(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi h@ppymum2b! I am new to this thread... I also live in Sengkang, would like to join you for the Nepia diaper purchase and bean sprout pillow purchase... can let me know what else you may be buying? can join oso...

Email Address in case I didnt reply in time: [email protected]

Thanks!!!!

Wanna check with you gals. If you have a male colleague sitting beside you, complain loudly about you (pregnant woman) of eating biscuits/fruits at your own desk. Saying the sound disturb him from doing calculation.

Make a big hoo haa on your opening of your own drawers. Can even count the number of times opening them. (Too free) Make a lagi big hoo haa and shouted at you that why you always on the phone (need to coordinate so many things with many people) and said you have nothing better to do. Asking you to change seat and he stay put.

On the other hand, he can eat his tea-break at his desk and on his music loud.

How would you all handle him?

hi angie,

actually i m getting some Pigeon wipes & helping thankful to get some too.. hee..
for Nepia diapers, i think linda & thankful are ordering them..
for sprout pillow, i think june is coordinating it..
you may refer to the earlier posts for more details..

thankful, i will just ignore him...
he sounds to me veri self centred.
heehee... if u also too free, do likewise to me... count the no. of songs he listened, etc...
2 words to describe him...bo liao....

h@ppymom2be,
i've enabled my PM now

thankful,
I think that male colleague is really overreacting and just down right annoying. I snack even when i'm not pregnant ! Ask him to go and buy earphone if it really bothers him. It's not against the rule to eat biscuits at ur own desk.

Thankful..U mean got such men around! Wonder if he is attached..probaby not..otherwise I feel sorry for his gf/wife. Doesn't sound like a nice person.
Don't bother about him. Just enjoy ur food and pregnancy. Why not ask if wants some snacks anot. hehe.

Well in any injections or medical procedures..there is always a risk of things not going well. Just have to pray hard. For wisdom tooth, I also extracted mine and the doc did warn me about possible nerve damage..but I went ahead anyway. Thankfully nothing happened.

Sorry.. read until i abit blur...thanks happymum2b for the info.

Hi Linda/Thankful - can let me know when you're ordering the Nepia diapers, i stay in sengkang and I am interested...

Some notes on Epidural, taken from:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/labourandbirth/painrelief/epidural/

What is it?

It's an injection into the small of your back, using a curved, hollow needle. The needle goes between the vertebrae of your back, and into the space outside the coverings that surround your spinal cord. A fine tube is passed through the needle and then the needle is removed. The tube is taped up your back and over your shoulder. The anaesthetist injects a local anaesthetic (similar to what you would have at the dentist) into the tube to numb the lower part of your abdomen. Generally, your legs and feet go numb as well. You can't feel your contractions any longer. Sometimes, the tube is attached to a small pump, which allows you to control how much local anaesthetic you have, or the pump may be primed to release a small dose of the anaesthetic every so many minutes.

How does it work?

It works in just the same way as a local anaesthetic works when the dentist numbs your mouth before extracting a tooth. The anaesthetic deadens the nerves which are carrying pain signals from your womb and cervix.

When should I have it?

Theoretically, you could have an epidural at any point in labour, even in the second stage when you are pushing your baby out, although a spinal anaesthetic would probably be offered in that situation. Most people, however, choose to have an epidural when the cervix is about five to six centimetres dilated and the contractions are getting pretty strong. If you are as much as eight or nine centimetres dilated, your midwife might say that it's too late for an epidural and advise you to manage without because your baby should be born soon.

What are the advantages of epidurals?

More than 90% of women get complete pain relief

Your mind remains totally clear

Can help to control high blood pressure

Can put you back in control of your labour, and restore your confidence

Epidurals are more sophisticated than they used to be and you might find that your legs and feet are not completely numb

What are the disadvantages?

May find that you are numb down only one side of your body or that a small part of your tummy has not been anaesthetised

May make you feel very shivery

You have to stay in bed

You need to have a drip in your arm. This is because epidurals make some women's blood pressure drop which seriously affects the flow of oxygen to the baby. The drip is a safety precaution so that, in an emergency, the volume of your blood can be quickly boosted to bring your blood pressure back to normal again.

