2.94kg

I have tonnes of questions and problems with regards to breastfeeding...be back in a while!

hi bx,

did u go for the breastfeeding and bathing classes at tmc during ur stay there?cos heard that other hospitals got these classes,any idea how we register for the classes during our stay?

hello all
been so long since i log on..i am finally more settled down with having the new baby ard.

Baby Heidi arrived on the 14th Feb 08, 3.11kg, natural with epi.

1256578.jpg

back from my checkup, edd supposed to be today and was pleasantly surprise that i'm finally 1cm dilated. gynae stimulate cervix more today to make dilation 1.5 cm

now feeling a bit uncomfortable coz tummy feeling tight, but anyways if still no signs till tom night, will be induced on fri morning as fluid level getting lower and gynae suggest dun wait till last minute...also scared bb getting bigger as he's 3.2kg already...

felt very happy coz i finally can see the end of the tunnel for my pregnancy a bit (though i know it's just the beginning of motherhood) !

btw, ladies who delivered in tmc...do the nurse normally latch your baby straight after you give birth i.e. early initiation ? heard that this helps to improve your breast milk supply ? not sure if it's true...

Hi All Feb Mummies... I am actually from mar mummies..but, i popped so much earlier than them ..on Valentine Day actually ..unexpectedly..

Need some advice from you all ... pai sei pai sei. I total breastfed my princess but realise that i shiver (felt cold) on and off when i dun feed her. I am not feverish.. but merely felt cold.. then a while later.. am ok.

Any mummies experienced such shivers??

hi dorothy, kitsune
(sorry i cant recall who else asked 4 it)
tis is e contact 4 dr loke

Baby &amp; Child Medical Group Pte Ltd
Blk 828 Tampines St 81 #01-238 Singapore 520828
Telephone: 6783 1955

pls call them 4 opening hrs n dr loke's working hrs.

im having problems with BF...it's really tough for me.

supply is very low and bb keeps crying. currently im supplementing with FM (actually more like FM supplement with BM

bb suckles on breast for 10mins and falls asleep..wake him up and he suckles for another 2 suckles and falls asleep. After a few times, he'll refuse to wake up. however, when i offer him the bottle (either EBM or FM) in 10mins' time, he'll gulp everything in 1 go.

is he showing a preference for the teat over my nipple?

been trying to BF until my nipples are so sore and bleeding. yet my bb seems like he's not appreciating my efforts. sob sob...

1)I called the parent craft department and the Breast Feeding Support Group for advise on treating bleeding nipples and had somewhat opposite answers.
Parent Craft advised using BM to smear on nipple and air dry before wearing my bra.
BFSG advised using nipple cream instead.
which is correct??

2) What is the function of hot towel compress? is it to relief engorgement or to improve BM supply?

very very stressed over the BF now...feel like giving up but can't bear to actually execute it cos all these while i have been psyching myself i'll have lotsa BM.

I don't even know what's the problem(s)..everything just don't seem to be working out. Im hurting (nipple pain and breast feels bruised), inconsistent advise from the professionals and there's not enough supply. I dunno who or where I can turn to for reliable help.

and there's MIL and CL issues to deal with, i haven't (not allowed to) to wash my hair (thou i had my 1st quick bath today after 4 days). just feel so shitty about everything. everybody just knows how to comment, comment, comment on things that are not right abt my feeding, the CL, blah blah blah. in short, negative comments.

sorry for this unhappy post...couldn't stop typing once i got started...

Do any of you ladies have advise regarding my BF problems?

I've MIA for soo long...work didnt allow me to surf

Anyway hope to join back to the discussions!
Ohh...i have delievered my baby boy, Mohammad Firhan on 1 Feb 2008, 21:21 at TMC. Natural w/o epi.

