(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

berry,
haha.. yes, quite exp for 2 pieces of bak kwa.. r the 2 pieces BIG in size ? haha..
i think it's exp oso due to CNY lah..

bbkgal, LOL you guys are beri 'adventurous' hor.

happymummum2be, not big at all leh, the two pieces are square ones, quite small!

June, wats the diff between the gourmet one and normal one? Better? softer?

discussion on bak kwa make me real hungry!

wanna go out and buy some too but my FIL keep saying, don't help these pp buy their dream homes!

june/bkkgal/berry,
That day when gynae did the cervix check for me, she said cervix is still closed but she can feel bb's head already... Now I'm totally confused liao...

yeah juz finished all my gourmet bak kwa, left 2 slices of the normal type but they taste so bland in comparison... so don't wan to eat liao. actually i nv reali buy bak kwa b4, all also given by my MIL. like today she also brought us one box... hehe

berry, the gourmet one is a special one introduced by mei zhen xiang few years back. it's like bacon strips, super fattening and sinful, but very delicious! last time only $50/kg now it's $60/kg! definitely much more expensive than normal bak kwa.

crystal,

you can get from her -
http://cgi.ebay.com.sg/Blue-Egg-BreastMilk-Storage-Bag-(Korea)_W0QQitemZ300186885672QQcmdZViewItem

i think the seller also in this SMH forum seller. you can search around..

of cos he will eat if someone else buys loh! my sil's bf bought a kilo of it, i'm sure he'll eat. hehe.

i tried the gourmet one before, it's damn good and damn sinful!!! $60!!! <jaw>

snowbelle,

i think she means ur cervix has softened, so she can feel thru the head thru cervix but contractions not started yet, so cervix not opened yet.

bkkgal, like that everything also no need to buy already ma. everything also priced much higher than the cost, so we are helping all of them buy their dream homes also lor.

snowbelle, sounds confusing... but then i realised that all our gynaes always say different and contradicting things too.

My maid is arriving next week before CNY!!

So fast. now must prepare for another human being's arrival in my home. Cross fingers, hope she is ok. *stress stress*

bkkgal,
I see... thought cervix softening and opening are at the same time one... nowadays I a bit paranoid... always worry that my cervix can't open...

xiaoyun, i think dor is in the "don't feel like chatting" mood ba. that time got a few days also she said no mood to talk.

got one period i also juz didn't feel like coming to the thread... pregnancy hormonal mood problems.

or maybe she is just busy... just now she did post a few msgs ma.

vine,
Jia you yo... All the best for tomorrow!

bkkgal/june,
Thanks... I'll try... ever since the last gynae visit, my whole mind is filled with cervix, c-sect and pain... gotta find other things to focus...

xiaoyun, i read that though all those things can induce labour... it will only work when your baby is ready to come out, ie close to due date. usually doctor will recommend having sex if passed full-term. anyway i think even up to 42 weeks, it's still considered ok right.

june,
that's what ppl believe up to 42 wks still fine. but seems singapore gynae always like to induce ppl once hit 40wks, some even 37 wks.

Rat baby,
Can't remember who wants a rat bb... I heard that as long as bb is delivered after 4th Feb 2008, bb will be considered as rat. According to what I've found on net, year of rat starts on 4th Feb (Li Chun), not after 7th Feb.

Hehee... I also want a rat bb... less confusing...

xiaoyun, maybe for certain medical reasons that's why they induce? sometimes i juz wonder, will there be unethical gynaes who encourage ppl to induce/c-sec just to earn more money?

anyway i am one of the 5% of babies who are born on their exact edd... so dor may juz pop on her exact edd too.

My gynae said she will give me cream to massage nipples to stimulate colostrum and contractions next week.

I guess this means she wants me to deliver before 38 weeks le.

snowbelle, i want a rat baby! was saying that if it's not because i want a rat baby i'll ask him to faster come out! but... i don understand what u mean leh. i thot 7th is the first day of the year? confused...

yep yep, me also want rat bb...everyday been telling my bb to guai guai and wait till at least CNY

Has anyone been told to massage their breasts to stimulate milk flow yet? one of my friends who delivered her bb last wk was asked to do so since her 36th wk and according to her, it stimulated her uterus and shd was early for abt 2 wks.

