(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Seem like most of us here do not have the experience hiring maid. I think Patsy can help cos she have a lovely maid.

Hi garfield9,

thanks..

actually i hv been using part-time maid for the past 2-3 yrs.. she will come in a couple hours to do the cleaning with my mum's presence.. and we r happy with this arrangement. No live-in=no problem/headache..

we hover over the thought of hiring a maid since i knew i was expecting my #2 as i know it is v tiring & not easy to handle a kid now, not to mention having to handle 2 kids next yr.. the purpose of maid is to help take care of my older son while my mum take care of my newborn..

So if u really can do w/out a live-in maid, dun hire one.. if u need cleaning services, a part-time maid shd do the job..

hv u made arrangement as to who will take care of your newborn ?

hi garfield9,

Oops.. just saw ur earlier post that u will hire day time nanny to look after ur bb.. so u can ignore my question..

i hire maid is to take care bb plus do other stuff, my mum will keep a look on the maid. but i cant leave my bb in the care of my mum... duno wat will my boy become... if worst come to worst, den i will quit to take care bb

hi happymum2b,

no worries.

your son will be 18mths by the time your #2 is born. have you considered sending him to those play schools? some of my colleagues do that and they find their kids are more out-going, expressive and social due to the interaction with other kids. also more stimulated as the playschool teachers will expose them to music and stuff like that. then yr mum only needs to handle one in the day.

but i think cost wise live-in maid is still cheaper.

piggletail,
yeap...swaddling means wrapping the baby, read that it is good for baby especially in first month to keep them comfortable because it reminds them of being in the womb

dor,
me getting mom to buy flannel type of material in indon and just sew the sides...much cheaper... flannel material will be softer compare to nappies i think...but i guess you can use nappies too

artemis,
thanks for the isetan link ! me prob gonna get combi stroller so wanna check out that exclusive promo

cheryl,
thanks for the link ! definitely useful...still pondering which agency to go too :p

garfield,
me also very impressed with mummies who can survive without maid. even now i think quite shiong already where i have to cook, do laundry and clean the house. so now i outsource my ironing + house cleaning to part time maid but i still do cooking

re maid,

the $170 levy is only applicable to singaporean otherwise think need to pay in full $265 :p

for me, i will be at home for around 5.5 months during maternity leave so can look after baby plus maid then, and when i go back to office most prob my parents will stay with me for around 6 months to monitor the maid.

hi garfield9,

my son is abt 14.5 mth old now but he still do not know how to walk yet.. thus, i m not considering child care at the moment.
as my son will just nice reach 18 mth by the time i delievered in feb 08, i will be in confinement and not able to accompany him for the 1st few days. thus, i m abit worried. i hope to be there for him.. maybe when he starts walking, i will consider putting him in child care..

Haven pop in for a while.. wanted to post a message yesterday but the server was down..

Wanted so much to complain yesterday.. THis dear boss of mine commented that the best way to prevent post natal depression is to come back to work earlier & that his sis-in-law, who is a gynae, return to work in the 3rd week. Well, dont wish to read too deeply into it.... =(
keeping my finger cross that he wont disturb me during my confinement.

Maid
I also do feel that if possible dont get a maid. Dont really feel comfortable to leave bb a maid unless there is a third person like MIL to keep an eye. Too many horror stories. But there are also very good ones who became part of the families. So depends on luck.

Natural Birth
I chance upon this website. Quite informative. probably first time mums like me would like to read through.

http://www.birthingnaturally.net/

I have some queries though.

Those experience mums, is there a need to shave for natural birth? Is it practice locally?
I feel quite uncomfortable abt this....

hi mommies to be,

I have 5 Brand New AVENT No. 1 (for Newborns)teats to sell.
Do PM me if anyone of you are interested.
Bought the AVENT bottles but don't need the
teats as my baby is already 4 months.

Willing to let go at 3 for $5 or 2 for $4.

hi hi, me back from ikea...
bought my gal's wardrobe.

just to share my joy!!!my gal's result is back.... better than my expectation....

hana
ignore him... just go for yr break....

Hi, Garfield. Glad it was a false alarm.
Have a good rest, there's flu bug going round. My colleague also down with MC for 3 days because of flu.

Dor, what kind of wardrobe did you buy from ikea? Similar to mine?

My MIL and PIL (retired) will also be looking after my baby because they stay 1 street away from us. They haven't taken care of a baby over 30 years so also a bit worried. But hopefully, since I'll be having a CL for 40 days, they'll come over often and have a refresher course. Don't intend to hire a maid until we have no. 2. Not keen to lose privacy so soon but will consider to hire a part time helper to clean up the house for the weekend. But will have additional fixed expense so must consider carefully also. :p

hi tongtong,

i also interested in the pigeon battery pump,but there is no review on this pump at all,wonder if it is good,my colleague only told me pigeon manual pump not good,not sure abt this electric 1

Re: Pigeon Battery Pump
My hubby's cousin in law bought one previously (dunno if it's manual or battery operated), it didn't work and she ended up having to buy another pump (bought the avent manual one). if i'm not wrong, hospital also recommended avent one for a manual pump. for electric ones, medela is the recommended brand. so gals considering the pigeon battery pump should perhaps ask around for more feedback before getting.

