(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Dear Stephie,

I have not ordered anything else in the drugstore order other than the lansinoh milk bags which have been cancelled. Thanks.

Dear XiaoYun,

I will also swtich to 50-pk

Amazon orders:
Lansinoh Breast Milk Storage Bags 50-pk. – USD 9.99
1) Andrea
2) Starry70
3) goodbabyb
4) Piglettail
5) apple79

Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags, 25 ct – USD 5.24
4) VINE_gal
5) xiaoyun

Hi all mums-to-be,

I am new to this thread...will be a Feb MTB too
...hv some queries regarding breastfeeding which i hope dat u gals can help me pls...

wat r the things dat i need to buy to get ready for BF (other than the electric pump which i hv juz boug)? Thanks in advance!

Hello Xiaoyun/Stephie

i confirm my order from Amazon for the Lansinsoh milkbag (to drop off from drugstore order).

Hi sweetpea,

Yah..so confused...saw so many products in the departmental stores but duno wat to buy...got breastpad, nipple sterilizer, cooler bag, warmer n so many more....somebody pls help us...

not working full-time, so most likely wil be pumping at home...but may sometimes send my babi to my MIL place...so mig need to express n store oso....so wat r the things required?

cheryl

i just went dentist last month. Actually its advisable to go on a more frequent basis when you r pregnant (3 mth instead of 6 mth) as apparently we will more gum related issues like bleeding during pregnancy.

cheryl,
i got this problem too.
especially when i floss my teeth. this is normal during pregnancy.
no problem to go dentist.

xiaoyun
no worries abt the drugstore order. if i can be of help, will be glad to do so. :p

andrea
taken note of your add'l orders.

Have not heard from:
Jeannie
June
Kitsune

Assume their order remains unchanged.

Here's the latest order list. Slightly exceeds USD200. Hope won't kenna GST over at Singapore end. I shall proceed with the order.

mime_msexcel.gif

DrugstoreNew (21Dec07)_latest.xls (21.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

jan mtb popping
so far, 4 mtbs already popped.... scarly.. due to gynae's recommendation....
just pray that our threadwont have such cases..

bb care
garfield/happy, the final verdict is maid... mil reject the job cos her healthy... sob sob...

have placed the order thru drugstore.com. but not sure if i've done the correct method to enjoy the rebate from iDeals. have just emailed drugstore.com to ask if i can cancel the earlier order placed and i do a re-order. aiyo, very luan now. my gal beside me jus now kacheow-ing, took away my notes on how to place the order. ended up i scolded her and now she's crying away... sigh...

i really cannot make it for BP
sorry gal if i didn't manage to get the rebate in the end.

stephie,

it's ok if we can't get the rebate...
btw, i can't transfer you tonight...just tried to add payee but i think too near to midnight so service is not available. i'll try one more time before i sleep, if cannot then i'll transfer tom morning...hope it's ok !

Hihi, Stephie. Sorry, was out whole day. Yup, my order remains the same.
Ya, don't worry about the rebate, thanks for coordinating this.
Will transfer $ to you.

Hi stephie.. is my order still in??

Sorry.. din get a chance to log in ..if confirmed then i transfer the money to u??

Hi garfield, have transferred $5.90 to u for the ikea clips.

The transac no. is 1493341603

Thanks for buying the clips!!

kitsune/jeannie
ya, your orders are still in (as per excel worksheet).

tute
thanks. hiya, think i overreacted yday.. in the end called up hsbc, told them what i did and they said it's correct wor.. hopefully everything's ok. :p

stephie,

finally can transfer this morning !

Trans no : 1493501065
Amount : $20.06
nickname : tute

should be ok lah...dun worry so much, grateful enough to have someone helping us order

Stephie,
I've transferred the $ to you liao. Thanks!

To Account: POSB Savings 135-00486-3 Stephie
Amount: S$26.04
Transaction Reference: 1493570491

stephie,

feel so sorry to make your gal cry.. hush hush...

ah char/sweetpea,
welcome.
regarding the breastfeeding accessories, I can only contribute a little bit cos i am a first time mtb too. it depends whether your are SAHM or working mum.
(1) breastpump - depends on individual. some ppl will latch on. since you have bought it, then i assume you will use both methods since you work also.
(2) nipple cream - helps to sooth the nipple. some ppl recommend to use breastmilk to do it. depends on individuals too.
(3) milk storage - you mentioned that you might express and store. there are many options to store breastmilk.
(a) milk bottles: can be bought from departmental stores. I remember a set of 3 Pigeon bottles (with lid) cost about $8. Takes up spaces in your freezer.
(b) glass bottles: some ppl like me is collecting glass bottles from chicken of essence/bird's nest to store it. They are free. However, beware of glass cracking and lid turn rusty. Takes up spaces in your freezer too.
(c) milk bags: disposable milk bags takes up less space in freezer. since they are not reusable, they are not so eco-friendly.
(d) milk trays/cubes: have not buy any of these yet. heard the advantages is that you can actually store milk in quantity of 1 oz. only take out the amount you need. no wastage of milk.
(4) breastpad: when the body is producing milk. there will always milk leakage. to protect your bra/clothes, it is necessary to standby some. there are also 2 kinds -- disposable one and reusable one. i feel that disposable one not so leh chey but not eco-friendly as well. but think about the amount stuffs that we got to wash for baby everyday (cloth diaper, clothes, etc), I will just opt for disposable kind.
(5) breastshields: if your pump is a single pump, you may consider getting a pair of breastshields. it is because the other side of your breast may leak when you are doing pumping. it also helps to protect your nipple from rubbing against the clothes when you have sore nipple. i've bought a set from Avent ~ $30. not sure useful or not. but my friend recommended so.
(6) nipple shield: it is made of soft silicone. this comes useful when you have sore nipple, enables you continue latch on. not sure how usefule is that. no need to rush and buy. can ask lactation consultant's opinion later on.
(7) nipple steriliser: i suppose normal steriliser can do the job. no need to get a separate one?
(8) cooler bag: this is for you to keep your breastmilk when you are expressing outside (e.g., office).
(9) warmer: to warm the breastmilk after taking out from fridge. hot water may do the job. I don't think they are useful.

