(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

so if i have a full month celebration - do i still need to give out the cakes?

or do i give out the cakes only if i don't have a celebration

Morning everyone!

exciting popping wks up ahead...wow!

i feel the same as tute and hana too,not ready to pop before the EDD. Been telling my boy to be guai guai and come out only when full term. And I have not even finish buying his stuffs yet...hmmm

Hi xiao yun,

cld u advise me on the medela pump? when u bought it fm US, did u get it shipped to s'pore or u got ur friend to buy it for u. If u got it shipped fm US to S'pore, cld u let me knw how to go abt doing it and how long does it take usually? thks!!!

hi stephie and fairfield,
yes i think i will ok once i adjust the front seat forward.
cos the our car agent kept reminding us to de-activate the air bag for the front passenger seat for the infant car seat (when we went back for servicing and they saw i was preggie) so we naturally assumed it can only be put there. when we bough the infant car seat the sales assistant was those part-time school boy so also didn't know any better.

CNY Goodies
Garfield, i already started...been having a full piece of ba kwa every day since Friday....!! i think im gg mad...dr also warned me not to over indulge in case bb's size shoots up in these last few weeks. but...last leg of pregnancy already, feel like 'pampering' myself ah. haha.

Coconut
Started on my coconu drink yesterday. I tried to asked for a M'sia coconut (vs. the Thai ones). the hawker gave me a puzzled look (as i think he doesn't know the difference? probably to him all coconuts are the same?) anyhow, in the end i just told him to get me those 'original green ones' still with it's green skin/exterior, which he did. hope i got the 'right one'...

garfield
it depends. i have encountered the following:

(i) full month celebration + cakes (for all who attend)
(ii) full month celebration + cakes (only for relatives who attend, i.e. no cakes for frens)
(iii) full month celebration only (i.e. no cakes for those who attend) + cakes (for those who didn't attend)
(iv) full month celebration + a huge cake for cutting and distributing during the celebration

Wow...

Congratulations to Grumpus!

kitsune_sg, jia you!

The reality of the baby coming just hit me when hear you all popping! I mean, of course, I know I am pregnant (it's a fact that's hard to ignore) but the realisation of some little person will be coming out of me in a few weeks time is just so overwhelming! :p

I went to the shop near the si ma lu temple to get some more baby stuff on Saturday after the KKH talk with my parents-in-law. Have not washed yet cause I was thinking still got a lot of time. :p I think better faster wash.

Met snowbelle and blueginger with their HBs and blueginger's friend, Winnie, at the talk. So sorry about leaving so abruptly but my parents-in-law had been waiting for me since 4 p.m. at Little India MRT. :mad: That's why my HB face black black. He said his parents already waiting I still chit chatting away. But really, it totally slipped my mind. I have a runaway brain since pregnant. Very absent-minded. Hope after delivery will not be like that.

only forward facing car seats can be fixed in the front passenger seat and please remember to deactivate the air bag when you do so. rear facing car seats can only be fixed in the back passenger seat.

i can't have both my 15-month old and her baby sister sitting in the back cos if the baby starts crying while we're on the road, one of us will have to deal with her so the husband and i have decided that our eldest will have her seat fixed in the front while i sit in the back with the baby. in either case, i'll be free to handle both babies while the husband concentrate on driving.

leila,
i asked friend to help me buy in US cos I thought it will be very bulky and heavy. Furthermore, I am not sure about the rules and regulations to import electrical appliances into singapore. as a result, I didn't choose shipping from US to Singapore.

If you really would like to try, there are a few methods of shipping from US to Singapore. VPOST and comGateway. Since the pump is costing USD 230, i think it's better to choose VPOST than comGateway because CGW always estimate 25% more for the shipping and end up you need to pay 7% GST for your pump.

from my previous experience with Amazon orders through CGW, my order is on 26 Dec, and I receive my package on 12 Jan. about 2-3 weeks time.

piglettail,
haha...same same...have finished two tins of love letters (together with colleagues of course), bought a tin of pineapple tarts and 100g of bak kwa (didn't dare to buy too much). i'm sure my weight will shoot up this month!!!

stephie,
thanks for sharing. sounds like no hard and fast rule about it...maybe dependent on budget hor =P but as kelly and happy mum say, swee swee very tempting!

stephie,
full mth celebration
haha.. i seems to hv a combination of i), ii) & iii) leh..

garfield,
basically, the cake is given to close relatives/frenz & colleague..
my mil feels that the full mth does not seems complete without the distribution of cakes/ang ku kueh/glutinous rice..
so it really depends on individual preference & practice..

pigletail, like wat others says, its v dangerous to put child carseat at the front if there is an airbag. We follow this quite strictly for our DD cause its a matter of life n death, will do the same for my bb boy too. So hor, actually this means that since we have 2 car seats at the back, the middle space behind is kinda wasted. Haiz. But no choice lor I guess.

