(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

tongtong: yes, the tanjong pagar mkt has reopened. coz i just had lunch there

Re:heatrash
yea i tink heat rashes are related to heatiness in our body. I feel so heaty these days and are eating cold stuff trying to cool me down. just had watermelon after lunch after failing to get coconut juice or green bean soup hehe

xiaoyun/snowbelle: Yea i signed up with SCBB too, and yes, it's my gynae who initially wanted to charge me 350!! but after asking him again, he said ok la he would waive since we are doing good deed. Oh well! i hope he is not going to charge his subsequent patients for donating to SCBB .

BF during confinement: my friend ate a lot and became even fatter than during pregnancy becuase she said after bf she feels so so hungry!!

thanks jaslyn! yea i went to the TP hawker centre just now! oh you had lunch there too? i saw a pregnant lady there dunno is you or not :p

bkkgal,
i now kiss the floor that my mom walks on haha...!!!! so thankful that she is supportive and volunteering to look after bb. i never asked her for help cos when i first got married, she had declared that she won't look after my kids. so was very surprised when she offered to help.

as what snowbelle says - just enjoy the good food first. for tough/irritating questions, just smile =)

bkkgal,
hahaha... same for my mom... my mom smokes and drinks a lot of kopi too... esp in my 1st trim, I really cannot tahan the smell, she gotta smoke outside or hide in the room... :p she always comment that during her 4 pregnancy, she still smoked and drank kopi, no problem what... now we are like so troublesome... hahahahaa

xiaoyun,
no choice lah... now still early for her to come out... I was hoping she can coming out at 39wk, just after cny and be a little rat... don't think so liao... if wait till then, doc said she will be 4kgs liao... painful lah...

MAH

i agree wif stephie tat e nurses there r pro-BFg n very gd. i liked tat plc so much, i wont give birth elsewhere, even though i heard MAH increased their charges liao.

e midwife will thrust e bb 2 u 2 BF once u pop. i did it 4 my 1st but hated it so didnt do 4 my 2nd. i dun intend 2 BF until i've been cleaned up, wheeled into my ward n e bb's cleaned up. i feel betta tis way.

u can tell e nurses wat u intend 2 do wif ur bb. 4 me, i was TBFg for my 1st son cos blur blur mah, wanna TBF. in e end, very tired cos e nurses would push my bb into my room in e middle of e nite so i ended up getting no sleep.

for my 2nd son, i smarter. i told e nurses no BFg bet 12am-8am so they bottle-feed FM during tis time so i can get 2 rest. very happy wif tis arrangement cos i really got 2 sleep.

will do so 4 my girl tis time round too.

tongtong,
When you asked yr gynae about the collection fee, did you told him you are donating to SCBB?

yeah... heard that during bf, will feel hungry very often... gotta control during that time if we want to get back to our pre-pregnancy weight...

yeah, coz walking or any form of exercise, may cause labour to start soon... I think I read in some threads, some mtbs purposely go for long walk or climb stairs when about due to kick-start the labour.

kelly,
I heard that it's better to bf bb esp bet 12am to 6am, coz will simulate more milk flow leh...

Garfield,

I remember you mentioned your colleague bought some serum/ampoules from you and worked wonders for her?can let me know the details/links to purchase? also the masks? Im interested to get some, hehe..

Garfield,

When I had my first one at KKH, they thrust the baby to me shortly after I come out of the delivery room and ask me to BF. They were telling me (if my memory didn't fail me) that if they start bottle feeding bb, will have problem getting bb to latch on properly thereafter. So started bf from the first day. There will be a nurse that will help you with it but not that friendly. Quite impatient. That's 9 years ago though.

kelly
ok, if you prefer to have your items via postage, will do so. just that am afraid the box of teabag will be 'flatten' by the time it reaches you :p

Coffee/Tea
i used to drink coffee everyday before i got preggy. somehow whenever i'm pregnant, my body will automatically reject coffee/tea (same case for both pregnancies). i told my frens/hubby it's 'natural aversion'. good for me since i won't crave for it/feel deprived if i don't drink. then after birth, will automatically revert to norm again. these hormones thingy is so strange.

piglettail,
the ampoule link (if you want to receive before CNY must order quickly as organizer is closing soon) http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1175035.html?1200295689

the face mask link (i've only tried dainty design masks so far) http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1167009.html?1198676214

Moi dar,
wow KKH already pro BF 9 yrs ago *impressed* i guess it must still be the case. i do recall the ante natal class teacher saying that they will encourage bbs to latch on immediately after giving birth in the delivery room. but not sure whether that is in theory only, or it actually happens in reality!!

