(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

*Gasping for air*

Gonna die soon. Thank you Vine gal but it is so difficult to just relax. Aiyoh... I feel like a monkey tied to the bed. Sigh....

Hi moi_dar,

Try to relax, mind over matter mah. You in good mood then everything should go nicely. Maybe get your HB to rent drama series for you to watch lor (if you are into that) or watch the documentaries or even cartoons. :p You can also subscribe to more channels for 1 or 2 months since you are confined to bed now.

Happymum2b, I'll be 37 weeks tomorrow. Usually when does BB engage? Anyone knows?

hmm..i think moi_dar is those active type of pple who can't stay still and do nothing, that's why very bored on bed.

moi_dar
tell yourself just need to dong for another few more weeks, then you'll be kept busy looking after bb liao.

kitsune
think when bb engage, means they are ready to come out? mine not even engaged when i went for my checkout (sat morning) and on the same midnite (sun am) i gave birth liao.

Handphone
Finally got my long awaited Nokia E51! So happy cos it's really cheap at $48.
Hope hospital has wifi access then can still surf net when there.

stephie,
think most hospital shd hv wireless.. but use hp surf v slow in typing, then cannot copy & paste.. tat's wat i face when i surf on my hp using wireless connection at home..

plus side, but v convenient to surf via hp.. can surf while lying on bed.. haha..

my baby girl has turn down and I hope she will stay that way....

but hor, now into 31 weeks, she is 1.8KG, doc Adrian W says she is average, not too big, or too small. so hope can maintain average all the way hehee

I manage to get cheap shirts for her at Cheong Choon stall as well. but i blur, cos i also bought the bath tub non slip mat for her, which I have already bought earlier on... so hubby nag and nag. If anyone of you stay in SK and wants to buy from me, can PM me anytime...The long pants for baby going at $1.80, t shirts is $2. Auntie says no need to buy her shorts hee, cos diapers will do, most of the time she will be wrapped.

I have not washed the baby clothes yet....

My EDD is on 8th feb, another 2-3 weeks to go. I am a SAHM, doing alot of house works too even now alreday 36 weeks.. so bored at home alone. Dunno wheather my boy will just like me...hyper active!!

btw ladies, now we have to be extra careful and take good care and pray hard for our little ones....

I met a colleague on Monday and she has an outbreak on face, but I did not ask her why... she still chat with me asking when baby is due etc... later then i found out she just came back from MC... She has tried for baby for almost 7 years.... recently conceive, but baby not growing at 12th week.... so need to remove....

So count our blessing we have came so far. But let's continue to take care and hope for the best for our babies.

Hi Kellie,
Sorry - one of the mummies in the BP thread had transferred the $$ to me this morning. So I have sold the Hello Kitty bag to her....

Berry,
I oso love hello kitty *grin* if my girl likes it too then poor daddy will find his whole house full of hello kitty stuff!!

Kelly,
Wow, very exciting! Do keep us updated! We can start our pop list very soon =)

Moi dar,
Can imagine - i was working from home for 6 weeks and even then felt very suffocated. Would make secret short walks to the supermarket or food court to get fresh air! Oh, btw - when do you want your hubby to pick up the masks? I can also drop it off at your place, just SMS me your address.

SAHM,
I oso want...but i want to be tai tai, not housewife haha =P *DREAMING*

ML,
I think we can choose when to start taking ML. Don't need to start counting from date of admission. My HR says that they will count 12 weeks from the date that we "disappear". So if we choose to go off early then that is our choice lor. If we work till the day that we pop then they will count accordingly.

Stephie, less than $10. The one i bought at Cheong Choon is rolled up and put in a plastic bag. The one I bought at another store is in box. both pink color type.

Girls! I'm from the March Thread and also a first time mummy... I doing a survey to decide on the items i need to purchase for BB... can pls help?

Survey on Breast Pumps / Milk Bottles and Diaper Rash Cream!!

Which is Better?