Garfield, actually if u already have a fullmth celebration, then no need to give out cakes, since the cakes are supposed to represent a form of celebration (I think?)? For me, we'll be giving the cakes to some relatives from my parents/PILs side and my DD's sch teachers.

WATAMUMMY, shucks I realised that the email u sent was automatically forwarded to my junk box, so sorry!! thousand apologies, I'll be contacting u by today I promise.

C-SECT- C sect mummies, are you opting for Epidural or GA? Any idea if GA will be knocked out for how long? What are the possible side effects?

kelly, LOL so u chose based on packaging?? I tihnk hor, I'll go with Choz, cause Faye oredi pick out the package she wants liao, and since we'll be eating our own cake, better get from them cause the quality is supposedly quite good even tho packaging quite ordinary.

garfield
yup, no hard and fast rule. if budget permits, then get those swee swee one. for me, gotta work out the budget cos relatives + frens + colleagues will add up to more than 100 pax. *scary*

can check out kyo cakes too. their package seems quite ok too.

hi cuclainne,

thanks for the information! strange, cos our car agent told us to de-activate the air bag in the front passenger seat when placing the rear facing infant car seat there.

but then again, the car agent may not know any better. let me see if i can find out more information from the infant car seat manufacturer.

berry, hi!
for mi, i will opt for c-sec with epi, same as my 1st delivery..
wan to hear my gal's 1st cries and hug her (of cos after the nurse has cleaned her up)..

for c-sec, what options do we have for anaesthesia ? is it only epi/ga ? my friend told me his wife had some spinal anaesthesia, which got me confused...is this the same as epi ?

tute, the spinal thingy is epidural if I am not wrong.

happymum2be, did u suffer from any Epi side effects?

Stephie, omg 100pax?!! Wah if it costs $10 a box to one person/family then its 1K just for cakes?? wow thats a very hefty sum to spend on cake lol.

jeannie
u better see a dermalogist if it is very bad....

i think i will be 1st few who pop.... cos i will be c-sect this fri.... my gynae say only way to stop the rashes is to give birth, and mine was rather serious... was kanna jab to stregthen bb lung....

tute
i think u r getting the rashes real soon... the itches also will kick in liao.... since u r saying alot of area also itchy liao... see doc faster

happymum
wow, then i think you covered almost everybody you know leh. as long as happy, can liao

piglettail
your car agent is not wrong either. cos the main reason that we should not place the infant car seat in front is due to the airbag. so if it's deactivated, then should be fine.

wow cheryl, you getting a piggy liao!!! your EDD is just 1 week ahead of mine!!

dor,
saw you shopping again at the spree site. :p

berry
that's why i didn't give to everyone previously. only for relatives. that time the celebration was broken into afternoon and evening section, so not so paiseh since frens would hv left by evening :p

stephie,
100pax very zhong4 ben3!!! no wonder must choose carefully. big difference in $$

i think i will do some budgeting and decide if we are going to have full month celebration or not. but first baby and girl girl, so tempted to do something nice nice =)

cheryl,
wow...so confirmed c-section this fri?! looks like we have at least 4 mummies popping this week - kitsune, kelly, jess and cheryl

pigglettail: when daughter was smaller and using rear facing car seat, we had her in the back and i sat there with her too. now that she's 'older', we've graduated her to a forward facing seat which allows me to sit in the front with her dad and turn to deal with her if she needs something (her seat is fixed behind driver's seat). but with 2nd one on the way, we have decided to put her in the front because if the newborn sits in the back (and is facing the other way) and starts crying, then it'll be hard to deal with when we're on the road. plus the husband is asking me to get my driver's license asap so i don't know how i'll deal with 2 crying babies by myself .. *shudder*

cheryl,
dun kan chiong...at least your ML not wasted =) at least you know exactly when you are popping, so can quickly eat and do whatever you want before then!

cheryl,
wow!!! this fri!!!
gancheong

xiaoyun, no choice... to de-stress myself... somehow... kitsune gg to hosp put me into stress mode again...

garfield,
maybe u can group yr guests up... invite the closer ones to yr full month party n those not so close one with cakes or vouchers...

for me, i will stick with cupcakes...

ba kwa
heehee... i just bought 300g of fusion ones.. finished liao...

wow - that's fast. i thought i'd be the first to pop from the feb thread but it seems that other mommies have beaten me to it ..
hope grumpus and kitsune are doing well with their babies ..

cheryl
our bbs may hv e same bday cos i may chose 2 induce tis fri if i not popping 2mrw.

berry
aiya, it's my 3rd full mth celebration n it's 4 my girl so i kinda insisted on something pretty.

