(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi morning,
so many posts. don't know how to catch up.

re: birds nest
some ppl believe that it will cause bb asthma especially when the feather is not picked out totally. however, i do take it every month. 1 concentrated bottle per month. hope it's good for bb's skin.

anyone heard if it's good to have pearl powder during pregnancy? some ppl said it will give bb fair and nice skin. i have got quite a few sachets of lo hang ka pearl powder prior to pregnancy. safe to consume? please advice.

patsy,

glad to see that you are staying strong and positive!! please take this chance to rest well with mother by your side.

re:breast pump
read from another thread that KKH has promotion, medela PIS original is now $499 and PIS advanced is $599!!!

Stephie,
Thanks. I will go to the larger malls to take a look. I guess have to trial and error then.
For first mth how many packets of diapers you ladies stock up? But then again I wouldnt know which brand will be suitable...
Hmm.. Ladies can i take a poll, which brand of diapers you all getting for BB in the first mth?

Stephie - EQ diapers

Dor,
do you have the nepia's supplier's contact?

Itok,
My 27th week scan is only on the 17th Nov...

Thankful,
Just a thought but would it help by putting EBM into ziplock bags then put into freezer?

didn't log on at all over the weekend coz busy window shopping and walking around...

me finally bought a stroller ! yeay !! got myself a combi with decco, full canopy, egg shock alpha, air through seats and reversible handle. very happy coz having reversible handle is one of the main feature i wanted especially when the baby still small. wanted to get pliko p3 pramette initially but too heavy liao, told hb i definitely can't carry alone esp with baby on the other hand. This combi one quite light 5kg, and i tried lifting not bad
the model i got has been discontinued so it was on offer, safe around $110...so very happy coz look around at tai sing, bb kingdom and only isetan finally has a new stock and left one piece! One big item down, 2 more to go i.e. pump and bb cot.

For pump i tried both medela swing and PIS, strangely enough i find the noise level for PIS is the lowest as compare to swing, maybe bcoz PIS noise was contained in the backpack...but the backpack is really horrible looking...good thing can take out...tried the suction on my upper hand and can really feel the difference. PIS is much softer...the lady say that swing is more for occasional usage though, still can't decide coz i'll be at home for first 5 months at least so need to start pumping in office after that. some more price is twice !
i think for those thinking to buy swing, promo at robinsons not bad coz sellin at $395 with the cooler bag and some other stuff...

sunny,
robinsons sale still on till 11 nov.

-tute,
although PIS is twice the price of swing, do bear in mind that it's a double pump while swing is single pump. i do not have the chance to try PIS but i already feel that swing is already not noisy. since swing is $395 with cooler etc, why don't get PIS original which is $499 at KKH? only 100 more.

how much is the stroller you bought? so you got it at isetan?

hi sunny,

i thinking of getting clothes for bb for daily wear etc,cos i do not have any hand me down clothes

hi dor,

for gap/oldnavy/gymboree,are they ex?

xiao yun,

bought my stroller at $488, i know it's rather ex considering it's combi, but i was looking for the decco feature and not a lot of combi product has this (especially the new ones). aprica sells them as additional feature and you can buy it separately and ptu them on in the stroller. was very tempted to buy one aprica stroller in robinsons coz got 15% but unfortunately the ones that has reversible handle is very ex...>1k

yeap, am aware of the double pump...actually i read some mummies does not prefer the double pump because after pumping both breast at the same time, sometimes during breastfeeding the other breast will leak. but i guess this depends on individual...ah, one thing i do notice is that the pump that u put on ur breast (dunno what's the term for this) for PIS advanced is softer bcoz it has this rubbery thing, similar with Swing however they told me that for PIS original is normal plastic. i saw both and can tell the difference, the rubbery one would be more gentle to your breast.

morning ladies!

patsy, great to hear from you! rest well okie?

Cheryl
*hugs*

maternity clothes
after searching for months, finally found a maternity working tight skirt at Swell yesterday and bought it!

bb sleeping arrangements
my back has been aching like mad already, can't imagine all the bb carrying from cot/bed/play pen in future! any tips to share when selecting a bet/cot/play pen for bb? i looked round, even using playpens at nearly waist level, i'll need to bend over (which i feel the ache doing that now already). is there any other options i can explore?

breastfeeding
went to hb's fren's bb 1st month bb shower yesterday. the mummy also reported not enough BM, using formula as supplement. all the recent mummies i know (i've heard of 3) seem to have problems with BM supply...feel stress! cos MIL and SIL were the types with overflowing supply...hmm.

my hb ask me to take royal jelly...is it ok to consume?

