(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi morning,

just received an email from babycenter, Medela PIS original 10% discount. only USD225, free US shipping.
so tempting. but it must be very heavy and vpost shipping should be very high...

morning ladies!

the forum was down in afternoon yesterday...

nappies vs. diapers
i intend to use nappies only during confinement (cos have CL as helper) and diapers after. hence only bought 1 pkt of anuku (10 or 12 pcs, can't remember). is this enuff to last thru the month? dun want to spend too much on nappies since i think in essence will be using for 1 month only...

cheryl,
blackout
so farnever experience that... but do take care cos now we are rather huge now....

xiaoyun,
good price!!! u might wan to ask yr friend in states to bring back for u....

piglettail
no enough leh... i think u might need another 10 more pcs... incase the sun decided to go on leave...

dorothy,

nappies
really ah...1 pkt is $19.90, then 2 pkt will be $40 liao. use for only 1 month like a bit wasted hor...then will be 'induced' to use nappies forever due to high sunk cost liao... haiz.

ya lor, cos during dinner it was mentioned during confinement 1 day bb need at least 6 changes so i thought 1 pkt maybe not enough, even if wash nappies 2 times a day.

dare not ask MIL her opinion, cos i know she is PRO nappies...but then i will have to do all the washing mah. paiseh ask her to wash after my confinement and thereafter..

piglettail
heehee... i think long run hor... nappies is definitely cheaper...u might wan to invest in a mini washing machine(pls refer to the archive for pic) small n compact... abt $50.... can just use that for nappy wash...
but u mentioned u be getting a maid too right? if so, can ask her to wash ma....

hi all mummies,

Maid issue.

I am wondering is there anything to take note when hiring. Which is better? Indo or flilipino? Btw i have a few huskies at home. she is not expected to cook but have to take care household chore and doggies.

anyone got any good agent to recommend? Kinda kiasu now want to start looking for one to start work on Jan.

kellie

filipino is better but they must have off day leh.. den scare they knw bf... haha.... indo no off day, but can be abit gong!!!
and to make sure they are fine with dogs

piggletail,

10-12 definitely not enough. my mum prepared one dozen each for both my sis who gave birth in oct and for me later on in feb. in the end my sis used up all...heheh...so definitely need to have more. Other than that, if use nappies need to have a lot of extra swaddling blanket i think...Not sure what's the custom here, but i think in indon we swaddle baby especially during the first month, so definitely need to have a lot of that too...

kellie,

not kiasu leh...me intend to start looking around already too for early feb. cannot comment if indon or filipino better...read a lot of mummies comments here it depends, my colleague has filipino maid and she's very good. but she's also smart, so now start asking my colleague if can go down bring baby around...she wanna go out of the house basically...indon, understand the difficulty with comm can be frustrating. i guess it depends in luck as well when finding a maid. For me i definitely gettin indon maid coz am an indon myself so easier to communicate :p but if you have dogs, hmm... a lot of indon maid prob dun take care of dogs if they are muslims...

dorothy,

yes nappies cheaper in long run...but im lazy mah. dun think i'll get a maid until bb is around 8months old, cos buy then it'll be year end '08 and hopefully we will have gotten our own place.

MIL says can wash the nappies in our usual washing machine leh...think i better consider the mini washing machine incase MIL original plan dun work out.

can't really foresee what the 'future situation' is like so i plan for lots of 'emergency plans' plans 1st, then when it happens can just offer the options to hb/IL etc,etc to execute lor.

maid
i thinking of getting fili one...n i will definitely opt for no off days(yes, u can request no off days for fili one) but my friend asked me to go for indo maid as they are also fast learner... but my own concern is language tho i am also half indo(my mother is an indo)

tute/piglettail
my mother also have a habit to wrap bb up during confinement... so can also use nappy to wrap....

hi dorothy,

cooler bag works the same way as fridge to go?so any brand cooler bag will do also?do we need to buy thermal bag for going out with bb?

piglettail, $19.90 for 1 pack of anakku of 10/12? definitely 10/12 pcs not enuff leh, unless you get a drier , after wash can dry faster. actually 19.90 not cheap hor btw.

fridge to go- yea i want too! retail price is 49.90 right? this is for us to bring to office to store breastmilk one right.

any 1 noe if pigeon battery operated breast pump is good?is it as good as avent's 1?cant find any thread on this..

cheryl,

think use dryer,got to use a lot of electricity also

cheryl, yea if got drier then after washingthe nappies and put in drier liao ma right, faster and dont need to wait for the sun hehe. my friend asked me to buy 30 pcs of nappies, just in case it rains and bb poos a lot or needs to change a lot.. i have boght 2 dozen liao instead, keke.

goodbabyb

that i knw, use elctricity alot.. but my hse got dryer ma... but i think dun wan waste too much electricty, at most use once daily. i think also need alot.....

btw where to buy clothes nappies??

hi ladies..

tongtong,
$19.90 for anuku nappies is ex? hmm..do u know where i can get them at cheaper price? i bought then at robinson last week, supposed to have 20% off but when payment time the cashier said 'system didn't automatically pick up', so = no discount.

i compared, Pigeon nappies were selling for $25, so bought the Anuku ones.