As usual, im filled with anxious questions abt breastfeeding. I find it very hard for my boy to keep awake while suckling. Like he want to sleep only. Have been trying to express once a day...looks okay..is the milk supposed to sprut out...hehe.

hi piglettail..

i feel the same way with you on the breastfeeding. my right nipple was soo raw from his bites! When to tmc and they taught me how to latch on. I guess i still have bad days...and i just cry it out la...my hb is being very patient with me...giving tough love abit la...hehe...
i bought the avent nipple cream...works..now not sore anymore...

my boy also like to fall alseep...i can cry blood also he never wake up...what to do..this is my first time with baby..hold baby also i abit scared. called parentcraft, they told me to wake him up..but how??
but today...is a good day, so far.

pigglettail,
Below is my personal experience to share wth u when bf my first kid.

BM supply does not come in immediately, u need to stimulate ur brain by latching on ur baby, tell ur brain that u need more milk, then supply will increase. U can express another breast to stimulate also if bb feel enuf wth feeding fr 1 breast. For the first few day, bb usually feel sleepy and does not eat much, as long as u latch on often, make sure bb got poo and urine, then u should be worry so much. U mst wake up thru out the nite to bf baby as well cos prolactin ( the hormone which hlp to inc supply) is in abundance during midnite.

Sore nipple or bleeding is common to bf mum, especially the first time mum. Jst imagine the skin/aroela is so soft and nvr has some one suck fr so long, isn't that is normal to get sore nipple when u bf for long. U jst nd to bear wth it fr a period of time, dun give up. Jst rmb there is a lot of more serious case out there, be patient my dear...

None of the BFSG and parent craft r wrong, because BM is claimed to be the best soothing formulae of nipple cream, can mosturize the skin arnd. Like purplecurlz, i also recommend avent bipple cream bcos it has aloe vera which hlp soothing the sore nipples.

Hot towel used to cover arnd the breast is to relief engorgement and stimulate the flow (nt to increase supply, to increase supply, u nd to latch/ express more often). Some pple used cabbage leave to cover the leave to relief engorgement as well, but bear in mind that dun use too often cos it will also reduce supply.
Try to massage ur breast and the part wth lump b4 expressing and latch on, this will hlp the milk flow.

I understand ur feeling cos during my confinement the other time, i also upset over pple command and thought i m having low milk supply. But aft sometime of my insisting on latching on bb and express diligently even though wth great pain of my sore nipple, i can see my milk supply increased fr 20ml (1 side) to 80ml then 120 ml.

Hope the same to u too!

U might want to email me [email protected] if u hav more question to ask.

Hi Qoo San,

I also have same problem with BM. My baby is already 3weeks+ now but I am still having very little milk to supply him. I tried to latch him as often as possible but he do not seem to have enough and I got to supplement him with FM. Rather upset and wanted to give up sometimes but I still try to continue to latch him to stimulate more milk.

Hi Piglettail

Dun be depress. It is ok for u to feel this way cos initally I do have the same prb abt not having enough BM. I also want to give up till my friend told me it is ok for supply to be low, you can express our BM and mix with FM and let bb drink. Also do continue to let bb latch on to you so that yr supply will come in slowly. BB is still young, they also trying to learn to latch cos is a totally new thing for them too so dun think that yr bb is not appreciating yr effort ok! Trust me once they are use to it they will want yr boops hehe.Dun be too depress cos it will also affect yr supply.

Also before BF, use yr fingers to press yr nipple 1st, up and down den left and right. Press yr areola, up and down den left and right. Lastly massage yr breast up and down, left and right. Do that each time b4 feeding yr bb.

For me even till now my supply is not much. So usually give FM abt 80% and 20% BM. If your nipple are too sore and bleeding do apply nipple cream, medela purelan works fine (When im at hospital I also latch bb till sore and bleed). If just sore use yr colostrum to apply on yr nipple and air dry.

Function of hot towel compress is to help relief engorgement also to help improve the circulation over at yr breast area.

