(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

thanks Stephie for the pictures,

i can only recognise, happy, stephie, cheryl, and snowbelle.

who are the other 3 in black, blue, grey?

xiao yun
black, blue, grey - bkkgal, blueginger, garfield

dor
xiao yun not in the pic cos she left early. caught her in one of the pics i took earlier tho (but not v clear cos of the lighting)

cheryl asked about this before.. where can I get malaysia coconut besides from hawker centre?
i don't seem to find it in supermarkets...

bkkgal
i think lots of support is needed when bb is born so that we don't have to worry about this and that. that time i didn't had any post natal blues cos i had my mum and hubby to help around. i think if we become 'mang zhang' then will get post natal blues easily.

dor
we were talking about you having ah yat for reunion when we were having our miserable mini buffet (compared to yours) leh.

stephie, dun lah...
cos like i said in my earlier post, i din eat much as dun wan my pil to see my "true" colour...

garfield, for my dd, we had her cot in our bedroom and we take turns waking up for her. When hb wakes, he will feed her the EBM that I expressed in the day. In fact, our DD's cot is still in our bedroom haha, I guess we just prefer it that way cause we can hear her much easier if she needs anything. My bb boy will be taking over this cot when I pop next mth, and my DD will be moved to her own room. Unless I decided to BF by latching at night, if not hb will prob feed bb using EMB/FF. I will prob be bunking in with my DD for a while till she is used to sleep on her own.

stephie.. thats good.. u normally at ur mum place till what time.. i stay at Blk 13.. where ur mum stays??

US
Stephi... never been to US before leh..want to bring baby along but quite worried too coz heared medical bills very expensive there and worried abt the availability of medical help when there is a need cause we staying at some industrial town.

Garfield.. yar.. gonna do a lot of coach shopping and also baby clothes shopping.. yeh.. cant wait.. yup taking half yr no pay leave from june onwards.. cant wait.. shiok.. hehe.. hope everything goes well.

bkkgal wasn't at the heeren outing right?

The outing seems fun leh, stephie.. ur daughter looks pretty!!! and happy ur son also very cute.. like very nice to carry.. hehe..

xiaoyun, dont worry, just take into account the charges so that you wont make any losses ok!

gathering: wow, thanks for sharing the photos stephie!

bbk- no la, dont worry, just relax. dont think too far unless u really have it. enjoy the last stage of your pregnancy now k

cheryl,

yes. I am in light blue.
you saw the coconut in carrefour? it's in town, not so convenient for me to go there. hope can find in NTUC or giant or Seng Shiong..

beboybee,
So sorry I had sold away the Nepia diapers away already. I did PM you a few times. SMH PM siao siao these days. But I did receive PMs from others.

Moi_Dar,
Happy for you too.

bkkgal,
Want to look at your coach bag pic. Can send to me? Me curious why so many people want to buy coach. Is it really that nice?

Anybody still interested to try GOO.N diapers? Free delivery for S$60 and above.

yeah, i missed the heeren outing cos of hospitalisation that time.

the gathering was nice...tho' we all had to rem nicks and real names plus hubbies' names. was fun to watch the 2 kid play too! have alot to learn from the 2nd time moms like happy.

i left it at my mom's place. will retrieve it later and take a pic.

actually, coach is not like a huge brand in the US. it's just that it's damn ex. in asia so when pp go to US, the factory outlet prices are like very affordable loh.

thankful,
Beside free delivery for $60 and above, they oso hv $5 discount. I saw this on the brochure they sent along with the sample.. Maybe u wan to check and confirm with them..

bkkgal,
yes, the gathering last sat was nice..
we can hv more gatherings after all of us popped and when the little ones are older abit.. will be more fun to see them playing with each other.. haha..

thankful,
yes. there's a $5 discount for first time ordering.
another promotion is 'refer a friend', you will get $3 discount by refering a friend. too bad i already registered in order to get a free sample. otherwise should put you as referee.

btw, i am interested to try out the diaper. just that I stay in east and you're in SK. not convenient.

re: bb position
realized that my bb seems to have changed her position. since early 2nd trimester, she has been in head down position. and i only feel her movement at my right side. yesterday, i feel her at the lower part of both my left and right side. hope that she's not turn to breech...

