(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

u mean he actually said that if u wanna stop itch better to give birth?? Actually u can tahan till 14th feb that period??? will the rashes affect the baby???

What other options did he give??

ya, to cure the rashes is to give birth.. i dun think i can tahan till den lah.. i also think my bb abit big liao. 3kg wor... if tahan till 14 feb, wont he be abt 4 kg liao??? faint....

it wont harm bb. but it is really torturing to endure the itches... i cried a few times last week cos it is really unbearble

Cheryl,
I am also of smaller built. Gynae intends to induce if exceed his "ideal" weight. haiz...

Kitsune,
Jia you! Hope your delivery is smooth and fast.

vine,
haha.. u so fast on the sling order... faster than the originator (aka mi) leh

Sling (the breeze range-the net type)
http://www.babyrock.com.au/

The retail price is S$120/-. If we can gather at least 5 orders, we can get at $110/-, a $10 off retail price..

1) Vine_Gal (Blue & Green)
2) Happymum2b (Pink frangipani)

xiao yun : thnx v much for ur info. will go chk it out further.

bkkgal : understand that ur gynae's mary too...did u happen to ask whether she wld want us shaven b4 delivery?

happy : m interested in the sling too, but cld i knw wat's the diff between the breeze range and the cozy range? thnx!

leila,
for the breeze range, the fabric is like net type (got small holes).. v good in ventilation.. so ur bb won't feel warm inside the sling.. its more suitable for warm weather like singapore..

for the cozy range, the fabric is like cotton, no holes.. more suitable for cooler weather..

it's ur preference which one u like.. but i think the breeze range is rather special cos most of the sling i came across are the cozy type (no holes). i have a smiliar one like the cozy range and my son usually perspire inside when i sling him due to not much ventilation..

berry
it was ok for me when i hosted the celebration for whole day. that time had to split into 2 cos my house can't accomodate so many pple at one go. this time, gg to use the function room, so thinking of just having one round of celebration.

cheryl,
wow...you also going c-sect sooo fast! mmm...for me now i can still endure the rashes...hopefully can tahan till the day i deliver, but will go to see doc if by tom still quite bad...

jeannie,
me also breast area v itchy, initially thought because of the bra i'm wearing but now spreading to other areas...the funny thing, no itchy/rashes around tummy...only hip/breast/behind the thigh/feet sole and fingers sometimes...

Leila

Yeah I asked her last week. She said no need to shave. For C-sect, she said the nurses will trim a little off the top. She couldn't understand this thing abt shaving. hehe, asked me is it private sector doctors who insist on it!

She quite old-fashioned hor? She still uses the little peanut to listen to our tummies and draws her own charts. But I like her, very good in what she does.

a bit too early to share this info, but I am afraid that I will forget about it later:

Nappy Change Tips How to put nappy correctly on your baby?After choosing a suitable place and getting everything ready , you can start nappy change for your baby in the following way:

Ensure that the standing side of leak guard is upright. If not, use your fingers to make the guard stand.
Place nappy under baby's bottom. Part your baby's legs and keep his/her knees bent to form an "M" shape.
For proper fit, leave one finger space between baby's tummy and front waistband.
To ensure strong tape bond, smooth tape over front waistband and tug softly. Pull up the nappy a little and ensure again the standing leak guard is upright.

getting so excited now seeing that mummies have popped/are going to pop. told hubby that there's still so many things not done yet. better do it asap else he'll to do everything on his own when i'm in the hospital.

barrier cream,
how about those organic ones like california baby? the calendula cream seems very popular but not sure if effective

bkkgal,
yes! i saw your name in the BP too haha =P i get my facials at beyond beauty. they have the usual facials but i opted out of those with extractions - so i pay about 20+ dollars for a facial massage. it's a way to destress and firm up the face.

baby carrier,
how does this compare with like baby bjorn? was eyeing the baby bjorn air.

confinement menu,
for those who did not hire CL, i found a confinement menu...inspiration for your mums who will be cooking your confinement meals
http://www.melrose.com.sg/cmenu.html

Hi Xiaoyun,

Regarding the LS milkbag, I opt for normal postage. When will u be sending out? Also any additional cost to pay you?