U can ask yr hb to get for u Fenugreek at GNC to see if can improve on yr supply. I am currently trying out Traditional Medicinals Organic Mother's Milk tea, to see if improve my supply too . Another method is to drink more fluid like red date tea. Also you can ask yr CL or MIL to boil green papaya with chicken soup, pig tail, black bean soup and fish soup to boost yr supply.

For bathing, I do bathe (till now 4 times) and wash hair (3 times). It really feel shitty so what you can do is to change yr clothes once they are wet or u feel uncomfy.

So dun give up, it is a learning process for everyone of us. I also still struggling to get to learn my bb pattern.

pls increase ur water intake, drink more soup, hot drink like milo and horlicks. U need more water to produce even more water (milk). :p

maruko,
Try to drink more hot drinks before u latch on / express. May I know how often u latch him? I rmb fr the first month i bf my bb for interval as short as 1 hr.

hi QooSan

do u experience one side of ur breast express more milk than the other?
for me, my right side like express more milk, i can see that there are abt 3-4 spruts of milk and can express abt 60 ml. but my left side, only one sprut of milk and not that much. is this common?
surprisingly my right side was the one that baby bite until become so sore..ehehe

pigttail

You can also get help from a lactation consultant.

I just had one today at my place...a full one hour sessiono n BF and the dos and don'ts which i find it very useful.

As much as we are learning how to BF, baby is also learning how to latch on. I'm still struggling too...and my baby is 3 wks old.

Patient, patience, patience....

Faten, same problem for me. When I pump, left breast only has 2 spurts for 1-2 min then become drip drip drip. Right breast has 4-5 spurts so end up left side express about 30-40ml, while right side usually 50-60ml. If each side 60ml, combined will have 120ml then will have enough for BB.

Dor,

Pls update my details

BB name : Cayenne
BB weight : 3.3kg
Date of Delivery : 15th Feb 08
Mode of Delivery : Natural with Epi

Hey piglettail,

which ward u were in?

I delivered on 15th. my maternity ward is 512.

I saw Dr Lee name tag @ the nurse counter but i cant rem the ward. @ the moment i tot it might be u..

Hee..

kitsune_sg
for me now, if i can express abt 80 ml, im very happy aldy. I just want to have the reassurance that i have milk..hehe...im hoping that my milk will be more stable along the months.
i guess as long as bb not crying, means he has enuff right? i can see that he will suckle my right now more energetic. but he will slow down by 10 mins. im trying not to be freak and time each side...can make me stressed out...

Faten, I also started with about 20ml. Managed to get 40ml only after CL massage my breasts with super hot towel. Then after that, with lots of fish soup, ss increase to 80ml then after that, got stuck liao. I delivered on 22 Jan, you can do it one. You can try pumping every 3 hours and see how much you have. Last time, everytime I latch on, don't know how much BB is drinking. :p

hi piglettail,

i think u just too stressed.. u just delivered on 19th rite? BM will only kick in 3rd day onwards. B4 that is colostrum.. and the flow is very little n pathetic.. when bb latch on in the beginning, my nipple was very painful.. same problem as u, no flow.. n wasn't sure if bb was latching on properly..

i advise u to only feed when he cries.. if he doesn't it's fine.. because bb naturally still have reserves in his stomach for few days.. tat's y he's shitting..

both methods are correct, wat i do is apply milk, air dry then apply nipple cream.. double protection!

first of all, pls take care of yr nipple n try to rest it as much as possible.. otherwise when BM flow comes in, u cannot feed bb due to bleeding nipples..

hot towel compress works both to relieve engorgement and also to improve flow. take note it only relieves, not remove the engorgement. in order to relieve the engorgement, BM has to be out.. in the beginning, my milk ducts were blocked, so not much came out even when i express/feed.. ended up bb feed every 2 hours.. super tired.. so i used hot towel compress + massage.. for 2 consecutive days.. then flow improved.. also note that everytime b4 feeding, it helps that u massage first.. flow is better..

chill gal.. everything will turn out well..