bkkgal
re: pre/post natal depression
No lah, it does not mean if u hv pre-natal blue, u will hv post-natal blues too.. Try to think on the positive side.. Get pple ard u like hb or mum/mil to help u if u think u can't cope.. or talk to us.. dun keep it to yourself, let it out & u will feel better..

thks mummies for your advice re sleeping arrangements =) will go home and write down the pros and cons and let hb decide. i think sleeping apart from hb is a definite no-no though...

bkkgal,
your hb garang leh =P anybody else going to help you during your confinement? initially my hb also said he will take 2 weeks leave so no need to have CL. my mom almost fainted and immediately volunteered to help me....but i ended up hiring a CL anyway =P

stephie,
thanks for posting the pics! the caterer is quite good. can consider for bb 1st month celebration

jeannie,
make sure your hb's coy covers medical insurance for you and bb while you are out-stationed. then it should be ok.

pre-natal blues
yup, there's such a thing. i find myself very grouchy too...especially when i'm feeling so uncomfortable physically. so i tend to pick on hb quite a bit, but trying to control and not have any outburst. not fair to tekan him lor =P

stephie.. really.. hehe.. thats good!!So qiao... does it mean u used to stay here also??? So you wnat me to look for you?? i stay on the 8th floor..Btw.. ur mum stay the 3 room or 4 room side.. skali same side as me..

you're welcome jeannie. it's supposed to be standard practice to cover spouse/family for medical insurance! if not, medical bill will cost you a bomb =P i was admitted to US A&amp;E before - cost me SGD1,000!!!! *faint* if i had gone to KKH A&amp;E with the same issue, it would have cost me < SGD100

Thankful
Coach - it's personally liking bah. like there are pple who likes LV but others who dun. for me, coach is more affordable and i find that their fakes are easier to detect (unlike LV/Gucci where there can be very good fakes which you can't tell at all).

xiao yun
USD rate has been dropping since we placed our orders. so hor, new sprees should have better price since the rates are lower liao. still wondering how come CGW has not billed me for the shipping charges yet. very curious to find out what's the ultimate shipping charges after all the discounts offered by HSBC. i bought first teeth from BP previously and paid $1.44 (for 1 unit) as shipping charges.

jeannie
yes, i used to stay at blk 13 before i got married. missed staying there cos it's so convenient gg to town! my mum stays at 11th floor (3 room). i think you stay at 4 room is it cos i never seen you before. usually i'll be there by 7pm plus. didn't bring the stuff with me today. shall bring tomorrow and you let me know when you can collect ok?

And yes, medical costs is very high in US (hence those staying in US are all covered by medical insurance so no need to worry about medical bills). somemore, my fren whose bro is in US told me their clinics/hospitals are not easily accessible (of cos it depends on where you stay.)

stephie,
yes. USD keep dropping. the amazon purchase rate i got is 1.483. not sure about the CGW charges though. the playtex order we got from QooSan is USD 1.40 for 1 unit.
hopefully the CGW charge is ~ USD 0.5 per unit from my calculation previously.
i was thinking the drugstore order may turn out to be even cheaper because of the 10% rebate. hehe... let me know when the CGW bill you. mine is a sup card, need to check with my sis after that.

re: US stay
heard from my friend that US doc does not give you medicine but only the prescription. so you still got to go pharmacy to buy medicine yourself. in this way, getting sick in US is really expensive.

Happymum2b,
I think might have $5 discount for first order. Have to check with them when place order.

Anybody want to try out since cheaper than Nepia. I have not use it before but would like to try 1pkt.

GOO.N Premium Diapers
Size: Small
Weight: 4-8 kg
Pcs: 63
Price: $13.80

Those whom still want to order NB
GOO.N Premium Diapers NB58
Size: New Born
Weight: New Born-5 kg
Pcs: 58
Price: $13.80

Location of collection: Sengkang or Macpherson (my mum's place) or Jurong (need to check)

That's the best I could think of.

cheryl,
How's your rashes now? Did your gynae give you something to apply? wow... your going to have big bb...
how many weeks are you now? Cannot drink milk in last trimester?

moi_dar,

xiaoyun, cheryl,
I got the coconut from Carrefour at Plaza Sing. Should be the Malaysia one.

bkkgal,
Sometimes I also very moody... cry and get angry for no reason... I think worst than having PMS man... once when I was asking my mom about how to take care of bb, need to buy this or that or not, then she commented something that irritated me... and suddenly, I just yelled and screamed at her very, very loudly, and started crying for no reason... both my mom and hb were shocked... I realised my over-reaction only after that... Think quite normal during pregnancy... my friend asked me to eat banana, can help to control hormone, I think.

stephie,
Thanks for organising and posting the pics! I've transfered to you liao.

