(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

dorothy,
8am - OK. Where? At the bus-stop in front of my place?

Sake:
My japanese girlfriend said ok. Must take warm one ok.

Outram side parking oso difficult. Sigh...

hi dorothy,

we have to use a Safety 1st bathtub ?we cant use the red bath tub mum gave us for our wedding?how is a safety 1st bathtub different from the red 1?

for the latex mattress with holes,is it really gd?how abt foam with holes?cos heard from my colleague that we got to put changing mat(bb may urinate,so will not dirty bed), mattress sheet etc on bb's bed,so will cover up all the holes??

for those who had delivered at tmc,does tmc give bathtub as free like mt A??

any 1 noe how long we need to walk from raffles place to ACM?i thinking of taking cab there,think i cant wake up so early

bkkgal
u r currently in bangkok now rt? can i pls find out if u know where 2 find pigeon breastpads? i was there last wk, went 2 Isetan at Central World and Tokyu at MBK but cant find it. my frien used 2 buy pigeon breastpads 4 me fr bangkok. e packaging is 60pieces for abt S$6.50 (based on exchange rate 2yrs ago). spore's pigeon breastpads is 36+6pieces for $8.90

my GF's heading there soon so need her 2 haul back cartons of it. i didnt check out Sogo & Central Chid Lom cos no time 2 do so.

I will be taking care of my new born bb after the 1st mth when my confinement over. Only me & bb... do you gals think that i can manage it myself, alone? Wihtout parents, in-law...Kind of worried

bluegin,
how abt the waiting aread opposite yr place?

goodbabyb,
can use the red one that yr mother gave u for yr wedding...cos i rem seeing it at toyrus for abt $50plus.. so if cheaper than that, can buy too...

i think latex one will do...

bkge, haha... cartons of it.... yr friend veri nice leh... cos that item veri bulky..

dorothy,
i dun mind my GF emptying e breastpads n packing all of them into a plastic bag, minus e boxes lah. so shld b lighter tis way?

goodbabyb
tmc dun give bathtub like MAH. my GFs popped there but no bathtub was given. i do know it's a tradition 4 MAH.

<font color="0000ff">Interested mummies,</font>

I have a Medela Mini Electric Pump (single). It can run on electricity but the battery part is not sensitive anymore. Willing to let go below S$100. Price is negotiable. Kindly PM me as I seldom come in here. Thanks

Artemis/doink - is kidzloft sales like those warehouse sales? the 50% until this weekend only?

casa - i think if you are not working and only staying at home with bb, you should be able to handle la!

OG sales-
today I managed to pop by OG during lunch time-

electrical appliance 10%. can buy crock pots or other stuff.

others like the thermos flask - tiger brand , got 20% - had been eyeing this for long, so quickly grab when got 20%.

bb stuff, like playpen got 10%, saw one bb cot , 4 in 1 convertible is 299 if i'm not mistaken. saw a guy bot on the spot. looks quite good cuz can convert to bed and can sleep till 4+

avent product no discount.

bb clothing generally got 20%

not managed to see a lot of things cuz kinda rush. will go check out metro this weekend too.

Kel, ok I'll go look for you this weekend. I didn't know Pigeon is made in Thailand. But I rem once at a baby fair, pigeon nappies were quite cheap. Are these breastpads disposable? Good to use? Maybe I'll buy some myself too.

You guys seem to know the prices of everything! Wat's cheap for babies in Thailand? I think I shld buy and ship home! haha.

I went to check the prices of pampers recently.

Pampers brand is $0.60 each
Huggies is $0.40
Mamy poko $0.36

Is it the same in Spore?

Hi Casa, actually I think it's doable as long as you have a part-time maid to help you clean the house say twice a week. And if your hb can help out with the meals either by cooking or tar pau-ing back, it shld be fine.

The main thing is if bb can settle into a routine, you shld be able to cope. But if you subscribe to demand feeding, i.e. feeding the baby everytime it cries for it, then it'll be tough lor. My gf basically fed her bb every 2 hrs and the baby will fall asleep at her breast after 30 mins and she will let her do that without waking bb. In total, she had at most 1-2 hours each day free just to shower and eat something. It was quite taxing on the mom. And this habit sort of developed into the 2nd, 3rd months until my fren went back to work.

Anyone read The Contented Little Baby Book by Gina Ford yet? Some pp say very militaristic, regimental parenting but some say that if you can follow, you will be able to do away with night feeds and bb sleeps thru the night by 3 mths.

Just went for my checkup today. Now at 25 wks plus. Baby weighing at 960 g.... slightly heavy. So diff from my first one, who is underweight, born at 2 kg..

dear mummies - i saw a bean sprout pillow at Lifebaby, very chic and nice, but ex..hehe..$30 i think..but of cos many places also sell them at a cheaper price (less than $20)..