Have PM you my address.

re: baby carrier,
was at isetan yesterday and saw the baby carriers are on 20% off even for baby bjorn. for the bb bjorn original it's more worth it compare to the one in bp.

anybody have used combi bb carrier ? tried yesterday and seems like not bad. price is a tad cheaper compare to bb bjorn...

another question, is bb carrier really useful ? actually oredi have 1 MIM sling and 2 traditional batik sling which i intend to ask my maid to use...but they are all slings so carrying bb at the side while the carrrier can let bb enjoy the walk... :p

garfield,
think there's 2 bb bjorn bp going on...for the air model, one bp selling cheaper than the other i.e. the one selling grey color only...

dorothy: hahahah .. just that i thought since my EDD was early Feb, i might be the first to deliver lor ..

i've tried the baby bjorn and MIM sarong sling but my eldest daughter don't like .. she was ok when i used the moby wrap so i think i will use that for the second daughter too.

tute,
hb also asked about the japanese brands (combi and aprica). to be honest, i'm clueless about all these carriers...and no way to tell which is better unless we try lor. then it's also not just our preference but bb's preference as well as cuclainne says...

thanks for the lobang on the baby bjorn bp.

happy,
you tried this sling before?

kelly,
the price is in SGD.. no shipping charges involved.. $110 is the net price we pay & we get to choose the color we want..
i hv checked with the local stores and they hv limited colours and selling at $120 net, no discount..

garfield,
i was introduced to this babyrock sling from another smo mummy.. she prefer this sling to those MIM or normal cotton sling (w/out holes) due to good ventilation..
i like the babyrock sling mainly becos the fabric is net type which offer good ventilation (like yao lan fabric, v "tong fong")..

garfield
baby carrier vs sling
i can only say baby will be snug closer to our body in sling as compared to baby carrier..
i oso hv a baby carrier (cant remember the brand, cost abt $120) for my son but never used it cos we can never adjust the carrier to be as close to our body as we want.. so in the end, we gave up.. v wasteful.. oso for carrier, the bb is always in upright position whereas for sling, the baby can be in cradle position, sitting position, etc..

happy,
thanks....never thought about the different positions to carry baby. you're right - the ang moh type of carriers only one position.

sorry, i a bit blur - is there a reason bb should be as close to our body as we want?

bkkgal
a binding is a long cloth wrapped round ur belly & hip area 2 slim it down. i've seen & used 2types of binding. it's cloth material.

y e cheaper massage lady only massage on e 5th day? so strange.

e mdm naini's package comes wif a scrub session. i can only say it's a brief scrub session cos only 30mins. she used some kinda herbal scrub, then cleaned it off 4 u.

every massage lady i talked 2 says e oil makes a difference. e more traditional massage ladies say their oils come fr indonesia, blah blah blah. e more modern ladies use some blended oil which i dun hv any further info. i guess all these oils hv e same purpose 4 postnatal massage.

garfield,
in the first few mth, bb neck/spinal/back not strong yet, so it's better to carry bb in cradle position during that period..
thereafter, u hv a choice of carrying them in sitting position or cradle position..

happy,
saw that it's retailed at motherworks, thk i will go chk it out 2morrow and let u knw since m gg there to buy bb items. Wld that b too late for u to collate orders?

bbkgal,
Oh good! no need to go waxing, kinda scared of the pain. Yeps, she's old fashion but reassuring good at what she is doing. Hmm...didn't c her do chart'g leh...everytime, aftr listen'g to the heartbeat, she'll say gd, everything's seems ok and she didn't even put me on any pre-natal vitamins or stuffs, prefers that i get it thru food intake... Heard that she's so into her job such that she's always doing some research thingy and lectures in uni too.
when is ur EDD?

leila,
sure, u can go there & take a look at the real thing..

let mi know how u feel abt the sling then..
i will wait till we can gather 5 orders then place the order..

Count me in.

Sling (the breeze range-the net type)
http://www.babyrock.com.au/

The retail price is S$120/-. If we can gather at least 5 orders, we can get at $110/-, a $10 off retail price..

1) Vine_Gal (Blue & Green)
2) Happymum2b (Pink frangipani)
3) Moi_dar (chambra and navy)

Leila

My EDD is supposed to be 24 Feb but I have hypertension and borderline gest. diabetes which Dr. Rauff said that we must monitor carefully. If baby is too big or my blood pressure goes crazy, will deliver early.