To Account: POSB Savings 135-00486-3 Stephie
Amount: S$27.60
Transaction Reference: 1527407278

drinking milk will have big bb meh? i've been drinking 1-2 glasses of HL milk everyday since preggie. my bb is 2.1kg @34wks which is ave size =P

re: cord blood
has any of you made a decision on your bb's cord blood?
was contemplating CordLife or donate to SCBB few weeks ago. in the end I choose donation because I found that CordLife sales person not very helpful and 'dao'. Furthermore, I think it will be very good to help other ppl when there's a need. Even if they found out that your cordblood may not be suitable to be released to the public for transplant, they can help to donate for research. isn't that great?

hi ladies...

moi_dar,
great to hear your good news!

Rashes
I noticed some rashes/pimple/red spots on my back and they r getting worse. went to GP today and she confirmed it's some kind heat rash. gave me some cream to apply and told me not to scratch and it should get better in a week.

i wonder if heat rash=body heaty? means i need to take less 'heaty' stuff and take more 'cooling' stuff ?

drinking milk = big bb. it's the theory that Adrian adopted. i also drinking 2 cups of milk every day, bb also 2.1 kg at 34 weeks.

snowbelle,
think i will check it out at carrefour some day when i have the mood to go out. how long can a coconut be kept in the fridge? can stock up or not?

re: pre/post - natal blue
i don't have PMS last time. during this pregnancy my mood also quite stable. hope that I won't get any of this *touch wood*. but heard that it's common for those ppl with PMS to have PNB as this is how the body adjusted to the change of hormones. no matter what, support from ppl around you is the most important one...

milk,
I've been eating cereal with milk everyday... hopefully this is not the cause of big bb man... my bb is 2.6kg @ 34wks...

xiao yun,
I signed the cord blood donation paper last week. somehow don't really like the private bloodbank ppl... felt they not really honest, just pushing to sell it...

Btw, according to SCBB, if 1st kid has donated the cord blood and if the cord blood still available, the siblings, can retrieve it by paying $2.5k only for testing...

I've also checked with my gynae, she won't charge any collection fee... based on what I understand from the private bloodbank, the gynae do charge and we are the one paying for it. Just that the private bloodbank collect on their behalf.

1st day of HL,
Somehow feel like going back to work... dunno what to do at home... this morning woke up for 1 hr and went back to take a morning nap after bf... hopefully, I won't put on too much weight during this period...

snowbelle
really? eating banana can control hormones? i'm banana-deprived! keke. hb hates bananas so i only get to eat at mom's. if i buy a whole bunch, sure cannot finish by myself. :p

garfield
actually we told our respective moms to just take care of the cooking and washing for me. taking care of bb is our responsibility. as new parents, we want to make and learn from our own mistakes. if we dun say like that hor, they will sure be offended cos both moms so eager to help. i'm SUPER afraid that they will take over our lives and our bb. Already as it is, my mom has her dos and don'ts for confinement and MIL has her own dos and don'ts also - damn confusing. MIL told my mom dun need to eat so nutritious and then later she said oh must cook good food so that body will recover for next bb (!!). Contradictory no? I'm confused whether shld eat good or no good. hiaz.

i noe later i have to leave bb under care of grandparents when i go back to work so it's better now in the early days to estab that no matter what, this is our kid and we will make final decisions regarding her wellbeing. otherwise, the kid may end up being our parents' kid - you noe what i mean right? i have some colleagues whose children are close to their grandparents than to them.

snowbelle,
me too. i feel the private bloodbank ppl not very sincere. after she found out that i would like to get more info before sign up, can feel that she wanted to hang up the phone already. i told her that i not free to attend their seminar and would like to meet her at my place, she agreed reluctantly. on the day for meet up, she just sms me 15 mins earlier telling me that she's sick and can't meet me. what a lousy service...