hope my humble opinions help.

Hi mommies, i've been reading the threads. I was quite sad last week when I found out not only do I have pregnancy-induced-hypertension (need to take high blood pressure drugs) but I also had gestational diabetes.

Can I check does anyone here have gestational diabetes and is monitoring blood sugars on regular basis? I'm a bit confused when can we take mid-morn/mid-afternoon snack? Is it 1 hr before next meal or anytime?

Lastly, is Stephie still taking orders for Desitin cream? If not too late, can I put in an order too?

Hi mommies, i've been reading the threads but I was quite sad last week when I found out not only do I have pregnancy-induced-hypertension (need to take high blood pressure drugs) but I also had gestational diabetes.

Can I check does anyone here have gestational diabetes and is monitoring blood sugars on regular basis? I'm a bit confused when can we take mid-morn/mid-afternoon snack? Is it 1 hr before next meal or anytime?

Lastly, is Stephie still taking orders for Desitin cream? If not too late, can I put in an order too?

Hi mommies, i've been reading the threads but I was quite sad last week when I found out not only do I have pregnancy-induced-hypertension (need to take high blood pressure drugs) but I also had gestational diabetes.

bkkgal,
stephie already placed order for desitin cream.
i've order 3 tubes. if you urgently need it, I can sell 1 to you. do you want?

yeh!!
another 2 items to be striked out from my purchase list:
baby towel - bought at 4 for $10; 5 for $10
baby hankerchief - bought at 12 for $2

Hi,bkkgal

Have you tried to eat brown rice instead of white rice? Wholemeal bread intead of white bread?

My father side have history of diabetes; my grandfather, my father and all my uncles had diabetes. And my FIL got diabetes for around 20 years.

After knowing that I am pregnant, I eat mix of brown rice(50%) and white rice(50%). At beginning, My husband and I can only take mix of brown rice(10%) and white rice. Slowly, we get used to brown rice, and feel like brown rice than white rice. So far, my urine test is ok.

Dor/Xiao Yun,
Sleepless nite again. Sigh.... Not sure why... HR said have 46days hospital leave (60days-14MC). So I should be entitled to hospital leave. If my gynae appt on 4th Jan requires me to take hospital leave, I have another 46days again. Except don't know management or other colleagues will be "green-eyed" a not. I don't want to take unpaid leave or early maternity leave leh. If I can work, I sure work till due date.

Since my hospital leave, I don't have any water retention on both legs and seldom have cramps also. At home like not at home cos I can hardly do any housework or pack my things.

Anybody have heat rash on tummy and arms lately? I have quite a few heat rash on tummy and itchy as well. Only on the forehand of my arms also. No other parts already. Heard that it's due to expanding of the skin. Is it true? Have to endure the itch before my next appt.

Wow! The thread moves so fast since I last login. Spend nearly an hour to catch up.

Hi Thankful,

I had a bad case of rashes about 2 weeks ago. I think it was due to heatiness of the body. I drank 1 coconut, ate tou hua and the barley, ginko nut and dried beancurd skin dessert that the ladies here recommended. Plus, I abstain from chicken and seafood, then almost all the rashes went away. Not sure if it will work for you?

Hospitalisation leave is up to 60 days according to MOM website: http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Sick_Leave.html

RE: tiredness

I have been experiencing extreme tiredness too. But could be due to the amount of walking I have been doing. :p Wednesday went Christmas lights sight seeing with my mother-in-law and sister-in-law. Then Friday went shopping in Chinatown, Orchard and Toa Payoh with my mother and mother-in-law.

But, seriously, I find it harder to fall asleep recently and easier to wake up even though I have always been quite a heavy sleeper.
Sometimes, my baby girl has her own private dance party at 2/3 a.m. and I wake up cause of her vigorous movements.

RE: cot bed

My mother-in-law offered to purchase the cot bed for her 1st grandchild. So we went Kiddy Palace on Friday to purchase it. It was delivered today.