Cheryl, nappies are available at all the children/bb department stores and also at Baby Kingdom. Mothercare also have their 'own version' of nappies which they call it 'pre folded', but it's expensive. about $100+ for a dozen of them. come with plastic pants also i think...didn't see in detail cos i was too shocked by the price tag.

Dear Mummies

I HAVE ONE BRAND NEW MINI FRIDGE-TO-GO (FTG) FOR SALE!

1051829.jpg

A revolutionary new way to keep your expressed breastmilk cool for 10 to 12 hours. This is your ultimate mini-fridge equivalent if you are looking for a place to store your Expressed Breastmilk (EBM) in office or at outdoors.

No Messy Ice
No Bulky Ice Packs
No Batteries!

FTG features the cooling power of a refrigerator in a standard cooler bag size. The secret is in the patented "Surround Cooling" Technology. With this Technology, the bag is cooled from every side so that any contents stored inside is kept cold for a full day. When your bottles or packs of EBM is placed inside a fully recharged Fridge-to-go, it will take less than 2 hours to chill it, working just like a refrigerator.

Features :
High-Performance Chilling Design
Versatile 6-Can Capacity
Easy-Tote Handle
Collapsible
Durable, Easy To Clean Exterior
Surround Cooling 10-12 Hours
16W x 16.5D x 22.5H(CM)
Just fold your FTG and place it in your refrigerator's Freezer Overnight so it will freezae and be ready for use the next Day.
It is 100% Reusable and you may store FTG in or out your refrigerator freezer for as long as you like.

Original Purchase Price: $44.90

Currently selling at $48 at retail stores and online.

<font color="ff0000">DISCOUNT Price that I am offering: $38</font>
<font color="0000ff">Self- Collection at Redhill/Tiong Bahru/Outram/Chinatown</font>

Interested buyers please feel free to contact me at [email protected]

piglettail,
Nappies so expensive meh???? $19.90 for 10pcs.
Sure not enough. For example, if baby poopoo 4~6 times a day, your nappies not dry yet, how?
Since you intended to use diapers. Must well use it on the first mth as well.

goodbbb, cheryl, piglettail,
If no dryer, can use iron to dry the wet nappies?

maid:
filippino better. They are smart and can communicate easily. If you pay more, some are willing to have no day off. Indo are obedient, usu younger. Need time to train them. Oso must check if they are muslim. Some cannot touch dogs leh.

Me & hb decided to get a maid after few mths thoughts. Hopefully she can start wrk asap.(my EDD is on 8th feb)

Is filipino & Indo maid in the same rate? Have no idea which agengcy to go for..any suggetsion?

Hi Patsy and Thankful,

Thanks for the information.

Hi Stephie,

Yeah it was in pink packaging.

RE: nappies versus diapers

I was thinking of using diapers all the way. Cause super lazy to wash nappies and paiseh to ask mother-in-law to wash. Plus, I think the difference, after taking nappy cost, liner cost, effort, water and electricity into consideration, is neligible. The only thing stopping me from totally ignoring the nappy option is that most mummies seem to think nappies are better for baby's skin. So have to find out if this is a myth or what.

RE: fridge to go

If office have fridge space do I still need to get a fridge to go? Was thinking of putting there then transfer to thermal bag when go home.

RE: maid

The maid will be helping to look after the baby? I was thinking of getting a nanny to look after leh. Not sure if maids will have the experience to do that.

cheryl, yea drier consumes much electricity,so it's still better to buy more nappies hor! i bought anakku and the other brand(forgot) from departmental store like metro

piglettail, 19.9 is expensive becuase it's in SGD as i bought mine from Msia, about half price, cuz during sales the anakku nappies i only paid RM 22 wor. i think msia bb clothing very cheap too during sales compared to here.

the anakku nappies i bot is x12 pcs one.

Re:Robinson sales
Dor, issit only available at centrepoint? what about other robinson outlet?

Re: Breastpump

is the pigeon BP set good? the set selling at robinson sales only $99! and it comes with cooler. Dor, is the cooler good enuff as compared to fridge to go?

RE: maid
my friend told me that the rate for indon maid is 280+levy240=$520. if filipino maid plus addition 100+

maid
hi,anyone leaving bb with maid at home alone?

cos this is what is gg to happen to me... me worried.....

dryer
cheryl, electricity bill will shoot up leh....