I mentioned earlier that I got the Pigeon 3-in one sterilizer (the blue sterlizer + bottle warmer + food warmer)..well I sent it back for a refund. I was visiting a fren who used both this sterilzer and the pigeon rapid steam sterlizer (the purple one), she said the blue one is lousy as a bottle warmer as it takes 20min to warm up the milk coz the water base is very shallow, can only warm up the bottle 1/4 way. whereas if you buy a separate bottle warmer, it reaches at least half the bottle. no point payming more for the 3-in-one function.

Now I headache again..dunno if I should get Avent or the Pigeon rapid steam sterilzer. And do we really need a bottle warmer?

Anyone know what's the diff bet PIS original and PIS advanced? I also headache now..deciding on which breast pump to get. sighh....so many things to consider..

-tute,
the stroller is so ex!!!
i think will keep a budget about $200 for stroller. hb not very keen on using that. he prefer to carry baby instead. so, i will be the one using it when he's not around.

for breast leaking during breastfeeding, it's not only applicable to those using double pump only. this is the info i got from experienced mums. you can get a breast shield to collect the leaked bm. i got avent breast shell during JL sales last time. think it cost $30 before discount.

info on breast shell -- item #3
http://www.avent.com/uk/en/breastfeeding_accessories.php

piglettail,
i don't remember where i got the info. not too safe to consume royal jelly at the moment. probably you can google around first.

sweetpea,
the advanced has 2-phase expression function whereas original doesn't have. this function stimulates bb sucking and helps to have let down faster.

stephie,
i agreed with jadonmum that if u keep yr EBM with frozen stuff will have some smell....

birds nest
i think moderate should be ok...

hana
nepia's ctc:62262650

pearl powder
xiaoyun, no idea leh...

goodbabb
i think depend on what u intend to get... for me, when i shop online. i will only get sale items... among the 3 brands, i think gymboree's stuff is veri ex... but the clothes veri nice. has been buying for my gal... so far, my hb also say nice...

sweetpea
avent steriliser veri ex... pigeon rapid steriliser cheap. kiddy palace selling at $88.

royal jelly
piglettail, no idea but i still take manuka honey...

cheryl,
i found a trick to make bb move. it works on my girl. take some sweet stuff.

but remember don't take too much as it might make him hyperactive when come out.

dor,
i do take manuka also. but less than pre preg. cos afraid that it will cos phlegm (old ppl say cannot take honey). however, i think manuka helps in building up immunity.

cheryl,
soft drinks work for my girl. sometimes, chocolates too.. hehe.. anyway, my girl is gentle kind one, i don't expect her to give me a punch. just a soft tickle, then i very happy already.

xiaoyun,

for a few days, he kick very powerful, den the this few days, very low movement and not powerful 1.... i eat ice cream also not use ah....

Dorothy..yah..i saw that the price of the pigeon rapid steam sterilizer has dropped

But still not a good as the taka baby fair earlier. Hiya..now regret never buy. wonder if there will be any more baby fair coming up.

Btw Robinson's having promo on Avent sterlizer as well. Its the express sterlizer + cooler bag + wet wipes + dimpled pillow..I think $149. I was quite hesistant to get it coz I dunmo if its good and whether it can fit in other normal size bottles

re: pearl powder
this is what i found on lo hang ka's website:

"Health - Replenishes the calcium in the body. Promotes blood circulation, relaxes the body and calms the soul. Besides improving various gynecological conditions, it also eliminates body toxin. Pearl Anew powder contains many types of precious nutrients that eliminate diseases and help stabilize the foetus during pregnancy. "

Finally can take a day off and rest at home...

Let me give my 2cents worth as a 2nd time mummy...(but my 1st one now only 15 mth)....

1. Baby Clothes

Don't stock up too much and babies grew really fast in the first few months. Buy something light for afternoon and I like those mothercare PJs, long sleeve from head to toe....

2. Stroller
Invest in a good one. I remembered all we try to save $$ and ended up having to buy 3 strollers...so total cost is actually more. Personal recommendation (if you hv $$), go for Aprica or Combi...light weight.