Lifebaby is located at Raffles City - 3rd floor

tongtong

the cot seems like a good deal - i also bought a cot can be converted to junior bed - but i bought from kiddy palace (white color one) at $339

But the cot i have comes with side panels when you convert them to junior bed - does the $299 include?

bkkgal
thks...e breastpads sold in spore is made in thailand. e contents is e same (as in e breastpads) but packaging different. e breastpads r disposable n they r good. i breastfed both boys for 1yr+ so i was using a lot of them.

clothing is cheap in bangkok, esp stuff fr carters, old navy. i found some in platinum. u may 1 2 check it out. i cant comment abt other pigeon stuff cos i cant find any in e shops i went 2. so wasted!

sorry, i cant help u abt e prices of diapers but i know e smaller e sizes, e cheaper they r. my boys r using MP XL now n each piece costs $0.46. i dunno how much a MP S or NB sized cost.

julie
wow! ur baby is big. my girl's only 606g at 24wks.

bkkgal,
try tis corner baby clothing shop at 1st level, juz besides e escalator. they sell "baby extreme" clothing. wholesale price is THB120-180 for 6pieces. cheap & gd clothing. my 3 GFs n i bought >THB2000 fr tat shop.

starry/goodbb, i'm not sure whether it comes with side panels when converted to junior bed.. but teh cot looks quite big.. and the price was discounted from 499 to 299 if i'm not mistaken. i din ask whether there's additional 10% discount after the 299 leh, cuz lunch time shopping too rush la..

btw, rocio bb cot which can be converted to junior bed one at taka is selling at 359, discounted from 600+.

goodbbb,
Red bathtub oso can. A Safety 1st bathtub is just a more convenient bathtub so that you dun have to use your arms as a rest for your baby while bathing.

dorothy,
OK. I'll wait for you at the waiting alley opposite my place at 8am sharp.

bkkgal,
I thik diapers are relatively the same as in Spore. Cos I rem dorothy said that the mamy poko newborn I bought is about $0.36/pcs.

i have a Avent manual pump and only used for 1week. I'd like to let go as my milk ss is very low and given up for BF due to some personal reason. The UP is $99 , pls kindly PM me for those who is interested, price is negotiable.
1064083.jpg

Thks tongtong & bkkgal.

i hope after go thru this 1st experience, i will become a 'supermum' for the 2nd bb ;)

I'm new here. May i know how u get to know all these sales going on? My EDD is 10/02/08... very near to CNY too..... (^_^)

casa,
i will be home alone with bb too. No family, friends to help since i am overseas, so hopefully will be ok.

BTW, i got a question for experienced moms. If I am alone with bb, do i leave bb in the cot in the daytime, or do i put bb somewhere else in the living rm etc? Where ( eg playpen) do i put him?

I have the same question as fairfield too. Since my hb didnt come home when he is on board, where do i put my bb when i need to take bath or lets say go to the toilet? Especially when i need to prepare food....

fairfield, casa

If you are going to be home alone, you can always leave the baby in the baby cot or playpen. If you are going to leave the room where the baby is sleeping, get a baby monitor. Then you can hear the baby when they make noise.

When leaving baby alone in baby cot, make sure you do not have lots of unnecessary things in the cot that baby can accidentally cover themselves and suffocate.

casa, fairfield
i took care of my boys alone, as a SAHM. i only took baths when they napped. in e daytime, i leave my boy in a bouncer wif a playgym over it 2 keep him entertained. cos babies in their 1st 3-4mths, cant flip yet so quite safe 2 put them on a soft playmat or bouncer.

i agree wif julie tat it's gd 2 invest in a baby monitor. i swear by it.

welcome jacjac!

re your question about sales, the mummies in our thread share info about them so stay tuned!! one more reason to log in regularly =P

i just came back from gynae. baby is 1kg but EDD brought forward from 20Feb to 9Feb. so i dunno whether i'm supposed to be in my 25th week or 27th week now.

baby is in a vertical position (machum standing up in my tummy) so when she kicks it's a very funny sensation down there haha...hope she will turn around soon.

mummies - how was the talk??

garfield,
i personally find the talk so so only... but i do enjoy myself at the demo for bb massage...will plan to go for lesson after bb birth....

wow... yr edd bring forward huh... exciting hor...yr ah gal now become a CNY bb..

Hi, mummies. Went for OGTT today, not as bad as I thought though the drink was really sweet. Went to OIO maternity shop to kill time, ended up buying 1 working dress, 1 working skirt and panties cos there was a sale.

Dor, thought of seeing Dr S F Loh (since he was on duty) just to check the weight of my baby since I'm idling at The Private Suite anyway. Plus I know he did tell you your BB's weight. ;)But he refused. According to the nurse, he didn't want to cause any misunderstanding with my gynae, Dr Judy Wong. Wonder why since I don't have a package with Judy Wong and I have no intention to change gynae. It's just that it's Sat and Judy is not working. Thought any gynae can do a scan right as long as patient is willing to pay. Hmmm... :?