RE: fridge to go
Artemis, u can put yr EBM in the common fridge if u dun mind...or rather yr colik dun mind....

maid agency
anyone got lobang?

goodbabyb
ya... cooler bag works the same as fridge to go...the medela one that i had can also have space for the pump...

yes. dor, i knw.. but got dryer dun use like very wasted... haha....
if use everyday will $50 enuff for cover everyday usage?

hi ladies...

i bought the nappies the other day cos hb was rushing me to get all stuff in 1 trip.

when i was a child, i had very sensitive bottom and couldn't use diapers only nappies. hb used nappies too cos MIL believes in them.

hmm..ok, think i will buy when the next sale comes along if not then make do with my 1pkt and supplement with diapers?

blueginger,
ya..nappies also not cheap..so it's like an 'investment'. yeah, i was also thinking using iron to iron the nappies if not dry, not sure if it's ok?

went for checkup yesterday, at 26wk +, gained 5kg in total since preggie, bb at 883gram, bb still breaching position(lying horizontal).. doctor said if baby's position still breach 6 weeks later then most prob cant go for natural liao..

so i got to pray hard for bb to turn his head down cuz i want natural delivery!

asked about growing hairs on tummy, he said normal due to hormone changes. but if shave it it will grow more. so just let it be for the time being la. and i got pigmentation problem at my buttocks also:p whcih is due to the hormone also.

dor, my colleague leaves her kid with the maid at home.. but her kids bigger liao, i think you will be worried if you leave bb with maid alone leh.

regarding hiring maid.

My maid indicate in the application form that she is not afraid of dogs. But in actual fact she is scare. She will try to hide beside me if she see a dog on the street.

I don't have a maid so doesn't matter for me.

So must really ask the agent.

erm, i'm very tempted to buy the pigeon battery operation breastpump set which comes with storage bottlex3 and cooler bag at $99!!!

dunno whether this brand is good?

piglettail
heehee... maybe u might want to use cloth nappies in the day n diaper at night...

tong
(pigeon battery operation breastpump set which comes with storage bottlex3 and cooler bag at $99!!!)- good buy!!!!

maid
tong, ya.. from 11am to 2pm... bb will be alone with maid... my fear....

thanks for all the advice. initally i was planning to take a indon but after speaking to a few agents, they all suggest that i should try a filipino becos they wont have problem with dogs.
but i do not want a maid that is too smart also that can give potential trouble.

I am lucky my MIL is a houswife so she will fully taking care of my baby.

to all who are interested in taking maids. heard from one agent that now is actually a low peaks for maid arrival. Xmas and Hari raya haji is coming up, so many wont want to leave their hometown and come out and work. So is better to wait first...

Btw, indon and filipino salary have went up liao...

Indo is 320 and above
Pilipino is 340 and above. 360 for no off days.

Levy is 170 for all mothers with children below age 12. But pls remember this rate is only applicable when baby is born, otherwise it will 280.

Killie,
your MIL so good can take care of your baby fully. My MIL, oso housewife, claimed that we have to hire a maid so that MIL will guard the maid to take care of my baby. The worst problem is she have no experience in taking care of baby at all, none of her kids was raised by her. My hubby said that my mother will take care of our baby, but she insist she want to handle. Sigh...

hi blueginger,

I was glad and feeling fortunate that she can help. she was a experienced nanny. so no pro with her baby caring skills. But i need to give her maid to do houseworks. we are big family, i cant expect her to BAO everything also...

Thks for all the opinions on the maid issue. My MIL refused to take care of my BB, coz she had no experience at all..she hope that i can handle my bb myself. My hb workg in shippg line, he will be away most of the time...so with a maid, at least there is some1 with me.

Can i know how much we hv to pay in the 1st stage in appylg maid? And any recommended maid agency to me pls...thks

long time never post. not been feeling well - went to hospital last weekend due cramps and was monitored for signs of preterm labour. *phew* luckily false alarm. then this week, MC two days cos down with flu.

FRIDGE TO GO
i asked some mummies in the mar07 thread for advice since their ML already over and would have experience BF at work. the advice was - cooler bags provided together with pumps (like avent, medela) are sufficient to keep milk cold for a few hours. so if you only need 1-2 hrs to get home, it's good enough.

however, if you need to be out longer (eg. go out during weekends, or need to jalan jalan after work), then will need a proper fridge to go.

MAID
not opting for live-in maid for the time being. will look at hiring a day time nanny to help look after baby + cook. charges about the same as sending baby to infant care, so not cheap. plus cost of part-time maid to clean house, i think total will come up to about 1K a month...

NAPPIES vs DIAPERS
haven't given it much thought yet...waiting for CL to call me and download her list of to-buys. will ask her then if she's willing to wash for me. my mum says nappies are better as there is no abrasion around the groin area so less irritation compared to diapers (due to the elastic band rubbing against baby's skin).

like u all, i m due in Feb '08 too.. i m expecting my #2..
my mum is currently taking care of my 14 mth old son.. My hubby & I r considering getting a maid to help my mum out after i delivered.
tis is the 1st time we are getting a maid.. understand that it's a matter of heng / suay when it comes to hiring of maid.. haizz..

hi happymum,
welcome!!

well said indeed...i think that sums it up - matter of heng / suay.

i have a few close friends (inclg. expats) and they all cope without a live-in maid. so i'm inspired to try out for a while. if really cannot tahan then will go for it =P