You will probably have a catheter into your bladder. An epidural means you can't tell when you need to empty your bladder, so this has to be done automatically for you.

You might feel very out of control. You have three tubes going into your body and you have to be told when to push if the anaesthetic hasn't worn off by the second stage of labour. Your midwife and doctor effectively manage your labour for you.

Epidurals can increase the length of labour, especially the pushing stage.

Your baby's heartbeat will be monitored continuously, using a transducer strapped to your abdomen, or a smaller transducer clipped onto his scalp.

There's a greater chance of needing to have a forceps or ventouse delivery because epidurals often prevent the baby moving into the best position to be born.

If the epidural needle goes beyond the epidural space, there will be a leakage of cerebro-spinal fluid after the tube is taken out. This fluid buffers your brain and even a very small leak will give you a terrific headache. This is usually treated by taking a small amount of blood from your arm, perhaps the day after your baby is born, and injecting it into your back to seal the hole made by the epidural needle.

Some women have problems passing urine after having an epidural.

You might not be able to have an epidural! Not every hospital in England and Wales offers a 24-hour epidural service. Rates vary from 100 per cent of hospitals providing the service in the Oxfordshire region to 58 per cent in the West Midlands, 64 per cent in the South West and 28 per cent in Wales.

Not available for a home birth.

Any useful tips?

Keep very still while the anaesthetist is setting up the epidural. You will be on your side or sitting on the edge of the bed, leaning forward. Concentrate on your breathing. Breathe in deeply through your nose and sigh out slowly through your mouth. Hold your companion's hand and keep eye contact with him or her.

Discuss with your doctor and midwife the possibility of letting the epidural wear off for the second stage of labour when you are going to deliver your baby. Being able to feel the contractions will help you push more effectively.

Nappies - i think it's more environmentally-friendly and of cos cheaper, plus i realised can use nappy liners to get rid of most of the dirt. but then thinking about the washing part... i feel quite disgusted leh. what am i supposed to do? throw all in washing machine will it dirty the washing machine? i have absolutely no idea and no experience on this. any mummies can share your experience?

epidural - i definitely don't want to take it. everything natural the best. if ppl last time can all go through labour like that, we should be able to do so too. heard some ppl say got side-effects, until 20 yrs later still backache. in any case, the idea of a needle going through my spine is horrible enough!

BLUEGINGER, thanks for the info, i will go check it out.

DOR, actually i'm free lah cos i'm not working... but a bit paiseh cos think u all all met b4 right? as for JL sale, may drop by, but don't think much to buy cos a lot of things all buy online already.

THANKFUL, that guy is an idiot. if it were me, i will purposely make even louder noises and do those things to irritate him. and when he is irritating me, i will make the same remarks to him.

NEPIA diapers (Last Call for East Area)

I'm extending the order period till Sunday. Just in case anyone still wants to order. I will call on Monday to order, and they will send to me on Wednesday afternoon. I live at Bedok Reservoir. Should be able to arrange to pass to you at Paya Lebar or Tampines area.

Email me your contacts if you are keen.

It's $15 for one packet. Newborn - 60/pack. Small - 54/pack. Collect 10 seals to exchange for $10 NTUC voucher.

Current Orders:
June (2)
Dorothy(2)

june,
at first i oso thot of using nappies, i bought 2 dozen of it. understand from pple that need to soak the soiled nappies and scald with hot water before hand wash them.. furthermore, if using nappies, need to monitor closely and change the nappy immediately after each urine/poo.. if not, bb may develop nappy rash.. so for my 1st child, i ended up using diapers since day 1 till now.. more convenient.. :p

just back from JOhn Little Marina Square! All bb stuff got 20% off for cardmember, except diapers. (I asked the saleslady whether it's all 20% she said yes!)

and saw the nursing bra, without wired one too. 12.90 or 9.90, think the brand is eternity. the price should be before 20% discount.

nepia diapers(collection at chin swee road) (near chinatown)

last order on sun... have to arrange to collect from me k? cos im not working, seldom go out and no transport.

pls pm me your detail too.