Breast Pumps
------------
Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast pump
or
Medela PIS Breast Pump
OR
Avent

Milk Bottles
------------
Pigeon Brand
or
Dr Brown
or
NUK

Diaper Rash Cream
------------------
Desitin Original Diaper Rash Ointment
or
Drapolene cream

I would need the experienced mummy to get mi some input..
thanks alot

aiyo...this mng panic!!!

needed to send out this file urgently but it's 277MB - ended up laptop hung twice.

got to resize it small enough to send. removed all the images, but size remained unchanged. tried everything with the file - rename lah, cut and paste into another file lah, all don't work. end up i had to create a new file and slowly cut and paste without the images!!!! waste my time

salvation army- waliao just now salvation army came to collect a chest of drawers from my home (I giving away old wan cause bot new one for bb), one of the delivery guys were SMOKING when he step into my house! He didnt come in v far, only at the doorways, but my place is small leh, and preggies got v sensitive noses right? Now 30min later I can still smell the ciggy smell in my livng room. So inconsiderate

Dor, stock exchange LOL!!

bellebeins- I used Avent bottles cause the neck is the widest, easiest to wash, can stick a soft sponge in and soap properly. Easier to rinse also. Can also stick my hand in to feel whether all the soap has been rinsed off or not, so I much prefer Avent lor. The other brands all has v narrow necks.
Diaper Cream- I have tried a few random brands (including drapolene) before, but nothing beats Desitin (original). Once I tried Desitin, I stuck to it all the way cause the texture is alot thicker, u only need a weeny bit to cover bb's skin well, and protection lasts longer, doesnt disintegrate as fast also. And whenever my DD has soreness on her bottom, as soon as I apply a thick layer of Desitin, the redness/soreness will disappear within hours. And since u usually onlu need a very little bit for it to work, you'll find that one tube last you forever.

The worst thing is there is no scv cable running to my building. Which means even if I want to subscribe to SCV I can't. I am in the midst of applying of the line to be wired to our building cos I'm the MSCT secretary but it is a slow and long process.

no wonder forum so quiet ah? come here for your stock exchange leh (though i dunno what it means). can't access msn from office :p

vine,
i gained some link from our exchange!!!

moi_dar
heehee... re:cable vision
not easy cos i used to work in that company so i know....

i think we must count our blessings to have come so far!! pray that all our little ones are healthy and all of us will have a smooth delivery

what does stock exchange mean?

kitsune,
strep B's quite common. dont' worry about bb not having engaged yet - better this way so you can quickly finish your dosage of antibiotics!!

bellebeins

my views:
Breast Pumps
------------
Avent - been using the manual pump since day 1. find it good and value for $.

Milk Bottles
------------
i use a mixture of pigeon/avent since i have both (dun wanna waste). agree with berry's comment on the ease of use for avent bottles. easier to put milk powder in too. but it also depends on which type of teats your bb prefers cos some bb don't like avent teats, vice versa.

Diaper Rash Cream
------------------
Desitin Original Diaper Rash Ointment - much preferred option than drapolene imo. again, berry has said it all.

catering
btw, i've checked with Eatz. each add'l pax for the mini buffet is at $12. they have booked a slot for me so that i can confirm the headcount with them latest by tmr.

moi_dar: hey ger... how come u cannot come up fr bed huh? sorry... i onli glance thru the post in front... sometimes a bit lost wan. how abt read some magazine or play online games? i'm like u... cant gotta move abt wan. cant imagine confinement when i cant go out much...

happy
the wifi feature is good to have though not necessary that user friendly, etc when it comes to proper surfing. my colleague tried the phone before and he commented that it's very functional esp the wifi. ;)

moi dar, do you like reading? Maybe can read some parenting/bb related books? Can browse online at amazon to check out book reviews n selection, then reserve at library and ask yr hb to go n collect for you, or can get hb to buy from bookstore. Or rent DVDs to watch?

jaslyn
nowadays, pple don't follow confinement rules that closely loh.. i've frens that went shopping 2 weeks into their confinement! :p

<font color="0000ff">Nepia order in Sengkang</font>
PAGING FOR BEBOYBEE &amp; SWEETPEA