RE: baby's wardrobe

Went to IKEA with my HB yesterday to purchase baby's wardrobe and chest of drawers but only can deliver on 29 Dec.
Well, :p at least I got more time to get the place packed nicely.

Here's wishing all of you a very Merry Christmas!

thankful,
when's your edd?
year 2008 starts, you will then have new annual leave and mc, isn't it? however, don't think it's good to use them up so fast.
i don't want to take early maternity also. hope can tong until the last day. furthermore, it's chinese new year period. got to cover my colleagues' duty as most of them are foreigner and need to go back home to celebrate.

today took out bb clothes to machine wash with bb detergent. 10 bamboo sticks also not enough for me to hang. jiatlat. :p haven't wash the cloth nappy though. will wait till the next round of washing. the sun is good today. :D

re: tiredness
i do feel that i get tired easier nowadays. but i continue walking and climbing staircase. hope to have smooth delivery. didn't go shopping or anything. just don't feel like squeeze with people. I experienced some mood swing recently, gets irritated easily. so, better to avoid seeing too many people. :p

Hi Garfield, tubao,

Yes, my diet has to change but not alot since I've been quite conscious of my food intake all the while. During my 2nd trim, I had cravings for mos burger, fries and cheesecake (not what I normally want to eat) but now I have no more cravings. So, it came as a shock to me that I have gest diabetes and hypertension.

I have to measure my carb intake every day now. No more milo in the mornings, only homemade soyabean milk. Whole meal bread, brown rice, margarine, diabetic jams. I also do not eat hawker food as much as poss cos it's high in fat content, oil, sugars and refined carbs. Actually, it's a pretty good regimen to follow. Luckily my hb and mom are supportive and try to accomodate me as much as poss.

This pregnancy has so many downs for me. I'm looking forward to delivery so that my body and health can return to normal. I've been quite an active person but now, feel fatigued so easily.

Does anyone feel breathless nowadays? Sometimes I wake up at night and find it difficult to breathe, airways constricted...so I use an inhaler. I'm just wondering if it's normal for 3rd trim or is it my childhood asthma coming back.

bkkgal,
Re:breathless
Yes, i feel more breathless as i entered into 3rd trim.. Sometime, i feel breathless even when sitting down..
I oso get tired v easily.. After a short walk, i need 2 sit n rest 4 awhile.

jeannie, ya tummy getting lower. don't like to walk too much already. nowadays just want to sleep! and yes, agree with cheryl, tattoo not painful one... removal more painful. that one i went through b4, though i think definitely still not as bad as labour pains!

kitsune, i see the photo also can't reali tell u have curly hair. anyway my fringe also curly. when i don't blow it straight it will curl on its own too. my baby's clothes i juz throw all in the washing machine and use normal detergent.

tute, the salesperson nv ask me to buy the airtex mattress leh. i bought the bedding set from them, but IMO quite useless. cos baby can't use comforter/bolsters/pillows, so only the bedsheet and bumper seem useful, and those can buy on its own. the whole set cost me $89. the bedsheet is not really the well-fitted kind, it's just a big cloth and u stuff the excess underneath, so i think buy normal one can already.

dor/happy, my experience with maids all my life has convinced me that i won't get one for my own family. it's very very hard to find a good one and lots of potential problems. no privacy too. i saw with my own eyes problems like pregnancy, running away, accuse employer of abuse, stealing, affair with employer hubby etc. not wanting to scare u all la, but juz sharing... so i'll prob at most get a PT maid, let IL take care or whatever rather than get a maid.

xiaoyun, you go where to buy the hankys? so cheap! anyway i cancelled my BP order for the hanky le. the 12 for $5 one. very upset with her. i paid 3 weeks ago and she forgot about me and now tell me the design i wan is OOS...

stephie, so sorry i haven't logged in for so many days so i didn't see yr msg. yes, my order remains the same. will transfer the money to you in a few minutes.

Gathering on 05Jan, Sat, evening

1. Garfield (+ hubby)
2. Happymum2b (+ hubby + son)
3. xiaoyun
4. dor11
5. cheryl (+hubby)
6. piglettail
7. Stephie (+ hubby &amp; girl)
8. june (+ hubby)

Outing venue - i think if open area (if let's say still raining) won't be too good. i think condo function room is good idea or maybe one of those restaurants where u can get a private room?

Anyone has condo in a central area? Or anyone who lives in a central area wanna offer your house to us? hehe.

From Account POSB Savings 194-45470-8
To Account POSB Savings 135-00486-3 Stephie
Amount S$13.02
Transaction Reference 1494985630

Thanks for consolidating the orders Stephie!

But the funny thing is the rashes are only at tummy and 1part of both arms only. Will taking coconut water early induced early labour?

I also don't want to use finish my hospital leave so early in 2008 but it may seems to depend on my gynae decision on next year appt. My edd is 16 Feb. So I'm hoping that I won't pop that early. Hoping and praying so. So far so good. Crossing my fingers. I want mouse baby leh.

Hi Thankful,

The itching may be due to stretching of skin too. My mother-in-law said cannot take too much cooling stuff, especially coconut water can only take the most 1 per fornight.