$15 for one packet. Newborn - 60/pack. Small - 54/pack. Collect 10 seals to exchange for $10 NTUC voucher

current orders:
eliaw (1 - small)
garfiled (1- nb)
genice (1 - nb)
cheryl (1 - nb)

Thankful, leave some crumbs in your colleague's workstation! muahahahaha. He sounds like a petty fella.

On storing BM, it is recommended that we store in pre-sterilised storage bags of not more than 200ml. These should be easy seal and marked with date and time so that we always use the older milk first.It's also easier to thaw small bags of milk in the fridge overnight or defrost in warm water (NEVER PUT IN BOILING WATER OR MICROWAVE).

I think this famous Mrs. Wong's advice is pretty good - try the breast pump first before committing. I've seen some pretty expensive models out there and it seems such a waste if you don't like it. Btw, are there companies like Medela, Ameda renting out breast pumps? I found such a service in Thailand..

I just started checking out the sale and exchange corner...can I ask, what is "upz"? I see some pp post this on the thread but dun understand what it means.

Hi ,
I am from the Nov thread Mummies. I have a brand new Ameda Lactaline bought from Mothercare to let go at $300.

Seal was opened to check items. Warranty left another 20 months from now.
This is longer than the usual 1-year warranty period if u get from other places.
I didn't manage to use it cos family is not supportive of BF-ing.

I also have a pair of Mumsfairy Supershield to go along with it, at $320 together.
Self collect from Jln Jurong Kecil.
Interested, please PM me.

hi bkkgal,

"Upz" is usually used to refresh a particular thread so that it stay at the top of the page.. cos the thread will be pushed down further & further if there are no new posts and it can be time consuming to search for a particular thread or the thread may even get "lost".. beside "upz", some pple may type "refresh" or some smiley faces..

long time never got chance to post here. very busy nowadays..

re: Nepia diapers
I found a place selling 30cts cheaper. also provide free delivery but need to be more than 6 packets. Not sure if it's reliable or not
http://dignus.sg/baby-diapers-nepia-c-194_195.html

re: Baby wipes
since someone commenting that we should use some baby brands for new born as they have sensitive skin. I saw Kodomo one selling at Watson's is in promotion now.
70 pcs @ $1.95
anyone has any review on that?

besides baby wipes, I was wondering if it's necessary for us to by feminine wipes since we are going to have lochia during confinement. And it's important for us to keep our private parts clean. what do you think?

also, can we wash face during confinement period since we are not suppose to touch water?

xiao yun,

ithink its not advisable to use femine wipes, even normal use. after delivery, u will have stitches, esp medication/lotion will be give to clean that area. moreover femine wash and wipes contains perfumes and soaps that will wash away bad and also good bateria (if u realise got soapy feeling after wipe). so its not good to use. you may consult your gynae abt this too.

hi, am back from my check up..

i put on again!!!!jialat....need to cut down on food intake already

bb weight
my bb is now 1444g at week 30! almost twice his weight at week 26!head also down...claimed that bb is of a good size...
dr loh asked me why my tummy looks so big!!!

choice of birth
he asked me whether i wan c-section...

epi
garfield, i forget to ask him leh....
anyway, he will be on leave mid dec...

kodomo wipes
xiaoyun, the kodomo wipes seal not sticky enough..

june, come lah... join us for thurs...
xiaoyun, come leh... then the 3 of us can go home together...

feminine wipes
any recommendation?

mc
i told gynae that i sleepless/breathless n giddy.. so he gave me another day to rest!!

dor,
haha.. manage to get mc lor... easy right?

see la, told u my bb small, we got the same edd, but your bb 300g more... haiz.... i wan durian...
my bb still lying horizontally, thats why tummy looks small...

xiaoyun, can save $0.30, sounds good leh. why not you join us and get 2 packets so we can have 6 packets so can ask them deliver here.

dor, i think should be ok to join you girls cos i also wanna check out what other things to buy. but then i may already finish buying this weekend. plus it's really far! like Linda, I also stay at home most of the time. don't like to go out too much. hehe. by then i'll let you all know again.

goodbabyb, i went for cordlife seminar before... the seminar is free right?

i went to the public cordblood bank website and there were some articles talking about all these private cord blood banks as thriving on marketing etc. rather than providing any real value to people.

seems like, despite so many ppl signing up, only a few have really been helped. and it only helps for leukemia-related diseases while the rest are all still pending research and labelled as "future usage". and there are so many other possibilities of other illnesses.

and if really really so suay as to happen, i think still can use bone marrow or go to the public cordblood bank.

so in the end decided not to go with them lor.

i think the hood is to cover baby's head. the ones with hood also called receiving blanket is it??

i also not sure, i've ordered one with hood. may order another one without.

dor, don't worry about it - i will ask dr. loh next sat.

he ask if you want c-section, but i thought there he say can deliver naturally right?