I m back with junior ;)

I poped on 26.01.08 bb boy. Now in my confinement, just to log in &amp; keep all of you update on my side.

leila, i got milk flowing since my 4th mth leh... dunno if it means i will have milk when i give birth? everyday it will definitely stain my clothes or drip if i happen to be naked... hehe. i think better not to massage b4 birth lor, wait really induce childbirth.

casa congratulations!

snowbelle, thanks for the link, it is so long and complicated. i think to play safe, 7th is still the best. otherwise, you'll have to explain to your relatives everything you read just to prove to them it is a rat baby!

June, wah if you already have BF since 4th mth then I think u really dun need to worry about BM production when u pop. Just get enough nursing bras and milk bags ready!

Casa, congrats!

Vine, enjoy your bb tomoro!

bkkgal, dun stress abt your maid, the last thing you should do is to pay money to be stressed over something, right? My hb always say that no one shd pay money to buy ourselves stress, its true. When it comes to maid, the final say is yours mah.

BB clothing- I just took out all of bb's clothing earlier to cut the tags and colour-sort them, will wash them within this week. Aiyo I realised that I might have over-bought stuff during the year-end sale lol, hope can get enuf mileage out of them before bb grows too big!

Liela
What I understand is one is suppose to be more heaty than the other. the medical hall tell me no diff...

Sweetpea
what i heard is 6 cm doc already say too late to adminster. Anyway I think if want to admin better do it early cos when the midwife/doc check for dilation also very very uncomfortable but with epi... you feel relax....

there is some side effect to epi so i think it is very much a personnel choice.

June
you mentioned " 50 short ones for $0.80 and longer ones for $1.90... if add to the cost of the playtex milkbags still quite worth it."
Are you talking about normal ziplock?

BTW it might be good practise get a tupperware to put all your packet milk in it while storage in the fridge , unless you a a fridge just for milk.

casa, congrats!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hosp</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>BB Name</TD><TD>BB wt</TD><TD>Deliver Type </TD></TR><TR><TD>Grumpus</TD><TD>04-Feb</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>1.86kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mini</TD><TD>09-Feb</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.160kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Linda</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Cheyenne</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kitsune</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD>Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>RaeAnne</TD><TD>3.225kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelly</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>22-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Stella</TD><TD>2.6kg</TD><TD>natural w epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>14-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Adrain W</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Dylan Jin En</TD><TD>3.1kg</TD><TD>spinal c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cuclainne</TD><TD>05-Feb</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>S F Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.98kg</TD><TD>c-sec </TD></TR><TR><TD>Maruko ting</TD><TD>09-Feb</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD> John Yam </TD><TD>GEH</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Nigel</TD><TD>3.14kg</TD><TD>emg c-sec with epi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Casa</TD><TD>08-Feb</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD> Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hweiz</TD><TD>08-Feb</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Gal</TD><TD>Arianne</TD><TD>3.49kg</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tong</TD><TD>08-Feb</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Hii</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD></TD><TD>3.33kg</TD><TD>natural w/o epi </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

berry, haha i dunno if it indicates good milk supply but i certainly hope so. i wan to bf for as long as possible and don wish to use fm for my baby.

twinkle, yes it's impt that yr freezer doesn't have other things. or else make sure yr "other things" are kept properly in tupperware instead?

as for the cable tie, it's this white colour plastic thing that they use to seal the plastic bags at mustafa. cos playtex milkbags have no seal at all, so we are thinking of various creative ways to seal them. that's why u saw some mummies getting the ikea clips etc.

so much to update leh!

my birth story

8:15am admitted to TMC
8:30am- Dr arrived to break my waterbag ,2cm dilated and cervix very soft liao. Dr estimated 1pm might deliver
9:00 am - clear bowel
9:30am - admitted to labour ward and started on drip to fasten contraction
10am - contraction came, bearable.
10:30am - contraction 2 mins once, so painful already!! jialat, insist no epidural. so asked for laughing gas, but seems like no effect, so asked for injection.
11:45 : 8 cm dilated liao! nurse called my gynae, nurse asked whether got urged to bangsai, i said yes then she said when contraction comes, breathe in, hold, and push like shitting like dat, count to 10 times. tried many times before gynae arrived

12pm+: gynae arrived, and think i no strengh to push liao, so used vacuum

12:33: bb popped!

that's my birth story la. but i can tell u that the contraction is really painful, but luckily it lasted for short time only becuase my labour hour is short. if your pain threshold is low and cervix doesnt soften a lot, use epi really help.