Mary Rauff's a teaching prof. Countless med students have gone thru' her able hands. Her hb Abu Rauff is also a renown surgeon.

Kelly
Thanks for the clarification. Now I know what qns to ask the massage ladies.

hey leila,
while you're at motherworks, maybe you can get them to explain to you the pros and cons of the babyrock sling vs the baby bjorn type of carriers?

tute, the most useful bb carriers I've had when I had my DD was the sling, BB Bjorn and hipseat (hipseat only for older kids from 6-7mths onwards). This time round, I've already ordered a new sling, will prob be getting a new bb Bjorn too, and maybe one more hipseat (both my bjorn and hipseat is too worn out to be used by bb boy, so u can imagine how much use I got out of them hehe).

Garfield, the closer u can adjust bb to be to yr body, the easier/lighter yr bb's weight feels. Thats the advantage of a sling over any carrier (including the bb bjorn I love). With a sling, u can adjust bb to be as high and snugly as u can, which means will feel lighter/easier to sling. For me, I love the ease of using a BB bjorn (v easy to 'load' bb in, not much adjustment) but it can get a lil tiring on yr shoulders after a while, so I actually alternate both carriers. There are times I bring the bjorn out but will leave the sling in the car and switch when I find my shoulders getting tired.

Slinging- For me, I started slinging cause I wanna be close to my DD and also because she refused to be in a stoller at all (till lately when I got preggie, almost ard the time she turned 3 lol!). Now looking back, I realised that I am actually glad that she didnt like the stroller cause slinging/carrying really does help u bond w yr bb, esp when bb is still small and so short (can only see ppl's butt when in stroller lol). When u sling bb, u can talk to bb easily, and bb is happier to be close to u and so high up and able to watch everything thats happenning, so a slinged bb is also happier generally. Now that she is so big liao, one of the fondest memories I had of her younger days are the pre-walking days when I slinged her everywhere we go when she was still a tiny little bundle, we had alot of good times cause slinging allowed me to talk to her alot, tell her wat I'm doing/eating/going and I think all that talking really helped her lang development later on LOL! I slinged my DD till she is nearly 2 (of cos after she could walk, its a combination of running/walking/slinging), never regretted a moment of it, so will try to do the same with my bb boy this time round too. Oh, and a very huge plus point is that when u sling yr bb ard all the time, you WILL def be losing weight and getting some excercise done! :D

happymum2b,
application submitted so now pending approval according to my agent. hopefully if everything goes smoothly can get my maid early feb, that is before my edd

re: bb carrier vs sling,
maybe i'll try first the one that i have and see how my baby reacts to that first...only thing i think my hb dun want to carry sling...he thinks it's too girly... hehehe..

berry,
thanks for sharing !! just read ur message after i posted mine! i think for i'll use a sling first for first few months till his head bones are more stable then prob get a carrier so i can get my husband to carry the baby too !

piglettail - yea i have pigmentation too. it's on my thigh and buttocks area

kitsune - congrats! think you popped already ya.. do update us when you can come online hehe

cheryl - gancheong for u leh!! csect this friday..

getting gancheong too!!!thursday checkup will know roughly when i going to pop liao..

wow... havent log in over the weekend and theres so many post. hahaha getting quite excited coz so many mums going to pop! congrats to all... looking fwd to hear ur popping exp

update of my gynae appt on sat: 35th week. bb half engage. he ballooned. gained 1.1kg over 3 week... must be those power durians which i have been feasting on. now he weighs 2.9kg. check w dr tee if bb will be early.. he say will let me noe next appt 2 weeks later.

jeannie: hey we are having the same EDD 24 feb... how are u feeling now?

piglettail: 29 jan is ok for me
timeing is fine too

stephie: hey u guys @ the talk on sat? i say a grp of 2-3 pregnant ladies standing near the glass doors. was wondering if it could be any of u guys fr this forum... is tat u guys?

berry,
yah, thx for sharing...me kinda blur MTB, so much to learn...

garfield,
anything specific u want me 2 ask at motherworks?

bkkgal,
wow...didn't knw her hubby also jus as amazing! when's ur nxt visit?

talking abt massage ladies, has anyone come across any massage ladies saying that massage is best done in the morning as there wld b less water retention and therefore wld b less uncomfortable/painful for the mother to do it in the morning? one of the massage ladies i spoke to said that...hmmm...