Dorothy, sorry wont be joining. Hee a bit shy lah. So far, I have not met up the ladies whom I have chatted with on the forum.

Thankful, your neighbour is very bo liao leh. but hor, my office neighbour also like that. Keep staring at me when i snack...

c-section
garfield, ya loh... but today he(dr Loh)veri talkative....maybe cos my gal was with us...so he is busy talking to her..
heehee... in the end, he say try lah...

linda,
ok lah... but my gynae commented that i have a lot of fluid in my water bag.

garfield, btw.. dr loh will be away mid of the month... i supposed to see him on 14th dec... me thinkin of changing it to 21st dec.. hopefully, he is back

Dor, congrats! Your ah boy bigger again. How come you got such a detailed weight ah? Dr Judy Wong estimated for me using BB's waist circumference which was 24.8cm. Did Dr Loh do the same? Looks like Dr Loh likes kids, keep talking to your gal.

Oh ya, I received my beansprout pillow today. Looks very hard cos they packed in a lot of husks. Wonder if it'll be too hard for baby. Have you got yours yet?

good morning!!

kitsune, he did a rather detailed scan yesterday. prob cos for my gal to see. showed us the head/foot/hand/heart.a lot lah..

bb gender
rem we all having this doubt abt bb's gender? i asked him abt my bb gender... heehee. cofirm it is a boy.. somemore took pix of the private part.

dr judy wong
my next appt will be with dr wong cos dr loh is away. me thinking of cancellation that appt.cos still prefer dr loh... but how dr wong?

beansprout pillow
so fast! agreed with thankfl, harder better

good morning!!!

while trying to get myself sign up for the dignus website just now, I found this:
"Dear Customers, due to the pulling out of a major shareholder we have not been able to conduct business until we are able to get another investor into the business. In the mean time, we might not be able to fulfil any orders until we are able to do so. We are terribly sorry for any inconvienence caused."

That's too bad. Cannot save 30cts.

In the future, if the website is back to business again, please use my Customer ID -- 0281367 as a referral. So that we can earn rebate together. :p

June,
Since 4 packets is the minimum amount needed to get from distributor, can help me to order 1 packet of NB? I was planning to use nappies during day time and diaper at night only. Don't wish to stock up so many.
I have no problem to meet you up at Paya Lebar/Tampines.

Dor,
Thanks for your advice on the Kodomo wipes. You mean the sealer part on the packet not good? Then the wet wipes will not remain wet after opening for some time?

Wish to join you all for the shopping. Hubby not keen on going china town. But as I said earlier, I am always like zombie after work.

Goodbabyb,
Hokaido- I could only think of Sashimi, Milk, Milk sweet. If you can afford, can KobeBeef. It is the world best beef.
Hood blanket is a receiving blanket. Usu have an additonal piece at one of the corner of the blanket to cover the baby head.

Cheryl,
Any exmple of item to buy for baby? Cos I believe that many of us would have get those general stuff like milk bottles and teats, etc. esp these are up to individual liking. Won't wanna get baby clothings as friends/colleagues will give plenty as gifts.

Dorothy,
1.4Kg at Wk 30 is Ok. Imagine your baby is supposed to be 2.5 to 3kg at wk40 so 1.4kg at wk30 is normal.

I'm getting more restless recently as baby since to be growing by day. Stretching my tummy each time after meal.
Did you go for JL sales this week? Anything to grab? I'm planning to go for JL Expo sale since I can walk there next week. anything you wanna get? SMS me. I might go after tues cos I'm on full-day course next mon & tues.

i think can either give gift for bb or mum... i dun wanna buy clothes as gift also leh... so can get those general stuff also