3. Maid
I just hired a full time maid to help my mother, who is taking care of my 15mth boy. She is from philipines...now abt 1mth old...so far so good. One thing to note: those who are good at taking care of kids may not be good at house work. Need to compromise somehow. How to get good maid - really purely on luck. But good agency helps...I got mine from www.aatas.com.sg, the boss, Lina, will personally fly down to philipines to interview the maid.

5. Patsy - so good to see you back in action! you are really STRONG!!

cheryl,
maybe yr ah boy also moody lah... cos daddy overseas... mummy moody... talk to him...(this dun works on mine...) when i worried abt him not moving... tried talking to him... he just ignored me....

julie
can share how much u pay in total for this maid?

hi ladies...

dorothy,
thanks! yeah think i will give royal jelly a miss for now.

im taking honey (honey water) too. not becos 'beneficial' but have this craving since preggie.good substitute else i'll start ransacking the office pantry for junk food in the afternoons.

Cheryl,
perhaps u can try rolling from side to side while u r resting on the bed? i do this and bb will normally have some movement. dun worry, my bb goes thru active days and super 'quiet days' too

Hi, anyone suffering from breakouts on their chest area? I got a patch of ance/blemishes on my chest and they look very nasty and ugly =( Any recommendation of body shower?

tute

i was using medela PIS for more than 1 yr. I nvr try other brand before. in my opinion, PIS save lots of times for me when i pumped in the office.

goodbabyb
if it's daily homewear, there's a shop near si ma lu guanying temple, selling cheap homewear. i just remember that it's at a corner of the shop houses near a multi storey market place selling those dried stuff like mushroom, scallops, etc. i usually buy my gal's homewear there. 6 pc is $9 with sleeves, i think.

xiao yun
$599 is a good buy!

piggietail
i have a baby cot which can be adjusted for about 4 levels. the highest level won't let me bend so much. and i find that it's good especially during confinement period. i bought it from ermm.... don't know hyperstore or hypermart.

sweetpea
for pIS advanced, there's a 'let-down' feature. i.e. when you start the machine, it will go to the 'let-down' mode to stimulate your breast to produce milk. if i am not wrong, it will last about 1 minute before it goes to the pumping function. the rest, it's same function as the PIS original.
for milk warmer, i find it good to warm up the EBM. 'cos i don't need to watch the stove and the fire to prevent the EBM from being too hot or water got dried in the pot. so, while warming up, i can do other things. I think it's the same concept of the reason that if you are considering buying steriliser.

2nd time mummy
what's your age of your elder one? how do they react recently after knowing that you are pregnant with #2?
my gal is like a superglue to me now.

sunny,
my gal is 7yrs old... she is excited that she is gg to be a jiejie....guess cos she is rather old so no problem with it... but she loves to kiss my tummy cos she said she wants to kiss didi...

sunny,
yes. it's a good buy. but don't know it's PIS advanced backpack or metro bag. i would like the metro bag as it looks more trendy. from babycenter website, it's about USD30 more ex than backpack. i would most likely get it.

cheryl,

my baby normally kicks when i slouch for too long...maybe more pressure on tummy and he will complain by kicking...so have to sit straight then he will be at peace..heheh...or press2 tummy a bit... :p

xiao yun,

yeah i know the stroller a bit ex, but felt important to get a good one. combi also has strollers selling around 200+ but with less features, maybe you can consider
and capella is also around the $200 price range...they have reversible handle as well, slightly heavier than combi though.

julie,

thanks for the tips !

andrea,

my sis had that last time and she used T3 body shower, seems to be working for her...

Anyone interested in Cordlife $150 voucher for sign up? Valid till 31 Dec 07.Only for those ready to sign up. Pls PM me.

Cheryl

Try playing loud music. My bb will move when i play certain classical tunes.

Or Feel your tummy early in the morning? Mine is usually active when I just wake up and lazing in bed.

dorothy

Agency fee: $1000 (incl of insuance for the $5000 bond)
Maid (1st 6mth salary): $1900. Every mth only need to pay to maid directly $20 a mth for 6 mths. Sub will be $320 per mth.
Levy: $1700 (i think)

Sunny

A lot of people also tell me when you expecting the 2nd one, the 1st one will be sticky. Not true in my case...maybe he is too young (15mth).

-tute,

yup. capella one is cheaper but heavier than combi. how important to get a reversible handle? i haven't decide whether to get one with this feature though.
btw, what's decco, egg shock alpha features that you mentioned? don't know if i need it.