Payment received from:
1) Artemis (1pkt NB) <font color="ff0000">COLLECT</font>
2) Snowbelle (1pkt NB) <font color="ff0000">COLLECT</font>
3) Tute (1pkt S)
4) Vine_Gal (1pkt NB, 1pkt S) <font color="ff0000">COLLECT</font>

Still waiting for payment from:
1) Beboybee $15 x 3 (2pkts NB, 1pkt S) = $45
2) Sweetpea $15 x 2 (2pkts NB) = $30

Nepia Seal
1) Thankful 2pcs
2) Artemissoh 1pc
3) Tute 1pc
4) Vine_Gal 2pcs
5) Snowbelle 1pc
Total 7pcs (need another 3pcs to submit)

Sweetpea
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/board-profile.cgi?action=view_profile&amp;profile=sweetpea-users

Angie (Beboybee)
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/board-profile.cgi?action=view_profile&amp;profile=beboybee-users

dor,
sleepy
i know u feel sleepy but can't sleep cos u r working..
i oso feel sleepy.. but oso can't sleep even though i m at home cos my son dun wan to sleep &amp; i hv to keep an eye on him.. **yawn**

jaslyn/stephie, yar lor, when I had my DD, I was happily shopping at robinsons when DD was 2 weeks old. Just swaddled her well and carried her close in our arms. And the reason I was out only at the 2nd week was cause due to some labour complications I couldnt move efficiently enuf piror to that. This time round, as soon as my C-sect wound heals well enuf for me to drive properly, I'll be out of the house! :D

But its v subjective lor, some ppl believe in really following the rules, so if u are one who does, better follow for yr own peace of mind I guess.

berry,
wow.. i guess ur confinement period is w/out the presence of ur mum/mil rite?
my mum would not allow me to step out of the house during confinement unless it's visit to the doc/gynae..

happymum2b, yar u are right. My MIL was ard to help on weekdays (for the first few weeks) that time when i had DD, but she is not the sort who will ban me also. She was quite ok with me not doing the confinement thingy and rules.

But hor, I tihnk next time when my own daughter or DIL gives birth, I'll also not make them do confinement. But I'll help them look after bb for a while so that they can take a breather and go shopping/massage.

berry,
ur mil quite open minded leh..
haha.. i think for the new generation, maybe there is no more such thing as confinement.. :=P

Garfield
I just saw your message about the bag! After I saw the Kitty bag in the BP thread, I didnt get it because its very similar to my polo ralph tote bag, so I thought I stick to my tote bag rather than wasting money to buy another similar bag =P Anyway you found a new owner to the bag right!!

Gynae checkup, Engaged
Went for my checkup yesterday and my gynae told me that my baby's size is a normal size one but still no weight revealed! Haha. Also checked with her how to see if the baby is engaged or not. She did a test (press on my lower ab and shake the baby's head) and my girl actually swopped side (from left to right)! My hubby and I saw our lil girl turning during the scan. Was told that usually baby will be engaged at about 38weeks.

stephie:
my mum quite strict leh. i guess can follow then follow lah. in case next time really here pain there pain then mummy will say 'see.. i told u so...'. but then if cannot stand all the rules then wont force myself... like eat ginger.. i hate ginger.

berry: wow... u v zhai leh. i nv even carry a NB before. so i guess will be quite gan jiong spider mum.

jaslyn
me too never carry nb before. but when it comes to your own, somehow you will know/learn how to carry automatically. that applied to me. so far i only dare carry my own daughter, never carry the nb of others yet.

berry
agree with jaslyn you very zhai. somemore with no. 2, you are coping on your own? for me, will have to cope on my own in the morning cos my mum gotta bring my girl for her playgroup in the morning and will only be back at noon time. hope i can survive.

thankful
did you PM the 2 mummies? in case they don't come into the forum so don't know that you are paging for them.

or if really no news from them after trying to contact them, lelong off the diapers?

andrea: congrats... so u are all prepared for the big day? maybe can ask ur gynea on the wt of ur bb ger? coz i oso have to ask the weight then my gynea will tell mi wan wor.