Received my bumper mat today. It's really soft though only 11mm. Set up a little cosy corner it'll look nicer once I put in the cot but people say set up the cot only after BB is born so I'll wait. Won't collect dust this way also.

http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Hi Feb Mum, I'm from Oct Mum. I have buy extra packets of herbs (about 15pkts) for bathing. I'm not sure any one interested. Selling at $1.50/pkt.
Interested Mum pls call me at 92789982.

hi dor,
ya lor - move forward by so much. i think will continue to change. KKH has baby massage classes, are you thinking of attending it there or somewhere else?

hi kitsune,
you were at TPS today? so was i!!

Sorry that for the late reply. Friday I went for my gynae appointment and found out my baby is a girl and weight 677 grams. I am now 58.9 kilos <sigh>. Upon knowing my baby is a girl, I went kidzloft and bought some more items suitable for a girl :p In total I spent S$460.

Yesterday at the Philips Avent event, I only managed to buy baby bath products, soothers and VIA cups and lids. The steriliser sold was the old express model and the iQ food warmer was not on sale either. <sigh> Not sure if there are any sales for the items.

Hi goodbabyb,

The booster seat is actually a baby chair that you can tie to your dining chair and use as a baby chair. Didn't want to get a high chair on its own cause it will only waste space in the house. It is S$42.22 after discount.

The blankie with duck is like a security blanket. You know, like Linus in Peanut comics has one.

The stay in place pillow is to place the baby in the correct position so that s/he will not roll around on the cot. I wanted my girl to sleep in an upright position from birth which is why I bought the pillows.

The playmat is S$59 after discount.

Hi dorothy,

The bath centre is S$45.80 and the latex mattress is S$91.20.

Hi tongtong,

I don't know how to go by public transport. My HB drove us there. Yes, it is like a warehouse sale but they have a showroom.

Breakdown of items:
- A latex mattress with holes (S$91.20)
- A bedding set (bumper, fitted sheet, comforter, pillow and 2 bolsters) (S$56.80)
- A Safety 1st bathtub (S$45.80)
- A Safety 1st booster seat (S$42.22)
- A baby playmat (S$59)
- A Baby on Board sign (S$2.47)
- Anakku cotton balls (200) (S$2.95)
- Anakku cotton buds (600) (S$1.97)
- Anakku baby wipes (240) (S$8.55)
- A stay in place pillow (S$6.45)
- A blankie with duck (S$5.45)
- A pair of booties with rattle (S$4.02)
- A wrist strap with rattle (S$2.45)
- 4 X face cloth (S$3.95)
- A mitten and bottie set (S$1.65)
- A powder case (S$3.50)
- A book on how to help your baby learn (S$14.90)

hi artemis,

how is the playmat like?how big is it?
any pic to share?when do we put bb on playmat??

after how many mths,bb will be able to sit up and use the booster seat for meal?
The stay in place pillow can be used immediately after bb is born?cos heard bb only need pillow in the initial stage??

Hey girls..thanks. I am really a noob..know nothing at all. Still need you girls to guide me. U girls have start buying baby stuff? I am waiting to see if there's any baby fair or warehouse sales. I think i have missed Kidzloft warehouse sales..will there be another one?

kitsune - my gynae is Dr Judy Wong too...so far so good. I got an appt with her on 13 Nov.. Last month didnt did a scan for my BB...this time i m going to ask for one. Wondering how is my bb doing inside..haahaa (^_^)

Hi, jacjac. Yup, Judy is nice and patient, I like her bedside manners. Just wonder why she say can't tell me my BB's weight. At first, I thought it's because the machine at TPS can't measure but Dr S F Loh could measure for Dorothy leh. I know some gynaes don't want to tell MTBs the size of the baby's head cos some mummies get worried and nervous if BB's head is too big. :p

Hi, artemis. I'm curious to see your playmat too. I bought an LG bumper playmat from the BP organised by Alien recently too. It's nice but twice the price of yours. Wonder where's the difference.

http://www.anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Hi pp.. new to this thread.. hope to get to know u all better.

I am expecting a baby girl on 24th Feb anybody about the same date???? I will be delivering at TMC. : )

Just wanna check with all of you how much weight u have gained.. was reading thru the archived.. seems like a lot of you very small size.. so good.

so far i gained abt 9 kg ( now abt 68kg), my baby girl abt 700g.. is it normal?? am i too heavy??

welcome jeannie

initially my edd is same as u.... but last check up edd changed to 14th feb, but i will stick with 22 feb as per oscar scan....

i have gain abt 11kg... even more den u.... lol....i m even heavier... and i m so short..