Re: Maid
Me too don't feel comfortable leaving bb alone with a maid. not even when there's someone else at home. heard of too many horror stories/newspaper reports that I rather be on the paranoid side then to be sorry. i do have friends/relatvies whose maids are very good. so it really depends on you luck. but for me, if really left with no choice, would choose to put baby in infant/childcare instead of leaving with a maid.

hana
i didn't shave when i gave birth previously. probably depends on which hospital/midwife you have, i did hear before that some require you to shave/shave it for you.

thankful
office freezer should be ok bah. i store in office fridge before bring home. even at home, i store in my freezer together with meat/seafood. the risk of contamination should be low since the things are already frozen?

blueginger
i used nepia on my girl before. it's good. can be used overnite. but i only started to use when she's on S/M size. never try newborn before. also, some people comment that nepia will leak. i think it depends on the baby. some cuttings are more suitable than the other. so gotta trial and error. nepia's cutting is on the bigger size. it's wider in width compared to some other brands.

hi morning mummies,

went to survey medela pumps yesterday at mums n babes.
Found one chart that quite informative:
http://www.medela.com/NewFiles/wpw_chart.html

I am now only considering medela pumps.
mums n babes do let me try the mini electric and swing. the noise for the motor mini electric is really unacceptable. just like a fish tank filter pump. anyone knows if mini electric plus is so noisy as well?
swing is very quite good. also found out that PIS Original does not come with the 2-phase Expression. It's selling $599.
i am now narrowing down my choice to Swing ($329) and PIS Advanced ($685). After calculated, PIS Advanced is more worth it cos it came with cooler bag, battery pack, 2 extra storage bottle, and more suitable for low milk supply.

Btw, mums n babes do rent out medela hospital grade pumps.
Here's the price:
Symphony:
min. 7 days @ $10/day
14 days @ $9/day
30 days @ $7/day
60 days @ $6/day
90 days @ $5/day

Lactina Select:
min. 7 days @ $9/day
14 days @ $8/day
30 days @ $6/day
60 days @ $5/day
90 days @ $4/day

Lactina Electric Plus:
min. 7 days @ $8/day
14 days @ $7/day
30 days @ $5/day
60 days @ $4/day
90 days @ $3/day

hope those info helps.

Pumps
Recommendations gathered from colleagues/ friends
1. Manual - Avent
2. Electric - Medela Swing or Medela PIS

Stephie,
I will be at delivering at Mt A. Maybe I should clarify with gynae in my next visit. I seriously wont be comfortable with that shaving. =)

Nepia is also a type of nappies?

Nepia - mainly/suitable for prematured babies... those newborn pampers are too big for prematured babies. Now Nepia, also comes in a variety of sizes already. But in view of pampers reliability.. Mami Poko is the most popular brand, now it has new born range too.

Cheryl,
I fully understand how u feel. I was really down when hubby was away for biz trip last month. It must be the preg hormones.. Are u staying alone at home? For my case i prefer to shift back temp to mum's place. At least dont face only the four walls after work.

Sparks
So it's also available in the diaper sections? I have not come across it while doing "market survey" on new born diapers.
I have also heard gd reviews on Mami Poko. The best part is its more competitive pricing. =)

cheryl, how's work today?
++HUGS++

kitsune, heehee... not the same cos yr wardrobe quite big... this wardrobe is for my gal not my boy....will take pic n update in my blog(which i still building)

spring cleaning
today, my hb spring clean our house as my new sofa arrived. felt veri sorry that i cant help... so i help him to scrub the floor...

today very quiet hor...

Hi, Dor. Just came back from dinner with my family. Had zhi char at nearby coffee shop, 6 people, order 7 dishes. Eat until I want to burst, too full to go shower. When are you going to show us your blog? Must pressure your hubby liao. Hee. ;)

hi everyone, sorry didn't reply, my mum has just kidnapped me home to Manila to continue my confinement!! At least now she allow me to shower already!! But no cold drinks, and have to eat confinement food for 2 more weeks... actually now I can be a confinement nanny liao...

Blueginger, went to see gyne before I left Singapore, he said so far ok, need to wait for first period cycle then go back to see him... probably have to wait for a few months then can try again

Patsy, so you are in Manila now? Have a good confinement, rest well and take lots of tonics to restore your body. Hope you can try again very soon.

I went to see gynae today... put on 3.6kg within a month... bb weight is normal, so all the excess weight goes to my body
Gotta control my diet liao... think it's because last month started eating a lot of snacks and always over-eat...

Next month got to test for diabetic... feel like telling doc I dun want coz really scared of the needles... sigh... sometimes I rather be a guy, no need to go through all this...

patsy, gald to hear from u!!! keep us posted!!!

kitsune, sigh... wo hui jia you de...

snowbelle,
is it a must that we need to go for the diabetic test... huh....again, u are quite tall so i believed yr 3.6kg will be evenly spread out...