Date: 24 January 2008 (Thursday)
Time : Evening (dinner) 6.45pm ??
Venue : TCC Parco Bugis/Grand Plaza Hotel/somewhere central (any suggestion r welcome)

Interested mummies:-
1. dor11
2. vine_gal
3. happymum2b
4. kitsune
5. jeannie
6. artemis
7. bluegin
8. cheryl (TBC)
9. eliaw
10. Twinkletwinkle

cheryl,
kitsune should pop today cos waterbag burst so bb has to come out...

cuclainne
u want to be no.1 huh..haha... think linda should have popped too!!! last fri...

hi stephie and cuclainne,

Cheryl,
excited for you!

Full Month Celebration
i asked both sets of parents, both are lukewarm to the idea of full month celebration. initially i wanted a celebration but perhaps now i'll just stick to giving out cakes+kweh to relatives and close friends.

becos my bb's a boy, im also a bit more 'chin chye' in terms of asthetics...was telling hb that if we have a bb girl in future, i'll go all the way in terms of asthetics for everything manz. keke..

xiaoyun, I think petroleum jelly will be really oily and sticky, might be uncomfortable for bb right? Plus there is no titanium oxide in PJ, which is an ingredient supposedly found in effective barrier creams. I am mainly using desitin, its v effective as a barrier cream, and takes care of any redness before it turns into rashes.

stephie, then would it be v tiring for you to host a whole day of celebration?

berry,
i hv no side effect for my c-sec wif epi (1st delivery).. tat's y will be opting the same for this 2nd delivery..

cheryl,
adrian w advised u to go for c-sec tis fri? mainly due to ur rashes ?

dor,
wow!! u finished all 300g fusion bak kwa by yourself ah?

cheryl,
24 jan gathering
who is twinkletwinkle on #10 ?

happymum
ya loh.. the rashes jialat.... he din ask me to c-sect. but i scare induce will take a very long time, and if i dun dilate den faint... emergency c-sect

twinkletwinkle say she wanna join us... she also feb mtb, she PM me....

happy
i got share with mum/hb n gal ok...

piglettail
think u also need to check with car dealer whether will they charge u when u wan to activiate back the airbag in future..

*Update*
(kitsune can't join us)

Date: 24 January 2008 (Thursday)
Time : Evening (dinner) 6.45pm ??
Venue : TCC Parco Bugis/Grand Plaza Hotel/somewhere central (any suggestion r welcome)

Interested mummies:-
1. dor11
2. vine_gal
3. happymum2b
4. jeannie
5. artemis
6. bluegin
7. cheryl (TBC)
8. eliaw
9. Twinkletwinkle

happymum

i forgetten i owe u money.... i just transfer over
To Account POSB Savings
126-16066-6 happymum2b
Amount S$39.00
Transaction Reference 1537013350

berry,
i think so too..
that's why asking for 2nd opinion

here's what I read:
Newborn's Cleaning Guide
Bottom
Too much moisture plus sensitive skin can equal diaper rash for many babies.
Care tip: Change diapers frequently. Rinse your baby's bottom with warm water after each change, and blot dry with a soft towel. Avoid using wipesl they may irritate skin. Barrier creams such as petroleum jelly or white zinc oxide often speed healing by forming a protective layer on the skin

cheryl!!! i'm so excited for u.. remember we will supposed to have the same edd.. 24th feb and urs changed to 14th feb... and now this fri!!! 25th Jan!! So is it confirmed???As in really confirmed.. woodworth said already??

Wah liao.. skali i also like u... see tmr checkup what he says..

You sure u can still make it on 24th jan?? Hehe.. enjoy the last time before baby is out..

any of you interested in getting the following sling (the breeze range-the net type, v applicable to Singapore's hot & humid weather) ?
http://www.babyrock.com.au/

The retail price is S$120/-. If we can gather at least 5 orders, we can get at $110/-, a $10 off retail price..

so far, mi & a couple mummies r interested..
do let mi know if any of u r interested too..

One of desitin's active ingredient is zinc oxide I think. Shld be enuff. I've also heard of petroleum jelly but it doesn't feel nice on the skin...

Garfield
I capitulated and ordered the ampoules too!! hahahaha. My skin is getting from bad to worse with the heat and sun. Where's your beauty salon ah? Feel like pampering myself with a facial b4 popping.

jeannie

ya. shd be cfm liao. he even put the jab for me.... my rashes condition is really bad wor...
tat y i think i shd join the last gathering.... haha

everywhere itchy rite??? although my arm and hand is better but still itch. but the body part still itchy lah... breast also..