heard from the SCBB side, they are non-profitable organisation. as a result, they don't have much funding to do publicity. so, it's a waste if ppl just throw the cordblood away. I'm just trying to see if can help to build up the database for SCBB.
I am not sure about the $2.5k part. cos, i am not planning to have #2 -> no other sibling for my girl. I didn't ask anything about the retrieval too.. :p

my gynae also doesn't charge any collection fee. that's very good of him.

you taking HL? home leave or hospitalisation leave? what happen?

coconut,
no idea leh... my hb wanted to stock it up too... but I dunno will it go bad or not...

milk,
nowadays started to drink kopi or tea... feel quite guilty, that's why try to drink milk :p

re: coffee/tea
me too me too.. started drinking tea.. deprived of it for many months after found out preggie. nowadays become more bochap on the things i eat... very guilty...

bkkgal,
try banana HL milk as a substitute for bananas!!

yup, i know what you mean. especially when both sets of parents are very opinionated about how things should be done, and have conflicting views. you and hb will end up trying to be peace-maker and having to deal with the stress of all the differences ON TOP OF looking after bb. so it's good that you set the ground rules from day one!

for me, my mom is more involved in my pregnancy compared to my MIL. not sure if this will change after bb is born. so for the time being, i'm not too worried cos i think i think i can manage my mum. as for CL - to me she is an employee so if i really cannot tahan her ways - am prepared to shorten her stint.

yeah, mine too. i think our relationship with our moms change when we become moms. i was never close to my mom but now, she's so supportive and understanding, i find myself understanding her more and more. I was never one of those daughters who were super close to their moms loh. so strange huh?

I'm usually ok with mil. Just that nowadays she keeps talking abt 2nd bb that i try to avoid talking. Last nite, again she talked to my mom abt nourishing me for 2nd kid. I mean I haven't had my first yet!!! Gimme a break lah. Let me get this over with first.

bkkgal,
me too... that's why haven't try the banana yet...

xiaoyun,
yeah, yeah... somehow feel that they try to twist the fact to their advantage and make ppl take up their package. wah... waste ppl time only...

actually when I heard that needs to get 3 tubes of blood for testing hor, I almost backed out... really scared of needles... but thinking this is also a way to help my bb gathers good deed and help others... so, got to control my fear...

I think some gynaes still charge collection fee even if the cord blood is for donation... can't remember who's gynae charge $300...

currently on hospitalisation leave... bb half way engaged, got to minimise walking and climbing... then my office is on the 3rd floors, stairs very steep ones somemore... I can feel bb like dropping lower when I climbed and keep having tightenings... so rest at home first in case of early delivery, now still early mah...

think we controlled our diet too much liao esp in the 1st and 2nd trimesters... hopefully we won't become like a monster during our confinement... else dunno how to lose weight man...

snowbelle/xiaoyun

umm...i've been drinking coffee/tea more often these days and sometimes a sip of wine here and there. hehehe. notti notti. in fact, i first suspected i was preggy when i went wine-tasting with colleagues on a work trip to the US. i told the winery owner that wine tasted like sardines! wah, he was so offended!! hehehe.

MIL told me she drank 8 cups of coffee every day when she was expecting my hb!! he came out a coffee-coloured baby. Some more it was those kind of coffee-shop, use the socks to filter type of coffee (no espresso machines in those days). It's a miracle he didn't have other health probs man.

snowbelle,
so good, bb half way engage can get hospitalization leave. i think i will work till 3 days before edd. bb better guai guai stay inside. don't want her to come out so early. hb even ask her to come out 8 days later to meet the 29 Feb!!

bkkgal,
in 1st and 2nd trimesters, i don't even dare to drink chocolate milk in case girl girl become dark colored. but now very sian with those plain flavor already, all flavors welcomed!! hehe...

bkkgal,
yr mil so gan cheong lah... so fast talk abt 2nd bb liao... ignore her lor... she wants to cook good food for you, let her cook... you just eat the nourishing food and build up yr health, whether want to have 2nd bb or when to have, we will decide mah. If she says again, just push to yr hb lah... :p