Hi QooSan,

I tried to latch my baby whenever he needs to be feed, around 2hrs per interval. But, I do not latch him at night as I leave him to my CL to sleep with. Aft my CL left, I will try to latch him at night.

kitsune, are we supposed to pump b4 feed or anytime can. for me, i only tried once in the morning after i shower. i tried in the afternoon but got nothing or very little.
doesnt help tt my mum keep saying tt i have little milk and pumping it will make my milk finish. i noe she doesnt mean it literally, but i just cant be bothered to explain to her...will only make me more stress

faten,
u might want to feed first. Aft baby has enuf then pump.
If baby is sleepy dun want to mummum, then u express in case there is engorgement.

Faten, Sometimes, I pump first. Esp when she's sleepy, somehow after I let her suckle then pump, the supply is very pathetic. If after suckling, still not enough then feed her what i expressed lor.

Oops, I always give up pumping on both breasts at the same time.

QooSan, Did you manage to even out the supply of both breasts after expressing longer on the slow side?

kitsune,
ya most of the time, i can even out. sometime maybe 1 side 110, another side 120ml like that. This is the amt i expressed out aft gg back to work.

For this first month, I am very lazy, will sleep througout at night cos now got CL to help look aft baby at nights. But, usually, my last feed is close to midnight then morning, I will wake up around 8-9am to latch him again. So, there is an interval of around 8-9hrs where is no pump or latch on for my BM.

maruko,
in fact u shld expressed every 3 to 4 hourly if u wish to increase the milk supply, which mean in between the midnite and morning feed, need to express 1 more time.

indicators on pamper: sorry ah, i bot pamper comfort, got indicators meh? can tell me what indicators? i think i cocked eye leh, dunno how to see.

bath: i started bathing everyday with herbs water after 12th days. but havent wash hair yet.

xiaoyun, waiting for your pop news!

stephie: think i'm calling the hospital to confirm whether the hep b jab was given, becuase it isnt indicated in the health booklet.

tute: yea , nurse will ask whether you wanna bf, if yes, they will bring bb to you to initiate bf.

kelly: pls rest more and take care!

piglettail, dont worry, you just delivered so supply will be lower. jiayou. yea, my bb also suckles and fell asleep one. if give bottle will also drink everything in 1 go. very strange. but contnue to latch or pump, ur supply will naturally come in. remember to drink lots of fluid

Re: DOM
after we drink DOM at night, do we still bf afterthat? or need to wait for how many hours before can bf?

hello mummies, how long do u see ur breast milk increase in supply..this is my 7th day but still can only pump 50ml from both side..is it very little? my nipple like quite painful from the pumping liao..apply nipple cream n breast milk..

I'm back...

Happymumtobe and those mtbs who have popped,
Congratulations!

Here's my birth story.

16th Feb
4am+: started to have contractions but not so regular... then the contraction stopped at about noon...

17th Feb
2am+: Contractions started
6am: Contractions about 6, 7 min apart, left for hospital
6.30am: Contractions became 10min apart, nurse said my cervix still closed. Asked me whether to stay and wait for doc or go home. Decided to wait for doc first.
8.30am: Doc came and checked that I was about 1 to 2cm dilated. She broke my waterbag. She suggested epidural to me coz I was like so xin ku with the contractions which is supposed to be mild at that stage... and also coz I scared of vaginal check... Decided to see whether I can tahan the contractions first...
1pm+: Contractions getting really bad... Asked for epi.
2pm: Gotten the epi and slept for a while.
5pm: Only 5-6cm dilated. Gotten the induction drip.
7pm: Tried to push bb out but bb head still quite high.
8pm: Bb gotten lower but heartbeat getting slower too.
8pm+: Doc arrived.
8.47pm: She used forcep to get bb out. Luckily, bb was out in time coz she already poo-poo inside. Think if it was delayed, I may genna emerg c-sect.

I wanted to bf bb immediately after delivering but the nurse said gotta monitor bb first, so in the end, only bf bb few hours later.