stephie,
How I wish I have this type of body system man... auto reject forbidden food... I got to control very hard during my 1st 2 trimesters... the worst thing is that during 1st trimester, nose super sensitive, and my colleague loves to make kopi and tempted me... he sat next to me

stephie
cant help it lor...i getting irregular contractions n pelvic pains so cant travel far. is it too much trouble 4 u 2 post it out? i know ur EDD also reaching soon.

moi dar
happy 2 hear such gd news fr u. do take care n continue 2 rest well.

xiao yun: mi oso decide to donate cordblood. since i find it too expensive to keep the cordblood. then might as well donate it away so it does goes to watse and touch wood... if next time theres a need, theres a chnace that it will

milk
probably cheryl is talking abt the milk powder for pregnany mama? hubby say the content is machiam like for body builder kind man. super power wan. so i guess drinking it prob will gain weight fast ba

bbkgal: like u i wasnt close to my mum before marraige. now w this little open, i feel closer to her and takes her advice more willingly now

garfield
e reason y midwife encourage mummies 2 latch on asap after popping is 2 tell ur breasts 2 start working, something like 2 stimulate e breasts 4 colostrum, after tat BM. tat was wat e midwife in MAH told me during my 1st delivery.

snowbelle
i took epi for 1st 2 deliveries but i m determined NOT 2 take 4 tis.

will post long story abt my natural assisted deliveries + epi later. me quicking catch some sleep b4 my boys wake up.

moi_dar: o yeah.. forget to congrats on ur latest gybae update! happy for u. no need to worry so much liao
hope things will be smooth for u

moi_dar,
that's great news !! hope everything goes smoothly for you

garfield,
i intend to have baby stay with me coz i dun have confinement and my mom will be staying with me and "train" me to care for baby. i'll also have a maid to help out do the chores...hubbie also won't let baby stay with my mom or maid and we purposely bought a smaller cot so that can fit in our room

snowbelle,
when i have craving for coffee i'll go starbucks or mccafe and order decaf coffee, at least don't feel so sinful :p or maybe can take green tea coz the caffeine content is not that high... btw, regarding the cord blood extraction, u mean dr. wong won't charge for the extraction even if we donate to SCBB ? must check with her on wed when i go for checkup

tongtong: hahah u were there earlier too? hahah i didnt see any pregnant woman there. coz it was crowded and i'l trying to make sure no one bump into mi. i'm in a grey flowery dress.

kelly
not troublesome to post since there's a post office near my workplace. just that i don't like to post thing cos afraid it'll go MIA. no worries, k? tonight go home check if i have envelope to post your stuff.

tute,
sigh... didn't thought of taking decaf coffeee last time...

yeah... I've checked with her, she don't charge if donate to SCBB... according to SCBB ppl, Dr Wong has collected quite a few before, and she never charge one

Hi moi_dar,

Congrats on your good news!
But do still remember to take care.

RE: rashes

I think all the tonics taken during pregnancy contribute to heatiness plus the fact that we are carrying extra weight and baby. So now I careful to avoid heaty, fried, spicy foods and stick to soupy and non-greasy stuff. So far my rashes have disappeared. I also take soya bean curd with ginko nuts about once a week (so that my baby will have smooth complexion :p).

RE: SCBB

I called them but no one answer then I emailed them and no one replied. :p Wondering if I should call again.

very heavy rain at raffles place area now. hope the rain will subside soon else the mummies gg for BW will be wet (even with an umbrella).

snowbelle- initially when i told the nurse about donating to SCBB they said doc will also charge 350. i asked 3 times, 3 times also said got charges, then finally brave myself to ask the doctor myself, must be thick skin lor hahaa.

artemis- that time i emailed scbb, the person in charge replied the day later lor.

jaslyn - oh.. think i saw another lady not u .. hehe

re: milk powder,
i still take the milk religiously, 2x a day except when i have cereal in the morning then only 1x a day...recently change to anmum tetra pack...honey flavor, found it in cold storage...can't seem to find it anywhere else...but it's qutie nice and can drink cold so quite nice to drink during weekend...hehehe...and some more each pack contains 600gr calcium so drink once enough i think plus the suplement
with that my bb is 2kg @33 weeeks plus...not sure if big or not :p

i didn't drink any ante-natal milk formula cos my friends who did all gain >20kg.

me the vain pot decided to just drink normal hi-calcium, low-fat milk

Interview nanny

Will be dropping by the house of a couple of potential nannies this weekend to interview and see see look look. Can anyone share with me some tip to select nanny? What sort of Q to ask and any things that I should look out for? Arigato!

me too. heard the mummy milk very fattening. i took fish oil, multi-vit, calcium supplements. so, don't think i need those special formula milk. stick to low fat, hi calcium milk too..

re: milk powder
o dear garfield.. i think i'm reaching your frens stage liao. i have agained 14 kg as of last measured 3 weeks ago... but i cut the dosage. heheh in stead of 6 scoops. i'm onli taking 4. but now v lazy to make the milk.

tute: i think 2kg @ 33 week should be ok ma. mine was 1.7-1.8 @ week 31. gynae say ave

hi ladies...

talk about the rain! was out to buy stationary and the rain just poured!!! althou i have shelter and umbrella, still very wet...my shoes (or rather, sandals) gone case liao.