Julie,

i thot the levy shd be $170 ?

For my case, my boy (14.5 mth) is very sticky to mi now that i m expecting #2.. he was not tat sticky prior to my pregnancy.. if i m at hme, he will wan mi to carry him, not even wan the daddy or my mum.. but i believed it may diff case by case..

hi, mummies. My baby gal kicks me all the time and she's very strong. Maybe, it's because my tummy is small so she doesn't have much space. :p I haven't had uninterrupted sleep for week. Think I'll have to suffer all the way cos after delivery, also have to wake up & BF. :/

kitsune,

During the pregnancy & after delivery, uninterrupted sleep is expected.. hee.. unless there is someone who help u to take care of baby at nite..

julie
15 mth too young to understand? hmm.... my gal only 21 mth leh. she would only want me during sleep time. and wake up ave twice at night... sigh.

xiao yun,

the decco accessories is for the baby's head rest/support, well in the stroller that i bought it has head, back and hip support.

egg shock, is a type of energy-absorbing foam (or so they say in the websites, but mainly to have more support for the baby so the vibration when we take baby out in stroller is not too big.

here's a link to the stroller i bought :
http://www.combibaby.com.tw/products_info.php?itemView=pro_class&class_no=1&item_name=5

can see the headsupport part, that's the decco. i don't read chinese characters so have no idea what the website is explaining..hehe...hope u got the idea :p

kitsune,

ur baby trying to train u up so that u are prepared next yr..

hee..my No. 1 is definitely sticky to father than me....

Oops! typo error on the maid levy...

Stroller
Must have for new baby:
1. able to place in a flat position, impt for newborn, so they can lay flat.
2. reversible handle -so u can see the baby
3. material - so can be really hot...
4. the cover - so that u can protect new born from the lights

my 2 cents worth.

Hi, tute & HappyMum2B. Yup, that's what my mum said too. Sigh, if it's true then I won't complain if she really lets me sleep 6 hours in a row, I don't want to wake up every 1.5 hrs. We'll see.

hi kitsune,

the first few months after bb born is the toughest, has to wake up every 3 hrs to feed milk.. subsequently, will depend.. some babies can sleep thru the nite while some still need to be fed milk "promptly"..

hi fairfield,

i m at week 24 and has the linea nigra on my belly but is not too obvious yet.. for my 1st pregnancy, after delivery it stayed for quite a few months before it slowly fade away..

morning ladies...

tute, can i find out if you have any thoughts on Combi's Miricle Turn strollers? i am eyeing it as it is one of the lightest but realised the one you bought is even lighter (only 3.6kg while Miricle Turn is 4.2kg). I have not come across the stroller you bought in the malls I have visited (im very very blur!)...

morning ladies!!

can i ask if the mummies attending session 1 of parenting talk this sat are meeting up for lunch after that?

suspect i may have gestational diabetes. saw ants around my toilet bowl =(

thanks for your msg Dor...i feel much better now!

hi...

so tired today...haven been able to sleep well since preggie. only managed to fall asleep at 3am last night. sigh.

can't imagine when bb is born, with all the feeding, cleaning, working and NO SLEEP. ;/

oh ya hor... this sat how sia??? meet where?? cos i duno the place leh....

btw i have to go on 1/2 day today, cos my new dress got a small lobang leh.... need to sew... i think i have to sell this dress away liao... so nice leh... i think the breast part cannot take it.

hi piggletail,

miracle turn is actually quite heavy for a combi stroller, around 6kg if i'm not wrong... advantage would be all 4 wheels can swivel. but to be honest i dun see it as a big advantage, because i thought i'll use the reversible handle when baby is small only...can still maneuver with the back wheel unlock although a bit tough.

the model that i bought weighs 5kg, not 3.6kg...maybe bcoz the model has been discontinued hence you can't find it in most of the places...i bought at isetan, the range there for combi not bad

if you want to know about combi products best to go to tai sing at 752 north bridge road coz their salesperson is more knowledgable imho. then you can try it yourself...i realise 1 kg a lot of difference, can feel the weight
and must really ask the person to take down stroller and try it yourself... important to try walking with it and try folding it... i realise those that can be folded to be very compact is more difficult and takes more power, must use 2 hands...so those are some of the consideration i had when i bought...

hope this helps !