Dorothy, if you don't have family history, your urine test has been normal, or if your BB is not oversized, don't think you need to go for it. My gynae recommended cos I have family history of diabetes. Going for it next Sat. :p

hana

i was staying with my mum... but sometime still feel lonely. moreover i was feeling down nowaday...

dorothy

works was fine... i went to marton-bell n bought 1 dress again... haha.... shopping makes me happy...

ktsune, i see...
my dad has diabetes leh... hope that wont kanna to poke...

goodbbb,
i did not buy myself. cos rathe troublesome.. cos u need to have US issued credit card.. then u need to pay vpost to ship to sing etc...u might want to go to the overseas spree to join pending spree for babymallonline....save the trouble or can check with garfield.... i think she wanted to get somestuff her stuff earlier...let me know if u need any help...
in my own opinion, i think their quality not veri good... but quite cheap...

shopping
cheryl, good good... me too did quite a bit of shopping... for everyone except my self

btw, where can i find marton-bell? i wan to get somerhing to wear for xmas...

cheryl
must be the pregnancy hormones zai zuo guai. hope you'll feel good soon. must try to be happy else bb will be affected by your mood leh. heehee.. maybe more retail therapy for you since it cheers you up
time flies, your hubby will be back in no time.

hana
Nepia is ont available at all places that sells diaper. For e.g., only larger NTUC carries them. I tried mamy poko before (gift during 1st month), don't find it exceptionally good. but good to trial and error to see which brand's cutting fit your bb. cos some brands though receive good reviews may leak when put onto your baby. my girl used EQ diapers mainly. It's cheap and has good absorbent. I used it for overnight wear too. But some people find it not soft enuf and don't like it.

i delivered at Mt A too. the midwife didn't shave for me nor was I told to shave before giving birth. hope it's standard thru'out the hospital.

patsy
good to hear your update again. next time mummies can qing jiao you for confinement tips. :p

dorothy
my gynae didn't ask me to go for diabetic test leh. maybe if yours didn't also, mean not necessary in your case?

Hi Dorothy,
I'm not sure whether is it a must for the diabetic test, but coz my dad got diabetic, so better to do a check lor...

The extra weight just goes to my arms, thighs, hip and face lor... my hb said nowadays he used the size of my arms to gauge how much weight I've put on...

Btw, I heard from my sis that we can try to ask for small butterfly needle when extracting blood, heard that is not painful at all... wonder tmc has or not.

Helo Patsy

Nice to hear from you again. Philippines is great for mangoes..woo hoo

Today is a nice weather for sunday.

Dor
U using the cooler bag from medela? which model ah? still need to put in fridge and use the bag only when transporting it back home? or can juz dump the milk in the cooler bag?

cheryl,
thanks... will try to find time to go... but doubt will have to wait til month end...cos i went shopping today...

bought some of bb stuff...

hana
u can order direct from nepia suppliers. if u order 4 packs from them. they will deliver to yr place.

snowbelle,
thanks.. see what gynae say the next appt(30weeks one)

p1nk1e, this is what i have.
cooler bag from medela
http://www.medela.ch/ISBD/en/breastfeeding/products/carrier.php

hi dorothy,

the quality is not good,cos it is not cotton?
wonder after the vpost,will the clothes be very ex?
anywhere to recommend to buy cheap bb clothes?

wow busy weekend!

went to robinson baby sales. avent products on 20% discount except electric bp. i'm waiting to see whether is's selling cheaper at the phillip event, so only bought breastpad.

also went to spring maternity at suntec, bought 2 pants @ 28 each and one top at 50%. i think it's a good buy!

patsy
hope to hear your good news.
take care.

goodbabyb
what type of clothes you are selecting for your bb?

tong tong
is the robinson sales still on?

goodbabyb,
babyonlinemall... the sewing veri bad... cos i bought mainly socks, bibs...got a lot of loose threads that u need to go thr....my friend told me that their rompers after wash can see the different.i have bought romper but not yet wash...
consider cheap to buy cos there is a 20% disc...

bb clothes
if u talking abt daily wear, can try our local department store... their range not bad...
if u wan branded like gap/oldnavy/gymboree, try online....i like gap n gymboree, materials not bad...

taka
taka got no sales... but i got quite of bit of things from them....

Stephie,
It depends on what food is inside the freezer. From what I know, the smell of raw food will cause your EBM to have funny smell or taste. Some mummies told me their babies reject FEBM. Before its frozen in the freezer, it will get contaminated. KKH advised so to avoid putting EBM together with frozen food.

Hv u all heard abt eating 2 much birdnest during preggy time will cause babies 2 hv asthma?

I heard alot of pple say tat, but yesterday went 2 buy birdnest, the lady told me will not. She said it's gd 4 mother and baby. I asked her hw many times 2 consume. She said can eat once or even 2 or 3 times a wk!

I dunno if it's true...