Thanks Garfield, will check out the links tonight
R u joining the gals for dinner? im gg to find them at the BW place later.

Caffeine,
dr never stop me leh...im still drinking my 2 cups a day, depending on 'body condition'. like Stephie, i also experience 'natural rejection', esp since 3rd tri. think it's nature's way of preparing me for confinement (since i think we are not allowed to take coffee/tea during this time)

Rashes
oh yes it didn't occur to me it's due to all the fried and oily food i've been eating that's causing my rashes...*enlightenment*
i havent had much tonics this pregnancy but been attacking all the fried,oily, spicy, curry food with gusto! hahaha...better tell my MIL to go easy with her cooking now.

cham. me not drinking any milk. initially drank those hi calcium soya bean milk then after a while stopped. relied only on the calcium and multivit supplements and ocassional cheese slices i had with bread. last time think i drank 1 tin of anmum milk.

RE: antenatal milk

I never take any milk powder stuff cause since young I have developed a very deep adversion to anything from milk powder. That's why I going for breast feeding :p I only take normal milk and my multi vitamins.

RE: caffeine

I was never much of a coffee person. More a tea person. I think since I pregnant also took less than 5 cans of green tea. No craving for it leh.

RE: SCBB

I tried calling them again and they may be arranging to meet me this Friday before or after my gynae appointment.

RE: Eatz Japanese Mini Buffet

Is it cause it's mini buffet that there is no warmer? Saw from the pictures that it came in styrofoam boxes? How's the food quality? Wondering about 1st month celebrations now as I not sure whether to have it at my place or at PIL's place. :p If have at PIL's place then I no need to clean up before and after <lazy> Just thinking about having to clean the place and take care of the baby already very sian.

piglettail,
think i won't be joining in today. having bad hip pain so can't really walk about very much. you gals have a good dinner!

for the ampoules - trace elements and collagen really improve the radiance and soothe the skin. immediate / overnight effect!

stephie,
i think so long as you are taking calcium supplements plus cheese should be fine. i don't take any calcium supplements, so rely purely on milk and cheese to meet my daily calcium needs =)

artemis
yup, there's no warmer cos it's a mini buffet (same case for other caterers). it's not styrofoam box but microwaveable boxes. food wise not bad just that the jap rice is not jap rice loh. lol.

the thought of not having to clean up afer the 1st month celebration is a pulling factor to have it at your PIL's place. :p

Hi Xiaoyin

Regarding the milk bags..its ok to repack to cover your losses. So how many will we receive? The pacifier looks cute but I also dun intend to use pacifier and also mine is a boy boy..so pink not suitable.

Hi Stephie,

If their food is not bad will shortlist them for the 1st month celebration.
They have a baby full month buffet set that seems quite okay leh. But hor, my PIL's place no lift and on the 3rd floor, not sure will incur their extra "no-lift" charge a not. :p

Hi everyone.

Today on MC at home as I have had severe headache last night and could not sleep.

Xiao YUn, sorry I dont think I am takin the pacifers. However, I dont mind paying extra charges to make sure you dont make any loss through this purchase. Please go ahead to divide whatever cost that is gonig to be incurred. Thanks!!

piglettail,

agree that the quality of the caterer is quite good. even though the food was cold, still tasted pretty decent. as Bkkgal says - if the food is kept warm (if we order a full buffet instead of a mini one), it will be even better.

haha...i think i'm super kiasu coz i know preggie ladies need around 1100-1200gr of calcium per day (if i remember correctly). So i counted that i take supplement around 600gr, and i take milk but not the full dosage around 4 scoops so that makes about 400gr then take 2x a day so adds up to 1400gr...i was taking it religiously during my 2nd tri...but somehow 3rd tri like many mummies, i'm more relax so just take either 1 cup of milk or 1 pack of the cold anmum milk...heheh...

garfield,
so far i'm ok leh...haven't gain too much weight, but maybe also because i'm quite heavy in the first place...gain about 11kg as of week 33, next wed go check up dun dare to look at scale! hahaha.. :p